to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Côte de Nuits

Côte de Nuits: Pinots of world renown

The northernmost tip of Burgundy (only Chablis is located further north) is the area where the Pinot noir grape yields a whole range of rare crus that are unsurpassed in their synthesis of fullness and elegance. No wonder the names of villages like Vosne-Romanée, Chambolle-Musigny or Gevrey-Chambertin have an absolutely magical ring to Pinot lovers. The divisions of the sites into village, premier and grand cru appellations is complex, and the Côte de Nuits thus remains a fascinating enigma even for connoisseurs.

Red wines from Côte de Nuits

In Stock
Parker 96 Points
Bonnes Mares Grand cru
In Stock
Bonnes Mares Grand cru
Only 16 Bottles
In Stock
In Stock
Bourgogne rouge
Only 19 Bottles

Bourgogne rouge

AC, Domaine Claude Dugat, 2013, 750 ml
CHF 39.80

In contrast to the lively provincial metropolis of Beaune and the dedicated wine villages south of the city, the Côte de Nuits is still dominated by sleepy winegrowing districts. Restaurants, bars and shops are hardly to be found here. This Spartan feeling stands in stark contrast to the hysteria around the purchase of the scarcely available top sites, for which the highest prices per hectare are paid worldwide today. No wonder, for the top wines of the Côte de Nuits are viewed around the world as the epitome of Pinot noir growths of the highest quality.

Village wines gain in quality

Travelers on the N74 who enter the Côte de Nuits shortly after the famous Corton hill, immediately receive a clear view of the local terroir conditions. The vineyards along the road in the plain, where the vines are rooted in fertile alluvial soil, belong to the communal appellations. Once paid little attention, these “village” wines, when coming from ambitious winemakers, have lastingly gained in quality in recent years, and guarantee plenty of Pinot enjoyment for a moderate price.

The topography of the area is characterized by the limestone ridge that rises about one kilometre west of the N74, reaching an elevation of up to 400 metres above sea level. The best grand cru and premier cru sites are located in the middle and middle-high slopes, where the hard limestone turns to a terroir where varying proportions of sand and gravel overlay the marl soils.

Land of the red grand crus

Over 20 of the grand cru sites reserved for Pinot noir are found here. The spectrum ranges from the 50-hectare Clos Vougeot, with its over 70 vineyard owners, to La Romanée, at just 0.83 hectares. The highest prices are achieved by the crus from the 1.8-hectare Romanée-Conti. The 15-hectare Chambertin Clos de Bèze, established by monks around 630 and first mentioned in writing in 636, enjoys a similarly legendary reputation. Around 3,200 hectares are planted with vines in the Côte de Nuits region. Superior wines with individual character can be found in the well-over 100 sites classified as premier crus here.

Subregions

Margaux
Bordeaux

Margaux

Margaux: a guarantor of finesse

Read more
Penedès
Catalunya

Penedès

Penedès: growth thanks to new ideas

Read more
Mittelburgenland
Burgenland

Mittelburgenland

Mittelburgenland: variations in Blaufränkisch

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Côte de Nuits

Côte de Nuits: Pinots von Weltruf

Der nördlichste Zipfel des Burgunds (einzig das Chablis liegt noch nördlicher) ist jenes Gebiet, wo die Pinot Noir-Traube eine ganze Reihe von raren Crus hervorbringt, die in ihrer Symbiose aus Fülle und Eleganz unübertroffen sind. Kein Wunder haben Dorfnamen wie VosneRomanée, Chambolle-Musigny oder Gevrey-Chambertin bei Pinot-Liebhabern einen geradezu magischen Klang. Die Unterteilung der Lagen in Villages-, Premiers- und Grand Crus-Appellationen ist komplex, darum bleibt die Côte de Nuits auch für Kenner der Szene ein faszinierendes Mysterium.

Im Gegensatz zur lebendigen Provinzmetropole Beaune und den intakten Winzerdörfern südlich der Stadt wird die Côte de Nuits von noch immer verschlafen wirkenden Weinbauorten geprägt. Restaurants, Bars oder Geschäfte finden sich hier kaum. Dieser spartanische Eindruck steht in krassem Gegensatz zur Hysterie um den Kauf der wenig verfügbaren Toplagen, für welche heute die höchsten Hektarpreise weltweit gezahlt werden. Kein Wunder, denn die Top-Weine von der Côte de Nuits gelten weltweit als Inbegriff für Pinot Noir-Gewächse von höchster Qualität.

«Village»-Weine legen an Qualität zu

Der Reisende, der auf der N74 kurz nach dem berühmten Corton-Hügel in die Côte de Nuits eintritt, hat sofort einen klaren Blick auf die hiesigen Terroirverhältnisse. Die Rebgärten entlang der Strasse in der Ebene, wo die Stöcke in fruchtbarem Schwemmland wurzeln, gehört zu den Gemeinde-Appellationen. Früher oft wenig beachtet, haben diese «Village»-Weine, wenn sie von ambitionierten Winzern stammen, in den letzten Jahren nachhaltig an Qualität zugelegt und garantieren viel Pinot-Genuss für einen moderaten Preis.

Die Topographie des Gebietes wird geprägt vom Kalksteinkamm, der sich rund  einen Kilometer westlich der N74 erhebt und eine Höhe von bis zu 400 Meter über Meer erreicht. Die besten Grand Cru- und Premier Cru-Lagen befinden sich in den mittleren und mittelhohen Hanglagen, dort wo der harte Kalkstein in ein Terroir übergeht, wo über dem Mergelböden eine Auflage aus unterschiedlichen Anteilen von Sand und Geröll liegt.

Land der roten Grand Crus

Über 20 dem Pinot Noir vorbehaltene Grand Cru-Lagen finden sich hier. Das Spektrum reicht vom 50 Hektar umfassenden Clos Vougeot mit seinen über 70 Rebbesitzern bis zum lediglich 0,83 Hektar grossen La Romanée. Die höchsten Preise erzielen derweil die Crus aus dem 1,8 Hektar grossen Romanée-Conti. Einen ähnlich legendären Ruf geniesst der 15 Hektar umfassende Chambertin Clos de Bèze, welcher von Mönchen schon um das Jahr 630 angelegt und 636 erstmals schriftlich erwähnt worden ist. An der Côte de Nuits sind rund 3‘200 Hektar mit Reben bestockt. Hochstehende Weine mit individuellem Charakter findet man unter den weit über einhundert Lagen, die hier als Premiers Crus klassiert sind.

Rotweine aus Côte de Nuits

Assortiment Domaine Romanée Conti
Nur noch 1 Flasche
Bonnes Mares Grand Cru
Nur noch 6 Flaschen
Parker 94 Punkte
Bonnes Mares Grand cru
Nur noch 17 Flaschen

Unterregionen

Chablis
Bourgogne

Chablis

Chablis: Die pure Finesse des Chardonnays

Weiterlesen
Heathcote
Victoria

Heathcote

Heathcote: Ein Terroir für Shiraz und mehr

Weiterlesen
Rueda
Castilla y León

Rueda

Rueda: Everybody’s Darling

Weiterlesen