to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Navarra

Navarre: a land of many terroirs

Until 1841, Navarre was an independent kingdom with a rich wine culture. Thanks to varying soil types and equally diverse climatic influences, Navarra has an amazing array of wines. The spectrum ranges from substantial Chardonnays to drinkable rosés to red wines, where international varieties such as Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot often set the tone along with Tempranillo and Garnacha. Exquisite sweet wines from Moscatel grapes are also vinified here.

White wines from Navarra

In Stock
Parker 92 Points
Santa Cruz de Artazu blanco 2015

Santa Cruz de Artazu blanco 2015

DO Navarra, Artazu, 750 ml
In Stock
Chardonnay 2018
Only 3 Bottles

Chardonnay 2018

DO Navarra, Vega Sindoa, 750 ml
In Stock

Viura/Chardonnay 2016

DO Navarra, Vega Sindoa, 750 ml
In Stock

Chardonnay 2019

DO Navarra, Vega Sindoa, 750 ml

Rosé wines from Navarra

In Stock

Ah-So Rosé

DO Navarra, Artazu, 250 ml
In Stock

Artazuri rosado 2019

DO Navarra, Artazu, 750 ml

Red wines from Navarra

In Stock
In Stock

Santa Cruz de Artazu tinto 2017

DO Navarra, Artazu, 750 ml
In Stock
Tempranillo 2017
Only 2 Bottles

Tempranillo 2017

DO Navarra, Vega Sindoa, 750 ml
In Stock
Cabernet Sauvignon/Tempranillo Crianza 2016
Only 13 Bottles
Vegan

In the northwest of Navarre, the pilgrim trail to Santiago de Compostela runs straight through the vineyards. The pilgrims did not just bring new knowledge of wine – they were also thirsty, and the monasteries steadily expanded their wine production. Thus, by the 9th and 10th centuries, large quantities of wine were already produced here. However, the beginnings of viticulture here stretch back to pre-Roman times. Thus Navarre is one of the oldest wine regions in Spain. In the middle of the 19th century, almost 50,000 hectares were planted with vines. Then, phylloxera arrived, destroying almost all of the vineyards. Today, wine cultivation is restored and occurs on around 18,000 hectares.

The Navarre wine region is divided into five sub-regions. In northern areas like Tierra Estella and Valdizarba, a temperate, Atlantic-influenced climate yields well-structured, elegant wines, while the crus from the more southerly areas of Ribera Alta and Ribera Baja tend towards fullness and strength. The unique climate is not only attributed to a meeting of Atlantic and Continental influences – along the foothills of the Pyrenees and through the Ebro valley, Mediterranean air masses also reach Navarre, especially in the Baja Montaña subzone in the southeast. The soil types are also diverse: brownish limestone and marl soils predominate, but there are also reddish clay soils with high iron content and alluvial sand and gravel in the river valleys.

Thanks to this complex jigsaw of terroir types, Navarre has a greater variety of wines to offer than any other Spanish wine region. Since the 90s, vintners have consciously turned towards international varieties. Today, some of the best Chardonnays on the Iberian Peninsula are vinified in Navarre. The red cuvées are also excellent, many of which are based on Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot. Other assemblages combine the Spanish national variety of Tempranillo with Bordeaux growths. The long-established Garnacha variety is currently experiencing a renaissance. Above all, Garnacha selections from old vines show strong character. Some of the best rosés also come from Navarre (mostly also based on Garnacha). The Moscatel sweet wines, which are often aged for years in barrels, are a true specialty.

Region

La Mancha
Spain

La Mancha

La Mancha: beyond Don Quixote

Read more
Loire
France

Loire

Loire: the regal wine river

Read more
Mittelrhein
Germany

Mittelrhein

Mittelrhein: small but fine

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular

Navarra

Navarra: Ein Land mit vielen Terroirs

Bis 1841 war Navarra ein eigenständiges Königreich mit reicher Weinkultur. Dank unterschiedlicher Bodentypen und ebenso vielfältigen Klimaeinflüssen verfügt Navarra über eine verblüffende Vielfalt an Weinen. Das Spektrum reicht von gehaltvollen Chardonnays über trinkige Rosés bis zu Rotweinen, in denen nebst Tempranillo und Garnacha oft auch internationale Sorten wie Cabernet Sauvignon oder Merlot den Ton angeben. Selbst vorzügliche Süssweine aus der Moscatel-Traube werden hier gekeltert.

Weissweine aus Navarra

In Stock
Parker 93 Punkte
Santa Cruz de Artazu blanco 2019

Roséweine aus Navarra

In Stock

Artazuri rosado 2023

DO Navarra, Artazu, 750 ml

Rotweine aus Navarra

In Stock
Parker 92 Punkte
Pasos de San Martín 2016
Nur noch 1 Flasche

Pasos de San Martín 2016

DO Navarra, Artazu, 750 ml
In Stock

Pasos de San Martín 2018

DO Navarra, Artazu, 750 ml
In Stock

Im Nordwesten von Navarra führt der Pilgerweg nach Santiago de Compostela mitten durch die Rebberge. Die Pilger brachten nicht nur neues Weinwissen mit, sie waren auch durstig, so dass die Klöster ihre Weinproduktion stetig ausdehnten. So wurden hier schon im 9. und 10. Jahrhundert grosse Mengen von Wein produziert.  Die Anfänge des Weinbaus reichen sogar in die vorrömische Zeit zurück. Damit gilt Navarra als eine der ältesten Weinregionen in Spanien. Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts waren  hier fast 50‘000 Hektar mit Reben bepflanzt, dann kam die Reblaus und zerstörte fast alle Rebanlagen. Heute wird wieder auf rund 18‘000 Hektar Weinbau betrieben.

Die Weinregion Navarra teilt sich in fünf Subregionen. Während in den nördlichen Gebieten wie Tierra Estella und Valdizarbe in einem gemässigt atlantisch beeinflussten Klima gut strukturierte, elegante Weine reifen, neigen die Crus, welche in den mehr südlich gelegenen Gebieten Ribera Alta und Ribera Baja reifen, zu mehr Fülle und Kraft. Die besondere Klimakonstellation ist darauf zurückzuführen, dass hier nicht nur atlantische und kontinentale Einflüsse aufeinander treffen. Entlang der Pyrenänenausläufer und durch das Ebrotal gelangen auch mediterrane Luftmassen nach Navarra, besonders in die südöstlich gelegene Subzone Baja Montaña. Auch die Bodentypen sind vielfältig: Bräunliche Kalk- und Mergelböden herrschen vor, es gibt aber auch rötliche Lehmböden mit hohem Eisengehalt und Schwemmland mit Kies und Sand in den Flusstälern.

Dank diesem komplexen Puzzle aus Terroirtypen hat Navarra eine Vielfalt an Weinen zu bieten, wie kaum eine andere spanische Weinregion. Ab den 90er Jahren setzten die Winzer bewusst auch auf internationale Sorte. Noch heute werden in Navarra einige der besten Chardonnays der iberischen Halbinsel gekeltert. Vorzüglich sind auch die roten Cuvées, von denen viele auf Cabernet Sauvignon und Merlot basieren, andere Assemblagen vereinen dagegen die spanische Nationalsorte Tempranillo mit Bordeaux-Gewächsen. Eine Renaissance erlebt zurzeit die alteingesessene Sorte Garnacha. Vor allem Garnacha-Selektionen von alten Reben zeigen viel Charakter. Auch einige der besten Rosés (meist ebenfalls auf Garnacha basierend) kommen aus Navarra. Eine echte Spezialität sind die oft jahrelang in Fässern ausgereiften Moscatel-Süssweine.

Region

Abruzzo
Italien

Abruzzo

Abruzzen: Charakterweine zwischen Berg und Meer

Mehr anzeigen
Toscana
Italien

Toscana

Toskana: Zurück zu Eleganz und Frische

Mehr anzeigen
Mendoza
Argentinien

Mendoza

Mendoza: Malbec und mehr

Mehr anzeigen