to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Weingut Erwin Tinhof

For 11 generations now, the Tinhof family has been growing wine in Eisenstadt on the Leitha Range in Burgenland. This constellation is the source of their knowledge and experience as to which grape varieties flourish particularly well in this location, allowing the production of wines characteristic for the area. Neuburger, Pinot Blanc and Blaufränkisch, Sankt Laurent, some on vines established 55 years ago – are the focus of their expertise.

Together with his team of idealists, Erwin Tinhof pursues the uncompromising goal of vinifying authentic wines bursting with character. A concentration on essentials, continuous refinement and consistent exchange of competence between dedicated specialists combine to create the distinctive Tinhof wines. Tinhof's aim is to create harmonious, terroir wines with minerality, elegance and structure. They are never kitschy, loud or coarse. Origin and character in a wine are what makes it unique and important to the producer. The essential qualities need to achieve this aim comes exclusively from the vineyard. Through organic cultivation (certified organic since 2012) Tinhof grows balanced grapes, which provide them with an optimal basis for their wines. Mashing time and long yeast storage of their grapes, harvested exclusively by hand, give the wines depth and longevity.

The vineyard is located in Eisenstadt in Burgenland, 40 km southeast of Vienna, on the Leitha Range. Thanks to the Pannonian environment and that great climate regulator, the Lake Neusiedler, we have here on the Leitha Range the superb benefits needed to vinify white, red and sweet wines of the highest quality. Hot, dry summers and cold, dry winters together with the wind so typical for the Burgenland characterise the vegetation. As the final elevation of the Alps towards the Pannonian lowlands, the Leitha Range with its shell limestone soil millions of years old provides vines with optimal conditions for producing multi-layered wines. This unique soil, together with the cool breezes from the adjoining forests, gives the wines their unmistakable minerality, allowing them to reflect their authentic and unadulterated origin in the glass.

The very special small plot, «Golden Erd» (often called a “Ried” in Austria, T.N.) nowadays integrated into the main «Feiersteig» vineyard was mentioned already in the mountain annals of 1579 as the ideal vineyard location. Oriented to the southeast, this vineyard is characterised by the pure, coarse-grained limestone known as Leithakalk with a thin humus layer. In this particularly barren soil, the vines develop very deep roots and produce grapes with small aromatic berries. The resultant wines offer impressive depth, length and a very specific aroma. Perfect for creating exceptional Neuburger and Pinot Blanc wines with wonderful ageing potential.

Erwin Tinhof is particularly devoted to the native Neuburger grape variety. For him, Neuburger is not simply a grape variety, it means far more: homeland, commitment, dedication, but above all, a passion. The Tinhofs cultivate it because it has always been at home on the Leitha Range and has invariably played a key role in their family. This probable cross between Red Veltliner x Silvaner has, however, fallen into oblivion in recent decades and is no longer widespread across Austria. Rooted in the family tradition, the vineyard with its almost 6 hectares of Neuburger (out of 18 cultivated hectares in total) reflects the vine’s rich diversity. Nowadays, the well-regarded and fuller Neuburger has become the flagship of the Tinhof estate.

Producer

Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

Standing on La Gerla's terrace, one's view sweeps over Montalcino's peaceful landscape with its hills, vineyards, slim cypresses, and estates scattered all around. Nestled in the Colli Senesi to the south of Siena, the area comprises approx. 2000 hectares (up from just sixty hectares 50 years ago!).

Read more
4G Wines

4G Wines

G. is set to become the Premier Cru or First Growth of the Cape – THE iconic wine of South Africa. Not because it builds on centuries of tradition and history – but the exact opposite, in fact.

Read more
Nyetimber

Nyetimber

For the last quarter-century, England has played a very special role in the world of wines – an exotic in moist and chilly northern Europe.

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Weingut Erwin Tinhof

Depuis 11 générations, la famille Tinhof cultive la vigne à Eisenstadt, sur les flancs de la montagne de la Leitha, dans le Burgenland. Toutes leurs connaissances et leur expérience en matière de cépages spécialement adaptés à cette région et prônes à produire des vins typiques y trouvent leur origine. Le Neuburger, le Pinot blanc, le Blaufränkisch, le Sankt Laurent – dont certains ceps ont jusqu’à 55 ans : voilà le centre de leurs efforts et de leur attention.

Avec son équipe d’idéalistes, Erwin Tinhof poursuit un seul objectif, sans compromis aucun: vinifier des vins authentiques et pleins de caractère. Le sens pour l’essentiel, des développements continus et des échanges constants, sont ce qui caractérise les vins de la propriété Tinhof. L’ambition première des vignerons de Tinhof consiste à créer des vins de terroir harmonieux, minéraux, élégants et bien charpentés qui ne sont jamais kitchs, ‘bruyants’ ou accrocheurs. L’origine et le caractère d’un vin sont en effet ce qui le rend unique, des facteurs qui priment pour eux. Quant à leur qualité : elle provient exclusivement du vignoble. Grâce à une exploitation biologique (certifiée biologique depuis 2012), le raisin est équilibré, fournissant une base optimale pour leurs vins. Le temps de macération et un long stockage des levures du raisin, tous uniquement vendangés manuellement, confèrent à ces vins profondeur et longévité.

Vins blancs de Weingut Erwin Tinhof

de Weingut Erwin Tinhof

Le domaine est situé à Eisenstadt, dans le Burgenland, à 40 km au sud-est de Vienne, sur le Leithaberg (la montagne de la Leitha). Marquées par le climat pannonien de même que par le grand régulateur de climat qu’est le lac de Neusiedl, les conditions de culture du vin dont nous bénéficions ici, au Leithaberg, sont optimales pour vinifier des vins blancs, rouges et doux d’une excellente qualité. Des étés chauds et secs, des hivers froids et secs ainsi que le vent, si typique du Burgenland, caractérisent les végétations. Un des derniers sommets des Alpes s’ouvrant sur plaine pannonienne, la montagne de la Leitha, avec son sol calcaire de plusieurs millions d’années, offre à la vigne un milieu optimal pour des vins complexes. Avec les vents frais des forêts environnantes, ce terroir unique marque ces vins de son empreinte minérale bien structurée; ainsi, leur origine est reflétée dans le verre de façon authentique et limpide.

Intégré dans le « Großriede Feiersteig », le petit vignoble (souvent appelé un ‘Ried’ en Autriche, n.d.l.t.) très spécial - Golden Erd - était déjà mentionné en 1579 dans des annales sur les montagnes et qualifié de meilleur emplacement pour un vignoble. Orienté au sud-est, ce vignoble est caractérisé par de grosses mottes de calcaire de Leitha pur (connu sous le nom de Leithakalk) et d’une faible couche d’humus. Dans ce sol particulièrement aride, les vignes s’enracinent très profondément et produisent des grappes de petites baies aromatiques. Les vins qui en résultent offrent une profondeur et une longueur impressionnantes ainsi qu’un arôme spécifique. Juste parfaits pour créer des Neuburger et des Pinots blancs exceptionnels avec un merveilleux potentiel de vieillissement.

 

Erwin Tinhof se consacre tout particulièrement au Neuburger, un cépage autochtone qui, pour lui, n’est pas que cela, mais représente beaucoup plus : la patrie, l’enthousiasme, la dévotion, mais surtout la passion. La famille Tinhof y est également très attachée parce que ce raisin a toujours existé au Leithaberg et occupé une place prépondérante dans leur vie depuis le début. Or, ce qui était probablement un croisement entre du Roter Veltliner et du Silvaner, est tombé dans l’oubli ces dernières décennies et n’est pratiquement plus cultivé en Autriche. Issu de la tradition familiale, le vignoble de près de 6 hectares de Neuburger (sur 18 hectares de superficie cultivée totale) reflète sa riche diversité. Aujourd’hui, le très remarqué et plus puissant Neuburger est devenu le produit phare du domaine Tinhof.

Producteur

Il Molino di Grace

Il Molino di Grace

Frank Grace fit l’acquisition de cette propriété en 1995 après que lui et son épouse furent tombés sous le charme de la région visitée lors d’un voyage en Italie.

en savoir plus
Graf Trauttmansdorff

Graf Trauttmansdorff

en savoir plus
Weingut Rings

Weingut Rings

Le domaine viticole Rings, membre de la Ligue des meilleurs vignobles du Palatinat, est situé dans le Palatinat choyé par le soleil, au milieu de la commune viticole de Freinsheim. Depuis plus d'une décennie, la nouvelle génération de la famille Rings se concentre passionnément sur la production écologique de vins secs de haute qualité. Le fleuron du domaine Rings est constitué de vins denses et équilibrés avec un caractère marqué et un fort potentiel de conservation.

en savoir plus