to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Brivio / Gialdi

For most of wine lovers in Switzerland, the name Guido Brivio is no unknown. However, abroad, it is a different story. Only after many years in the trade has he become among the wine experts and professionals of New York or London an insider tip, so to say, from an infinitesimally tiny unknown corner in the great international wine world.

Although Guido’s grandfather was a wine merchant, he didn’t grow up in this industry, or even on a wine estate. At home, life didn’t revolve around grapes, but artichokes! His mother and uncle jointly possessed the Swiss production rights for Cynar. Only after studying business in London did the young Guido decide to study oenology in Bordeaux. His mother was delighted, as she saw that a certain family tradition could now continue. There then followed a stay in Sonoma Valley, California, where he became acquainted with American wine producers’ carefree, adventurous way of working.

Sparkling wines from Brivio / Gialdi

In Stock
SottoSopra Spumante Brut 2018
Only 8 Bottles

SottoSopra Spumante Brut 2018

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 750 ml
In Stock
SottoSopra Spumante Brut 2014
Only 4 Bottles

SottoSopra Spumante Brut 2014

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 750 ml
In Stock

SottoSopra Spumante Brut 2019

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 750 ml
In Stock

Brivio Brut Spumante

IGT Ticino, Brivio, 750 ml

White wines from Brivio / Gialdi

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

Contrada Bianco di Merlot 2021

DOC Ticino , Brivio, 750 ml
In Stock

Prà bianco 2021

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 750 ml

Rosé wines from Brivio / Gialdi

In Stock
In Stock

Merlot Gran Rosé 2021

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 750 ml

Red wines from Brivio / Gialdi

In Stock
Merlot Platinum 2013
Only 2 Bottles
Vegan

Merlot Platinum 2013

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 3000 ml
In Stock

Merlot Due Amici 2017

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 1500 ml
In Stock
Merlot Platinum 2013
Only 22 Bottles
Vegan

Merlot Platinum 2013

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 1500 ml
In Stock

Merlot Platinum 2019

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 750 ml

Spirits from Brivio / Gialdi

In Stock

Grappa Americana Sovrana

Ticino, Brivio, 500 ml
In Stock

Limoni Limoncino del Ticino

Brivio, 500 ml
In Stock

Noci Nocino del Ticino

Brivio, 500 ml
In Stock

Grappa di Merlot Elegantia

Ticino, Brivio, 700 ml

from Brivio / Gialdi

In Stock
In Stock
Merlot Platinum 2013
Only 22 Bottles
Vegan

Merlot Platinum 2013

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 1500 ml
In Stock

Grappa di Merlot Elegantia

Ticino, Brivio, 700 ml
In Stock

Merlot Platinum 2019

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 750 ml

Back in Mendrisio, his objective was clear: his own wines, which would would stand clearly apart from all others in the canton of Ticino. His family provided strong support, and upon the purchase of a winery in 1989, he was able to begin production and realise his ideas. Such as, for example, maturing the wines in barriques and pressing a white wine from the red Merlot grapes. The Bianco Rovere, which was moreover also matured in barriques, also represented a mini revolution, bordering on blasphemy for some of Ticino’s inhabitants. However, there were others, even though few in number, who supported him right from the outset.

 

Guido Brivio’s business has grown continuously for more than 25 years. Today, he counts among Switzerland’s most successful wine producers. Since 2001, he shares a joint venture with the just as famous winegrower, Feliciano Gialdi. The winery is located in Mendrisio, at the foot of the Monte Generoso. The cellars are hewn out of the rocks, and these cellars ensure the finest wines, kept in barriques, are kept at a naturally constant temperature. They previously served as larders for a grotto (rustic restaurant), and therefore housed not just wine but also ham, salami, cheese and other foodstuffs. The building next door houses the winery, with its state of the art infrastructure.

 

Guido Brivio doesn’t own his own vineyard. He works in partnership with winegrowers who supply him with the grapes. Some of these relationships go back decades. Some are professional growers, but other suppliers are families who own just a few rows of vines but cultivate them lovingly. And of course, only the very highest quality grapes are accepted.

 

These originate from the so-called Sottoceneri, the part of the canton of Ticino that lies to the south of Monte Ceneri. The area comprises the Lugano, Malcantone and Mendrisiotto regions. The soil is chalky and contains a greater proportion of lime than in the Sopraceneri, where predominantly granite stone formations with a low chalk content are found. The climate is influenced by the Alpine region as well as by the nearby Po Valley and Mediterranean sea. Although this area, Switzerland’s sun lounge, with its more than 2000 hours of sunlight a year, counts among the sunniest areas of our country, at the same time, its approximately 1800mm rain a year also makes it the region with the greatest rainfall. Around 1000 hectares are planted with grapes, of which more than 800 are planted with Merlot. This variety of grape, which was only introduced to the southernmost canton at the start of the 20th century, has become Ticino’s true hallmark. However, smaller areas of other white and red grape varieties are also cultivated. Guido Brivio’s range can therefore be seen as a mirror image of Ticino’s vineyard region and people: exciting, diverse, steeped in tradition, modern and likeable.

Producer

Bodega El Regajal

Bodega El Regajal

The unique El Regajal estate with its modern bodega is located to the south of the province of Madrid, in Aranjuez, and was founded by the García-Pita family in 1998. In addition to the Madrid winery, a project called “Galia” was launched in collaboration with Jérôme Bougnaud.  

Read more
Paolo Conterno / Fam. Conterno

Paolo Conterno / Fam. Conterno

Giorgio Conterno and his Baroli from Piedmont, is one of Baur au Lac Vins' long-standing partners. He talks about his new Tuscan passion with beaming eyes:

Read more
Château Biac

Château Biac

Sometimes life is full of surprises. The Lebanese Asseily family experienced this first-hand when they became the owners of Château Biac as if by accident in 2006. They regularly spent their summer holidays near Biac, but never would they have dreamt that they would own and manage this wonderful property themselves one day. It’s a fascinating story that Tony and Youmna Asseily are happy to share over a glass of their wine.

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Brivio / Gialdi

Für die meisten Weinliebhaber und Weinliebhaberinnen in der Schweiz ist er kein Unbekannter: Guido Brivio. Im Ausland hingegen ist er erst nach langen Jahren unter Weinkennern und Weinprofis in New York oder London sozusagen zum Geheimtipp aus einer winzig kleinen, unbekannten Ecke der grossen internationalen Weinwelt geworden.

Obwohl Guidos Grossvater Weinhändler war, wuchs er nicht in dieser Branche oder gar auf einem Weingut auf. Zuhause waren nicht Trauben das Thema, sondern die Artischocken! Die Mutter und der Onkel hatten nämlich zusammen die Produktionsrechte für Cynar in der Schweiz. Der junge Guido entschloss sich erst nach einem Wirtschaftsstudium in London, eine Ausbildung in Önologie in Bordeaux zu absolvieren. Seine Mutter freute es, sah sie doch die Fortführung einer gewissen Familientradition gesichert. Es folgte auch ein Aufenthalt in Kalifornien, im Sonoma Valley, wo er mit der unbekümmerten und experimentierfreudigen Arbeitsweise der amerikanischen Weinproduzenten Bekanntschaft machte.

Schaumweine von Brivio / Gialdi

In Stock
SottoSopra Spumante Brut
Nur noch 20 Flaschen
In Stock
SottoSopra Spumante Brut
Nur noch 11 Flaschen
In Stock

Brivio Brut Spumante

DOC Ticino , Brivio, 750 ml
CHF 16.80

Weissweine von Brivio / Gialdi

In Stock
Prà bianco
Vegan

Prà bianco

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 2019, 750 ml
CHF 15.90
In Stock
Bianco Rovere (Bianco di Merlot)
Vegan
In Stock
Donnay
Vegan

Donnay

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 33.–
In Stock
Ronco Bain
Vegan

Ronco Bain

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 2019, 750 ml
CHF 23.50

Roséweine von Brivio / Gialdi

In Stock
Merlot Gran Rosé
Vegan

Merlot Gran Rosé

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 2020, 750 ml
CHF 18.–

Rotweine von Brivio / Gialdi

In Stock
Merlot Riflessi d'Epoca
Vegan
In Stock
Vigna d'Antan
Vegan

Vigna d'Antan

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 34.90
In Stock
Merlot Riflessi d'Epoca
Vegan
In Stock
Merlot Baiocco
Vegan

Merlot Baiocco

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 18.90

Spirituosen von Brivio / Gialdi

In Stock
Grappa Americana Sovrana
Nur noch 18 Flaschen

Grappa Americana Sovrana

Ticino, Brivio, 500 ml
CHF 44.–
In Stock
In Stock

Limoni Limoncino del Ticino

Brivio, 500 ml
CHF 37.50
In Stock

Noci Nocino del Ticino

Brivio, 500 ml
CHF 37.50

von Brivio / Gialdi

In Stock
Vigna d'Antan
Vegan

Vigna d'Antan

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 34.90
In Stock
Merlot Baiocco
Vegan

Merlot Baiocco

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 18.90
In Stock
Merlot Riflessi d'Epoca
Vegan
In Stock
Dogaia
Vegan

Dogaia

DOC Ticino, Brivio, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 29.80

Zurück in Mendrisio war das Ziel klar: eigene Weine, die sich klar von allen anderen im Tessin unterscheiden. Die Familie unterstützte ihn kräftig und 1989 konnte er mit dem Kauf einer Kellerei die Produktion starten und seine Ideen realisieren. So zum Beispiel den Ausbau der Weine in Barriques und die Kelterung eines Weissweins aus der roten Merlot-Traube. Der Bianco Rovere, der überdies noch in Barriques ausgebaut wurde, war eine kleine Revolution und grenzte für einige Tessiner schon fast an Blasphemie. Es gab aber auch solche, wenn auch wenige, die ihm von Anfang an den Rücken stärkten.

In über 25 Jahren ist Guido Brivios Unternehmen kontinuierlich gewachsen. Er gehört heute zum Kreis der erfolgreichsten Weinproduzenten der Schweiz. Mit dem ebenfalls bekannten Feliciano Gialdi verbindet ihn seit 2001 ein Joint Venture. Die Kellerei befindet sich in Mendrisio am Fusse des Monte Generoso. In den Felsen gehauen sind die Keller, wo die feinsten Weine in Barriques bei natürlich konstanter Temperatur lagern. Es sind ehemalige Vorratskammern (Grotti), in denen früher nicht nur Wein, sondern auch Schinken, Salami, Käse und andere Lebensmittel gelagert wurden. Im Haus nebenan befindet sich die mit modernster Infrastruktur ausgestattete Kellerei.

Guido Brivio besitzt keine eigenen Rebberge. Er arbeitet mit Rebbauern zusammen, die ihm die Trauben liefern. Darunter gibt es jahrzehntealte Beziehungen. Das können professionelle Anbauer sein oder Familien, die ein paar wenige Rebzeilen ihr Eigen nennen und liebevoll pflegen. Es versteht sich von selbst, dass nur qualitativ hochwertigstes Traubengut angenommen wird.

Dieses stammt aus dem sogenannten Sottoceneri, dem südlich des Monte Ceneri gelegenen Teil des Tessins. Das Gebiet umfasst das Luganese, das Malcantone und das Mendrisiotto. Die Böden sind kalkhaltiger und haben grösseren Lehmanteil als im Sopraceneri, wo eher Granitverwitterungsgestein mit geringem Kalkanteil anzutreffen ist. Das Klima ist sowohl vom Alpenraum wie auch von der nahen Po-Ebene und dem Mittelmeer geprägt. Die Sonnenstube der Schweiz zählt zwar mit über 2000 Sonnenstunden im Jahr zu den sonnigsten Gegenden unseres Landes, aber sie ist zugleich mit rund 1800 Millimetern Regen im Jahr auch die niederschlagsreichste Region. Bepflanzt sind gut 1000 Hektaren, wovon über 800 Hektaren mit Merlot. Diese Traubensorte, die erst Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts im Südkanton eingeführt wurde, ist zum eigentlichen Wahrzeichen des Tessins geworden. Auf kleinen Flächen werden aber auch andere weisse und rote Rebsorten angebaut. So kann Guido Brivios Sortiment als Spiegelbild der Tessiner Reblandschaft und seiner Menschen angeschaut werden: spannend, vielfältig, traditionsreich, modern und sympathisch.

Winzer

Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

2010 entstand als Krönung eines Traums des erfahrenen Önologen Guido Rivella, der in Montestefano / Barbaresco geboren wurde, die Azienda Agricola Silvia Rivella, benannt nach seiner Tochter.

Weiterlesen
Weingut Ratzenberger / Fam. Ratzenberger

Weingut Ratzenberger / Fam. Ratzenberger

Am schönsten reist man nach Bacharach auf dem Rhein mit dem Schiff, an der berühmten Loreley vorbei. Links und rechts vom Mittelrhein grüssen mittelalterliche Burgen und schmucke Dörfer. Bacharach ist eines der schönsten Städtchen im UNESCO-Welterbe Oberes Mittelrheintal. Dort angekommen, kann man zu Fuss in einer knappen halben Stunde zum Ortsteil Steeg spazieren oder mit dem Auto in nur fünf Minuten fahren.

Weiterlesen
Domaine de Cabasse

Domaine de Cabasse

Das Weingut mit idyllischem Landhotel und Restaurant befindet sich inmitten von Reben zwischen den Ortschaften Séguret und Sablet, ein halbe Stunde Autofahrt von Orange oder Châteauneuf-du-Pape entfernt. Die Ursprünge der Domaine de Cabasse reichen auf die Zeit zurück, als die Päpste in Avignon residierten.

Weiterlesen