to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Pauillac

Pauillac: Aristocratic crus

No appellation embodies the noble Bordeaux virtues on such a fine, almost majestic level as Pauillac, the peninsula resting in the Médoc. With Lafite-Rothschild, Latour and Mouton-Rothschild, it is also home to the majority of the five premier crus. The grandeur of Pauillac crus is quite clearly based on the Cabernet Sauvignon variety, which, with a share of over 70 percent, certainly dominates in assemblages, and also lends the wines excellent aging potential.

Red wines from Pauillac

In Stock
Parker 90 Points
Ch. d'Armailhac
Only 3 Bottles
In Stock
Parker 92 Points
Ch. Lafite-Rothschild
Only 1 Bottle
In Stock
Ch. Lafite-Rothschild
Only 1 Bottle
In Stock
Ch. Lafite-Rothschild
Only 2 Bottles

Pauillac does not only set the bar in terms of the quality and character of its wines – the town of 5,000 inhabitants on the Gironde is also the cultural and economic centre of the Médoc peninsula. Sitting in one of the bistros on the harbour quay eating fresh shrimp from the Gironde is a special treat. Nonetheless, a drinkable Entre-deux-Mers goes better with this than the local crus. Exclusively red wines are produced in Pauillac, whose powerful, concentrated nature harmonizes better with fine beef, mushroom ragout or game.

Vines rooted in pure gravel

A successful Pauillac always presents aromas of red- and blackcurrants, notes of brush, leather, mint and pepper, along with perfectly integrated touches of spice from wood maturation. The central characteristics of Pauillac crus, however, are their robustness, owing to their fine-grained but prominent tannin structure, their depth and complexity. Though younger Pauillac vintages are produced which are ready to drink earlier, the crus still probably hold the best aging potential of all Bordeaux wines.

The appellation comprises a total of roughly 1,200 hectares, and consists of two large plateaux that are inconspicuously separated by the Canal du Gahet. On the northern, slightly higher plateau, named after the hamlet of Le Pouyalet, grapes grow in perfectly dimensioned, gentle slopes up to 30 metres above sea level. Two premier crus are residents here: Lafite and Mouton. The more southerly plateau of Saint-Lambert is somewhat flatter, and has the characteristic coarse pebbles that also shape the terroir of Latour.

Perfect Cabernet terroir

The full-bodied and exceedingly powerful crus grow in the distinctive hilltops of often very pure gravel with little sand, underlain with a thick limestone base. The vineyards are all located within the catchment area of the Gironde, which reaches nearly five kilometres wide here and modulates temperature variations. Cabernet Sauvignon, in particular, displays its noblest qualities in this terroir.

Subregions

Toro
Castilla y León

Toro

Toro: Distinctive wines with great tradition

Read more
Beaujolais
Bourgogne

Beaujolais

Beaujolais: the lightness of being

Read more
Barossa Valley
South Australia

Barossa Valley

Barossa Valley: well-proportioned abundance

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Pauillac

Pauillac: Aristokratische Crus

Keine Appellation verköpert die edlen Bordeaux-Tugenden auf so noble, ja fast schon majestätische Weise wie das auf der Médoc-Halbinsel gelegene Pauillac. Mit Lafite-Rothschild, Latour und Mouton-Rothschild beherbergt es auch die Mehrheit der insgesamt fünf Premiers Crus. Die Grandezza der Pauillac-Crus basiert dabei ganz klar auf der Sorte Cabernet Sauvignon, die in den Assemblagen mit einem Anteil von meist über 70 Prozent ganz klar dominiert und den Weinen auch ein hervorragendes Entwicklungspotential verleiht.

Pauillac setzt nicht nur in Bezug auf die Qualität und den Charakter seiner Weine die Massstäbe. Das Städtchen an der Gironde mit seinen 5000 Einwohnern ist auch das kulturelle und wirtschaftliche Zentrum der Médoc-Halbinsel. In einem der Bistros am Hafenquai zu sitzen und frische Garnelen aus der Gironde zu essen, ist ein besonderes Vergnügen. Allerdings mundet dazu ein süffiger Entre-Deux-Mers besser die hier heimischen Crus. Denn in Pauillac wird ausschliesslich Rotwein gekeltert, die mit ihrer kräftig-konzentrierten Art eher zu edlem Rindfleisch, Pilzragout oder Wild harmonieren.

Reben wurzeln in purem Kies

Ein gelungener Pauillac zeigt neben Aromen von roten und  schwarzen Johannisbeeren stets auch Noten von Unterholz, Leder, Minze und Pfeffer, dazu die perfekt integrierten Würznoten vom Holzausbau. Die zentrale Charakteristik der Pauillac-Crus ist aber ihre Robustheit aufgrund ihrer feinkörnigen aber präsenten Tanninstruktur, ihre Tiefgründigkeit und Vielschichtigkeit. Obwohl auch die jüngeren Pauillac-Jahrgänge so vinifiziert wurden, dass sie früher trinkreif sind, verfügen die Crus noch immer über das vermutlich beste Entwicklungspotential aller Bordeaux-Weine.

Die Appellation umfasst total rund 1‘200 Hektar und besteht aus zwei grossen Hochplateaux, die durch den unscheinbaren Canal du Gahet getrennt werden. Auf dem nördlichen, etwas höher gelegenen Plateau, das nach dem Weiler Le Pouyalet benannt ist, reifen die Trauben in perfekt dimensionierten, sanften Hanglagen bis zu 30 Meter über Meer. Hier sind mit Lafite und Mouton zwei Premiers Crus ansässig. Das etwas südlicher gelegene Plateau von Saint-Lambert ist etwas flacher, verfügt aber über die charakteristischen groben Kiesel, die auch das Terroir von Latour prägen.

Perfektes Cabernet-Terroir

Die körperreichen und überaus kraftvollen Crus wachsen alle auf den in Pauillac recht prägnanten Kuppen aus oft überaus reinem Kies und wenig Sand, darunter befindet sich ein dicker Kalksteinsockel. Die Rebberge befinden sich zudem alle im Einzugsgebiet der hier schon rund fünf Kilometer breiten Gironde, welche die Temperaturschwankungen ausgleicht. In diesem Terroir entfaltet vor allem der Cabernet Sauvignon seine edelsten Eigenschaften.

Rotweine aus Pauillac

Parker 92 Punkte
Ch. Clerc-Milon
Nur noch 7 Flaschen

Unterregionen

Bierzo
Galicia

Bierzo

Bierzo: Mit der Sorte Mencia zur Spitze

Weiterlesen
Margaux
Bordeaux

Margaux

Margaux: Garant für Finesse

Weiterlesen
Maule
Valle Central

Maule

Maule: Das Herz des chilenischen Weinbaus

Weiterlesen