to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Bordeaux

Bordeaux: high prestige, high quality

With a total area of around 115,000 hectares, Bordeaux may not be France’s largest wine-growing region, but it is certainly its most prestigious. The range of wines produced here today is enormous: ranging from red everyday wines with a great relationship between price and quality to exclusive, and accordingly expensive, premier crus. Elegant white wines and noble sweet specialties round out the spectrum.

White wines from Bordeaux

In Stock
Parker 92 Points
La Clarte de Haut-Brion 2009
Only 3 Bottles

La Clarte de Haut-Brion 2009

AC Pessac-Léognan, 750 ml
In Stock

Blanc de Lynch-Bages 2019

AC Pauillac, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker (90-92) Points
Château Carbonnieux blanc 2014
Only 1 Bottle
In Stock
Parker 92 Points
Château Carbonnieux blanc 2015
Only 1 Bottle

Red wines from Bordeaux

In Stock

B de Biac 2014

AC Cadillac Côtes de Bordeaux, 750 ml
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 89 Points
Château Branaire-Ducru 2010
In Stock
Parker 89 Points
Château Branaire-Ducru 2014

Sweet wines from Bordeaux

In Stock
Secret de Château Biac 2010
Only 17 Bottles

Secret de Château Biac 2010

AC Cadillac, 500 ml
In Stock
Ch. Raymond-Lafon 2008
Only 1 Bottle

Ch. Raymond-Lafon 2008

AC Sauternes, 6000 ml
In Stock
Parker (95-97)+ Points
Château Coutet 2019
Only 3 Bottles

Château Coutet 2019

AC Barsac 1er Grand cru classé, 750 ml
In Stock
Baur au Lac Vins 90-92 Points
Château Doisy-Védrines 2018

Château Doisy-Védrines 2018

AC Barsac Cru classé, 375 ml

The prominent role of Bordeaux wines is based on the particular location of this cultivation area, in the catchment area of three rivers: the Garonne and the Dordogne, which merge into the Gironde estuary, flowing into the Atlantic 60 kilometres northwest of the city of Bordeaux.

The water currents have shaped not only the gently rolling topography of this cultivation area, but the soil structure as well. On the left bank of the river, where the Médoc, Graves, Pessac-Léognan and Sauternes areas are located, soils with a high proportion of gravel and sand generally dominate. Thanks to the excellent heat retention of these soils, Cabernet Sauvignon yields exceptional results here.

Lots of sun, lots of rain

On the right bank, in the Blaye, Côtes de Bordeaux, Côtes de Bourg and Saint-Emilion areas, the soils vary more strongly. In general, higher proportions of clay, lime and sand are found here, while gravel plays a lesser role. The soils have an excellent ability to store water, which the Merlot variety especially enjoys. In Entre-deux-Mers, in turn, it is the calcareous clay soils that lend the dry white wines produced here (from Sauvignon Blanc, Sémillon and Muscadelle) their delicate freshness. With around 2,000 hours of sunshine, the climate in Bordeaux is distinctly mild; nonetheless, precipitation is relatively high, at 900 millimetres per year per square metre.

High demand from England

Wine was drunk in Bordeaux before it was even grown there. In the first century BCE, traders from Campania provided the population with wine. Only in the 12th century did Bordeaux become an important wine producer. Through the marriage of Eleanor of Aquitaine and the English King Henry II, Great Britain became the most important importer of Bordeaux wines. Claret became an export hit. The current hierarchy of crus was only established in the 19th century. In 1924, Baron Philippe de Rothschild became the first Château owner to bottle his own wine. This “mis en bouteille au château” first became common in the 1960s.

Region

Steiermark
Austria

Steiermark

Styria: the fresh, white wave

Read more
Niederösterreich
Austria

Niederösterreich

Lower Austria: crus near and far from the Danube

Read more
Pfalz
Germany

Pfalz

Pfalz: Riesling meets Burgundy

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Bordeaux

Bordeaux: Hohes Prestige, hohe Qualität

Mit einer Gesamtfläche von rund 115‘000 Hektar ist Bordeaux zwar nicht die grösste Weinbauregion Frankreich, dafür mit Sicherheit die prestigeträchtigste. Das Spektrum der Weine, die hier heute produziert werden, ist riesig: Es reicht von roten Alltagsweinen mit sehr gutem Verhältnis zwischen Preis und Qualität bis zu den exklusiven und entsprechend sehr teueren Premier Crus. Elegante Weissweine und edelsüsse Spezialitäten runden das Angebot ab.

Die herausragende Stellung der Bordeauxweine beruht auf der besonderen Lage dieses Anbaugebietes im Einzugsgebiet von gleich drei Flüssen, nämlich der Garonne und der Dordogne, die sich dann im Trichter der Gironde vereinen, welcher 60 Kilometer nordwestlich der Stadt Bordeaux in den Atlantik mündet.

Die Wasserströme haben nicht nur die sanft hügelige Topographie dieses Weinbaugebietes, sondern auch die Bodenstrukturen geschaffen. Generell dominieren am so genannten linken Flussufer, wo sich die Gebiete Médoc, Graves, Pessac-Léognan und Sauternes befinden, Böden  mit einem hohen Anteil von Kies und Sand. Dank der guten Wärmespeicherfähigkeit dieser Böden erbringt hier der Cabernet Sauvignon ausgezeichnete Resultate.

Viel Sonne, viel Regen

Am rechten Ufer mit den Gebieten Blaye, Côtes de Bordeaux, Côtes de Bourg, Saint-Emilion, varieren die Böden stärker, generell finden sich hier aber hohe Anteil von Ton, Kalk und Sand, der Kies spielt dagegen nur eine untergeordnete Rolle. Die Böden haben ein vorzügliches Wasserspeichervermögen, was vor allem der Sorte Merlot behagt. Im Entre-Deux-Mers wiederum sind es die kalkhaltigen Tonböden, die den hier produzierten trockenen Weissweinen (aus Sauvignon Blanc, Sémillon und Muscadelle gekeltert) ihre filigrane Frische verleihen. Das Klima ist in Bordeaux mit rund 2000 Sonnenstunden ausgesprochen mild, allerdings sind die Niederschlagsmengen mit 900 Millimeter pro Jahr und Quadratmeter vergleichsweise hoch.

Grosse Nachfrage aus England

Die Bordelaiser tranken schon Wein, bevor sie selber welchen anbauten. Im 1. Jahrhundert vor Christus versorgten nämlich Händler aus Kampanien die Bevölkerung mit Wein. Erst im 12. Jahrhundert wurde Bordeaux zum wichtigen Weinproduzenten. Durch die Hochzeit von Eleonore von Aquitanien mit dem englischen König Heinrich II wurde Grossbritannien zum wichtigsten Abnehmer von Bordeaux-Weinen. Der «Claret» avancierte zum Exportschlager. Die heutige Hierarchie der Crus bildete sich dagegen erst im 19. Jahrhundert. 1924 entschloss sich Baron Philippe de Rothschild als erster Château-Besitzer, seinen Wein selber abzufüllen. Zum allgemeinen Standard wurde aber diese «mis en bouteille au château» erst in den 60er Jahren.

Weissweine aus Bordeaux

Blanc de Lynch-Bages
Nur noch 11 Flaschen

Blanc de Lynch-Bages

AC Bordeaux, 2005, 750 ml
CHF 69.80
Parker (85-88) Punkte
Ch. Carbonnieux blanc
Nur noch 4 Flaschen
Parker 91 Punkte
Ch. Carbonnieux blanc

Rotweine aus Bordeaux

B de Biac

AC Côtes de Bordeaux, 2012, 750 ml
CHF 25.80
Bordeaux Collection 1996
Nur noch 1 Flasche

Bordeaux Collection 1996

9 Fl 1er cru, 1996, 750 ml
CHF 9'879.–
Bordeaux Collection 2010
Nur noch 3 Flaschen

Süss-, Portwein & Sherry aus Bordeaux

Parker 93-95+ Punkte
Ch. Coutet
Ch. Coutet
Nur noch 8 Flaschen
Parker 87 Punkte
Ch. Coutet
Nur noch 6 Flaschen
Parker (95-97) Punkte
Ch. d'Yquem
Nur noch 1 Flasche

Regionen

Lowlands
Schottland

Lowlands

Lowlands: Hochprozentig subtil

Weiterlesen
Highlands
Schottland

Highlands

Highlands: Clans, Schafe, Whiskys

Weiterlesen
Douro
Portugal

Douro

Douro: Vom Portwein zum Kultwein

Weiterlesen