to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
To enjoy the full functionality of this website, JavaScript is needed. You'll find here the instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your browser.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Schaffhausen

Schaffhausen: the elegance of the north

The northernmost vineyards in Switzerland are located in wine-growing villages such as Thayngen and Schleitheim. Nevertheless, the high quality Pinot Noir selections from here show an amazing richness and fruit. To express solidarity with this leading red variety, the wine-growing canton gained the name “Blauburgunderland.” The red variety occupies around 70 percent of the total cultivation area of 500 hectares, where it yields wines of astounding diversity.

White wines from Schaffhausen

In Stock
3 BAR Sauvignon blanc
Certified integrated production
In Stock
3 BAR Sauvignon blanc
Certified integrated production
In Stock
3 BAR Sauvignon blanc
Only 12 Bottles
Certified integrated production

Red wines from Schaffhausen

In Stock
3 BAR Pinot noir
Only 18 Bottles
Certified integrated production
In Stock
3 BAR Pinot noir
Certified integrated production

Looking at a map of Switzerland shows that a substantial portion of the vines in Schaffhausen are grown north of the Rhine, in Klettgau or Stein am Rheine. It is natural to assume that these northernmost sites in Switzerland are also the coolest, but they are not. Located in the rain shadow of the Black Forest, usually just 800 millimetres of rain per year per square metre fall in Schaffhausen's terroirs – significantly less than in the neighbouring wine-growing cantons of Zurich and Thurgau.

A puzzle of soils

The soil conditions here are also multi-faceted. In wine-growing communities such as Hallau, Oberhallau or Gächlingen, deep soils with high loam content prevail. Dense, powerful Pinot Noirs emerge here, with plenty of structure and backbone. In villages like Siblingen, Löhningen, Beringen, Osterfingen, and in the town of Stein am Rheine, markedly calcareous soils with a high proportion of sand, gravel or Nagelfluh (Stein am Rheine) can be found. The Pinots from these terroirs turn out slightly more elegant, more delicate and more finely flavoured.

Early wine exporter

As in many areas of Switzerland, it was the Romans who served as viticultural pioneers. Written records indicate that the Kloster Allerheiligen (All Saints’ Abbey) in Schaffhausen had vineyards in Hallau around 1100. In the late middle ages, a continuous vine-belt ran from Stein am Rheine through Thayngen and Schaffhausen to Klettgau. Grapes were cultivated in Schaffhausen on over 1,000 hectares at the end of the 16th century. Schaffhausen's vintners were also pioneers in exporting. In the 18th century, their wines were already being delivered as far as Bregenz. After the phylloxera invasion, however, viticulture only recovered slowly.

High-profile white specialties

Today, around 500 wineries contribute to a dynamic and quality-oriented renaissance. And although the region defines itself as “Blauburgunderland,” the white wines are also impressive. Some of the Chardonnays and Pinot Blancs cultivated here are among the best in Switzerland. In warmer years, even Bordeaux varieties ripen fully.

Subregions

Valdeorras
Galicia

Valdeorras

Valdeorras: a hint of Burgundy

Read more
St-Emilion
Bordeaux

St-Emilion

Saint-Emilion: unique Bordeaux idyll

Read more
Côtes de Bordeaux-St-Macaire
Bordeaux

Côtes de Bordeaux-St-Macaire

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Schaffhausen

Schaffhausen: Mit der Eleganz des Nordens

In Weinbaudörfern wie Thayngen und Schleitheim stehen die nördlichsten Rebberge der Schweiz. Trotzdem zeigen gerade die hochwertigen Pinot-Noir-Selektionen eine erstaunliche Fülle und Frucht. Um die Verbundenheit mit der roten Leitsorte zu bekunden, hat sich der Weinbaukanton vor einigen Jahren den Namen «Blauburgunderland» zugelegt. Die rote Burgundersorte belegt rund 70 Prozent der Gesamtrebfläche von rund 500 Hektar. Und ergibt Weine von erstaunlicher Vielfalt.

Ein Blick auf die Schweizer Karte zeigt, dass ein beträchtlicher Teil der Schaffhauser Reben nördlich des Rhein wurzeln, etwa im Klettgau aber auch in Stein am Rhein. Wer nun glaubt dass diese nördlichsten Lagen der Schweiz auch zwangsläufig die kühlsten sind, irrt sich. Im Regenschatten des Schwarzwaldes gelegen, werden in den Schaffhauser Terroirs meist nur gerade 800 Millimeter Regen pro Jahr  und Quadratmeter gemessen, deutlich weniger als in den benachbaraten Weinbaukantonen Zürich oder Thurgau.

Ein Puzzle an Böden

Vielschichtig sind hier auch die Bodenverhältnisse. In Rebbaugemeinden wie Hallau, Oberhallau oder Gächlingen herrschen tiefgründige Böden mit hohem Lehmanteil vor. Hier entstehen dichte, ja kräftige Blauburgunder mit viel Struktur und Rückgrat. In Dörfern wie Siblingen, Löhningen, Beringen, Osterfingen, aber auch dem Städtchen Stein am Rhein finden sich ausgesprochene kalkhaltige Böden mit einem hohen Anteil von Sand, Kies oder Nagelfluh (Stein am Rhein). Die Pinots von diesen Terroirs fallen eine Spur eleganter, filigraner und feinduftiger aus.

Schon früh Wein exportiert

Wie in vielen Gebieten der Schweiz waren es auch hier die Römer, die sich als Weinbaupioniere betätigten. Schriftstücke beweisen, dass das Kloster zu Allerheiligen in Schaffhausen bereits um das Jahr 1100 herum Weinberge im Hallau besass. Spätestens ab dem Spätmittelalter zog sich ein durchgehender Rebgürtel von Stein am Rhein über Thayngen und Schaffhausen bis ins Klettgau. Ende des 16. Jahrhunderts wurde in Schaffhausen auf über 1000 Hektar Rebbau betrieben. Die Schaffhauser Winzer waren auch Pioniere im Export. Schon im 18. Jahrhundert wurde ihr Wein per Schiff bis nach Bregenz geliefert. Doch nach dem Reblaus-Einfall erholte sich der Weinbau nur langsam.

Hochkarätige weisse Spezialitäten

Heute tragen rund 500 Winzer zu einer dynamischen und qualitätsorientierten Entwicklung bei. Und obwohl sich die Region als «Blauburgunderland» definiert, vermögen auch die Weissweine zu überzeugen. Einige der hier angebauten Chardonnays und Weissburgunder gehörten zu den Besten in der Schweiz. Und in warmen Jahren reifen heute selbst die Bordeauxsorten voll aus.

Weissweine aus Schaffhausen

3 BAR Sauvignon blanc
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Rotweine aus Schaffhausen

3 BAR Pinot noir
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Unterregionen

Barossa Valley
South Australia

Barossa Valley

Barossa Valley: Wohl proportionierte Fülle

Weiterlesen
Ribera del Duero
Castilla y León

Ribera del Duero

Ribera del Duero: Spanisches Temperament im Glas

Weiterlesen
Maule
Valle Central

Maule

Maule: Das Herz des chilenischen Weinbaus

Weiterlesen