to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
To enjoy the full functionality of this website, JavaScript is needed. You'll find here the instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your browser.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Mendoza

Mendoza: Malbec and more

Whenever someone talks about Argentinian wine, they generally mean wines from Mendoza. Roughly 60 percent of all Argentine wines are produced around the metropolis of the same name. In particular, Malbec, a red wine variety originating from southwestern France, has found a new home here, providing focused, well-structured wines. Cabernet Sauvignon and Chardonnay also thrive. The best wines result from high elevations, in the foothills of the Andes

White wines from Mendoza

In Stock
Chardonnay Crios
Vegan

Chardonnay Crios

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 13.50
In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Torrontés Barrel Fermented
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Torrontés Crios
Vegan

Torrontés Crios

Salta, Susana Balbo Wines, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 14.50

Red wines from Mendoza

In Stock
Parker 90 Points
Benmarco Cabernet Sauvignon
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Benmarco Expresivo
Vegan
In Stock
Benmarco Malbec
Vegan

Benmarco Malbec

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 25.50
In Stock
Benmarco Malbec
Vegan

Benmarco Malbec

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 26.–

Mendoza is a paradise for wine growing, especially with regard to the climatic conditions: 300 sunny days per year, large temperature differences between day and night, slight precipitation of no more than 250 millimeters per year, and the steady, dry and fresh air of the Andes. In these weather conditions, disease pressure remains low. Mendoza is thus ideal for natural, or organic, farming. The light at higher sites, which is rarely obscured by fog or clouds, makes for optimal photosynthesis, and ultimately for intensely fruity wines.

Water from the Andes

A further quality factor is the poor soils, with a good deal of calcareous sand on clay or gravel. This type of soil has also ensured that many old, ungrafted Malbec vines have survived, although Mendoza was also ravaged by phylloxera. Damage remained low, however, because the vineyards were traditionally irrigated with meltwater from the Andes in the flooding process. The fact that it hardly rains in Mendoza, but there is sufficient water thanks to the snow-capped Andes, lets vintners deliver to their vines the precise amount of water needed for optimal grape quality.

The triumph of Malbec

The city of Mendoza was founded in 1561. Only ten years earlier, the Jesuit priest Juan Cidrón is said to have set up the first vineyard here. Over 300 years later, in 1868, French agronomist Michel Pouget brought the Malbec variety to Mendoza, where it experienced a remarkable triumph. Today, the largest Malbec plantings in the world are located in Mendoza. Along with Cabernet Sauvignon and Chardonnay, long-established varieties like Torrontes (white) and Bonarda (red) also result in high-quality wines.

Top wines from high places

Top producers in the Uco Valley, especially near the town of Tupungato, have recently begun exploiting ever-higher elevations for viticulture. The highest plantings are now around 1,500 meters above sea level. This results in more elegant but less concentrated wines than in the vineyards of the valley floor, which lie roughly 800 meters above sea level.

Regions

Rhône
France

Rhône

Rhône: northern power, southern charm

Read more
Steiermark
Austria

Steiermark

Styria: the fresh, white wave

Read more
Ostschweiz
Switzerland

Ostschweiz

Eastern Switzerland: an intriguing puzzle

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Mendoza

Mendoza: Malbec und mehr

Wer vom argentinischen Wein spricht, meint in der Regel die Weine aus Mendoza. Rund um die gleichnamige Millionenstadt werden rund 60 Prozent aller argentinischen Weine erzeugt. Vor allem die aus dem Südwesten Frankreichs stammende Rotweinsorte Malbec hat hier eine neue Heimat gefunden und bringt konzentrierte, gut strukturierte Weine hervor. Aber auch Cabernet Sauvignon und Chardonnay gelingen vorzüglich. Die besten Weine entstehen heute in Höhenlagen in den Ausläufern der Anden.

Weissweine aus Mendoza

In Stock
Chardonnay Crios
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 93 Punkte
Torrontés Barrel Fermented
Vegan
In Stock
Parker 90+ Punkte
Torrontés Crios
Vegan

Rotweine aus Mendoza

In Stock
Parker 90 Punkte
Benmarco Cabernet Sauvignon
Vegan
In Stock
Benmarco Expresivo
Vegan
In Stock
Benmarco Malbec
Vegan
In Stock
Brioso
Vegan

Brioso

Mendoza, Susana Balbo Wines, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 49.80

Mendoza ist ein Paradies für den Weinbau, vor allem was die klimatischen Bedingungen anbelangt. 300 Sonnentage pro Jahr, grosse Temperaturunterschiede zwischen Tag und Nacht, geringfügige Niederschläge von kaum mehr als 250 Millimeter pro Jahr, dazu ein steter, trockener und frischer Wind von den Anden, bei diesen Wetterbedingungen ist der Krankheitsdruck gering. Mendoza ist daher prädestiniert für einen naturnahen, beziehungsweise biologischen Anbau. Das kaum von Dunst und Wolken getrübte Licht in den höheren Lagen sorgt für eine optimale Fotosynthese und letztlich für fruchtintensive Weine.

Wasser von den Anden

Ein weiterer Qualitätsfaktor sind die kargen Böden mit viel kalkhaltigen Sand auf Ton oder Kies. Dieser Bodentyp hat auch dafür gesorgt, dass viele alte, ungepfropfte Malbec-Reben überlebt haben, obwohl auch Mendoza von der Reblaus heimgesucht worden ist. Allerdings blieben die Schäden gering, weil die Rebberge traditionell mit Schmelzwasser aus den Anden im Flutverfahren bewässert wurden. Die Tatsache, dass es in Mendoza kaum regnet, aber Dank der schneebedeckten Anden doch genügend Wasser zur Verfügung steht, erlaubt es den Winzern, ihren Reben genau so viel Wasser zuzuführen, wie für eine optimale Traubenqualität nötig ist.

Der Siegeszug des Malbec

Die Gründung der Stadt Mendoza geht auf das Jahr 1561 zurück. Schon  zehn Jahre früher soll der Jesuitenpater Juan Cidrón hier erste Rebberge angelegt haben. 300 Jahre später, nämlich im Jahr 1868 brachte der französische Agronom Michel Pouget die Sorte Malbec nach Mendoza, wo sie einen bemerkenswerten Siegeszug erlebte. Heute befinden sich in Mendoza die grössten Malbec-Anpflanzungen weltweit. Nebst Cabernet Sauvignon und Chardonnay, ergeben auch alteingesessene Sorten wie Torrontes (weiss) und Bonarda (rot) qualitativ hochstehende Weine.

Topweinen aus hohen Lagen

In den letzten Jahren haben Spitzenerzeuger im Uco-Tal, vor allem nahe dem Städtchen Tupungato, immer höhere Lagen für den Weinbau erschlossen. Die höchsten Bepflanzungen befinden sich heute rund 1‘500 Meter über Meer. Hier reifen elegantere aber weniger konzentriertere Weine als in den Weinbergen im Talboden, die rund 800 Meter über Meer liegen.

Regionen

Alsace
Frankreich

Alsace

Elsass: Weisse Vielfalt

Weiterlesen
Islay
Schottland

Islay

Islay: Eine Brise Meer im Glas

Weiterlesen
Emilia-Romagna
Italien

Emilia-Romagna

Emilia-Romagna: Der Bauch Italiens

Weiterlesen