to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Douro

Douro: from port wine to cult wine

For centuries, the legendary reputation of the Douro valley has rested on port wine. By 1970, the five best had been selected from dozens of long-established varieties to be grown on a large scale. Simultaneously, the Douro vintners created the conditions that today allow them to conquer export markets with concentrated and fruity red wines along with port wines. The unique terraced vineyards along the Douro were declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2001.

White wines from Douro

In Stock
Passagem white wine Reserva
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Quinta de la Rosa Tim Grande Reserva white wine
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Quinta de la Rosa white wine Reserva
Vegan
Certified integrated production
Out Of Stock
Parker 91 Points
Quinta de la Rosa white wine Reserva
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Red wines from Douro

In Stock
Passagem Reserva
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Wine Spectator 89 Points
Quinta de la Rosa red wine
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Quinta de la Rosa red wine

DOC Douro, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 22.–
In Stock
Quinta de la Rosa red wine
Only 6 Bottles
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Quinta de la Rosa red wine

DOC Duoro, 2011, 18000 ml
CHF 1'150.–
In Stock
Quinta de la Rosa red wine
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Quinta de la Rosa red wine

DOC Duoro, 2017, 375 ml
CHF 13.–

It was a famous nobleman who established the strong reputation of Douro wines. Because of the poor relations between England and France in the late 18th century, British businessmen purchased ever more Douro wine. But due to the enormous demand, the quality of the wines declined, even being mixed with elderberry juice. In 1756, the Portuguese Prime Minister – the legendary Marquês de Pombal – personally stepped in, founding an association to regulate strict quality criteria in the production of Duoro wines. A cadastral survey determined, among other things, that Douro wines may only be produced in slate soils. This decree from the highest office is now regarded as one of the first controlled designations of origin in wine-growing history.

Grown on slate

The slate soils are a decisive factor in the quality of Douro wines. For one, vines must form deep roots in order to get sufficient nutrients in the sparse slate soils. Because of the varying climate in the valley, the cultivation area is divided into three sub-zones. In the westernmost part, the Baixo Corgo, a comparatively cool climate prevails, influenced by the nearby Atlantic Ocean. The dry Cima Corgo, with its spectacular terraced vineyards, is considered the heart of the cultivation area. Here, the most prestigious port wines are produced, along with many premium red wines. Meanwhile, the impassable and hot Douro Superior near the Spanish border is considered a new El Dorado for concentrated red wines.

Port wine specialty

Wine cultivation in the Douro Valley is carried out from the Douro River to the valley’s high slopes, at elevations from 200 to 900 meters above sea level. And the range of wines produced here is just as large. Fresh white wines mature here as well as fully structured red wines. However, the specialty of the valley is still port wine. While the vintage ports are bottled two years after harvest (but can continue developing for decades in the bottle), the so-called tawnies mature for years in oak barrels before coming to the market.

Regions

Rhône
France

Rhône

Rhône: northern power, southern charm

Read more
Steiermark
Austria

Steiermark

Styria: the fresh, white wave

Read more
South Australia
Australia

South Australia

South Australia: Shiraz as a driving force

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Douro

Douro: Vom Portwein zum Kultwein

Der legendäre Ruf des Douro-Tales basierte über Jahrhunderte hinweg auf dem Portwein. Ab 1970 wurden aus Dutzenden von alteingesessenen Rebsorten gezielt die fünf besten selektioniert und im grossen Stil angebaut. Damit schufen die Douro-Winzer auch die Voraussetzungen dafür, dass sie heute neben den Portweinen auch mit konzentrierten und fruchtbetonten Rotweinen die Exportmärkte erobern. Die einmaligen Terrassen-Rebberge entlang des Douro wurden schon 2001 zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe erklärt.

Weissweine aus Douro

In Stock
Passagem white wine Reserva
Nur noch 6 Flaschen
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert
In Stock
Passagem white wine Reserva
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert
In Stock
Passagem white wine Reserva
Nur noch 19 Flaschen
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert
In Stock
Quinta de la Rosa Tim Grande Reserva white wine
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Rotweine aus Douro

In Stock
Passagem Reserva
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert
In Stock
Quinta de la Rosa red wine
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Quinta de la Rosa red wine

DOC Duoro, 2017, 375 ml
CHF 13.–
In Stock
Wine Spectator 90 Punkte
Quinta de la Rosa red wine
Nur noch 4 Flaschen
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Quinta de la Rosa red wine

DOC Douro, 2016, 3000 ml
CHF 133.–
In Stock
Quinta de la Rosa red wine
Nur noch 12 Flaschen
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Quinta de la Rosa red wine

DOC Duoro, 2016, 9000 ml
CHF 525.–

Es war ein berühmter Adeliger, der den guten Ruf der Douro-Weine begründete. Wegen der schlechten Beziehungen zwischen England und Frankreich, kauften englische Geschäftsleute im 18. Jahrhundert immer mehr Douro-Wein. Doch aufgrund der enormen Nachfrage wurde die Qualität der Weine immer schlechter, oft wurden sie sogar mit Holundersaft vermischt. 1756 schritt der portugiesische Premierminister, der legendäre Marquês de Pombal, persönlich ein und gründete eine Gesellschaft, welche die Einhaltung von strengen Qualitätskriterien bei der Produktion von Douro-Weinen garantieren sollte. Ein Katasterplan legte unter anderem fest, dass Douro-Weine nur auf Schieferböden produziert werden dürfen. Dieses von oberster Stelle diktierte Dekret gilt heute als eine der ersten kontrollierten Ursprungsbezeichnungen in der Weinbaugeschichte.

Auf Schiefer gewachsen

Tatsächlich sind die Schieferböden ein entscheidender Faktor für die Qualität der Douro-Weine. Denn im kargen Schiefer müssen die Reben tiefe Wurzeln bilden, um genügend Nährstoff zu bekommen. Wegen dem unterschiedlichen Klima im Tal, ist das Anbaugebiet in drei Subzonen unterteilt. Im westlichsten Teil, dem Baixo Corgo herrscht ein vergleichsweise kühles, vom nahen Atlantik beeinflusstes Klima. Der trockene Cima Corgo mit seinen spektakulären Rebterrassen gilt als das Herz des Anbaugebietes. Hier reifen die prestigeträchtigsten Port-, vermehrt aber auch rote Spitzenweine. Der unwegsame, heisse Douro Superior nahe der spanischen Grenze gilt als neues El Dorado für konzentrierte Rotweine.

Spezialität Portwein

Im Douro-Tal wird ausgehend vom Douro-Fluss bis in die hohen Talflanken, von 200 bis 900 Meter über Meer, Weinbau betrieben. Entsprechend gross ist das Spektrum der Weine, die hier erzeugt werden. Frische Weissweine reifen hier ebenso wie voll strukturierte Rotweine. Die besondere Spezialität des Tals sind nach wie vor die Portweine. Während die Vintage Ports schon zwei Jahre nach der Ernte abgefüllt werden, sich aber in der Flasche jahrzehntelang weiter entwickeln können, reifen die sogenannten Tawnys jahrelang im Eichenholzfass, bevor sie auf den Markt kommen.

Regionen

Castilla y León
Spanien

Castilla y León

Castilla y León: Zunehmende Vielfalt

Weiterlesen
Wallis
Schweiz

Wallis

Wallis: Alpenweine mit Klasse

Weiterlesen
Neuenburg
Schweiz

Neuenburg

Neuenburg: Das Burgund der Schweiz

Weiterlesen