to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

In 2010, to crown a dream of the experienced oenologist Guido Rivella, who was born in Montestefano / Barbaresco, the Azienda Agricola Silvia Rivella, named after his daughter, was founded.

The province of Piedmont, which in turn includes the Langhe region, is located in north-western Italy. In this area, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, people live in a symbiotic relationship with grapevines and wine. The landscape itself is ideal for viticulture, as it consists of a series of gently rolling hills. Each of these is covered with vines and divided into different plots called "crus" (as in Burgundy). Almost every cru is cultivated individually, so that the character of each vineyard is reflected in its wine. Nebbiolo is the dominant grape variety. Different wines are produced from it, with Barolo and Barbaresco - often called the king and queen of wines - the most famous of these. Both wines have a potential for long-term storage that is almost beyond compare, along with a complexity and tannin structure that is found in few other wines worldwide. 

 

Often overshadowed by its more "masculine" counterpart, Barbaresco is a wine of great elegance and finesse, which genuinely evokes a feminine quality. Barbaresco can only be produced from Nebbiolo, and the grapes may come only from the villages of Barbaresco, Neive, Treiso and Alba. The region also produces Barbera, Dolcetto, Freisa, Arneis and Pelaverga, as well as a small amount of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Sauvignon Blanc and Chardonnay, all of which are used in the creation of some wonderful wines.

Red wines from Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

In Stock

Barbaresco Montestefano 2017

DOCG, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml
In Stock

Langhe Nebbiolo 2018

DOC, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml
In Stock

Barbaresco Fausoni 2018

DOCG, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml
In Stock

Barbera d'Alba 2019

DOC, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml

from Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

In Stock

Barbaresco Fausoni 2018

DOCG, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml
In Stock

Barbera d'Alba 2019

DOC, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml
In Stock

Barbaresco Marcorino 2019

DOCG, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml
In Stock

Barbaresco Montestefano 2017

DOCG, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml

At the peak of one of the most famous crus in Barbaresco, Montestefano, the wines are produced by a very small vineyard, the Azienda Agricola Silvia Rivella. The main figure in the cellar is Guido Rivella, one of the best "wine craftsmen" in Italy, and, for that matter, probably in the world. Guido retired after 47 years of working as an oenologist for Angelo Gaja in Barbaresco. However, he soon realised that he wouldn't be happy if he was no longer able to produce wine. He wasn't satisfied until he had restored the family's old "cascina" (farmhouse) and was able once more to produce wine from the old vines on Cru Montestefano. Silvia, Guido's daughter, runs the small B&B that has grown up over time on the cascina. Enrico, Guido's son, describes himself as the "court jester of the estate", involved as he is in a wide variety of activities, including taking care of the marketing and exports. 

 

No pesticides are used in the vineyards, only a minimum amount of copper and the obligatory treatment against chlorosis, a condition which makes the leaves turn yellow. The cru is not, however, certified as organic. No chemical products are used in the cellar, not even sulphites or selected yeasts, except in "difficult" vintages, where these are used as sparingly as possible. The last time this happened was in 2012. As Guido says: "We also drink our wine ourselves, so it would be foolish of us to produce it in a way that might lead to harm."

 

At Baur au Lac Vins you can find four wines from this little pearl of the Langhe.
Barbaresco Montestefano: a Barbaresco that tastes a little "Barolo-esque", because this cru is geologically similar to some of the Barolo crus, with Marne Blu (blue clay) being found in the soil (similar to the Pomerol area and in a famous Bolgheri vineyard), giving it structure and depth. The wine ferments in steel tanks and then matures for 18-20 months in older barriques and in 500-litre tonneaux. After this period the wine is transferred to neutral containers (e.g. cement or steel tanks) for 4-5 months so that "it can find itself". Before the wine is put on the market it is aged in the bottle for a further 7-8 months. The result is a wine that will still be wonderful in 20 or 30 years. As the Montestefano vineyard is only 1 hectare in size and its vines are over 50 years old, only about 1000 bottles are produced per year.

 

Barbaresco Fausoni: This cru from Neive has been produced by Rivella since 2015. The vines are about 50 years old, and the wine is produced in the same way as the Montestefano. However, the personality of the wine is completely different, as the soil in Fausoni is made up of light clay and sand. The wine is very elegant, with a dominant note of liquorice and balsamic aromas. But thanks to its tannins it is rounder than the Montestefano. This plot, too, is only 1 hectare in size. 

 

Langhe Nebbiolo: a "blend" of 90% Nebbiolo from a vineyard in Montestefano which can't be classified as Barbaresco because of its orientation, and 10% Barbera, also from the Montestefano cru near the Tanaro river. The wine is aged for 10 months in used barriques, then for 4-6 months in steel tanks. In good years, about 3000 bottles are produced, in more difficult years, up to 6000 bottles, because then no Barbaresco crus are produced.

 

Barbera d'Alba: from a plot at the end of the Montestefano cru near the Tanaro river (Barbera likes the comfort of a degree of humidity). The vines are 45 to 50 years old. This grape variety has always been the most popular: the everyday wine, so to speak. But, from the 1970s onwards, a number of producers saw and began to exploit its potential to produce excellent wines. Barbera itself has almost no tannins The wine gets its tannins from the wood. For maturity, it relies on acidity and a little alcohol. Barbera d'Alba is a very fruity and fresh-flavoured wine. The ageing process is the same as for Nebbiolo d'Alba. Around 2000 bottles per year are produced.

Producer

Standish / Dan Standish

Standish / Dan Standish

The Standish Wine company was founded in 1999 by Dan Standish. He started at that time with a small, family-owned plot of almost hundred-year-old Shiraz vines in the heart of the Barossa Valley, in the sub-region of Vine Vale. He is part of the sixth generation of immigrants who settled here in 1848. In his career, Dan Standish gained experience not only in his home country, but also in California, Spain and France. He is passionate about the great wines of the Rhône Valley.

Read more
Fattoria Nicodemi / Fam. Nicodemi

Fattoria Nicodemi / Fam. Nicodemi

Read more
Domaine de la Commaraine

Domaine de la Commaraine

The beauty behind the walls of Château Commaraine

 

The Burgundian municipality of Pommard has a classic, historic ambience with most of the buildings and walled vineyards (clos) intact, exuding a peaceful and tranquil atmosphere. The small, romantic village square conveys a slightly exotic feeling to its visitors – an unusual sensation in rural Burgundy indeed!

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular

Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

2010 entstand als Krönung eines Traums des erfahrenen Önologen Guido Rivella, der in Montestefano / Barbaresco geboren wurde, die Azienda Agricola Silvia Rivella, benannt nach seiner Tochter.

In Nordwestitalien liegt die Region Piemont, in der sich wiederum das Gebiet der Langhe befindet. In dieser von der UNESCO geschützten Gegend leben die Menschen in Symbiose mit den Reben und dem Wein. Das Gelände selbst fördert den Weinbau, da es aus einer Reihe von sanften Hügeln besteht. Jeder von diesen Hügeln ist von Reben bedeckt und in verschiedene Parzellen unterteilt, die Cru heissen (wie im Burgund). Fast jeder Cru wird einzeln vinifiziert, sodass sich der Charakter jeder einzelnen Parzelle im Glas widerspiegelt. Nebbiolo ist die Traubensorte, die dort vorherrscht. Sie wird in verschiedenen Deklinationen präsentiert, die berühmtesten sind aber Barolo und Barbaresco, die oft als der König und die Königin der Weine bezeichnet werden. Beide Weine haben ein schwer vergleichbares Lagerungspotenzial sowie eine Komplexität und Tanninstruktur, die man weltweit in wenigen anderen Weinen findet.

 

Oft im Schatten der «männlichen» Version stehend, ist Barbaresco ein Wein von unglaublicher Eleganz und Finesse, der wirklich an etwas Feminines erinnert. Barbaresco kann nur aus Nebbiolo produziert werden, und die Trauben dürfen ausschliesslich aus den Dörfern Barbaresco, Neive, Treiso und Alba kommen. In der Region werden noch Barbera, Dolcetto, Freisa, Arneis und Pelaverga sowie ein bisschen Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Sauvignon Blanc und Chardonnay angebaut, die auch wunderschöne Weine geben.

Rotweine von Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

In Stock

Langhe Nebbiolo 2018

DOC, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml
In Stock
In Stock

Barbaresco Marcorino 2019

DOCG, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml
In Stock

Barbaresco Fausoni 2018

DOCG, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml

von Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

In Stock

Langhe Nebbiolo 2018

DOC, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml
In Stock
In Stock
Barbaresco Montestefano 2016
Nur noch 16 Flaschen
In Stock

Barbaresco Marcorino 2019

DOCG, Silvia Rivella, 750 ml

Auf dem Spitz eines der berühmtesten Crus von Barbaresco, des Montestefano, werden die Weine von einem sehr kleinen Weingut produziert, der Azienda Agricola Silvia Rivella. Die Hauptfigur im Keller ist Guido Rivella, einer der besten «Weinhandwerker» Italiens und wahrscheinlich der Welt. Nach 47 Jahren Tätigkeit als Önologe bei Angelo Gaja in Barbaresco wurde Guido pensioniert. Ihm war aber schnell klar, dass er nicht glücklich sein würde, ohne Wein produzieren zu können. Er gab erst Ruhe, als er die alte «Cascina» (Bauernhaus) der Familie restauriert hatte und aus den alten Reben, die sich auf dem Cru Montestefano befinden, wieder Wein herstellen konnte. Silvia, Guidos Tochter, ist für das kleine Bed & Breakfast zuständig, das im Laufe der Zeit auf der Cascina entstanden ist. Enrico, Guidos Sohn, beschreibt sich selbst als den «Hofnarren des Gutes», da er sehr vielseitig engagiert ist und sich um Marketing und Export kümmert.

 

In den Weinbergen werden keine Pestizide gebraucht, nur eine minimale Menge an Kupfer und die obligatorische Behandlung gegen die Chlorose, welche die Blätter gelb werden lässt. Es gibt aber keine biologische Zertifizierung. Im Keller werden keine chemischen Produkte verwendet, nicht einmal Sulfite oder selektionierte Hefen, ausser in «schwierigen» Jahrgängen, in denen diese minimale Anwendung finden. Das letzte Mal war dies 2012 der Fall. Guido sagt: «Wir trinken unseren Wein auch selber, es wäre also dumm von uns, ihn auf schädliche Weise zu produzieren.»

 

Bei Baur au Lac Vins können Sie vier Weine dieser kleinen Perle aus den Langhe finden.
Barbaresco Montestefano: ein Barbaresco, der ein bisschen «barolisch» mundet, da dieser Cru geologisch ähnlich wie manche Crus von Barolo ist, weil sich Marne Blu (blauer Lehm) im Boden findet  (ähnlich wie beim Pomerol und in einem berühmten Weinberg von Bolgheri), der ihm Struktur und Tiefe schenkt. Der Wein fermentiert in Stahltanks, danach reift er 18–20 Monate in älteren Barriques und in 500-Liter-Tonneaux. Nach dieser Zeit wird der Wein für 4–5 Monate in neutrale Behälter (z.B. Zement- oder Stahltanks) transferiert, damit «er sich finden kann». Bevor der Wein auf den Markt kommt, reift er noch 7–8 Monate in der Flasche. Ein Wein, der für 20–30 Jahre grossartig sein wird. Da die Parzelle Montestefano nur 1 Hektar gross ist und aus über 50 Jahre alten Reben besteht, werden nur rund 1000 Flaschen pro Jahr produziert.

 

Barbaresco Fausoni: Dieser Cru von Neive wird seit 2015 von Rivella produziert. Die Reben sind ungefähr 50 Jahre alt und der Wein wird gleich wie der Montestefano ausgebaut. Die Persönlichkeit des Weines ist aber eine komplett andere, da der Boden in Fausoni aus hellem Lehm und Sand besteht. Der Wein ist sehr elegant, mit einer dominanten Note von Süssholz und balsamischen Aromen. Mit präsenten Tanninen wirkt er aber runder als der Montestefano. Auch diese Parzelle ist nur 1 Hektar gross.

 

Langhe Nebbiolo: ein «Blend» aus 90% Nebbiolo aus einer Parzelle von Montestefano, die wegen ihrer Ausrichtung nicht als Barbaresco klassifiziert werden kann, und 10% Barbera, ebenfalls aus dem Cru Montestefano nahe dem Fluss Tanaro. Der Wein reift für 10 Monate in gebrauchten Barriques, dann 4–6 Monate im Stahltank. In guten Jahren werden etwa 3000 Flaschen produziert, in schwierigeren bis zu 6000, da dann keine Crus von Barbaresco produziert werden.

 

Barbera d’Alba: aus einer Parzelle am Ende des Cru Montestefano, gleich neben dem Fluss Tanaro (Barbera ist gerne von etwas Feuchtigkeit umgeben). Die Reben sind 45 bis 50 Jahre alt. Diese Traubensorte ist immer die populäre gewesen, sozusagen der Alltagswein. Aber ab den 70er-Jahren haben manche Produzenten ihr Potenzial verstanden und genutzt, um hervorragende Weine zu produzieren. Barbera selbst hat fast keine Tannine. Der Wein erhält die Tannine aus dem Holz. Für die Reife stützt er sich auf Säure und ein bisschen Alkohol. Barbera d’Alba ist ein sehr fruchtiger und frischer Wein. Der Ausbau ist derselbe wie beim Langhe Nebbiolo. Es werden rund 2000 Flaschen pro Jahr produziert.

Winzer

Pierre-Luc Leyvraz

Pierre-Luc Leyvraz

Pierre-Luc Leyvraz wird häufig als «Roi du Chasselas» - der König des Chasselas bezeichnet. Dass dies keine Übertreibung ist, stellt sich spätestens dann heraus, wenn man in den Genuss seines charaktervollen, terroirgeprägten Saint-Saphorin «Les Blassinges» kommt.

Weiterlesen
Rusden Wines / Christine & Dennis Canute

Rusden Wines / Christine & Dennis Canute

RUSDEN WINES - Zuhause in der Neuen Welt, stilistisch ganz in der Alten Welt
1979 kauften Christine und Dennis Canute 40 Hektaren heruntergekommene Weinberge auf weissem Sand- und Lehmgelände im Herzen des Barossa Valley. Ursprünglich war der Plan, das Weingut lediglich als Hobby neben Familie und Beruf zu führen.

Weiterlesen
Standish / Dan Standish

Standish / Dan Standish

The Standish Wine Company wurde 1999 von Dan Standish gegründet. Er startete damals mit einer kleinen, familieneigenen Parzelle fast hundertjähriger Shiraz-Stöcke mitten im Herzen des Barossa Valley bzw. der Unterregion Vine Vale. Er gehört zur sechsten Generation von Einwanderern, die sich 1848 hier niederliessen. In seiner Berufslaufbahn sammelte Dan Standish Erfahrungen nicht nur in seinem Heimatland, sondern auch in Kalifornien, Spanien und Frankreich. Seine Passion gilt den grossen Weinen des Rhonetals.

Weiterlesen