to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Domaine Cornulus

What started out from humble beginnings over 20 years ago is now one of Valais’ flagship wineries and the byword for both a way of working in harmony with nature and premium wines, all of which strongly bring out their individual terroir.

Valais natives and cousins Stéphane Reynard and Dany Varone are perfectionists who love what they do. They tend to their vines, which live and thrive above Sion in the village of Savièse, as if they were their own children. Thanks to Dany Varone’s meticulous and expert work in the wine cellar, they craft terroir wines of the highest quality. This winemaking duo – now part of the Valais elite – laid the foundation for their successful Domaine Cornulus project in 1986, setting up the “Buteo” wine cellar and launching their “Garage Winery”. They bought their first harvests straight off the vines of various Savièse winegrowers and started pressing them in a garage. The following year, they leased their first vines in the vineyards above Sion (less than 1 hectare). In 1989 they created the Sélection Cornulus, after which their winery is named. A few harvests later, they acquired their first plots in the Clos de Mangold in 1995. Their dream of establishing a real domaine of their own gradually took shape. “After all, you will rarely find a good wine without terroir,” say Stéphane and Dany. In 1999 there followed the “prime cut”, the famous Clos des Corbassières, the jewel in the domaine’s crown. In the course of the “noughties”, they successively acquired various Grand Cru plots between Sion and Sierre as well as Clos Chamaray, St-Charles and La Follie. The rich palette of exquisite vines was finally rounded off to perfection by the magnificent Clos des Monzuettes.

White wines from Domaine Cornulus

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

Red wines from Domaine Cornulus

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

from Domaine Cornulus

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

Today they cultivate almost 15 hectares (about 220 individual plots on steep terraces) with well over 20 grape varieties (including Petite Arvine, Johannisberg, Marsanne Blanche, Heida, Humagne Blanche, Syrah, Cornalin and Gamay), mostly according to biodynamic principles. Their aim is to use biodynamics to maintain the highest possible degree of terroir authenticity and grape typicity. Through their natural philosophy and working methods, they rebalance the relationship between plant, root and soil, while taking into account natural rhythms and cosmic influences.

At Cornulus, each vineyard is vinified separately so that the uniqueness of the terroir can fully unfold and give expression to its own authenticity; this is because the winemaking duo believes that an assemblage can never express the particularity of its valuable individual layers. They love the special features of the different soils that give each “terroir wine” its personality. In their wine ranges, Stéphane and Dany interpret different styles and philosophies. They keep the yields low, age the wines for longer on the yeast and, in some cases, dispense with malolactic fermentation. The expressive and storable crus are crafted from the grapes of the two premium sites Clos Mangold and Clos des Corbassières. The former lies between Sion and Sierre and is characterised by a terroir with a high gypsum content. The Clos des Corbassières is located on a steep and exposed terraced slope to the west of Sion.

The wines are for the most part produced in amphorae and barriques and stored under ideal conditions in a disused mine below the vineyard.

Producer

Azienda Agricola Pratello

Azienda Agricola Pratello

In Padenghe sul Garda, a small medieval village at the south-western end of Lake Garda, lies the traditional but also progressive Azienda Agricola Pratello.

Read more
Massena / Jaysen Collins

Massena / Jaysen Collins

Dan Standish and Jaysen Collins were college friends, and in the late 1990s they decided to put their talents together to produce wine. Recently, Jaysen Collins has taken charge of the "Massena" project on his own.The grapes are purchased from growers in Greenock, Kalimna and Koonunga Hill in the northwest Barossa Valley.

Read more
Bonvin

Bonvin

High above Sion, on the Clos du Château, is the heart of the oldest wine trading house in Valais – today's winery Charles Bonvin SA. The view sweeps over the wide Rhone valley, meets the two castle hills of Tourbillon and Valère and grazes on the magnificent Valais vine landscape with its countless terraces.

Read more

Domaine Cornulus

Was vor über 20 Jahren klein angefangen hat, ist heute eine der Walliser Vorzeigekellereien und steht für Arbeit in Einklang mit der Natur sowie Spitzenweine, die das einzelne Terroir betonen.

Die Walliser Cousins Stéphane Reynard und Dany Varone sind Perfektionisten, die lieben, was sie tun. Sie schenken ihren Reben, die oberhalb von Sion im Dorf Savièse gedeihen, eine Aufmerksamkeit, als wären es ihre eigenen Kinder. Dank der präzisen und kompetenten Kellerarbeit von Dany Varone schaffen sie Terroirweine von höchster Güte. Das Winzerduo –heute Teil der Walliser Elite – legt im Jahr 1986 den Grundstein seines Erfolgsprojekts Domaine Cornulus. Die beiden gründen den Weinkeller «Buteo» und starten als «Garage Winery». Die ersten Ernten kaufen sie direkt ab den Reben verschiedener Winzer von Savièse und keltern anfänglich in einer Garage. Bereits im Folgejahr pachten sie ihre ersten Reben in den Weingärten über Sion (weniger als 1 Hektare). 1989 kreieren sie die Sélection Cornulus, nach der ihr Weingut dann auch benannt wird. Ein paar Weinlesen später erwerben sie 1995 die ersten Parzellen des Clos de Mangold. Nach und nach nimmt ihr Traum, eine echte eigene Domaine zu gründen, Form an. «Denn ohne Terroir gibt es kaum gute Weine», so Stéphane und Dany. 1999 folgt das «Filetstück», der berühmte Clos des Corbassières, welcher der Domaine das Krönchen aufsetzt. Im Lauf der Nullerjahre erwerben sie sukzessive diverse Grand-Cru-Parzellen zwischen Sion und Sierre sowie den Clos Chamaray, St-Charles und La Follie. Der grossartige Clos des Monzuettes rundet schliesslich die reichhaltige Palette erlesener Gewächse ab.

Weissweine von Domaine Cornulus

In Stock
Clos des Corbassières Hermitage Coeur du Clos 2018
Nur noch 8 Flaschen
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

Rotweine von Domaine Cornulus

In Stock
Clos des Corbassières Humagne Rouge Coeur du Clos 2020
Nur noch 17 Flaschen
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
Antica Cornalin 2020
Nur noch 3 Flaschen

von Domaine Cornulus

In Stock
Clos des Corbassières Johannisberg Coeur du Clos 2019
Nur noch 2 Flaschen
In Stock
In Stock
Antica Cornalin 2020
Nur noch 3 Flaschen
In Stock

Heute bewirtschaften sie knapp 15 Hektaren (ca. 220 einzelne Parzellen auf steilen Terrassen) mit weit über 20 Rebsorten (darunter Petite Arvine, Johannisberg, Marsanne Blanche, Heida, Humagne Blanche, Syrah, Cornalin und Gamay) grösstenteils nach biodynamischen Richtlinien. Ihr Ziel ist es, durch die Biodynamie ein Höchstmass an Terroirauthentizität und Traubentypizität zu erhalten. Sie bringen durch ihre naturnahe Philosophie und Arbeitsweise das Verhältnis zwischen Pflanze, Wurzel und Boden wieder ins Lot. Dies unter Berücksichtigung der natürlichen Rhythmen und kosmischen Einflüsse.

 

Bei Cornulus wird jede Rebparzelle separat vinifiziert, damit sich die Einzigartigkeit des Terroirs voll entfalten und authentisch zeigen kann, denn das Winzerduo glaubt, dass eine Assemblage die Eigenheiten der einzelnen wertvollen Lagen nie zum Ausdruck bringen kann. Sie lieben die Besonderheiten der unterschiedlichen Böden, die jedem «Terroirwein» seine Persönlichkeit verleihen. Stéphane und Dany interpretieren in ihren Weinlinien verschiedene Stile und Philosophien. Sie halten die Erträge tief, bauen länger auf der Hefe aus und verzichten teils auf die malolaktische Gärung. Die expressiven und lagerfähigen Crus werden aus dem Traubengut der beiden Spitzenlagen Clos Mangold und Clos des Corbassières erzeugt. Ersterer liegt zwischen Sion und Sierre und zeichnet sich durch sein stark gipshaltiges Terroir aus. Der Clos des Corbassières ist an einem exponierten, terrassierten Steilhang westlich von Sion angesiedelt.

Ein Grossteil der Weine wird in Amphoren und Barriques ausgebaut und lagert unter idealen Bedingungen in einer stillgelegten Mine unterhalb des Weinbergs.

Winzer

Fattoria Nicodemi / Fam. Nicodemi

Fattoria Nicodemi / Fam. Nicodemi

Zwischen dem tiefblauen Adriatischen Meer im Osten und den schneebedeckten Bergspitzen des Gran Sasso erstreckt sich eine hügelige, lieblich anmutende Landschaft. Auf einer Hügelkuppe liegt das hübsche Dorf Notaresco und nicht weit davon entfernt das Weingut der Geschwister Elena und Alessandro Nicodemi.

Weiterlesen
Merryvale Vineyards

Merryvale Vineyards

Der junge Schweizer Jack Schlatter reiste in den 1950er Jahren nach Dallas, um dort eine Stelle im Baumwollhandel anzutreten. Später verschlug es ihn nach Mexiko und São Paulo (dorthin als Kaffeetester) und wieder zurück nach Zürich, um das Baumwollgeschäft im Ostblock aufzubauen. Dabei blieb er immer mit einem Fuss in Dallas und stieg dort ins Immobiliengeschäft ein. Schon früh reizte ihn auch das Weinbusiness. Doch er musste einige Zeit warten, bis er Bill Harlan kennenlernte, den damaligen Besitzer von Merryvale.

Weiterlesen
Nicolas Feuillatte

Nicolas Feuillatte

Nicolas Feuillatte, Visionär und begnadeter Unternehmer, präsentierte seinen Champagner erstmals 1976. Dieser wurde sehr schnell in USA, Australien und England zur Trendmarke in Jetset-Kreisen, wo Nicolas Feuillatte regelmässig verkehrte. In nur 30 Jahren wurde Nicolas Feuillatte zur Champagnermarke Nr. 1 in Frankreich.

Weiterlesen