to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

McLaren Vale

McLaren Vale: Fruit abundance, paired with elegance

Just 35 kilometres south of Adelaide city centre, a seemingly Mediterranean wine and culinary scene has established itself. In addition to wine, olive oil, cheese and other gourmet products are produced in McLaren Vale. In a Mediterranean climate, full-fruited Shiraz vines are grown in sparse soils. But Chardonnay and many specialties also succeed exquisitely. Viticulture here is steeped in history more than anywhere else in South Australia. The first vines were already planted here by 1838.

Red wines from McLaren Vale

In Stock
Parker 95 Points
Cabernet Reserve
Only 1 Bottle
In Stock
Cabernet Reserve
Only 3 Bottles

Cabernet Reserve

Mc Laren Vale, Noon Winery, 2005, 750 ml
CHF 99.–
In Stock
Cabernet Sauvignon McLaren Vale
Vegan
In Stock
Shiraz McLaren Vale
Vegan

Shiraz McLaren Vale

Kangarilla Road, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 20.90

Wine pioneer John Reynell managed not only to have a street, but even a locality, named after the Château Reynella that he founded. No wonder: with his vines planted in 1838, he is considered South Australia’s pioneer of viticulture. The imposing buildings with extensive cellars are thus also monuments of wine history.

The McLaren Vale wine region starts directly behind the vast beaches lining Gulf Saint Vincent, and extends to the gently rolling hills of the Mount Lofty Range. Thanks to this privileged location, the growing area has become a magnet for visitors. Around 7,500 hectares of vines are planted here today. Nearly 70 wineries contribute to the excellent reputation of this region; there are also around 200 farmers in the region who also cultivate vines.

Different terroirs

The complex Mediterranean climate becomes a bit cooler in the foothills of the Mount Lofty Range. This chain of hills, along with proximity to the Pacific, creates a special thermal, making for constant wind. Soil conditions are thoroughly diverse. A geological map developed especially for the region indicates over 40 different soil types. In general, however, distinctly sandy loam on a limestone base dominates. At 500 millimetres per year per square meter, precipitation is sufficient. Summers here are quite hot but not too dry.

Variety increases

Viticultureis conducted in McLaren Vale between 50 and 250 metres above sea level. The hilly areas produce excellent Chardonnays and well-structured Cabernets, among others. The undisputed leading role, however, is played by Shiraz, which occupies roughly 50 percent of vineyard area here. Indeed, the region produces a wide range of alluring Shiraz selections, which impress with intense fruit and prominent but very fine-grained and soft tannins. Rhône varieties like Grenache or Mourvèdre are gaining ever greater attention. Viognier, Sauvignon Blanc, Fiano, Barbera and Tempranillo are also in vogue.

Subregions

Valdeorras
Galicia

Valdeorras

Valdeorras: a hint of Burgundy

Read more
Péssac-Léognan
Bordeaux

Péssac-Léognan

Pessac-Léognan: top crus from the suburbs

Read more
Alto Adige

Alto Adige

Alto Adige: Alpenweine mit südlichem Charme

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Pour profiter de toutes les fonctionnalités de ce site, vous avez besoin de JavaScript. Vous trouverez ici les instructions pour activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

McLaren Vale

McLaren Vale : beaucoup de fruité et d’élégance

Au sud d’Adélaïde, à seulement 35 kilomètres du centre-ville, c’est une culture culinaire de vin et de gastronomie quasi méditerranéenne qui s’est établie. Ainsi, dans la McLaren Vale, on trouve en plus du vin, de l’huile d’olive, du fromage et d’autres spécialités culinaires. Dans un climat méditerranéen, les sols pauvres de la vallée produisent des Shiraz très fruités, mais aussi de très beaux Chardonnay et autres spécialités. La viticulture a ici une histoire plus ancrée que dans toutes autres régions du sud de l’Australie : les premières vignes y furent plantées déjà en 1838 !

Vins rouges de McLaren Vale

In Stock
Parker 98 Points
Cabernet Reserve
Plus que 1 Bouteille
In Stock
Parker 95 Points
Cabernet Reserve
Plus que 1 Bouteille
In Stock
Cabernet Sauvignon McLaren Vale
Végan
In Stock
Shiraz McLaren Vale
Végan

Le vigneron pionnier John Reynell a réussi à ce que, non seulement, une route mais également une commune soient nommées d’après le château Reynella qu’il avait fondé. Ce n’est pas une surprise : avec ses vignes plantées en 1838, il est considéré comme le pionnier de la viticulture en Australie du sud, et l’imposante bâtisse avec ses vastes caves est aujourd’hui un monument viticole historique.

La région viticole de McLaren Vale commence directement derrière les grandes plages qui s’alignent dans le golfe Saint Vincent et s’étend jusqu’aux rondes collines de la chaîne du Mount Lofty Ranges. Grâce à cette disposition privilégiée, la région est un aimant à touristes. De nos jours, le vignoble s’étend sur presque 7'500 hectares. Ce sont presque 70 domaines qui contribuent à l’excellente réputation de la région, ainsi qu’environ 200 exploitants qui font également pousser des vignes.

Des terroirs différents

Le complexe climat méditerranéen se refroidit quelque peu dans les contreforts de la chaîne du Mount Lofty Ranges. La chaîne de collines et la proximité du Pacifique tout proche causent une thermique spéciale qui crée un vent constant. Les différences des terroirs sont exceptionnelles : une carte géologique spécialement établie pour la région ne montre pas moins de 40 différents types de terroirs. De manière générale, ils se composent d’argiles sableuses sur un socle calcaire. Les précipitations de 500 millimètres par an et par mètre carré suffisent, et les étés, bien que chauds, ne sont pas trop secs.

La diversité des cépages augmente.

Les vignobles dans la McLaren Vale se situent entre 50 et 250 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Sur les flancs des collines, ce sont principalement des Chardonnays et des Cabernets bien structurés qui mûrissent. Le cépage dominant reste cependant incontestablement la Shiraz qui représente plus de 50 % des surfaces cultivées. De ce fait, la région produit une sélection de Shiraz séduisantes, intensément fruitées, dotées de tanins présents mais exceptionnellement fins et veloutés. D’autres cépages de la vallée du Rhône y rencontrent un succès grandissant comme le Grenache et le Mourvèdre, et d’autres encore deviennent de plus en plus en vogue comme le Viognier, le Sauvignon Blanc, le Fiano, le Barbera ou le Tempranillo.

Sous-régions

Rueda
Castilla y León

Rueda

Rueda: chéris de tous

en savoir plus
Ribera del Duero
Castilla y León

Ribera del Duero

Ribera del Duero: le tempérament espagnol à l’état liquide

en savoir plus
Casablanca Valley
Aconcagua

Casablanca Valley

Casablanca Valley : le fief du Sauvignon Blanc

en savoir plus