to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
To enjoy the full functionality of this website, JavaScript is needed. You'll find here the instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your browser.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Susana Balbo Wines

The mighty Aconcagua watches over the plain of Mendoza, 1000 kilometres from Argentina’s capital Buenos Aires. A barren, semi-arid land where Jesuits and Franciscans, after the Spanish conquest in the 16th century, discovered favourable natural conditions for viticulture.

At 1000 to 3000 meters above sea level lies this oldest and most important wine region of the country. The village of Agrelo, near Luján de Cuyo, is home to the bodega founded by Susana Balbo in 1999. She is a woman with an impressive career. In 1981, she became the first woman in Argentina to successfully complete her degree in œnology. In 2015, Drinks Business magazine named her “Woman of the Year”. In 2018, she was recognised as one of the ten most influential women in the international wine trade. She also presided over the national marketing organisation Wines of Argentina for several years.

White wines from Susana Balbo Wines

In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Torrontés Barrel Fermented
Vegan
In Stock
Chardonnay Crios
Vegan

Chardonnay Crios

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 13.50

Red wines from Susana Balbo Wines

In Stock
Malbec Anubis
Only 3 Bottles
Vegan

Malbec Anubis

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 12.50
In Stock
Benmarco Malbec
Vegan

Benmarco Malbec

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 25.50
In Stock
Syrah/Bonarda Crios
Vegan
In Stock
Malbec Crios
Vegan

Malbec Crios

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 16.–

She gained her first professional experience at a young age in Cafayate, in the northern province of Salta, where she experimented with the white grape Torrontés. Her expertise later earned her the moniker “Queen of Torrontés”. This was followed by further leading positions in large and well-known wineries at home and abroad. In 1999, she realised her personal dream by founding her own bodega, where she is now free to create wines according to her own vision. When her children Ana and José decided to take on responsibility in her life’s work, it was another dream come true for Susana Balbo.

 

300 days of sunshine, but only 200 millimetres of rain a year mean two things in this wine region: on the one hand, most pests and vine diseases don’t stand a chance in the hot, dry climate. As a result, it is possible to work in close balance with nature, without the use of chemical pesticides. On the other hand, irrigation has to be targeted and controlled by means of a drip irrigation system in order not to waste precious water.

 

Malbec and Torrontés are the Argentinian grape varieties par excellence. Over the last century, the Cot grape variety basically relocated from Cahors in southwestern France to Argentina where it became known by the name Malbec. The wines delight connoisseurs with their deep colour and intense fruit reminiscent of Amarena cherries. The white wines from Torrontés are very aromatic and flowery. It is to Susana Balbo’s credit that Torrontés is now considered a quality variety and, like Malbec, has become a flagship for Argentine wine. Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Pinot Noir, Syrah, Sauvignon Blanc and Chardonnay are also cultivated here. Mechanisation at the vineyard is kept to a bare minimum and all grapes are carefully harvested by hand.

 

Sustainable and natural cultivation of the vineyards, quality assurance according to international standards (ISO 22,000), responsible management with social competence (support and help for employees and their families) and a number of eco-friendly measures (CO2 emissions, energy optimisation, waste disposal, recycling) are important responsibilities that Susana Balbo and her children take on with their company – by no means something to be taken for granted in Latin America.

 

Three product lines appeal to different sensations:

 

  • The Crios wines are fresh, youthful and straightforward – a perfect everyday delight.
  • The Benmarco wines are produced from selected, mostly high-altitude vineyards with pronounced characteristics.
  • The wines bearing Susana Balbo’s name are elegant signature wines that impressively demonstrate the œnologist’s unique talent for blending different provenances.

 

The Nosotros wine – meaning “we” in Spanish – is an expression of the dedication and experience of the whole team. It is the flagship of the bodega, comes from a single vineyard and regularly receives rave reviews. It is certainly one of the best wines in Argentina (James Suckling awarded the 2013 vintage 99 points and placed it in his Top 100).

Producers

Domaine des Pères de l'Eglise

Domaine des Pères de l'Eglise

In 1933, the winegrowers and wine merchants of Châteauneuf-du-Pape were the first to impose quality rules relating to the cultivation and production of wines that would bear the name Châteauneuf-du-Pape. The geographic definition of the cultivation area, along with the other regulations, is still in force today, in order to guarantee the wine quality for connoisseurs. The Gradassi family of the Domaine des Pères de l’Église is following the tradition, but with the fresh impetus provided by the young fourth generation.

Read more
Bodegas Vega Sindoa

Bodegas Vega Sindoa

The vineyards for the Vega Sindoa wines are in the heart of Navarre, in the Valle de Nekeas, the valley where the wine lives, as the locals say. The 6th leg of the pilgrim’s path to Santiago de Compostela leads through this charming hilly landscape, where wine has been grown for centuries.

Read more
Castro Ventosa / Fam. Pérez Pereira

Castro Ventosa / Fam. Pérez Pereira

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Susana Balbo Wines

Der mächtige Aconcagua wacht über die Ebene von Mendoza, 1000 Kilometer von Argentiniens Hauptstadt Buenos Aires entfernt. Ein karges, semiarides Land, in welchem Jesuiten und Franziskaner nach der Eroberung durch die Spanier im 16. Jahrhundert günstige natürliche Voraussetzungen für den Weinbau erkannten.

Auf 1000 bis 3000 Metern über Meer liegt dieses älteste und bedeutendste Weingebiet des Landes. Im Dorf Agrelo, nahe Luján de Cuyo, befindet sich die von Susana Balbo 1999 gegründete Bodega. Sie ist eine Frau mit beeindruckendem Werdegang. 1981 schloss sie als erste Frau in Argentinien ihr Önologiestudium erfolgreich ab. Vom Magazin Drinks Business erhielt sie 2015 den Titel „Woman of the Year“. 2018 wurde sie als eine der zehn einflussreichsten Frauen der internationalen Weinbranche geehrt. Ausserdem präsidierte sie während einigen Jahren die nationale Marketingorganisation Wines of Argentina.

Weissweine von Susana Balbo Wines

In Stock
Chardonnay Crios
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 93 Punkte
Torrontés Barrel Fermented
Nur noch 18 Flaschen
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 90+ Punkte
Torrontés Crios
Vegan
In Stock
Torrontés Barrel Fermented
Vegan

Rotweine von Susana Balbo Wines

In Stock
Parker 91 Punkte
Benmarco Cabernet Sauvignon
Vegan
In Stock
Malbec Crios
Vegan

Malbec Crios

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 16.–
In Stock
Benmarco Malbec
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 92 Punkte
Nosotros
Nur noch 17 Flaschen
Vegan

Nosotros

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 2013, 750 ml
CHF 149.–

Ihre ersten Berufserfahrungen machte sie in jungen Jahren in Cafayate, in der nördlichen Provinz Salta, wo sie mit der weissen Traube Torrontés experimentierte. Ihre Expertise trug ihr später den Titel „Queen of Torrontés“ ein. Es folgten weitere Stationen in leitender Stellung bei grossen und namhaften Kellereien im In- und Ausland. 1999 verwirklichte sie ihren persönlichen Traum mit der Gründung der eigenen Bodega, wo sie Weine ganz nach ihrer eigenen Vision kreieren kann. Dass ihre Kinder Ana und José sich dazu entschlossen, Verantwortung in ihrem Lebenswerk zu übernehmen, war für Susana Balbo die Erfüllung eines weiteren Lebenstraums.

300 Tage Sonnenschein, aber nur 200 Millimeter Regen im Jahr bedeuten in dieser Weinregion zweierlei: Einerseits lässt das heisse, trockene Klima vielen Schädlingen und Rebkrankheiten keine Chance. Es kann deshalb sehr naturnah und ohne Verwendung chemischer Substanzen gearbeitet werden. Andererseits muss gezielt und kontrolliert mittels einer Tropfbewässerungsanlage bewässert werden, um das rare Nass nicht zu verschwenden.

Malbec und Torrontés sind die argentinischen Traubensorten schlechthin. Im letzten Jahrhundert verlegte sozusagen die Rebsorte Cot aus dem Cahors im Südwesten Frankreichs ihre Heimat nach Argentinien. Sie nahm dort den Namen Malbec an. Die Weine begeistern mit ihrer tiefen Farbe und intensiven Frucht, die an Amarenakirschen erinnert. Sehr aromatisch und blumig zeigen sich die Weissweine aus Torrontés. Es ist Susana Balbos Verdienst, dass Torrontés heute als Qualitätssorte gilt und wie Malbec zu einem Aushängeschild für den argentinischen Wein geworden ist. Ausserdem werden auch Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Pinot Noir, Syrah, Sauvignon Blanc und Chardonnay kultiviert. Die Mechanisierung im Rebberg ist auf ein Minimum reduziert und alle Trauben werden sorgfältig von Hand geerntet.

Nachhaltige und naturnahe Kultivierung der Weingärten, Qualitätssicherung nach internationalen Standards (ISO 22.000), verantwortungsvolle Geschäftsführung mit Sozialkompetenz (Unterstützung und Hilfe für die Mitarbeiter und ihre Familien) sowie zahlreiche umweltfreundliche Massnahmen (CO2-Ausstoss, Energieoptimierung, Entsorgung, Recycling) sind für Susana Balbo wichtige Verpflichtungen, die sie und ihre Kinder in ihrem Unternehmen eingehen – in Lateinamerika mitnichten eine Selbstverständlichkeit.

Drei Produktelinien sprechen verschiedene Genussmomente an:

  • Die Crios-Weine sind frisch, jugendlich und unkompliziert – gemacht für den schönen Alltag.
  • Die Benmarco-Weine entstehen aus ausgewählten, meist hohen Reblagen mit ausgeprägter Charakteristik.
  • Die Weine unter Susana Balbos Namen sind elegante Signature-Weine, die das Talent der Önologin für das Blending verschiedenster Provenienzen eindrücklich beweisen.

Der Wein Nosotros – „wir“ auf Spanisch – ist schliesslich Ausdruck der Hingabe und der Erfahrung des ganzen Teams. Er ist das Aushängeschild der Bodega, stammt aus einer Einzellage und erhält regelmässig höchste Bewertungen. Mit Sicherheit gehört er zu den besten Weinen Argentiniens (99 Punkte und Top 100 von James Suckling für den 2013er).

Winzer

Luca Abrate / Tenuta La Meridiana

Luca Abrate / Tenuta La Meridiana

Die Azienda Vinicola Abrate wurde 1878 von Bernardino Abrate gegründet, der im Dorf auch unter dem Namen „Din-Din" bekannt war, welcher auf das typische Klingeln der zahlreichen Glöckchen zurückzuführen ist, mit denen er die Pferde seiner Kutsche schmückte. Luca Abrate führt die Weintradition im rund 10 Hektar grossen Weingut weiter, tatkräftig unterstützt durch seine Ehefrau Simona. Die beiden Töchterchen werden wohl jetzt schon sanft auf ihre Zukunft vorbereitet.

Weiterlesen
Merryvale Vineyards

Merryvale Vineyards

Der junge Schweizer Jack Schlatter reiste in den 1950er Jahren nach Dallas, um dort eine Stelle im Baumwollhandel anzutreten. Später verschlug es ihn nach Mexiko und São Paulo (dorthin als Kaffeetester) und wieder zurück nach Zürich, um das Baumwollgeschäft im Ostblock aufzubauen. Dabei blieb er immer mit einem Fuss in Dallas und stieg dort ins Immobiliengeschäft ein. Schon früh reizte ihn auch das Weinbusiness. Doch er musste einige Zeit warten, bis er Bill Harlan kennenlernte, den damaligen Besitzer von Merryvale.

Weiterlesen
Weingut Amayna / Fam. Garcés Silva

Weingut Amayna / Fam. Garcés Silva

Nur einige Kilometer von der wilden Pazifikküste und rund 100 Kilometer westlich von der Hauptstadt Santiago entfernt liegt das von José Antonio Garcés 1997 gegründete Weingut Viña Garcés Silva. Er gehört zu den Weinbaupionieren dieser Gegend und hat es geschafft, seinen Weinen mit dem wohlklingenden Namen Amayna zu internationalem Ansehen zu verhelfen.

Weiterlesen