to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Domaine Cornulus

What started out from humble beginnings over 20 years ago is now one of Valais’ flagship wineries and the byword for both a way of working in harmony with nature and premium wines, all of which strongly bring out their individual terroir.

Valais natives and cousins Stéphane Reynard and Dany Varone are perfectionists who love what they do. They tend to their vines, which live and thrive above Sion in the village of Savièse, as if they were their own children. Thanks to Dany Varone’s meticulous and expert work in the wine cellar, they craft terroir wines of the highest quality. This winemaking duo – now part of the Valais elite – laid the foundation for their successful Domaine Cornulus project in 1986, setting up the “Buteo” wine cellar and launching their “Garage Winery”. They bought their first harvests straight off the vines of various Savièse winegrowers and started pressing them in a garage. The following year, they leased their first vines in the vineyards above Sion (less than 1 hectare). In 1989 they created the Sélection Cornulus, after which their winery is named. A few harvests later, they acquired their first plots in the Clos de Mangold in 1995. Their dream of establishing a real domaine of their own gradually took shape. “After all, you will rarely find a good wine without terroir,” say Stéphane and Dany. In 1999 there followed the “prime cut”, the famous Clos des Corbassières, the jewel in the domaine’s crown. In the course of the “noughties”, they successively acquired various Grand Cru plots between Sion and Sierre as well as Clos Chamaray, St-Charles and La Follie. The rich palette of exquisite vines was finally rounded off to perfection by the magnificent Clos des Monzuettes.

White wines from Domaine Cornulus

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

Red wines from Domaine Cornulus

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

from Domaine Cornulus

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

Today they cultivate almost 15 hectares (about 220 individual plots on steep terraces) with well over 20 grape varieties (including Petite Arvine, Johannisberg, Marsanne Blanche, Heida, Humagne Blanche, Syrah, Cornalin and Gamay), mostly according to biodynamic principles. Their aim is to use biodynamics to maintain the highest possible degree of terroir authenticity and grape typicity. Through their natural philosophy and working methods, they rebalance the relationship between plant, root and soil, while taking into account natural rhythms and cosmic influences.

At Cornulus, each vineyard is vinified separately so that the uniqueness of the terroir can fully unfold and give expression to its own authenticity; this is because the winemaking duo believes that an assemblage can never express the particularity of its valuable individual layers. They love the special features of the different soils that give each “terroir wine” its personality. In their wine ranges, Stéphane and Dany interpret different styles and philosophies. They keep the yields low, age the wines for longer on the yeast and, in some cases, dispense with malolactic fermentation. The expressive and storable crus are crafted from the grapes of the two premium sites Clos Mangold and Clos des Corbassières. The former lies between Sion and Sierre and is characterised by a terroir with a high gypsum content. The Clos des Corbassières is located on a steep and exposed terraced slope to the west of Sion.

The wines are for the most part produced in amphorae and barriques and stored under ideal conditions in a disused mine below the vineyard.

Producer

Azienda Agricola Pratello

Azienda Agricola Pratello

In Padenghe sul Garda, a small medieval village at the south-western end of Lake Garda, lies the traditional but also progressive Azienda Agricola Pratello.

Read more
Massena / Jaysen Collins

Massena / Jaysen Collins

Dan Standish and Jaysen Collins were college friends, and in the late 1990s they decided to put their talents together to produce wine. Recently, Jaysen Collins has taken charge of the "Massena" project on his own.The grapes are purchased from growers in Greenock, Kalimna and Koonunga Hill in the northwest Barossa Valley.

Read more
Bonvin

Bonvin

High above Sion, on the Clos du Château, is the heart of the oldest wine trading house in Valais – today's winery Charles Bonvin SA. The view sweeps over the wide Rhone valley, meets the two castle hills of Tourbillon and Valère and grazes on the magnificent Valais vine landscape with its countless terraces.

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Domaine Cornulus

Créée à petite échelle il y a 20 ans, cette cave est devenue un modèle dans le Valais, elle représente le travail en harmonie avec la nature ainsi que des vins de haute qualité, qui reflètent le terroir unique.

Les cousins valaisans Stéphane Reynard et Dany Varone sont des perfectionnistes qui aiment ce qu'ils font. Ils s'occupent de leurs raisins, qui prospèrent au-dessus de Sion dans le village de Savièse, comme s'il s'agissait de leurs propres enfants. Grâce au travail de cave précis et compétent de Dany Varone, ils produisent des vins de terroir de la meilleure qualité. Le duo de vignerons, qui fait partie aujourd'hui de l'élite du Valais, a lancé son projet à succès Domaine Cornulus en 1986. Les deux associés fondent la cave « Buteo » et commencent avec «Garage Winery». Ils achètent les premières récoltes sur pied directement auprès de différents vignerons de Savièse et pressent les premiers raisins dans un garage. Dès l'année suivante, ils louent en fermage leurs premiers raisins dans les vignobles au-dessus de Sion (moins d'un hectare). En 1989 ils créent la Sélection Cornulus, qui sera également le nom de leur vignoble. Quelques vendanges plus tard en 1995, ils acquièrent les premières parcelles du Clos de Mangold. Peu à peu, leur rêve de fonder leur propre domaine prend forme. «Car sans terroir, il n'y a pas vraiment de bons vins», selon Stéphane et Dany. En 1999 suit le joyau, le fameux Clos des Corbassières, qui couronne le domaine. Au tournant du siècle, ils achètent différentes parcelles de grands crus entre Sion et Sierre, ainsi que le Clos Chamaray, St-Charles et la Follie. Le magnifique Clos des Monzuettes complète enfin cette riche palette de crus.

Vins blancs de Domaine Cornulus

Vins rouges de Domaine Cornulus

de Domaine Cornulus

Aujourd'hui ils exploitent près de 15 hectares (env. 220 parcelles sur des terrasses escarpées) avec plus de 20 cépages  (dont Petite Arvine, Johannisberg, Marsanne Blanche, Heida, Humagne Blanche, Syrah, Cornalin et Gamay), en grande partie selon des principes biodynamiques. Leur objectif est d'atteindre, grâce à la biodynamique, un maximum d'authenticité du terroir et de typicité du raisin. Grâce à leur philosophie et leur méthode de travail proches de la nature, ils rétablissent l'équilibre entre la plante, la racine et le sol. Tout ceci dans le respect des rythmes de la nature et des influences cosmiques.

 

Chez Cornulus, chaque parcelle de vignoble est vinifiée séparément, pour que l'unicité du terroir se développe intégralement et de manière authentique, car le duo de vignerons pense qu'un assemblage ne permettra jamais d'exprimer les particularités de chacun des précieux emplacements. Ils aiment les particularités des différents sols qui confèrent à chaque «vin de terroir» sa personnalité. Dans leurs lignes de vins, Stéphane und Dany interprètent différents styles et philosophies. Ils maintiennent les rendements à des niveaux faibles, élèvent le vin sur lie plus longtemps et renoncent en partie à la fermentation malolactique. Les crus expressifs et de garde sont produits à partir des raisins sur les deux magnifiques parcelles du Clos Mangold et du Clos des Corbassières. La première se situe entre Sion et Sierre et elle se distingue par un terroir très gypseux. Le Clos des Corbassières pousse sur une terrasse escarpée et exposée, à l'Ouest de Sion.

Une grande partie des vins est élevée en amphores et en barriques et entreposée dans des conditions idéales, dans une mine abandonnée, sous le vignoble.

Producteur

Bodega Rafael Palacios S.L.

Bodega Rafael Palacios S.L.

Il voulait prouver au monde entier qu'il pouvait faire le meilleur vin blanc d'Espagne - et il l'a fait!

en savoir plus
Bodegas Vega Sindoa

Bodegas Vega Sindoa

Les vignobles des vins Vega Sindoa se trouvent au cœur de la Navarre, dans la vallée de Nekeas, la vallée où habite le vin, comme disent les populations autochtones. La 6ème étape sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle longe ce charmant paysage vallonné où l'on pratique la viticulture depuis des siècles.

en savoir plus
Bodegas y Viñedos Artadi de Laguardia

Bodegas y Viñedos Artadi de Laguardia

Juan Carlos López de Lacalle, œnologue et fondateur du groupe Artadi, a su créer des vins uniques dans la Rioja de manière brillante et créative. Il s'appuie pour cela sur un style incomparable et sa passion pour les méthodes de viticulture respectueuses de l'environnement, qui garantissent l'avenir de la viticulture et l'authenticité de ses vins.

en savoir plus