to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Loire

Loire: the regal wine river

The French refer to the river landscape of the Loire simply as “the garden of France.” It is no wonder that kings and the nobility built their magnificent chateaux here. At the same time, the Loire is a highly varied wine river. From Pouilly-sur-Loire in the east, to Nantes at the river’s outlet, into the Atlantic, the vineyards follow the river's course and yield highly distinctive wines from varieties such as Sauvignon Blanc, Chenin Blanc, Muscadet and the red Cabernet Franc..

White wines from Loire

In Stock
Le Bouchet
Only 9 Bottles
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Le Bouchet

Vin de France, François Chidaine, 2014, 750 ml
CHF 29.80
In Stock
Le Bouchet
Certified organic or biodynamic wine
In Stock
Les Argiles sec
Certified organic or biodynamic wine
In Stock
Montlouis Clos Habert
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Sweet wines from Loire

In Stock
Montlouis Les Lys liquoreux
Only 2 Bottles
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

The Loire is the longest of the French rivers to flow into the Atlantic. It originates in the Massif Central, near the Rhône valley watershed, and discharges into the Atlantic 1,000 kilometres to the northwest, near Nantes. Along the final 500 kilometres, it is almost entirely lined with vineyards. In total, there are over 50,000 hectares planted with vines on the Loire and its numerous tributaries.

Crisp to noble sweet

The easternmost winegrowing region includes Sancerre and Pouilly-sur-Loire, where very straightforward, dry and crisp wines are produced from Sauvignon Blanc, with green-herb and mineral notes. From here, this variety has set its sights on worldwide success. The westerly tip of the Loire, the region of Nantes, where the river flows into the Atlantic, is also considered a stronghold of dry white wines. The light and extremely crisp Muscadet wines are vinified from the Melon de Bourgogne variety. Between these eastern- and westernmost vineyards, the Loire brings forth a vast multitude of wines from various varieties and with various styles. The robust Cabernet Franc growths from Chinon, for example, are well-known, as are the rosé wines from Anjou. After Sauvignon Blanc, Chenin Blanc is considered the second great white variety. Especially in Savennières, it yields expressive wines with a rather dry style. Meanwhile, in Vouvray and in the Coteaux du Layon appellation (in the province of Anjou), superb noble sweet “Moelleux” wines are produced. The sparkling wines (Crémant de Loire) are also often impressive.

A puzzle of terroirs

As the Loire passes through a large tract of France from west to east, the climate is highly diverse. Humid Atlantic air masses flow eastward along the river’s central and side valleys, until they gradually lose their influence in the elevations of Touraine. No later than Vouvray, and in particular in the upper Loire, a continental climate is increasingly identifiable. Soil conditions also vary from place to place. Near the river, vines are often rooted in alluvial deposits of gravel and sand. At higher sites, especially in Saumur, Chinon and Vouvray, pronouncedly more porous and geologically younger, calcareous tufa predominates.

The Gauls and the Romans were the first to practice viticulture on the Loire. By the 8th century the cultivation area had expanded massively. The Benedictine monks of the Cluny abbey in Burgundy were among the vinicultural pioneers in the Loire’s east, in Sancerre and Pouilly.

Regions

Rioja
Spain

Rioja

Rioja: A legend in upheaval

Read more
Puglia
Italy

Puglia

Apulien: Frischer Wind aus dem Süden

Read more
Bourgogne
France

Bourgogne

Burgundy: home of the crus

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Loire

La Loire: le fleuve des rois

Les Français considèrent les paysages des bords de Loire purement et simplement comme «le jardin de la France». C’est donc sans surprise que les royaux et les nobles y ont érigé leurs châteaux. En même temps, la Loire est un fleuve riche dans sa diversité des vins. De Pouilly-sur-Loire à l’est, à Nantes à l’ouest, où le fleuve se jette dans l’Atlantique, les vignobles se succèdent sur ses rives pour produire des vins de caractère issus de Sauvignon Blanc, de Chenin Blanc ou de Muscadet pour les blancs, et de Cabernet Franc pour les rouges.

Vins blancs de Loire

In Stock
Le Bouchet
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
In Stock
Les Argiles
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
In Stock
Montlouis Clos Habert
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié
In Stock
Montlouis Les Bournais
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié

Vins doux de Loire

In Stock
Montlouis Les Lys
Plus que 1 Bouteille
Vin biologique ou biodynamique certifié

La Loire est le plus long fleuve de France. Il prend sa source dans le Massif central, près de la ligne de partage des eaux avec la vallée du Rhône, et se jette quelques 1'000 kilomètres plus loin à Nantes dans l’Atlantique. Sur ses 500 kilomètres, les vignobles couvrent ses rives presque sans discontinuer. En tout, la vigne recouvre près de 50'000 hectares sur les bords de Loire et de ses nombreux affluents.

De sec à liquoreux

L’est comprend Sancerre et Pouilly-sur-Loire, où le Sauvignon Blanc produit des vins blancs filigranes, secs et frais aux notes minérales. Ce sont ces caractéristiques qui ont conduit au succès mondial de la région. L’ouest, autour de Nantes, est aussi considéré comme un haut-lieu des vins blancs secs pour son muscadet, étant vinifié à partir de Melon de Bourgogne. C’est un vin léger de grande fraîcheur. Entre ces deux extrémités du vignoble, la Loire offre un recueil de diversité, autant en ce qui concerne les cépages utilisés, que le style des vins. Les Cabernet Franc de Chinon et les rosés d’Anjou sont les plus connus. En blanc, le deuxième cépage le plus important à côté du Sauvignon Blanc est le Chenin Blanc. Il produit des vins particulièrement expressifs comme par exemple à Savennières, dans un style plutôt sec, ou dans les coteaux du Layon, en liquoreux. Les vins effervescents (crémants de Loire) sont aussi souvent de qualité surprenante.

Un puzzle de terroirs

Traversant presque la France d’est en ouest, le climat régnant sur la Loire est extrêmement varié. Les masses d’air humide venues de l’Atlantique remontent les vallées du fleuve et de ses confluents vers l’est, pour graduellement perdre de leur influence jusqu’à hauteur de la Touraine. Ainsi, aux alentours de Vouvray, et vers l’est sur les hauts de Loire, un climat continental s’affirme. Bien évidemment, la nature des sols varie énormément d’un endroit à un autre. Près du fleuve, la vigne prend racine dans des terrains alluviaux de graviers et de sable, alors que sur les hauteurs, comme à Saumur, Chinon ou Vouvray, un tuf  unique encore jeune, calcaire et extrêmement poreux, le tuffeau, domine.

D’un point de vue historique, les Gaulois et les Romains exploitaient déjà la vigne en Loire, mais c’est plus tard, au 8ème siècle, que le vignoble prit vraiment de l’ampleur. Les moines bénédictins de l’abbaye de Cluny furent, quant à eux, les pionniers de la viticulture sur Sancerre et Pouilly.

Régions

Catalunya
Espagne

Catalunya

Catalogne: la grande diversité

en savoir plus
Armagnac
France

Armagnac

Armagnac: haute teneur en alcool, -excellente qualité, authentique

en savoir plus
Piemont
Italie

Piemont

Le Piémont: truffes, Nebbiolo et autres

en savoir plus