to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

4G Wines

G. is set to become the Premier Cru or First Growth of the Cape – THE iconic wine of South Africa. Not because it builds on centuries of tradition and history – but the exact opposite, in fact.

4G Wines emerged from a mad idea of two oenophile friends who believed it must be possible to create an iconic wine, even without a professional background. One of which, Philipp Gerhard Axt, was enthralled – or downright obsessed – with the idea, and developed it further with tenacity, meticulousness, passion, savvy, and an entrepreneurial spirit. Two more friends joined subsequently: Giorgio Dalla Cia and Sohn Georges of the Meerlust Estate in Stellenbosch, South Africa. All four have names containing the letter G.

Red wines from 4G Wines

In Stock
G. Venetia's Heart
Only 17 Bottles
In Stock
G. Venetia's Heart
Only 1 Bottle
In Stock

from 4G Wines

In Stock
G. Venetia's Heart
Only 1 Bottle
In Stock
G. Venetia's Heart
Only 17 Bottles
In Stock

The project’s purpose was clear from the very beginning: to press the very first Premier Cru and the primordial iconic wine of South Africa. A wine that could measure up to the great wines of the world.

Numerous international comparative tastings have shown G. to be close, or already part of the top echelon. 2010 was the first vintage of the Bordeaux blend with Syrah, which may vary in its composition for each vintage. In 2011, none other than Denis Dubourdieu, professor at the University of Bordeaux and consultant to some of the best wine producers of the world, assumed responsibility for the project, alongside his longstanding associate Dr Valérie Lavigne.

Nothing is left to chance for the work in the cellar and vineyard. A highly qualified team carries out the actual precision work in the leased parcels - "precision viticulture". There are about fifteen different vineyards, some of which are only a few rows in size, spread over the entire Western Cape. The selection of the grapes is one of the biggest success factors. Each grape berry is checked before it enters the fermentation vat.

Philipp G. Axt is only satisfied with the very best, also in the selection of barrels, when buying the best corks, with the specially made bottle, the wooden crates from Ghana, the labels designed by the up-and-coming Berlin artist Sebastian Blinde, etc. He does not have his own cellar built by a star architect. In the simple, rented building, the flagship G. and his little brother THE ECHO OF G. mature towards their destiny: to show the world of wine that there are also wines to be found on the Cape that can be ranked among the world's best.

Producers

Domaine Tollot-Beaut / Nathalie Tollot

Domaine Tollot-Beaut / Nathalie Tollot

This fine family domaine has existed since the end of the 19th century. Initially, there were only a few vineyards in the village of Chorey. As time went on, it developed into 24 hectares in the communes of Beaune, Savigny and Aloxe-Corton. The estate is now run by cousins Nathalie, Jean-Paul, and Olivier Tollot.

Read more
Viñedos Terranoble

Viñedos Terranoble

Soon after their arrival, the first Spanish colonists were already remarking the ideal vine growing conditions in Chile. In this country of great contrasts, embedded between the Andes and the Pacific Ocean, the many wine regions differ significantly through micro-climate, topography and altitudes, and geological properties. TerraNoble owns vineyards in three different regions and so can provide different varieties with the most suitable growing conditions.

Read more
Cascina Barisél / Franco Penna

Cascina Barisél / Franco Penna

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

4G Wines

G. est en très bonne voie de devenir LE Premier Cru du Cap et même le vin culte d’Afrique du Sud, et ce non pas parce qu’une tradition centenaire le précède. Non, c’est tout le contraire.

4G Wines a vu le jour grâce à deux amis passionnés de vin, lesquels ont un jour pensé qu’il devait leur être possible de créer un vin pouvant devenir culte, sans être pour autant des professionnels. L’un deux, Philipp Gerhard Axt, n’avait que cette idée en tête. Il se servit de sa persévérance, sa minutie, sa ferveur, son esprit, ainsi que de son esprit d’entreprise pour la faire évoluer. Deux amis les ont ensuite rejoints : Giorgio della Cia et son fils George, autrefois employés de Meerlust Estate dans le Stellenbosch, en Afrique du Sud.

Vins rouges de 4G Wines

In Stock
G. Zwizzirön 2017
Plus que 3 Bouteilles
In Stock
In Stock
G. Le Capitaine 2016
Plus que 2 Bouteilles
In Stock
The Echo of G. 2014
Plus que 8 Bouteilles

de 4G Wines

In Stock
In Stock
G. Le Capitaine 2016
Plus que 2 Bouteilles
In Stock
G. Zwizzirön 2017
Plus que 3 Bouteilles
In Stock
The Echo of G. 2014
Plus que 8 Bouteilles

L’objectif du projet était clair dès le début : vinifier un Premier Cru en Afrique du Sud, et en faire le premier vin vraiment culte du pays, qui pourrait se mesurer aux plus grands vins dans le monde.

Au cours de nombreuses dégustations comparatives de vins internationaux, il est ressorti que G. est tout proche et se classe même déjà parmi les meilleurs. La Syrah a été assemblée avec des cépages de Bordeaux pour la première fois en 2010, la composition pouvant varier en fonction du millésime. L’année suivante, Denis Dubourdieu, éminent professeur à l'Université de Bordeaux et conseiller de certains des meilleurs producteurs de vin au monde, est devenu responsable du projet avec à ses côtés Valérie Lavigne, son employée de longue date.

Rien n'est laissé au hasard pour le travail dans la cave et le vignoble. Une équipe hautement qualifiée effectue le travail de précision dans les parcelles louées - la "viticulture de précision". Il y a une quinzaine de vignobles différents, certains n’ayant que quelques rangs, répartis sur l'ensemble du Cap-Occidental. La sélection des raisins est l'un des plus grands facteurs de réussite. Chaque baie de raisin est contrôlée avant d'entrer dans la cuve de fermentation.

Philipp G. Axt ne veut que ce qui se fait de mieux, aussi bien lorsqu’il choisit ses fûts, achète les meilleurs bouchons, des bouteilles conçues sur mesure, des caisses en bois du Ghana, des étiquettes réalisées par l'artiste berlinois en plein essor Sebastian Blinde, etc. Pour faire tout cela, il n'a pas sa cave à lui, pas d’architecte star pour la dessiner non plus. Dans le modeste bâtiment de location, G. et son petit frère The Echo of G. mûrissent sont élevés pour leur destinée: montrer au monde vinicole que même des vins du Cap peuvent rivaliser avec les meilleurs.

Producteur

Dirk van der Niepoort

Dirk van der Niepoort

Dirk van der Niepoort - grand ambassadeur des fantastiques vins de la vallée du Douro, est également actif et créatif dans d'autres régions viticoles portugaises. Son rêve était depuis longtemps de produire des vins dans les microclimats de l'Alentejo et du Dão. Ce vigneron self-made talentueux, qui aime porter un chapeau, a trouvé ce qu'il cherchait et son idée folle en ces temps de folie a pris forme sous la forme des vins Crazy Hatter.

En savoir plus
Domaine Marcel Deiss

Domaine Marcel Deiss

Dans les vins de Jean-Michel Deiss bat le vrai cœur de l'Alsace!

En savoir plus
Salzl

Salzl

Le vignoble autrichien de Salzl Seewinkelhof se trouve à Illmitz, au milieu des lacs et des plaines pittoresques du parc national de Neusiedlersee-Seewinkel dans le Burgenland. Situé à une bonne heure de voiture de Vienne, ce domaine viticole familial propose en annexe une confortable pension 4 étoiles avec piscine.

En savoir plus