to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

In 2010, to crown a dream of the experienced oenologist Guido Rivella, who was born in Montestefano / Barbaresco, the Azienda Agricola Silvia Rivella, named after his daughter, was founded.

The province of Piedmont, which in turn includes the Langhe region, is located in north-western Italy. In this area, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, people live in a symbiotic relationship with grapevines and wine. The landscape itself is ideal for viticulture, as it consists of a series of gently rolling hills. Each of these is covered with vines and divided into different plots called "crus" (as in Burgundy). Almost every cru is cultivated individually, so that the character of each vineyard is reflected in its wine. Nebbiolo is the dominant grape variety. Different wines are produced from it, with Barolo and Barbaresco - often called the king and queen of wines - the most famous of these. Both wines have a potential for long-term storage that is almost beyond compare, along with a complexity and tannin structure that is found in few other wines worldwide. 

 

Often overshadowed by its more "masculine" counterpart, Barbaresco is a wine of great elegance and finesse, which genuinely evokes a feminine quality. Barbaresco can only be produced from Nebbiolo, and the grapes may come only from the villages of Barbaresco, Neive, Treiso and Alba. The region also produces Barbera, Dolcetto, Freisa, Arneis and Pelaverga, as well as a small amount of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Sauvignon Blanc and Chardonnay, all of which are used in the creation of some wonderful wines.

Red wines from Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

In Stock

Barbaresco Montestefano 2017

DOCG, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml
In Stock

Langhe Nebbiolo 2018

DOC, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml
In Stock

Barbaresco Fausoni 2018

DOCG, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml
In Stock

Barbera d'Alba 2019

DOC, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml

from Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

In Stock

Barbaresco Fausoni 2018

DOCG, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml
In Stock

Barbera d'Alba 2019

DOC, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml
In Stock

Barbaresco Marcorino 2019

DOCG, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml
In Stock

Barbaresco Montestefano 2017

DOCG, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml

At the peak of one of the most famous crus in Barbaresco, Montestefano, the wines are produced by a very small vineyard, the Azienda Agricola Silvia Rivella. The main figure in the cellar is Guido Rivella, one of the best "wine craftsmen" in Italy, and, for that matter, probably in the world. Guido retired after 47 years of working as an oenologist for Angelo Gaja in Barbaresco. However, he soon realised that he wouldn't be happy if he was no longer able to produce wine. He wasn't satisfied until he had restored the family's old "cascina" (farmhouse) and was able once more to produce wine from the old vines on Cru Montestefano. Silvia, Guido's daughter, runs the small B&B that has grown up over time on the cascina. Enrico, Guido's son, describes himself as the "court jester of the estate", involved as he is in a wide variety of activities, including taking care of the marketing and exports. 

 

No pesticides are used in the vineyards, only a minimum amount of copper and the obligatory treatment against chlorosis, a condition which makes the leaves turn yellow. The cru is not, however, certified as organic. No chemical products are used in the cellar, not even sulphites or selected yeasts, except in "difficult" vintages, where these are used as sparingly as possible. The last time this happened was in 2012. As Guido says: "We also drink our wine ourselves, so it would be foolish of us to produce it in a way that might lead to harm."

 

At Baur au Lac Vins you can find four wines from this little pearl of the Langhe.
Barbaresco Montestefano: a Barbaresco that tastes a little "Barolo-esque", because this cru is geologically similar to some of the Barolo crus, with Marne Blu (blue clay) being found in the soil (similar to the Pomerol area and in a famous Bolgheri vineyard), giving it structure and depth. The wine ferments in steel tanks and then matures for 18-20 months in older barriques and in 500-litre tonneaux. After this period the wine is transferred to neutral containers (e.g. cement or steel tanks) for 4-5 months so that "it can find itself". Before the wine is put on the market it is aged in the bottle for a further 7-8 months. The result is a wine that will still be wonderful in 20 or 30 years. As the Montestefano vineyard is only 1 hectare in size and its vines are over 50 years old, only about 1000 bottles are produced per year.

 

Barbaresco Fausoni: This cru from Neive has been produced by Rivella since 2015. The vines are about 50 years old, and the wine is produced in the same way as the Montestefano. However, the personality of the wine is completely different, as the soil in Fausoni is made up of light clay and sand. The wine is very elegant, with a dominant note of liquorice and balsamic aromas. But thanks to its tannins it is rounder than the Montestefano. This plot, too, is only 1 hectare in size. 

 

Langhe Nebbiolo: a "blend" of 90% Nebbiolo from a vineyard in Montestefano which can't be classified as Barbaresco because of its orientation, and 10% Barbera, also from the Montestefano cru near the Tanaro river. The wine is aged for 10 months in used barriques, then for 4-6 months in steel tanks. In good years, about 3000 bottles are produced, in more difficult years, up to 6000 bottles, because then no Barbaresco crus are produced.

 

Barbera d'Alba: from a plot at the end of the Montestefano cru near the Tanaro river (Barbera likes the comfort of a degree of humidity). The vines are 45 to 50 years old. This grape variety has always been the most popular: the everyday wine, so to speak. But, from the 1970s onwards, a number of producers saw and began to exploit its potential to produce excellent wines. Barbera itself has almost no tannins The wine gets its tannins from the wood. For maturity, it relies on acidity and a little alcohol. Barbera d'Alba is a very fruity and fresh-flavoured wine. The ageing process is the same as for Nebbiolo d'Alba. Around 2000 bottles per year are produced.

Producer

Standish / Dan Standish

Standish / Dan Standish

The Standish Wine company was founded in 1999 by Dan Standish. He started at that time with a small, family-owned plot of almost hundred-year-old Shiraz vines in the heart of the Barossa Valley, in the sub-region of Vine Vale. He is part of the sixth generation of immigrants who settled here in 1848. In his career, Dan Standish gained experience not only in his home country, but also in California, Spain and France. He is passionate about the great wines of the Rhône Valley.

Read more
Fattoria Nicodemi / Fam. Nicodemi

Fattoria Nicodemi / Fam. Nicodemi

Read more
Domaine de la Commaraine

Domaine de la Commaraine

The beauty behind the walls of Château Commaraine

 

The Burgundian municipality of Pommard has a classic, historic ambience with most of the buildings and walled vineyards (clos) intact, exuding a peaceful and tranquil atmosphere. The small, romantic village square conveys a slightly exotic feeling to its visitors – an unusual sensation in rural Burgundy indeed!

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

En 2010, pour couronner le rêve de l'œnologue expérimenté Guido Rivella, né à Montestefano / Barbaresco, l'Azienda Agricola Silvia Rivella, du nom de sa fille, a été fondée.

Au nord-ouest de l'Italie s'étend la région du Piémont, où se trouve également la région des Langhe. Dans cette zone protégée par l’UNESCO, les gens vivent en symbiose avec la vigne et le vin. Le terrain lui-même est favorable à la viticulture, du fait qu'il est formé d’une série de collines en pente douce. Chacune de ces collines est couverte de vignes et divisée en plusieurs parcelles appelées crus (tout comme en Bourgogne). Presque chaque cru est vinifié séparément, de sorte que le contenu du verre reflète le caractère de chaque parcelle. Le Nebbiolo y est le cépage dominant. Il se décline sous diverses formes, les plus célèbres étant le Barolo et le Barbaresco, souvent considérés comme le roi et la reine des vins. Ces deux vins présentent un potentiel de stockage pratiquement incomparable, ainsi qu'une complexité et une structure tannique que l'on retrouve dans très peu d'autres vins au niveau mondial.

 

Souvent dans l’ombre de la version «masculine», le Barbaresco est un vin d’une élégance et d’une finesse incroyables, véritables signes de féminité. Le Barbaresco ne peut être produit qu'à partir du Nebbiolo, et les raisins proviennent exclusivement des villages de Barbaresco, Neive, Treiso et Alba. Dans la région, on cultive encore le Barbera, le Dolcetto, le Freisa, l'Arneis et le Pelaverga, ainsi qu’un peu de Merlot, de Cabernet Sauvignon, de Sauvignon blanc et de Chardonnay, qui donnent également de merveilleux vins.

Vins rouges de Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

de Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

Au sommet de l’un des plus célèbres crus de Barbaresco, le Montestefano, les vins sont produits par un tout petit domaine viticole, l’Azienda Agricola Silvia Rivella. Le personnage emblématique de la cave est Guido Rivella, l’un des meilleurs «artisans du vin» d’Italie et probablement du monde entier. Après 47 années d'activité en tant qu'œnologue chez Angelo Gaja à Barbaresco, Guido a pris sa retraite. Mais il s’est vite rendu compte qu’il ne serait pas heureux s'il ne pouvait plus produire de vin. Il n'a pu prendre du repos qu'après avoir restauré l’ancienne «cascina» (ferme) de la famille et après avoir de nouveau produit du vin à partir des vieilles vignes qui se trouvent sur le cru Montestefano. Silvia, la fille de Guido, est responsable du petit Bed & Breakfast qui s'est développé au fil du temps sur la cascina. Enrico, le fils de Guido, se décrit lui-même comme le «bouffon du domaine», car il est très polyvalent et s’occupe à la fois du marketing et de l’exportation.

 

Aucun pesticide n'est utilisé dans les vignobles, seulement une quantité minimale de cuivre et le traitement obligatoire contre la chlorose qui fait jaunir les feuilles. Toutefois, il n’y a pas de certification biologique. Aucun produit chimique n'est utilisé dans la cave, pas même des sulfites ou des levures sélectionnées, sauf dans les millésimes «difficiles» où ils sont utilisés en quantité minimale. Ce fut le cas la dernière fois en 2012. Guido déclare: «Nous aussi, nous buvons notre vin, nous serions donc stupides de développer une production nocive.»

 

Chez Baur au Lac Vins, vous trouverez quatre vins de cette petite perle des Langhe.
Barbaresco Montestefano: c'est un Barbaresco un peu «barolique» en bouche, ce cru étant géologiquement similaire à de nombreux crus de Barolo, car le sol contient de la Marne Blu (argile bleue), (un peu comme pour le Pomerol et le célèbre vignoble de Bolgheri), qui lui confère structure et profondeur. Le vin fermente dans des cuves en acier, puis il vieillit 18 à 20 mois dans de vieilles barriques et des tonneaux de 500 litres. Après cette période, le vin est transféré pendant 4 à 5 mois dans des récipients neutres (par exemple des citernes en ciment ou en acier) pour qu’il «puisse se trouver». Avant sa mise sur le marché, le vin vieillit encore 7 à 8 mois en bouteille. Un vin qui sera extraordinaire pour les 20 à 30 ans à venir. La parcelle de Montestefano ne mesurant qu'1 hectare et se composant de vignes vieilles de plus de 50 ans, la production n'est que de 1000 bouteilles par an environ.

 

Le Barbaresco Fausoni: Ce cru de Neive est produit par Rivella depuis 2015. Les vignes ont environ 50 ans et le vin est vinifié comme le Montestefano. Mais la personnalité de ce vin est complètement différente, car le sol de Fausoni est fait d’argile claire et de sable. Ce vin est très raffiné, avec une note dominante de réglisse et d'arômes balsamiques. Grâce aux tanins bien présents, il est plus rond en bouche que le Montestefano. Cette parcelle également ne mesure qu'1 hectare.

 

Le Langhe Nebbiolo: un «mélange» composé à 90 % de Nebbiolo d’une parcelle de Montestefano qui, par son orientation, ne peut être classée comme Barbaresco, et à 10 % de Barbera, également du cru Montestefano, près de la rivière Tanaro. Le vin vieillit pendant 10 mois dans d'anciennes barriques,  puis 4 à 6 mois dans un réservoir en aicer. Les bonnes années, la production est d'environ 3000 bouteilles, les années plus difficiles jusqu’à 6000, car l'on ne produit alors aucun cru de Barbaresco.

 

Le Barbera d’Alba: d'une parcelle située à l'extrémité du cru Montestefano, juste à côté de la rivière Tanaro (le Barbera aime être entouré d'un peu d'humidité). Les vignes ont entre 45 et 50 ans. Cette variété de raisins a toujours été la plus populaire, c'est pour ainsi dire le vin de tous les jours. Mais à partir des années 70, certains producteurs ont compris et exploité leur potentiel pour produire d’excellents vins. Le Barbera lui-même n’a presque pas de tanins. C'est le bois qui confère au vin les tanins. En ce qui concerne la maturité, il s’appuie sur l’acide et un peu d’alcool. Le Barbera d’Alba est un vin frais et très fruité. Le processus est le même que pour le Nebbiolo d’Alba. La production est d'environ 2000 bouteilles par an.

Producteur

Roland und Karin Lenz

Roland und Karin Lenz

En 1994, alors que Roland Lenz suivant encore sa formation en œnologie, lui et sa femme Karin ont pu reprendre huit hectares de vignes sur l’Iselisberg, une chance unique qui s’offrait à eux, même s’ils avaient envisagé de partir à l’étranger, loin de la Suisse, pour commencer quelque chose là-bas. Ce ne sera que partie remise, mais ça, c’est une autre histoire…

en savoir plus
Weingut Erwin Tinhof

Weingut Erwin Tinhof

Depuis 11 générations, la famille Tinhof cultive la vigne à Eisenstadt, sur les flancs de la montagne de la Leitha, dans le Burgenland. Toutes leurs connaissances et leur expérience en matière de cépages spécialement adaptés à cette région et prônes à produire des vins typiques y trouvent leur origine. Le Neuburger, le Pinot blanc, le Blaufränkisch, le Sankt Laurent – dont certains ceps ont jusqu’à 55 ans : voilà le centre de leurs efforts et de leur attention.

en savoir plus
Azienda Agricola Il Paratino

Azienda Agricola Il Paratino

en savoir plus