to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
To enjoy the full functionality of this website, JavaScript is needed. You'll find here the instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your browser.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Mendoza

Mendoza: Malbec and more

Whenever someone talks about Argentinian wine, they generally mean wines from Mendoza. Roughly 60 percent of all Argentine wines are produced around the metropolis of the same name. In particular, Malbec, a red wine variety originating from southwestern France, has found a new home here, providing focused, well-structured wines. Cabernet Sauvignon and Chardonnay also thrive. The best wines result from high elevations, in the foothills of the Andes

White wines from Mendoza

In Stock
Chardonnay Crios
Vegan

Chardonnay Crios

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 13.50
In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Torrontés Barrel Fermented
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Torrontés Crios
Vegan

Torrontés Crios

Salta, Susana Balbo Wines, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 14.50

Red wines from Mendoza

In Stock
Parker 90 Points
Benmarco Cabernet Sauvignon
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Benmarco Expresivo
Vegan
In Stock
Benmarco Malbec
Vegan

Benmarco Malbec

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 25.50
In Stock
Benmarco Malbec
Vegan

Benmarco Malbec

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 26.–

Mendoza is a paradise for wine growing, especially with regard to the climatic conditions: 300 sunny days per year, large temperature differences between day and night, slight precipitation of no more than 250 millimeters per year, and the steady, dry and fresh air of the Andes. In these weather conditions, disease pressure remains low. Mendoza is thus ideal for natural, or organic, farming. The light at higher sites, which is rarely obscured by fog or clouds, makes for optimal photosynthesis, and ultimately for intensely fruity wines.

Water from the Andes

A further quality factor is the poor soils, with a good deal of calcareous sand on clay or gravel. This type of soil has also ensured that many old, ungrafted Malbec vines have survived, although Mendoza was also ravaged by phylloxera. Damage remained low, however, because the vineyards were traditionally irrigated with meltwater from the Andes in the flooding process. The fact that it hardly rains in Mendoza, but there is sufficient water thanks to the snow-capped Andes, lets vintners deliver to their vines the precise amount of water needed for optimal grape quality.

The triumph of Malbec

The city of Mendoza was founded in 1561. Only ten years earlier, the Jesuit priest Juan Cidrón is said to have set up the first vineyard here. Over 300 years later, in 1868, French agronomist Michel Pouget brought the Malbec variety to Mendoza, where it experienced a remarkable triumph. Today, the largest Malbec plantings in the world are located in Mendoza. Along with Cabernet Sauvignon and Chardonnay, long-established varieties like Torrontes (white) and Bonarda (red) also result in high-quality wines.

Top wines from high places

Top producers in the Uco Valley, especially near the town of Tupungato, have recently begun exploiting ever-higher elevations for viticulture. The highest plantings are now around 1,500 meters above sea level. This results in more elegant but less concentrated wines than in the vineyards of the valley floor, which lie roughly 800 meters above sea level.

Regions

Rhône
France

Rhône

Rhône: northern power, southern charm

Read more
Steiermark
Austria

Steiermark

Styria: the fresh, white wave

Read more
Ostschweiz
Switzerland

Ostschweiz

Eastern Switzerland: an intriguing puzzle

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Pour profiter de toutes les fonctionnalités de ce site, vous avez besoin de JavaScript. Vous trouverez ici les instructions pour activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Mendoza

La Mendoza: plus que du Malbec

Lorsqu’on parle de vins argentins, on a souvent en tête les vins de la Mendoza. Aux alentours de la grande ville du même nom sont produits à peu près 60% de la production nationale. Le cépage originaire du Sud-Ouest de la France, le Malbec, a trouvé ici une nouvelle terre de prédilection et donne des vins concentrés de jolie structure. Mais le Cabernet Sauvignon et le Chardonnay réussissent on ne peut mieux. Les meilleurs vins proviennent de nos jours des vignobles en altitude dans les contreforts des Andes.

Vins blancs de Mendoza

Chardonnay Crios
Végan
Parker 93 Points
Torrontés Barrel Fermented
Végan
Parker 90+ Points
Torrontés Crios
Végan

Vins rouges de Mendoza

Parker 90 Points
Benmarco Cabernet Sauvignon
Végan
Benmarco Expresivo
Végan
Parker 90 Points
Benmarco Malbec
Végan

La Mendoza est un paradis pour la viticulture, particulièrement en ce qui concerne le climat. 300 jours de soleil par an, de grandes amplitudes de températures, des précipitations minimes de 250 mm par an, et par-dessus tout, un vent sec et frais constant venu des Andes. Dans ces conditions, les maladies sont peu fréquentes. La Mendoza est ainsi prédestinée à une culture proche de la nature, voire même biologique. A cette altitude, la lumière non-filtrée par les brouillards et autres nuages, assure une photosynthèse idéale et permet la création de vins fruités intenses.

L’eau des Andes

Un autre facteur de qualité vient des sols pauvres au sable calcaire sur de l’argile ou des galets. Ce type de sols a de plus assuré la survie de beaucoup de vieux pieds de Malbec non greffés, bien que la Mendoza n’ait pas été épargnée par le phylloxéra. Toujours est-il que les dégâts ont été limités grâce à l’utilisation de l’eau de fonte des glaces des Andes. Comme il pleut si peu, c’est la proximité des neiges sur les Andes qui permet aux vignerons de distribuer autant d’eau qu’ils jugent nécessaire pour obtenir une qualité de raisin optimale.

La marche triomphale du Malbec

La fondation de la ville de Mendoza remonte à 1561. 10 ans plus tôt, le père jésuite, Juan Cidrón, avait déjà planté les premiers vignobles dans ces parages. C’est 300 ans plus tard, en 1868 exactement, que l’agronome Français Michel Pouget a introduit le Malbec dans la Mendoza, où il a prospéré de façon étonnante. Aujourd’hui, c’est ici que l’on trouve les plus grandes plantations de Malbec. Aux côtés du Cabernet Sauvignon et du Chardonnay, d’anciens cépages établis depuis longtemps, comme le Torrontes (blanc) et la Bonarda (rouge), produisent également des vins de grande qualité.

Des vins de haute volée

Ces dernières années, les meilleurs producteurs de la vallée de l'Uco, en particulier aux alentours de la ville de Tupungato, ont exploités des vignobles de plus en plus en hauteur. Aujourd'hui, les plantations les plus élevées se trouvent à environ 1'500 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Les vins provenant d’ici sont plus élégants mais moins concentrés que ceux des vignobles de la vallée, situés à environ 800 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer.

  • Mendoza L

Régions

Waadt
Suisse

Waadt

Vaud: haut-lieu du Chasselas

en savoir plus
Mosel
Allemagne

Mosel

Moselle: le territoire souverain du Riesling

en savoir plus
Highland-Speyside
Écosse

Highland-Speyside

Speyside: le cœur de la culture du whisky

en savoir plus