to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Folle blanche

Is undergoing a fascinating renaissance

This rare white grape variety was discovered in the 14th century, and grows mostly on the French Atlantic coast. It bears many interesting nicknames, with translations such as "tantrum" or "lush plant." The latter of these is particularly apposite, as the vine has a truly astonishing lushness and huge yield.

Many years ago, this vine enjoyed particular recognition in the world of distillation. Its grapes were one of the most important components in the production of Armagnac and Cognac. This is because the berries of Folle Blanche provide high acidity but low aroma, qualities that distilleries desire.

After the phylloxera catastrophe in 1884, the variety completely disappeared and was replaced by hybrid vines. Folle Blanche was only promoted again after the EU ban on hybrid vines, and since then the variety has undergone a renaissance.

Wegen der Reblaus-Katastrophe im Jahr 1884 verschwand die Rebsorte vollständig und wurde durch Hybridreben ersetzt. Erst durch das EU-Verbot von Hybridreben wurde die Anpflanzung der Folle Blanche wieder gefördert und seither erlebt die Rebe eine Renaissance. 

In Stock

Cognac Park XO

Traditional Reserve, 700 ml
CHF 136.–
In Stock

Cognac Park Extra

Grande Champagne, 200 ml
CHF 59.50
In Stock
Cognac Park Extra
Only 22 Bottles

Cognac Park Extra

Grande Champagne, 700 ml
CHF 267.–
In Stock

Cognac Park VSOP

Very Superior Old Pale, 700 ml
CHF 69.50
In Stock
In Stock

Cognac Park VS

Carte Blanche, 700 ml
CHF 55.50
In Stock
In Stock

Grape varieties

Humagne rouge

Humagne rouge

Wild wine

Read more
Parellada

Parellada

Giving cava its elegance

Read more
Sangiovese Grosso

Sangiovese Grosso

Epitome of Tuscany

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Folle blanche

Erlebt eine reizvolle Renaissance

Diese rare, weisse Rebsorte wurde im 14. Jahrhundert entdeckt und gedeiht grösstenteils an der französischen Atlantikküste. Sie trägt viele interessante Kosenamen, übersetzt beispielsweise „Wutanfall“ oder auch „üppige Pflanze“. Zumindest letzteres macht Sinn, hat diese Rebe doch eine wirklich erstaunliche Üppigkeit und einen riesigen Ertrag. 

Vor vielen Jahren genoss diese Rebe besonders in der Welt der Destillation grosse Beachtung, ihre Trauben waren eine der wichtigsten Komponenten zur Herstellung von Armagnac und Cognac - dies weil die Beeren der Folle blanche eine hohe Säure aber wenig Aroma liefert; Qualitäten, die Brennereien wollen. 

Wegen der Reblaus-Katastrophe im Jahr 1884 verschwand die Rebsorte vollständig und wurde durch Hybridreben ersetzt. Erst durch das EU-Verbot von Hybridreben wurde die Anpflanzung der Folle Blanche wieder gefördert und seither erlebt die Rebe eine Renaissance. 
 

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

Cognac Park VSOP

Very Superior Old Pale, 700 ml
CHF 69.50
In Stock

Cognac Park VSOP

Very Superior Old Pale, 200 ml
CHF 33.80
In Stock

Cognac Park VS

Carte Blanche, 700 ml
CHF 55.50
In Stock

Cognac Park Extra

Grande Champagne, 200 ml
CHF 59.50
In Stock
Cognac Park Extra
Nur noch 22 Flaschen

Cognac Park Extra

Grande Champagne, 700 ml
CHF 267.–
In Stock

Cognac Park XO

Traditional Reserve, 700 ml
CHF 136.–

Trauben

Cinsault

Cinsault

Sonne im Glas

Weiterlesen
Garnacha

Garnacha

Grenache kommt selten allein

Weiterlesen
Parellada

Parellada

Gibt dem Cava seine Eleganz

Weiterlesen