to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Moulis

Moulis: small but fine

With a cultivation area of just 630 hectares, Moulis is the smallest communal appellation in the Médoc. Along with neighboring Listrac, Moulis enjoys a special status, as neither area lies directly on the Girond, and thus neither benefits from the body of water’s climate-modulating effects. The sparse gravel soils of Moulis prodice well-structured yet elegant wines which reach their optimal drinking age relatively quickly.

Red wines from Moulis

In Stock
Baur au Lac Vins 87-88 Points
Château Chasse-Spleen

Château Chasse-Spleen

AC Moulis, 2015, 1500 ml
CHF 85.–
In Stock
In Stock
Baur au Lac Vins 87-88 Points
Château Chasse-Spleen
In Stock
Baur au Lac Vins 87-88 Points
Château Chasse-Spleen

The growing area of Moulis resembles a narrow band, 12 kilometres long and just 400 meters wide. Though small, the appellation holds an astonishing range of terroirs, which can be divided into three types. In the east of the area (Grand Poujeaux, Médrac), the soil is dominated by hilltops of pebbles, carried in by the Garonne River during the last ice age (Quaternary Period). In this easily warmed soil with good drainage, Cabernet Sauvignon finds the best of conditions. In the western part of the appellation (Bouqueyan), where sandy loam with varying proportions of Pyrenean gravel and quartz shape the terroir, Cabernet also yields excellent results. In the central part of the region, with its sandy, calcareous loam soils, predominantly Merlot is cultivated.

From rye to wine growing

Because of its distance to the Gironde, this river determines the climate of Moulis far less than in other areas of the Médoc. Instead, the Atlantic influences the microclimate more here. The mixture of a relatively cool climate and easily-warmed gravel soils shapes the character of Moulis wines, which combine fruity elegance and tannin structure well.

Moulis is said to have got its name because there were once many wind- and watermills, which were mainly used to process the rye cultivated here. By the 11th century, local feudal lords and clergy took increasingly to viticulture, while grain farmers and millers later followed suit. In 1892, viticulture had reached its greatest extent. Two hundred producers administered 1,500 hectares, until phylloxera spelled the end of the wine boom.

Cru Bourgeois estates as pioneers

The Moulis-en-Médoc AOC was established in 1938. An extreme frost in 1956 caused the growing area to shrink to 280 hectares. Today, there are once again over 600 hectares of vines in the AOC, cultivated by 49 facilities. The new classification of the crus bourgeois in the Médoc in 2003 was a confirmation of the quality development in Moulis. Today, the two crus bourgeois exceptionnels and seven crus bourgeois supérieurs are among the pioneers of this surge in quality.

Subregions

Beaujolais
Bourgogne

Beaujolais

Beaujolais: the lightness of being

Read more
Chablais
Waadt

Chablais

Chablais: between lake and valley

Read more
Kamptal
Niederösterreich

Kamptal

Kamptal: a dynamic atmosphere north of the Danube

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Moulis

Moulis: Klein aber fein

Mit seiner Rebfläche von nur 630 Hektar ist Moulis die kleinste der kommunalen Appellationen im Médoc. Zusammen mit dem benachbarten Listrac nimmt Moulis dabei einen Sonderstatus ein, weil beide Gebiete nicht direkt an die Gironde anschliessen und deshalb auch nicht von der klimausgleichenden Wirkung des Gewässers profitieren. Auf den kargen Keisböden von Moulis reifen gut strukturierte aber zugleich auch elegante Weine, die ihre optimale Trinkreife relativ früh erreichen.

Das Anbaugebiet Moulis gleicht einem schmalen Band. Dieses ist 12 Kilometer lang und nur gerade 400 Meter breit. Obwohl klein, verfügt die Appellation über eine erstaunliche Vielfalt an Terroirs, die sich in drei Typen einteilen lassen. Im Osten des Gebietes (Grand Poujeaux, Médrac) wird der Boden von Kuppen aus Kieseln dominiert, welche der Fluss Garonne in der letzten Eiszeit (Quartär) hierher getragen hat. In diesem leicht erwärmbaren Boden mit gutem Wasserabzug findet der Cabernet Sauvignon beste Bedingungen vor. Auch im Westen der Appellation (Bouqueyran), wo sandhaltiger Lehm mit unterschiedlichen Anteilen von pyrenäischem Kies und Quartz das Terroir bestimmt, bringt der Cabernet ausgezeichnete Resultate. Im mittleren Teil des Gebietes dagegen mit seinem sandhaltigen Kalklehmboden wird vorwiegend Merlot angebaut.

Vom Roggen- zum Weinanbau

Durch die Entfernung zur Gironde bestimmt dieser Fluss das Klima von Moulis weit weniger als in anderen Gebieten des Médocs. Dafür beeinflusst der nahe Atlantik hier das Mikoklima stärker. Die Mischung aus einem vergleichsweise kühlen Klima und den leicht erwärmbaren Kiesböden prägt den Charakter der Moulis-Weine, welche fruchtbetonte Eleganz und gerbstoffbetonte Struktur gut in sich vereinen.

Den Namen Moulis soll das Gebiet bekommen haben, weil es einst viele Wind- und Wassermühlen gab, mit denen der langezeit hier hauptsächlich angebaute Roggen verarbeitet wurde. Ab dem 11. Jahrhundert beschäftigten sich dann die hiesigen Feudalherren und Geistlichen zunehmend mit dem Weinbau, dem sich später auch die Getreidebauern und Müller zuwandten. 1892 erreichte der Weinbau seine grösste Ausdehnung. 200 Produzenten bewirtschafteten 1‘500 Hektar, bis die Reblaus dem Weinboom ein Ende setzte.

Cru Bourgeois-Güter als Vorreiter

Die AOC Moulis-en-Médoc wurde 1938 gegründet. Eine extreme Frostattacke im Jahr 1956 liess die Anbaufläche auf 280 Hektar schrumpfen. Heute sind in der AOC wieder über 600 Hektar mit Reben bestockt, die von 49 Betrieben kultiviert werden. Die neue Klassifizierung der Crus Bourgeois im Médoc im Jahr 2003 war eine Bestätigung der Qualitätsentwicklung in Moulis. Auch heute zählen die zwei Crus Bourgeois Exceptionnels und die sieben Crus Bourgeois Supérieurs zu den Vorreitern der Qualitätsentwicklung.

Rotweine aus Moulis

Ch. Chasse-Spleen
Nur noch 2 Flaschen
Ch. Chasse-Spleen
Nur noch 19 Flaschen

Unterregionen

Carnuntum
Niederösterreich

Carnuntum

Carnuntum: Rote Finesse im Zweigeltland

Weiterlesen
Leyda
Aconcagua

Leyda

Leyda: Klein, kühl aber fein

Weiterlesen
Südsteiermark
Steiermark

Südsteiermark

Südsteiermark: Weisse Klasse in vielen Nuancen

Weiterlesen