to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Il Molino di Grace

Frank Grace acquired this estate in 1995 after holidaying in Tuscany with his wife and having fallen for the charm of this idyllic region.

No surprise given his origins in the state of Ohio, with nothing special and dominated by steel production. After major renovation and a partial replanting of the vines in 1999, the winery reopened its doors under the direction of Gerhard Hirmer, with Franco Bernabei, a well known figure in Italy, as winemaker. Marketing is left to Tim, Frank's son, and success has not been long in coming: in 2004 the Gambero Rosso guide raised expectations and in 2005 Decanter designated the estate one of the 25 best in Italy.

Il Molino di Grace, a historic old windmill, marks the entrance to the estate ('tenuta') a few kilometres south of Panzano amongst the hills of Chianti Classico. Sangiovese naturally plays the main role on the 14 hectare site at an altitude of 280 to 450 metres. Pockets of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Syrah and Canaiolo round out the complement of varietals. The oldest vines planted 55 years ago are reserved for the Gratius, the flagship wine made exclusively from Sangiovese grown on a soil called Gastestro, the best in Chianti, composed of clay-limestone marl and pebbles.

The viticulture adopts natural methods where possible, avoiding chemical fertilisers, herbicides and pesticides. The winemaking extends this approach with respect for indigenous yeasts and as little intervention as possible, and ageing is done in wood that integrates well with the structure of each wine. Most of the wines are not filtered, which can mean some sediment on ageing, leaving a rugged wine of full intensity and guaranteeing greater longevity. Here we present the Chianti Classico, a wine free of chic and fad but as it should be: honest, reliable and open. And that's why it finds friends even among the most sceptical of wine lovers.

Red wines from Il Molino di Grace

In Stock
Parker 89 Points
Chianti classico Gran Selezione Il Margone 2015
In Stock

Chianti classico 2018

IGT, Molino di Grace, 750 ml
In Stock

Chianti classico 2017

IGT, Molino di Grace, 750 ml
In Stock

Chianti classico 2019

IGT, Molino di Grace, 750 ml

Delicatessen from Il Molino di Grace

In Stock

Aceto Balsamico di Modena No 2

Il Molino di Grace, 250 ml
In Stock

Aceto Balsamico di Modena No 9

Il Molino di Grace, 250 ml

from Il Molino di Grace

In Stock
Parker 89 Points
Chianti classico Gran Selezione Il Margone 2015
In Stock

Chianti classico 2017

IGT, Molino di Grace, 750 ml
In Stock

Chianti classico Riserva 2019

DOCG, Molino di Grace, 750 ml
In Stock

Chianti classico 2018

IGT, Molino di Grace, 750 ml

Producer

Supernatural Wine Co.

Supernatural Wine Co.

For the curious, the cosmopolitan, the devotees of organic and bio-dynamic principles, and most certainly for wine-fanatics: Our novelty from Hawke’s Bay in New Zealand is exceptional, exciting, and always leads to exhilarating discourse.

Read more
Bodegas Ribas

Bodegas Ribas

The island wines from Mallorca have been blessed for years with high quality and Mediterranean charm. Along with Syrah, Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon, it is above all the indigenous varieties such as Mantonegro, Gargollassa, Callet and Prensal blanc, that make Mallorca a true “treasure island”. Grapes that exist only here reflect the unmistakable character of this unique wine island. 

Read more
J. & M. Dizerens

J. & M. Dizerens

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Il Molino di Grace

Frank Grace erwarb dieses Weingut 1995, nachdem er und seine Frau sich auf einer Italienreise in die Gegend des Chianti verliebt hatten.

Kein Wunder, stammen sie doch aus einer eher trostlosen Provinz in Ohio, USA, die von Stahlindustrie geprägt ist. Mit Gerhard Hirmer als Direktor an seiner Seite eröffnete er 1999 die Azienda nach deren Renovation und teilweiser Neubepflanzung. Franco Bernabei, der in Italien kein Unbekannter seines Fachs ist, wurde als verantwortlicher Önologe engagiert. Franks Sohn Tim ist für den Marketingbereich zuständig. Der Erfolg liess nicht lange auf sich warten und 2004 wurde das Weingut als Aufsteiger des Jahres im Gambero Rosso geehrt, gefolgt vom Decanter, der 2005 Il Molino di Grace zu den 25 besten Produzenten Italiens zählte.

Rotweine von Il Molino di Grace

In Stock
Vinum 16.5 Punkte
Chianti classico Gran Selezione Il Margone
In Stock
Wine Spectator 92 Punkte
Chianti classico
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert

Chianti classico

IGT, Molino di Grace, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 21.–
In Stock
Wine Spectator 93 Punkte
Gratius
Vegan

Gratius

IGT Chianti, Il Molino di Grace, 2011, 750 ml
CHF 44.–

Delikatessen von Il Molino di Grace

In Stock
In Stock

Il Molino di Grace - eine hohe historische Windmühle markiert den Eingang zur Tenuta - liegt wenige Kilometer südlich von Panzano, mitten im hügeligen Chianti classico. Sangiovese ist die Haupttraubensorte auf rund 40 Hektaren, die auf 280 bis 450 Metern über Meer liegen. Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Syrah und Canaiolo sind in den Rebgärten mit kleinen Anteilen vertreten. Die älteste Pflanzung, die mittlerweile über 55-jährig ist, ist dem Topwein Gratius vorbehalten, der aus 100 % Sangiovese gekeltert wird. Die Böden nennt man hier Galestro, sie gelten als die besten des Chianti classico. Sie bestehen aus krümeligem, kalkhaltigem Mergel.

Im Weinbau wird auf synthetische Düngemittel, Herbizide und Schädlingsbekämpfungsmittel verzichtet und nach biologischen Richtlinien gearbeitet. Ebenso wird bei der Vinifikation möglichst schonend und naturbelassen vorgegangen. Der Holzausbau wird moderat eingesetzt. Praktisch alle Weine werden nicht filtriert, so dass sie ein Depot aufweisen können. Ihre Geschmacksintensität ist dafür umso grösser. Auch werden sie bewusst einer längeren Flaschenreife in den Kellern des Weinguts unterzogen, damit Sie diese trinkbereit kaufen und sofort geniessen können.

Winzer

Château Les Valentines

Château Les Valentines

Unweit der pittoresken Städtchen Nizza und Saint-Tropez produzieren die Inhaber des Château Les Valentines, Gilles und Pascale Pons, Weine, die die sommerliche Leichtigkeit und die intensive Sinnlichkeit der schönen Provence widerspiegeln.

Weiterlesen
Weingut Erwin Tinhof

Weingut Erwin Tinhof

WEINGUT ERWIN TINHOF - WEIN VOM LEITHABERG
 


Tinhof ist Neuburger - Neuburger ist Österreich - Kleine Mengen - Grosse Weine

 

Weiterlesen
André Clouet / Jean François Clouet

André Clouet / Jean François Clouet

Das niedrige Haus aus dem 17. Jahrhundert fanden wir nicht gleich auf Anhieb, obwohl das Dorf Bouzy nicht sehr gross ist. Schlichte Gebäude sind um einen Hof gruppiert, dahinter liegt bereits ein Rebgarten, einem Clos ähnlich.

Weiterlesen