to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Il Molino di Grace

Frank Grace acquired this estate in 1995 after holidaying in Tuscany with his wife and having fallen for the charm of this idyllic region.

No surprise given his origins in the state of Ohio, with nothing special and dominated by steel production. After major renovation and a partial replanting of the vines in 1999, the winery reopened its doors under the direction of Gerhard Hirmer, with Franco Bernabei, a well known figure in Italy, as winemaker. Marketing is left to Tim, Frank's son, and success has not been long in coming: in 2004 the Gambero Rosso guide raised expectations and in 2005 Decanter designated the estate one of the 25 best in Italy.

Il Molino di Grace, a historic old windmill, marks the entrance to the estate ('tenuta') a few kilometres south of Panzano amongst the hills of Chianti Classico. Sangiovese naturally plays the main role on the 14 hectare site at an altitude of 280 to 450 metres. Pockets of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Syrah and Canaiolo round out the complement of varietals. The oldest vines planted 55 years ago are reserved for the Gratius, the flagship wine made exclusively from Sangiovese grown on a soil called Gastestro, the best in Chianti, composed of clay-limestone marl and pebbles.

The viticulture adopts natural methods where possible, avoiding chemical fertilisers, herbicides and pesticides. The winemaking extends this approach with respect for indigenous yeasts and as little intervention as possible, and ageing is done in wood that integrates well with the structure of each wine. Most of the wines are not filtered, which can mean some sediment on ageing, leaving a rugged wine of full intensity and guaranteeing greater longevity. Here we present the Chianti Classico, a wine free of chic and fad but as it should be: honest, reliable and open. And that's why it finds friends even among the most sceptical of wine lovers.

Red wines from Il Molino di Grace

In Stock
Parker 89 Points
Chianti classico Gran Selezione Il Margone 2015
In Stock

Chianti classico 2018

IGT, Molino di Grace, 750 ml
In Stock

Chianti classico 2017

IGT, Molino di Grace, 750 ml
In Stock

Chianti classico 2019

IGT, Molino di Grace, 750 ml

Delicatessen from Il Molino di Grace

In Stock

Aceto Balsamico di Modena No 2

Il Molino di Grace, 250 ml
In Stock

Aceto Balsamico di Modena No 9

Il Molino di Grace, 250 ml

from Il Molino di Grace

In Stock
Parker 89 Points
Chianti classico Gran Selezione Il Margone 2015
In Stock

Chianti classico 2017

IGT, Molino di Grace, 750 ml
In Stock

Chianti classico Riserva 2019

DOCG, Molino di Grace, 750 ml
In Stock

Chianti classico 2018

IGT, Molino di Grace, 750 ml

Producer

Supernatural Wine Co.

Supernatural Wine Co.

For the curious, the cosmopolitan, the devotees of organic and bio-dynamic principles, and most certainly for wine-fanatics: Our novelty from Hawke’s Bay in New Zealand is exceptional, exciting, and always leads to exhilarating discourse.

Read more
Bodegas Ribas

Bodegas Ribas

The island wines from Mallorca have been blessed for years with high quality and Mediterranean charm. Along with Syrah, Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon, it is above all the indigenous varieties such as Mantonegro, Gargollassa, Callet and Prensal blanc, that make Mallorca a true “treasure island”. Grapes that exist only here reflect the unmistakable character of this unique wine island. 

Read more
J. & M. Dizerens

J. & M. Dizerens

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Il Molino di Grace

Frank Grace fit l’acquisition de cette propriété en 1995 après que lui et son épouse furent tombés sous le charme de la région visitée lors d’un voyage en Italie.

Pour eux qui venaient d’une province industrielle de l’Ohio aux Etats-Unis, spécialisée dans l’acier, la beauté de la région fit tout de suite son effet. En 1999, l’azienda ouvrit après rénovation complète des vignes et des bâtiments, avec comme directeur Gerhard Hirmer et comme œnologue Franco Bernabei, déjà reconnu en Italie pour ses talents, tandis que Tim, le fils de Frank, fut chargé de la partie marketing. Le succès ne fut pas long à venir: en 2004, Il Molino di Grace fut nommé promu de l’année au guide «Gambero rosso», avant de faire partie en 2005 des meilleurs producteurs italiens pour la revue «Decanter».

Il Molino di Grace – un moulin à vent historique marque l’entrée de la tenuta – se situe à quelques kilomètres au sud de Panzano au milieu des collines du Chianti classico. Le Sangiovese règne en spécialité incontournable sur ces 40 hectares répartis entre 280 et 450 mètres d’altitude. Les cépages comme le Cabernet Sauvignon, le Merlot, la Syrah et le Canaiolo sont également représentés en complément. Le sol, ici appelé galestro, se compose de marnes argilo-calcaires qui s’effritent sous la main: le meilleur terroir de la zone du Chianti classico!

Pour les travaux de la vigne, le domaine met en pratique les méthodes biologiques sans avoir recours aux produits de synthèse comme les engrais, les herbicides ou les pesticides. En vinification, les mêmes principes de faible intervention sont la règle, et la nature opère. L’utilisation du bois pour les élevages est modérée, et la filtration est évitée pour la mise en bouteille, ce qui implique qu’un dépôt peut se former, mais l’intensité aromatique n’en est qu’accrue. L’affinage en bouteille est déjà partiellement réalisé au domaine, ce qui signifie que vous pouvez consommer sans attente supplémentaire nécessaire les bouteilles achetées.

Vins rouges de Il Molino di Grace

Délicatesses de Il Molino di Grace

In Stock
In Stock

de Il Molino di Grace

In Stock
Parker 90 Points
Chianti classico Riserva 2017
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

Producteur

Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

Álvaro Palacios avait 25 ans lorsqu'il s’est installé dans la région isolée du Priorat en 1989. Il a laissé derrière lui la cave parentale de la Rioja (aujourd’hui Palacios Remondo), qui était devenue trop juste pour lui. Avec quelques amis, il voulait ramener à la vie le Priorat endormi de la Belle au Bois Dormant, que les gens avaient quitté pour rechercher dans les villes une vie meilleure et plus facile.

en savoir plus
Marcelo Pelleriti Wines

Marcelo Pelleriti Wines

«Quand je joue une mélodie avec ma guitare, tout autour de moi respire la vie et je vais bien. Lorsqu’ensuite, je marche dans les vignobles, je ressens la puissance et les efforts d’une année entière et je me sens alors prêt à créer de nouveaux vins».

en savoir plus
Domaine Bruno Colin

Domaine Bruno Colin

en savoir plus