to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
To enjoy the full functionality of this website, JavaScript is needed. You'll find here the instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your browser.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Schaffhausen

Schaffhausen: the elegance of the north

The northernmost vineyards in Switzerland are located in wine-growing villages such as Thayngen and Schleitheim. Nevertheless, the high quality Pinot Noir selections from here show an amazing richness and fruit. To express solidarity with this leading red variety, the wine-growing canton gained the name “Blauburgunderland.” The red variety occupies around 70 percent of the total cultivation area of 500 hectares, where it yields wines of astounding diversity.

White wines from Schaffhausen

In Stock
3 BAR Sauvignon blanc
Certified integrated production
In Stock
3 BAR Sauvignon blanc
Certified integrated production
In Stock
3 BAR Sauvignon blanc
Only 12 Bottles
Certified integrated production

Red wines from Schaffhausen

In Stock
3 BAR Pinot noir
Only 18 Bottles
Certified integrated production
In Stock
3 BAR Pinot noir
Certified integrated production

Looking at a map of Switzerland shows that a substantial portion of the vines in Schaffhausen are grown north of the Rhine, in Klettgau or Stein am Rheine. It is natural to assume that these northernmost sites in Switzerland are also the coolest, but they are not. Located in the rain shadow of the Black Forest, usually just 800 millimetres of rain per year per square metre fall in Schaffhausen's terroirs – significantly less than in the neighbouring wine-growing cantons of Zurich and Thurgau.

A puzzle of soils

The soil conditions here are also multi-faceted. In wine-growing communities such as Hallau, Oberhallau or Gächlingen, deep soils with high loam content prevail. Dense, powerful Pinot Noirs emerge here, with plenty of structure and backbone. In villages like Siblingen, Löhningen, Beringen, Osterfingen, and in the town of Stein am Rheine, markedly calcareous soils with a high proportion of sand, gravel or Nagelfluh (Stein am Rheine) can be found. The Pinots from these terroirs turn out slightly more elegant, more delicate and more finely flavoured.

Early wine exporter

As in many areas of Switzerland, it was the Romans who served as viticultural pioneers. Written records indicate that the Kloster Allerheiligen (All Saints’ Abbey) in Schaffhausen had vineyards in Hallau around 1100. In the late middle ages, a continuous vine-belt ran from Stein am Rheine through Thayngen and Schaffhausen to Klettgau. Grapes were cultivated in Schaffhausen on over 1,000 hectares at the end of the 16th century. Schaffhausen's vintners were also pioneers in exporting. In the 18th century, their wines were already being delivered as far as Bregenz. After the phylloxera invasion, however, viticulture only recovered slowly.

High-profile white specialties

Today, around 500 wineries contribute to a dynamic and quality-oriented renaissance. And although the region defines itself as “Blauburgunderland,” the white wines are also impressive. Some of the Chardonnays and Pinot Blancs cultivated here are among the best in Switzerland. In warmer years, even Bordeaux varieties ripen fully.

Subregions

Valdeorras
Galicia

Valdeorras

Valdeorras: a hint of Burgundy

Read more
St-Emilion
Bordeaux

St-Emilion

Saint-Emilion: unique Bordeaux idyll

Read more
Côtes de Bordeaux-St-Macaire
Bordeaux

Côtes de Bordeaux-St-Macaire

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Schaffhausen

Schaffhouse: avec l’élégance du Nord

Les villages viticoles de Thayngen et de Schleitheim sont les plus septentrionaux de Suisse, pourtant, leurs Pinots Noirs de grande qualité montrent un fruité et une corpulence incroyables. D’ailleurs, pour témoigner son attachement au grand cépage bourguignon rouge, la région s’est attribuée, il y quelques année, le nom de «pays du Pinot Noir», ces vignes représentant environ 70% des 500 hectares de vignobles de la région et produisant des vins d’une incroyable richesse.

Vins blancs de Schaffhausen

In Stock
3 BAR Sauvignon blanc
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
3 BAR Sauvignon blanc
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
3 BAR Sauvignon blanc
Plus que 11 Bouteilles
Production intégrée certifiée

Vins rouges de Schaffhausen

In Stock
3 BAR Pinot noir
Plus que 18 Bouteilles
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
3 BAR Pinot noir
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
3 BAR Pinot noir
Production intégrée certifiée

Un regard sur une carte de la Suisse montre qu’une partie non négligeable des vignobles de Schaffhouse se situent au nord du Rhin, certains à Klettgau et d’autres à Stein am Rhein. Celui qui pense que ces terroirs du nord de la Suisse sont nécessairement les plus froids, se trompe amplement. Situé dans l’ombre pluviométrique de la Forêt-Noire, les terroirs de Schaffhouse ne reçoivent en moyenne que 800 millimètres de précipitations par an au mètre carré, ce qui est considérablement moins que dans les régions viticoles suisses voisines.

Un puzzle de sols

La nature des sols est également très variée. Dans les communes viticoles comme Hallau, Oberhallau ou Gächlingen, des sols argileux profonds dominent. Des Pinots Noirs denses et puissants avec beaucoup de structure et de charpente voient ici le jour. Dans les villages de Siblingen, Löhningen, Beringen, Osterfingen, et aussi à Stein am Rhein, les sols sont extrêmement calcaires avec une forte concentration de sable, de gravier ou de poudingue (Stein am Rhein). Ces Pinots Noirs ont tendance à être un peu plus élégants, plus en filigrane et plus subtils au nez.

Une exportation de vins déjà ancienne

Comme à beaucoup d’endroits en Suisse, les Romains sont ceux qui fondèrent ici les bases de la viticulture. Plus tard, des documents écrits prouvent la possession de vignoble par l’abbaye de Tous-les-Saints à Schaffhouse déjà autour de 1100, mais ce n’est que vers la fin du moyen-âge qu’une ceinture ininterrompue de vignes partait de Stein am Rhein, jusqu’à Thayngen et Schaffouse, en passant par Klettgau. Vers la fin du 16ème siècle, la région comptait plus de 1'000 hectares de vignes. Les vignerons de Schaffhouse furent aussi parmi les pionniers de l’exportation, et dès le 18ème siècle, leurs vins étaient transportés par bateau jusqu’à Brégence. Mais après le phylloxéra, la viticulture ne se remit que lentement.

Des spécialités blanches prestigieuses

De nos jours, les environs 500 vignerons ne pratiquent qu’un développement axé sur la qualité et le dynamisme. Et bien que la région soit définie comme le «pays du Pinot Noir», elle n’en produit pas moins d’excellents blancs: quelques Chardonnays et Pinots Blancs produits ici, font partie des meilleurs en Suisse. Enfin, pendant les années chaudes, même les cépages bordelais arrivent à maturité.

Sous-régions

Zürich
Ostschweiz

Zürich

Zurich: en route pour la gloire

en savoir plus
Lalande-de-Pomerol
Bordeaux

Lalande-de-Pomerol

Lalande-de-Pomerol: haut-lieu du Merlot

en savoir plus
Moulis
Bordeaux

Moulis

Moulis: petit mais raffiné

en savoir plus