to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Moulis

Moulis: small but fine

With a cultivation area of just 630 hectares, Moulis is the smallest communal appellation in the Médoc. Along with neighboring Listrac, Moulis enjoys a special status, as neither area lies directly on the Girond, and thus neither benefits from the body of water’s climate-modulating effects. The sparse gravel soils of Moulis prodice well-structured yet elegant wines which reach their optimal drinking age relatively quickly.

Red wines from Moulis

In Stock
Baur au Lac Vins 87-88 Points
Château Chasse-Spleen

Château Chasse-Spleen

AC Moulis, 2015, 1500 ml
CHF 85.–
In Stock
In Stock
Baur au Lac Vins 87-88 Points
Château Chasse-Spleen
In Stock
Baur au Lac Vins 87-88 Points
Château Chasse-Spleen

The growing area of Moulis resembles a narrow band, 12 kilometres long and just 400 meters wide. Though small, the appellation holds an astonishing range of terroirs, which can be divided into three types. In the east of the area (Grand Poujeaux, Médrac), the soil is dominated by hilltops of pebbles, carried in by the Garonne River during the last ice age (Quaternary Period). In this easily warmed soil with good drainage, Cabernet Sauvignon finds the best of conditions. In the western part of the appellation (Bouqueyan), where sandy loam with varying proportions of Pyrenean gravel and quartz shape the terroir, Cabernet also yields excellent results. In the central part of the region, with its sandy, calcareous loam soils, predominantly Merlot is cultivated.

From rye to wine growing

Because of its distance to the Gironde, this river determines the climate of Moulis far less than in other areas of the Médoc. Instead, the Atlantic influences the microclimate more here. The mixture of a relatively cool climate and easily-warmed gravel soils shapes the character of Moulis wines, which combine fruity elegance and tannin structure well.

Moulis is said to have got its name because there were once many wind- and watermills, which were mainly used to process the rye cultivated here. By the 11th century, local feudal lords and clergy took increasingly to viticulture, while grain farmers and millers later followed suit. In 1892, viticulture had reached its greatest extent. Two hundred producers administered 1,500 hectares, until phylloxera spelled the end of the wine boom.

Cru Bourgeois estates as pioneers

The Moulis-en-Médoc AOC was established in 1938. An extreme frost in 1956 caused the growing area to shrink to 280 hectares. Today, there are once again over 600 hectares of vines in the AOC, cultivated by 49 facilities. The new classification of the crus bourgeois in the Médoc in 2003 was a confirmation of the quality development in Moulis. Today, the two crus bourgeois exceptionnels and seven crus bourgeois supérieurs are among the pioneers of this surge in quality.

Subregions

Beaujolais
Bourgogne

Beaujolais

Beaujolais: the lightness of being

Read more
Chablais
Waadt

Chablais

Chablais: between lake and valley

Read more
Kamptal
Niederösterreich

Kamptal

Kamptal: a dynamic atmosphere north of the Danube

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Moulis

Moulis: petit mais raffiné

Avec une surface de 630 hectares, moulis est la plus petite appellation du Médoc. Avec l’appellation voisine listrac, moulis revêt un caractère spécial de la région n’étant pas directement en contact avec la Gironde et de l’effet nivelant les températures de son influence. Sur les sols pauvres de graviers, les moulis mûrissent en des vins bien structurés mais en même temps élégants qui atteignent leur maturité relativement tôt.

Vins rouges de Moulis

In Stock
In Stock
Falstaff 87-88 Points
Château Chasse-Spleen
In Stock
Château Chasse-Spleen
Plus que 11 Bouteilles
In Stock

Le vignoble de Moulis se confine à une bande étroite. Elle fait douze kilomètres de long sur seulement 400 m de large. Bien que petite, l’appellation dispose d’une étonnante diversité de terroirs, qui se divisent en trois groupes. A l’est (Grand-Poujeaux, Médrac) les sols sont dominés par des croupes graveleuses acheminées par la Garonne au court de la dernière ère glaciaire (quaternaire). Ces sols se réchauffent facilement et montrent d’excellentes qualités de drainage, ce qui représente des conditions idéales pour le Cabernet Sauvignon. Ce cépage se plait également très bien à l’ouest de l’appellation (Bouqueyran) sur des argiles sableuses aux concentrations variables en graviers des Pyrénées et en quartz. Enfin au centre du Moulis, les sables agilo-calcaires sont particulièrement propices au développement du Merlot.

De la culture du seigle à celle de la vigne

La Gironde n’étant pas à proximité de l’appellation, le fleuve influence le climat de Moulis beaucoup moins que d’autres du Médoc. Par contre, la proximité de l’Atlantique influence ici le microclimat de façon significative. La combinaison d’un climat comparativement frais et des coupes graveleuses sujettes au réchauffement contribue à former le caractère des vins de Moulis, qui se distinguent par une élégance fruitée et une structure tannique particulièrement bien unies.

Le nom de «Moulis» provient du grand nombre de moulins à vent et à eau, qui autrefois, parsemaient le paysage, la culture du seigle étant à l’époque la tradition. Les premières vignes ne furent plantées qu’au 11ème siècle par des seigneurs féodaux locaux et des ecclésiastiques, et plus tard par les producteurs céréaliers. En 1892, la surface couverte par les vignes s’élevait à 1'500 hectares, mais le phylloxéra mit brutalement fin au boom économique du vin.

Les crus bourgeois, des précurseurs

L’AOC moulis-en-médoc vit le jour en 1938. En 1956, un givre extrême anéantit le vignoble pour le réduire à seulement 280 hectares. Aujourd’hui, il recouvre plus de 600 hectares, entretenus par 49 exploitations. La nouvelle classification des crus bourgeois en 2003 fut la confirmation de la hausse de qualité en Moulis. Ainsi, aujourd’hui on y compte deux crus bourgeois exceptionnels et sept crus bourgeois supérieurs, ce qui prouve du développement qualitatif de la région.

Sous-régions

Bierzo
Galicia

Bierzo

Bierzo: vers la gloire avec le Mencia

en savoir plus
McLaren Vale
South Australia

McLaren Vale

McLaren Vale : beaucoup de fruité et d’élégance

en savoir plus
Maule
Valle Central

Maule

Le Maule: le cœur de la viticulture chilienne

en savoir plus