to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Viñedos y Bodegas García Figuero

The history of this Bodega is a prime example of those who do not let themselves be led astray, consistently and persistently go their own way, remain faithful to their convictions and who then reap the well-deserved success.

José María García was born in 1936 into a modest wine-growing family in the village of La Horra in Castile. At the age of 25, he married young Milagros Figuero from the same village, whose parents were also wine growers. The land belonging to the two families, which was planted with Tempranillo vines like virtually everywhere in Ribera del Duero, was subsequently merged and is the foundation of the modern family history today.

 

La Horra is located on a line between the villages of Sotillo in the North and Roa in the South, on the banks of the Duero River, which crosses the Spanish "Meseta" - a high-level plateau - from east to west. Driving to the provincial capital of Aranda del Duero takes approximately 20 minutes going east, over the rather flat countryside where vineyards alternate with corn and vegetable fields.

Red wines from Viñedos y Bodegas García Figuero

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

from Viñedos y Bodegas García Figuero

In Stock
In Stock
Figuero 15 Reserva 2012
Only 1 Bottle
In Stock

The first cellar building, designed in a traditional style, was inaugurated in 2001. This was the starting point for the García Figuero family to produce their own wine. Up till then, they had traditionally been grape suppliers. Their Tempranillo was highly appreciated by renowned wineries, above all by the world famous Bodega Vega Sicilia, because José María García always worked with the utmost care and experience accumulated over several generations. In particular, he kept and nurtured (and still does) a unique treasure: his own Tempranillo clones, which came from vines dating back to the great phylloxera plague. Over years and decades, he continuously multiplied his best plants, so that we can now speak of a unique Figuero clone.

 

His dream was to make his own wine from his own grapes. He wanted to transfer the high standard of work in the vineyard to the cellar as well. And so in 2001, he was able to realise his vision for the first time, along with his wife and their three children, Antonio, Henar and Carlos, who were now ready to assume responsibility in the family business.

 

Today, José María García proudly overlooks many old vineyards, producing the best wine from vines which are 50 to about 90 years old. Counting the younger plantations, he is the master of a stately 85 hectares, spread over 34 plots which are located in the heart of the best locations in Ribera del Duero. The soils mainly consist of lens-shaped, clayey layers of sand alternating with calcareous marls. Per hectare, depending on the vintage, 2,500 to 3,500 kg of grapes are harvested, representing approximately 20 to 28 hectolitres per hectare. Compared to Bordeaux, for example, where about 40 hectolitres are common, this is a low yield, which is due to the quality requirements and of course to the climate.

 

La Horra is located at 800 metres above sea level, protected to the north by ridges against the cold winds from the Atlantic Ocean. Pronounced fluctuations over the seasons and large temperature differences between day and night shape this continental climate with a Mediterranean influence. The summers are hot with peak temperatures of up to 40°C and the winters severe and long with lows down to -16°C. You can count on more than 2,400 hours of sunshine in the year. The precipitation level is rather low with 450 millimetres.

 

This climate favours a prudent, near-natural cultivation of vines, which requires only minimal intervention and can largely do without chemical protective measures. A large part of the plants are traditionally grown "en vaso" (gobelet cut) and not in a modern wired training system. They are therefore better protected against the harsh sun in summer. José María García watches with eagle eyes over his vine and the employees at the vineyard. Despite his age, he can still show everyone how things are done, such as properly pruning or shoot thinning. Weeding is carried out by hand; the careful manual harvest with the traditional chestnut wood baskets is only natural.

 

The first cellar building proved soon to be too small, thus the new and modern Bodega with its striking design was added in 2007. It was built into a gentle slope to take advantage of gravity for all wine making processes, thus avoiding crude pumping. Cellar and room climate are regulated naturally by means of ventilation ducts, so-called "zarceras", as was traditionally done for Bodegas since the 13th century.

 

Óscar Rodríguez and Jean François Hébrard are responsible for the cellar and the wine-making process. It is up to them to complete the work undertaken in the vineyard using all their talent and experience. To do this, they follow two different approaches.

 

Figuero 4 - Roble, Figuero 12 - Crianza and Figuero 15 - Reserva follow the traditional style of winemaking. The Milagros de Figuero, Viñas Viejas, Noble and Tinus are rather an expression of the modern understanding of great wines of our time. They reflect the particular vintage and the selected plots – their origin, their terroir.

 

The carefully controlled grapes are all de-stemmed and cold macerated for a few days. They are spontaneously fermented with natural yeasts. For all wines, the maturation takes place in French or American oak barrels, mainly oak barriques, and in this respect, they are constantly experimenting and selecting. Nowadays, more and more French barrels are used. Also, for certain wines, larger 500 litre barrels are being used.

 

The García Figuero family offers a matching Figuero for every wine lover, for every taste, for every budget, and for any occasion. This is an ambitious pledge that this establishment obviously lives up to. 15 years after their first own wine was harvested, the family business now ships its wines to 25 countries around the globe. Who would have thought…

Producer

Quinta dos Roques

Quinta dos Roques

Read more
Roland und Karin Lenz

Roland und Karin Lenz

In 1994, while Roland Lenz was still studying oenology, he and his wife Karin were able to acquire eight hectares of vines on the Iselisberg. It was a unique opportunity that they seized, even though they were toying with the idea of setting up their own business abroad, far from Switzerland. They actually did so later, but that's another story…

Read more
G. & J. Guillerault / Sebastian Fargette

G. & J. Guillerault / Sebastian Fargette

Gilles Guillerault and Sébastien Fargette are based in Crézancy-en-Sancerre, a few kilometres west of Sancerre, in the Centre-Loire region. A lovely hilly landscape where vineyards alternate with charming villages. With around 2400 hectares of vineyards, Sancerre is a rather small wine-growing region. Only two grape varieties are cultivated, Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir.

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Viñedos y Bodegas García Figuero

L’histoire de Figuero est l’exemple même d’une maison qui ne vacille pas sur ses principes, qui poursuit son chemin avec cohérence et persévérance, reste fidèle à ses convictions et récolte en retour un succès amplement mérité.

José María García est né en 1936 dans une famille simple de vignerons dans le village de La Horra, en Castille. A 25 ans, il épouse la jeune Milagros Figuero, originaire du même lieu et dont les parents cultivent la vigne eux aussi. Les terres des deux familles, plantées de Tempranillo comme presque partout dans la Ribera del Duero, sont par la suite regroupées, jetant les bases de l’histoire familiale récente.

 

La Horra se situe à mi-chemin entre les villages de Sotillo au nord et de Roa au sud, sur les rives du Duero, le fleuve qui sillonne la Meseta (haut plateau) espagnole d’est en ouest. La route qui mène à Aranda de Duero, le centre régional, à une vingtaine de minutes plus à l’est, traverse un paysage plutôt plat où les vignobles alternent avec les champs de céréales et les cultures maraîchères.

Vins rouges de Viñedos y Bodegas García Figuero

de Viñedos y Bodegas García Figuero

In Stock
Wine Spectator 92 Points
Figuero 15 Reserva 2016
Plus que 2 Bouteilles
In Stock
Figuero 4 (Roble) 2019
Plus que 1 Bouteille

C’est en 2001 que la famille García Figuero a inauguré son premier chai, de style traditionnel, marquant le début des vins issus de sa propre production. Jusque-là, elle fournissait son raisin à des maisons vinicoles de renom qui tenaient son Tempranillo en haute estime, parmi lesquelles la Bodega Vega Sicilia, mondialement connue. En effet, José María García a toujours travaillé avec le plus grand soin, en tant qu’héritier d’une expérience accumulée depuis des générations. Surtout, il conservait (et conserve encore) un trésor unique: son propre clone de Tempranillo issu de vignes antérieures à la grande crise phylloxérique. Au fil des décennies, José María n’a cessé de multiplier ses meilleurs plants, de sorte que l’on peut désormais parler d’un clone unique de Figuero.

 

Son rêve était de vinifier son propre vin à partir de ses propres raisins, afin de pouvoir étendre au chai la grande exigence qu’il s’imposait dans les vignes. Une ambition finalement concrétisée en 2001, avec le soutien de sa femme et de leurs trois enfants, Antonio, Henar et Carlos, entre-temps prêts à assumer leurs responsabilités au sein de l’entreprise familiale.

 

Aujourd’hui, José María García peut être fier de ses vieux vignobles dont les vignes âgées de 50 à plus de 90 ans donnent naissance à son meilleur vin. En incluant les plus jeunes plantations, il est maître de pas moins de 85 hectares, répartis sur 34 parcelles qui occupent les meilleurs sites au cœur de la Ribera del Duero. Les sols se composent essentiellement de couches lenticulaires de sable glaiseux ou argileux alternant avec des marnes calcaires. Bon an mal an, la récolte atteint 2500 à 3500 kilos de raisins par hectare, soit environ 20 à 28 hectolitres de moût par hectare. Comparé au vignoble bordelais, par exemple, où 40 hectolitres sont courants, il s’agit là d’un faible rendement, qui s’explique autant par les exigences de qualité du vigneron que par le climat.

 

La Horra se situe à 800 mètres d’altitude. Au nord, une chaîne de montagnes protège le village contre les vents froids de l’Atlantique. Des écarts saisonniers marqués et des amplitudes thermiques importantes entre le jour et la nuit caractérisent le climat continental aux influences méditerranéennes. Les étés sont très chauds, avec des températures maximales atteignant les 40°C, et les hivers longs et rigoureux, avec des valeurs minimales descendant jusqu’à –16°C. L’ensoleillement est important, avec plus de 2400 heures par année, tandis que les précipitations sont plutôt faibles, environ 450 millimètres.

 

Ce climat favorise une culture de la vigne tout en retenue et proche de la nature, qui ne requiert que des interventions minimes et peut largement se passer de mesures phytosanitaires chimiques. Une grande partie des vignes ne sont pas cultivées selon la technique moderne du palissage, mais de façon traditionnelle «en vaso» (en gobelet), qui permet aux plants de mieux se protéger contre les dards brûlants du soleil estival. José María García garde un œil vigilant sur ses plants… et sur ses employés. Malgré son grand âge, il est encore parfaitement capable d’instruire chacun dans l’art de bien tailler ou d’ébourgeonner la vigne. Le désherbage se fait à la main et la vendange, elle aussi manuelle, il va de soi, s’effectue encore avec les traditionnelles hottes en châtaignier.

 

Le premier chai s’est rapidement avéré trop petit, si bien qu’une nouvelle bodega au design moderne est venue s’y ajouter en 2007. Elle s’insère dans la pente douce de manière à tirer parti de la gravité et éviter ainsi les brusques pompages lors de tous les processus de production. Le climat à l’intérieur de la cave et des locaux est régulé de façon naturelle grâce à des conduits d’aération appelés «zarceras», en usage dans les bodegas dès le XIIIe siècle.

 

Óscar Rodríguez et Jean-François Hébrard sont responsables du chai et de la vinification. C’est à eux qu’appartient, grâce à leur talent et à leur expérience, de parachever le travail accompli dans les vignes. Ils adoptent pour cela deux approches différentes.

 

Figuero 4 – Roble, Figuero 12 – Crianza et Figuero 15 – Reserva sont fidèles à la tradition dans leur mode d’élaboration, alors que le Milagros de Figuero, le Viñas Viejas, le Noble et le Tinus reflètent davantage la conception moderne des grands vins d’aujourd’hui. Ils sont l’expression de leur millésime et de leur parcelle et traduisent leur origine, leur terroir.

 

Après un soigneux contrôle, toutes les grappes sont éraflées, puis macérées à froid durant quelques jours. Elles subissent une fermentation spontanée sous l’effet de levures naturelles. Pour tous les vins, l’élevage s’effectue dans des fûts de chêne français et/ou américains, principalement en barrique. Cette étape fait l’objet d’essais et de sélections permanents. Pour certaines cuvées, des tonneaux de 500 litres ont fait leur apparition.

 

La famille García Figuero propose des vins pour tous les goûts, tous les budgets et toutes les occasions: chaque amateur trouvera ainsi le Figuero qui lui convient. Voilà un autre défi que la maison a su manifestement relever avec brio. Quinze ans après avoir élaboré son premier vin, cette entreprise familiale expédie ses bouteilles dans 25 pays partout dans le monde. Qui l’eût cru à l'époque?...

Producteur

Cantina Colterenzio

Cantina Colterenzio

en savoir plus
Bodega Palacios Remondo

Bodega Palacios Remondo

Il est né "à la maison" au-dessus du chai de son père – Álvaro Palacios, un des meilleurs vignerons de l'Espagne. L'odeur du vin et des tonneaux était probablement dans l'air et a déterminé sa vie future. Il étudie l'œnologie à Bordeaux et acquiert une expérience professionnelle au Château Pétrus, à Londres, Dublin et en Californie. Aujourd'hui, il possède des vignobles dans le Priorat, le Bierzo et chez lui dans la Rioja et prouve son extraordinaire talent avec des vins de qualité année après année.

en savoir plus
Luca Abrate / Tenuta La Meridiana

Luca Abrate / Tenuta La Meridiana

en savoir plus