to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Douro

Douro: from port wine to cult wine

For centuries, the legendary reputation of the Douro valley has rested on port wine. By 1970, the five best had been selected from dozens of long-established varieties to be grown on a large scale. Simultaneously, the Douro vintners created the conditions that today allow them to conquer export markets with concentrated and fruity red wines along with port wines. The unique terraced vineyards along the Douro were declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2001.

White wines from Douro

In Stock
Passagem white wine Reserva
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Quinta de la Rosa Tim Grande Reserva white wine
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Quinta de la Rosa white wine Reserva
Vegan
Certified integrated production
Out Of Stock
Parker 91 Points
Quinta de la Rosa white wine Reserva
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Red wines from Douro

In Stock
Passagem Reserva
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Wine Spectator 89 Points
Quinta de la Rosa red wine
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Quinta de la Rosa red wine

DOC Douro, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 22.–
In Stock
Quinta de la Rosa red wine
Only 6 Bottles
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Quinta de la Rosa red wine

DOC Duoro, 2011, 18000 ml
CHF 1'150.–
In Stock
Quinta de la Rosa red wine
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Quinta de la Rosa red wine

DOC Duoro, 2017, 375 ml
CHF 13.–

It was a famous nobleman who established the strong reputation of Douro wines. Because of the poor relations between England and France in the late 18th century, British businessmen purchased ever more Douro wine. But due to the enormous demand, the quality of the wines declined, even being mixed with elderberry juice. In 1756, the Portuguese Prime Minister – the legendary Marquês de Pombal – personally stepped in, founding an association to regulate strict quality criteria in the production of Duoro wines. A cadastral survey determined, among other things, that Douro wines may only be produced in slate soils. This decree from the highest office is now regarded as one of the first controlled designations of origin in wine-growing history.

Grown on slate

The slate soils are a decisive factor in the quality of Douro wines. For one, vines must form deep roots in order to get sufficient nutrients in the sparse slate soils. Because of the varying climate in the valley, the cultivation area is divided into three sub-zones. In the westernmost part, the Baixo Corgo, a comparatively cool climate prevails, influenced by the nearby Atlantic Ocean. The dry Cima Corgo, with its spectacular terraced vineyards, is considered the heart of the cultivation area. Here, the most prestigious port wines are produced, along with many premium red wines. Meanwhile, the impassable and hot Douro Superior near the Spanish border is considered a new El Dorado for concentrated red wines.

Port wine specialty

Wine cultivation in the Douro Valley is carried out from the Douro River to the valley’s high slopes, at elevations from 200 to 900 meters above sea level. And the range of wines produced here is just as large. Fresh white wines mature here as well as fully structured red wines. However, the specialty of the valley is still port wine. While the vintage ports are bottled two years after harvest (but can continue developing for decades in the bottle), the so-called tawnies mature for years in oak barrels before coming to the market.

Regions

Rhône
France

Rhône

Rhône: northern power, southern charm

Read more
Steiermark
Austria

Steiermark

Styria: the fresh, white wave

Read more
South Australia
Australia

South Australia

South Australia: Shiraz as a driving force

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Douro

Douro: de vin de Porto à vin culte

La réputation légendaire de la vallée du Douro se basait depuis des siècles uniquement sur le Porto, mais dans les années 1970, les cinq meilleurs cépages sur la douzaine de cépages locaux disponibles furent privilégiés et cultivés en masse. Ceci permit aux vignerons de produire des vins rouges concentrés et fruités, en plus de l’activité liée au Porto, et ainsi de conquérir le marché à l’export. Sur un autre plan, les uniques vignobles en terrasses le long du Douro sont classés au patrimoine culturel de l’UNESCO depuis déjà 2001.

Vins blancs de Douro

In Stock
Passagem white wine Reserva
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Quinta de la Rosa Tim Grande Reserva white wine
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
Out Of Stock
Parker 91 Points
Quinta de la Rosa white wine Reserva
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Quinta de la Rosa white wine Reserva
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée

Vins rouges de Douro

In Stock
Passagem Reserva
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Quinta de la Rosa red wine
Plus que 11 Bouteilles
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Quinta de la Rosa red wine
Plus que 22 Bouteilles
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Quinta de la Rosa red wine
Plus que 6 Bouteilles
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée

C’est à un noble célèbre que les vins du Douro doivent leur excellente réputation. En raison des relations déplorables entre la France et l’Angleterre au 18ème siècle, les notables anglais se procuraient de plus en plus de vin en Douro. Mais face à cette demande sans cesse grandissante, la qualité se dégrada, les vins étant même souvent mélangés à du jus de sureau. En 1756, le premier ministre portugais, le légendaire Marquis de Pombal, intervenait en fondant une société, qui garantissait le respect strict de critères qualitatifs dans les méthodes de production. Entre autres, un cadastre définissait que les vins de Douro ne pouvaient provenir que des terroirs schisteux, posant ainsi par un décret dicté en haut-lieu, les bases de ce qui allait devenir la première appellation d’origine contrôlée de l’histoire de la viticulture.

Nés sur les schistes

De fait, les schistes sont un facteur de qualité déterminant pour les vins de Douro, les vignes étant forcées à s’enfoncer profondément dans ces sols pauvres afin de trouver suffisamment d’éléments nutritifs. En raison des conditions climatiques différentes régnant sur la région, le vignoble est subdivisé en trois. A l’ouest, dans le Baixo Corgo, le climat est relativement froid en raison de la proximité de l’Atlantique. Le Cima Corgo sec et ses terrasses spectaculaires représentent le cœur de la région; les portos prestigieux et de plus en plus de vins rouges ayant ici leur origine. Enfin le Haut-Douro chaud et quasi impraticable près de la frontière espagnole est considéré aujourd’hui comme l’eldorado des vins rouges concentrés.

La spécialité du porto

Dans la vallée du Douro, les vignes sont exploitées de 200 à 900 mètres d’altitude jusque dans les flancs escarpés, la variété des vins produits étant aussi importante que les déclivités. On y trouve aussi bien des vins blancs frais que des vins rouges structurés. Bien que les portos vintage sont mis en bouteilles 2 ans seulement après les vendanges, ils peuvent encore se développer pendant des décennies dans la bouteille. Les tawnys, eux, mûrissent pendant des années en fûts de chêne avant d’être mis sur le marché.

Régions

Sardegna
Italie

Sardegna

La Sardaigne: un melting-pot de vins

en savoir plus
Abruzzo
Italie

Abruzzo

Les Abruzzes: des vins de caractère entre mer et montagne

en savoir plus
Calvados
France

Calvados

Le Calvados: la puissance de la pomme en Normandie

en savoir plus