to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Beaujolais

Beaujolais: the lightness of being

Though it always features an alcohol content of between 12.5 and 13.5 percent by volume, Beaujolais, a varietal Gamay, is considered a light wine. With its fruity vibrancy, it is a sociable wine that harmonizes exquisitely with simple and classic cuisine. The southern part, Bas Beaujolais, produces simple, highly drinkable wines, while the crus from the northern Haut Beaujolais – which ripen on weathered granite – demonstrate substantially greater individual expression.

Red wines from Beaujolais

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
Juliénas Vignes Centenaires
Only 14 Bottles

Legally, Beaujolais belongs to Burgundy. But because it has an entirely different terroir, and because Gamay dominates as the leading variety, it is perceived as a completely independent wine region. A good Beaujolais impresses with its aromas of raspberries and peonies, backed by floral and spicy notes, while presenting itself on the palate softly yet animatedly. The region of origin, comprising roughly 23,000 hectares, is situated west of the Saône River, stretching from Mâcon to around 50 kilometres south, almost to the outskirts of Lyon. Beaujolais is considered the epitome of an idyllic, well-proportioned landscape, in which lively villages and vineyards nestle among the tranquil hills.

Prestigious crus

In the southern, distinctly hilly part of Beaujolais, vines are rooted in calcareous loam, with a sometimes high proportion of oxidized iron. The Beaujolais AOC and Beaujolais AOC Supérieur (with a 0.5% higher alcohol content) bottled here are wholesome, drinkable, everyday wines. In the northern part, where the terroir is made up of granite and sometimes slate, often with a sandy overlay, the more substantial Beaujolais Villages are grown, as well as the region’s most prestigious wines. These originate from the nine different crus, which are known according to their respective villages: Moulin à Vent (680 ha), Fleurie (880 ha) and Brouilly (1,315 ha). Wines from these crus present themselves more strongly, but are also more complex and storable. In particular, the wines from Moulin à Vent can easily mature for ten years.

Particular vitification

The Gamay stocks in Beaujolais have a lifespan of 60 years or more. In older establishments, the plants grow in bush form on stakes. The climate, depending on weather conditions, is shaped by continental, Mediterranean and Atlantic influences. Because of the complex topography, each site has its own microclimate. The average precipitation of around 750 millimetres per square metre per year is ideal.

Beaujolais wines are traditionally prepared using the process of carbonic maceration (macération carbonique). The grapes enter the fermentation tank whole and unsqueezed, so fermentation occurs inside the grapes. The results are fruity wines with moderate tannin and acidity to match. Today, however, more and more winemakers are turning to classic maceration after the Burgundian model.

Subregions

Rueda
Castilla y León

Rueda

Rueda: Everybody’s Darling

Read more
Côte Chalonnaise
Bourgogne

Côte Chalonnaise

Côte Chalonnaise: sincere crus with character

Read more
Leyda
Aconcagua

Leyda

Leyda: small, cool, but fine

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Beaujolais

Beaujolais: Die Leichtigkeit des Seins

Obwohl er einen Alkoholgehalt von immerhin12,5 bis 13,5 Volumenprozent aufweist, gilt der Beaujolais, der ein reinsoriger Gamay ist, als der Leichtwein schlechthin. Mit seiner fruchtigen Beschwingtheit ist es ein geselliger Wein, der vorzüglich zur einfachen, bzw. klassischen Küche harmoniert. Während im südlichen «Bas»-Beaujolais einfache, sehr trinkige Weine produziert werden, zeigen die Crus aus dem nördlichen «Haut»-Beaujolais, die auf verwittertem Granit reifen, bedeutend mehr individuellen Ausdruck.

Rotweine aus Beaujolais

Fleurie

AC, Georges Blanc, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 22.–
Falstaff 90+ Punkte
Juliénas Vignes Centenaires

Saint-Amour

AC, Georges Blanc, 2014, 750 ml
CHF 22.–

Weingesetzlich gehört das Beaujolais zum Burgund, doch weil es über ein ganz anderes Terroir und mit dem Gamay über eine ganz klar dominierende Leitsorte verfügt, wird es als völlig eigenständiges Weingebiet wahrgenommen. Ein guter Beaujolais besticht mit seiner Aromatik aus Himbeeren und Pfingstrosen, unterlegt von blumigen und würzigen Noten, während er sich im Gaumen weich und gleichzeitig animierend zeigt. Das Ursprungsgebiet, das rund 23‘000 Hektar umfasst, liegt westlich des Flusses Saône und zieht sich von Mâcon rund 50 Kilometer in Richtung Süden, fast bis zur Stadtgrenze von Lyon. Das Beaujolais gilt als Inbegriff einer idyllisch-wohlproportionierten Landschaft, in der sich lebendige Dörfer und Rebberge in ein beschauliches Hügelland schmiegen.

Prestigeträchtige Crus

Im südlichen, ausgesprochen hügeligen Teil des Beaujolais wurzeln die Reben in kalkhaltigem Lehm mit einem teilweise hohen Anteil von oxidiertem Eisen. Der hier abgefüllten Beaujolais AOC oder Beaujolais AOC Supérieur (mit einem um 0,5 Prozent höheren Alkohlgehalt) sind bekömmliche, trinkige Alltagsweine. Im nördlichen Teil, wo das Terroir aus Granit und teilweise auch Schiefer besteht, meist mit einer sandigen Auflage, wachsen die gehaltvolleren Beaujolais Villages, sowie die prestigeträchtigsten Weine der Region, die aus den neun verschiedenen Crus stammen, die nach den jeweiligen Dörfern bekannt sind, wie Moulin à Vent (680 ha), Fleurie (880 ha) und Brouilly (1‘315 ha). Die Weine aus diesen Crus zeigen sich kräftiger, vor allem aber auch komplexer und lagerfähiger. Vor allem die Weine aus Moulin à Vent können durchaus zehn Jahre reifen.

Besondere Vinifikation

Die Gamay-Stöcke haben im Beaujolais eine Lebensdauer von 60 Jahren und mehr. In alten Anlagen wachsen die Stöcke in Buschform an einem Stickel. Das Klima wird je nach Wetterlage sowohl von kontinentalen, mediterranen und atlantischen Einflüssen geprägt, wegen der komplexen Topographie verfügt jede Lage über ihr eigenes Mikroklima. Die durchschnittlichen Niederschläge sind mit rund 750 Millimeter pro Qudratmeter und Jahr ideal.

Beaujolais-Weine werden traditionell nach dem Verfahren der Kohlensäuremaischung (Macération Carbonique) bereitet. Die Trauben kommen als ganzes ungequetscht in den Gärbehälter, wo die Gärung im Innern der Trauben einsetzt. Das Resultat sind fruchtbetonte Weine mit moderatem Gerbstoff und angepasster Säure. Heute setzen aber auch immer mehr Winzer auf klassische Maischengärung nach burgundischem Vorbild.

Unterregionen

Maipo
Valle Central

Maipo

Maipo-Valley: Sitz des Weinadels

Weiterlesen
Rías Baixas
Galicia

Rías Baixas

Rias Baixas: Mit der Frische des kühlen Atlantiks

Weiterlesen
Burgenland

Neusiedlersee

Neusiedlersee: Dunkelrot und edelsüss

Weiterlesen