to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

Álvaro Palacios was only 25 years old when he moved to the lonely Priorat in 1989. He left his parents’ vineyard in Rioja (Palacios Remondo) behind, which had grown too small for him. He joined forces with a group of friends to reawaken the sleeping beauty of the Priorat, which the prior inhabitants had mostly abandoned in search of a better and easier life in the cities.

Coming from the vibrant cosmopolitan city of Barcelona, it’s a good hour and a half’s drive to the Priorat. First, you head southwards down the coast until you turn inland after Tarragona and enter this wild, mountainous region. In summer, it smells of hot stone and dry herbs under the haze of the shimmering heat. Hard to believe that the grapevines on the terraced slopes can have such a vibrant green colour. Their roots search for water several metres deep in the barren slate soil, which is known locally as llicorella.

Red wines from Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Camins del Priorat
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Vi de Vila Gratallops
In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Camins del Priorat
In Stock

from Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Camins del Priorat
In Stock
Parker 96+ Points
La Baixada
Only 24 Bottles

La Baixada

DOCa Priorat, Álvaro Palacios, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 198.–
In Stock
Parker 98 Points
L'Ermita
Only 4 Bottles

L'Ermita

DOCa Priorat, Álvaro Palacios, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 950.–
In Stock
Les Terrasses
Only 10 Bottles

Together with José Luis Pérez, René Barbier, Daphne Glorian and Carles Pastrana, Álvaro Palacios became one of the Priorat’s principal rediscoverers and pioneers. In the beginning, these friends made wine together. One by one, they ‘restored’ the abandoned, partly ancient plots of land, which were overgrown with gnarled Garnacha and Cariñena vines – hard, sweaty labour on steep slopes. They planted new varieties such as Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot to blend them with the local grapes. It was not long before wine lovers took notice. As time passed, each of the friends developed and realised their own ideas. Álvaro named his first project Clos Dofí after his own nickname Dofí, meaning dolphin.

The present-day Finca Dofí wine comes from various vineyards in the municipality of Gratallops and is primarily made from Garnacha grapes.  Later came Les Terrasses, a blend of Garnacha and Cariñena from different villages, followed by L’Ermita (1993), which grows on just 1.44 hectares of the eponymous vineyard with Garnacha and Cariñena vines over 70 and 100 years old respectively, and is one of the world’s great cult wines.

Just as he did at his winery Descendientes de J. Palacios in Bierzo, Álvaro developed his wine-making approach in the Priorat according to the Burgundian model by studying the characteristics of the individual plots of land in order to produce true gems of wines from single vineyards. As time went by, he bade farewell to the international grape varieties and focused on the native plants. La Baixada (1.3 ha in Gratallops) and Les Aubaguetes (1.79 ha in Bellmunt with almost 120-year-old vines) are two such examples.

Camins del Priorat is the gateway to the Priorat as a wine that (still) contains a certain amount of international grape varieties (Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah and Merlot). The grapes for this wine come from different villages. Vi de Vila Gratallops, on the other hand, is made exclusively from Garnacha and Cariñena, with a minimal proportion of white varieties that grow sporadically throughout the vineyards. As the name suggests, all the vineyards are located in the municipality of Gratallops.

Producers

Supernatural Wine Co.

Supernatural Wine Co.

For the curious, the cosmopolitan, the devotees of organic and bio-dynamic principles, and most certainly for wine-fanatics: Our novelty from Hawke’s Bay in New Zealand is exceptional, exciting, and always leads to exhilarating discourse.

Read more
Gutiérrez Colosía

Gutiérrez Colosía

Read more
Son Mayol

Son Mayol

This new bodega lies not far away from the lively city of Palma, and – we are convinced of this – will come to set new standards on Majorca.

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

Álvaro Palacios avait 25 ans lorsqu'il s’est installé dans la région isolée du Priorat en 1989. Il a laissé derrière lui la cave parentale de la Rioja (aujourd’hui Palacios Remondo), qui était devenue trop juste pour lui. Avec quelques amis, il voulait ramener à la vie le Priorat endormi de la Belle au Bois Dormant, que les gens avaient quitté pour rechercher dans les villes une vie meilleure et plus facile.

Depuis Barcelone, métropole mondiale effervescente, vous mettez une heure et demie de route pour arriver au Priorat. Longez tout d'abord la côte vers le sud, en direction de Tarragone, puis tournez à l’intérieur des terres et vous arrivez dans cette zone sauvage et montagneuse. En été, sous la puissance de la chaleur, cela sent la pierre chaude et les herbes sèches. L'on a du mal à croire que les vignes soient si vertes sur les pentes en terrasse. Elles cherchent l’eau dans l'aridité du sol en ardoise qu’on appelle ici Llicorella..

Vins rouges de Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

In Stock
In Stock
Finca Dofí 2019
Plus que 5 Bouteilles
In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Camins del Priorat 2019
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Vi de Vila Gratallops 2018
Plus que 7 Bouteilles

de Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

In Stock
In Stock
Finca Dofí 2019
Plus que 5 Bouteilles
In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Camins del Priorat 2019
In Stock

Avec José Luis Pérez, René Barbier, Daphne Glorian et Carles Pastrana, Álvaro Palacios fut l'un des "re-découvreurs"et des pionniers du Priorat. Au début, les amis ont fait du vin ensemble. Petit à petit, ils ont "restauré" les parcelles abandonnées, en partie très vieilles, sur lesquelles poussaient les ceps noueux de Grenache (Garnacha) et de Cariñena – un travail acharné et pénible sur des pentes abruptes. Ils ont planté de nouvelles variétés comme le Cabernet Sauvignon et le Merlot, pour les assembler avec les raisins locaux. Le succès ne se fit pas attendre auprès des amateurs de vin. Plus tard, chacun des amis a développé et réalisé ses propres idées et Álvaro a appelé son premier projet Clos Dofí, selon son propre surnom Dofí, qui signifie dauphin.

Le vin actuel Finca Dofí est issu de divers sites de la commune de Gratallops et il est produit principalement à partir du Grenache.  Par la suite est venu s'ajouter le vin Les Terrasses, un assemblage de Grenache et de Cariñena de différents villages, suivi par L’Ermita (1993), qui pousse sur 1,44 hectare du vignoble du même nom, avec des ceps de Grenache et de Cariñena de plus de 70 ans, voire 100 ans, et qui fait partie des grands vins cultes au niveau mondial.

Comme dans son domaine Descendientes de J. Palacios à Bierzo, Álvaro a développé aussi dans le Priorat son travail selon le modèle bourguignon, en étudiant les caractéristiques de chaque parcelle pour produire des vins précieux à partir de parcelles individuelles.  Au fil du temps, il a abandonné les cépages internationaux et a mis l’accent sur les cépages autochtones. La Baixada (1,3 ha à Gratallops) et Les Aubaguetes (1,79 ha à Bellmunt avec des ceps qui atteignent bientôt les 120 ans) en sont des exemples-types.

C'est le Camins del Priorat qui ouvre la porte du Priorat, c'est un vin qui a aussi (et encore) une certaine proportion de cépages internationaux (Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah et Merlot). Les raisins proviennent de différents villages. En revanche, le Vi de Vila Gratallops est produit uniquement à partir de Grenache et de Cariñena, avec une proportion minime de variétés blanches qui poussent dans le vignoble. Comme leurs noms l'indiquent, tous les vignobles se trouvent dans la commune de Gratallops.

 

Producteur

Domaine des Pères de l'Eglise

Domaine des Pères de l'Eglise

En 1933, les vignerons et les négociants en vins de Châteauneuf-du-Pape furent les premiers à s'imposer des règles de qualité pour la culture de la vigne et la fabrication du vin qui pouvait porter le nom de Châteauneuf-du-Pape. La situation géographique de la zone viticole et les directives sont encore valables aujourd'hui pour garantir la qualité du vin pour les amateurs. La famille Gradassi du Domaine des Pères de l’Église suivit la tradition avec le vent frais de la jeune quatrième génération.

en savoir plus
Weingut Erich Meier

Weingut Erich Meier

en savoir plus
Remoissenet Père & Fils

Remoissenet Père & Fils

En préparation

en savoir plus