to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Il Molino di Grace

Frank Grace acquired this estate in 1995 after holidaying in Tuscany with his wife and having fallen for the charm of this idyllic region.

No surprise given his origins in the state of Ohio, with nothing special and dominated by steel production. After major renovation and a partial replanting of the vines in 1999, the winery reopened its doors under the direction of Gerhard Hirmer, with Franco Bernabei, a well known figure in Italy, as winemaker. Marketing is left to Tim, Frank's son, and success has not been long in coming: in 2004 the Gambero Rosso guide raised expectations and in 2005 Decanter designated the estate one of the 25 best in Italy.

Il Molino di Grace, a historic old windmill, marks the entrance to the estate ('tenuta') a few kilometres south of Panzano amongst the hills of Chianti Classico. Sangiovese naturally plays the main role on the 14 hectare site at an altitude of 280 to 450 metres. Pockets of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Syrah and Canaiolo round out the complement of varietals. The oldest vines planted 55 years ago are reserved for the Gratius, the flagship wine made exclusively from Sangiovese grown on a soil called Gastestro, the best in Chianti, composed of clay-limestone marl and pebbles.

The viticulture adopts natural methods where possible, avoiding chemical fertilisers, herbicides and pesticides. The winemaking extends this approach with respect for indigenous yeasts and as little intervention as possible, and ageing is done in wood that integrates well with the structure of each wine. Most of the wines are not filtered, which can mean some sediment on ageing, leaving a rugged wine of full intensity and guaranteeing greater longevity. Here we present the Chianti Classico, a wine free of chic and fad but as it should be: honest, reliable and open. And that's why it finds friends even among the most sceptical of wine lovers.

Red wines from Il Molino di Grace

In Stock
San Francesco delle Vigne
Vegan
In Stock
Vinum 16.5 Points
Chianti classico Gran Selezione Il Margone
In Stock
Il Volano
Vegan

Il Volano

IGT Toscana, Il Molino di Grace, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 13.–
In Stock
Il Volano
Only 7 Bottles
Vegan

Il Volano

IGT Toscana, Il Molino di Grace, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 12.50

Delicatessen from Il Molino di Grace

In Stock

Aceto Balsamico di Modena No 9

Il Molino di Grace, 250 ml
CHF 35.50
In Stock

Aceto Balsamico di Modena No 2

Il Molino di Grace, 250 ml
CHF 10.30

Producers

Fattoria Nicodemi / Fam. Nicodemi

Fattoria Nicodemi / Fam. Nicodemi

Read more
Weingut Rings

Weingut Rings

Weingut Rings, part of the Palatinate’s vineyard premier league, lies embedded in the sun-drenched Palatinate, right in the middle of the Freinsheim winegrowing district. For more than a decade, the new generation of the Rings family has been passionately concentrating on the ecological production of high quality dry wines. The hallmarks of Weingut Rings are well-balanced, dense wines with pronounced character and great cellar potential.

Read more
Karthäuserhof

Karthäuserhof

The Karthäuserhof - The cradle of world-famous Rieslings, ever since 1335.
 

The Karthäuserhof is a magical spot. Not just because of its idyllic location but also because it is the eighth oldest winegrowing estate in the world and for centuries the cradle of world-famous Rieslings. It was founded in 1335 by Carthusian monks who received the estate as a gift from Prince-Elector Balduin of Luxembourg and operated it as a winery until secularisation. Since 1811 the Karthäuserhof has been owned by our family, now in the seventh generation.

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Il Molino di Grace

Frank Grace fit l’acquisition de cette propriété en 1995 après que lui et son épouse furent tombés sous le charme de la région visitée lors d’un voyage en Italie.

Pour eux qui venaient d’une province industrielle de l’Ohio aux Etats-Unis, spécialisée dans l’acier, la beauté de la région fit tout de suite son effet. En 1999, l’azienda ouvrit après rénovation complète des vignes et des bâtiments, avec comme directeur Gerhard Hirmer et comme œnologue Franco Bernabei, déjà reconnu en Italie pour ses talents, tandis que Tim, le fils de Frank, fut chargé de la partie marketing. Le succès ne fut pas long à venir: en 2004, Il Molino di Grace fut nommé promu de l’année au guide «Gambero rosso», avant de faire partie en 2005 des meilleurs producteurs italiens pour la revue «Decanter».

Il Molino di Grace – un moulin à vent historique marque l’entrée de la tenuta – se situe à quelques kilomètres au sud de Panzano au milieu des collines du Chianti classico. Le Sangiovese règne en spécialité incontournable sur ces 40 hectares répartis entre 280 et 450 mètres d’altitude. Les cépages comme le Cabernet Sauvignon, le Merlot, la Syrah et le Canaiolo sont également représentés en complément. Le sol, ici appelé galestro, se compose de marnes argilo-calcaires qui s’effritent sous la main: le meilleur terroir de la zone du Chianti classico!

Pour les travaux de la vigne, le domaine met en pratique les méthodes biologiques sans avoir recours aux produits de synthèse comme les engrais, les herbicides ou les pesticides. En vinification, les mêmes principes de faible intervention sont la règle, et la nature opère. L’utilisation du bois pour les élevages est modérée, et la filtration est évitée pour la mise en bouteille, ce qui implique qu’un dépôt peut se former, mais l’intensité aromatique n’en est qu’accrue. L’affinage en bouteille est déjà partiellement réalisé au domaine, ce qui signifie que vous pouvez consommer sans attente supplémentaire nécessaire les bouteilles achetées.

Vins rouges de Il Molino di Grace

In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Chianti classico Riserva
Végan
In Stock
Il Volano
Végan
In Stock
Vinum 16.5 Points
Chianti classico Gran Selezione Il Margone

Délicatesses de Il Molino di Grace

In Stock
In Stock

Producteurs

Bodegas Campos Reales

Bodegas Campos Reales

Les paysages de la Meseta Central, dans laquelle se trouve La Mancha, s’étendent à perte de vue - la patrie de Don Quijote et Sancho Panza est la plus grande région viticole d'Espagne.

en savoir plus
Nyetimber

Nyetimber

Dans le monde viticole, l’Angleterre occupe une place tout à fait particulière depuis environ 25 ans, une exception dans le nord froid et humide de l’Europe.

en savoir plus
Karthäuserhof

Karthäuserhof

Le Karthäuserhof: le berceau des rieslings de renommée mondiale, depuis 1335.
 

Le Karthäuserhof est un lieu magique. Pas seulement en raison de son emplacement idyllique, mais aussi parce que c’est le huitième plus ancien domaine viticole du monde et, depuis des siècles, le berceau des Rieslings de renommée mondiale. Il a été fondé en 1335 par des moines chartreux qui ont reçu le domaine en cadeau du Prince-Électeur Balduin de Luxembourg et l’ont exploité comme cave à vin jusqu’à la sécularisation. Depuis 1811, le Karthäuserhof appartient à notre famille, aujourd’hui à la septième génération.

en savoir plus