to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Chablais

Chablais: between lake and valley

The easternmost wine region of Vaud comprises approximately 590 of the canton’s 3,800 hectares. Although relatively small, the diversity of varieties and wine styles is exceedingly large. Besides the main variety of Chasselas, which presents its full charm here, the mostly red wines are also splendid. Pinot Noir selections present a thoroughly Burgundian dimension. But for several years, exquisite specialties have also been pressed from varieties like Merlot and Syrah.

White wines from Chablais

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

Even Swiss wine lovers sometimes confuse Chablais with the Chablis in Burgundy. But the two have nothing in common. Although some superb Chardonnays (the main variety in Chablis) are also pressed in Chablais, the major varieties are Chasselas and Pinot Noir. The Chasselas wines from Villeneuve and especially from Yvorne see high demand with both consumers and experts. Their many awards at prestigious tastings and competitions offer impressive proof of this. The Chablais comprises the five subregions of Aigle, Yvorne, Villeneuve, Ollon and Bex, with its own AOC status.

Foehn winds from Valais

The vineyards of Chablais start in Villeneuve, at the eastern end of Lake Geneva, stretching to the wine-growing village of Bex, some 20 kilometers deep inside the Rhone valley, on the border of Valais. The location alone makes it clear that this wine region is climatically closer to Valais than the growing areas influenced by the lake. The active foehn winds are another important impact towards the end of the ripening cycle. This makes it possible for varieties like Syrah and Merlot to fully ripen in Bex and Ollon.

Lime, gravel, magnesium, gypsum...

Chablais crus get their special character from the different soils. In Yvorne, limestone gravel shapes the terroir, the result of a massive landslide in 1584. In Villeneuve, magnesium-rich soils predominate, to which the diuretic effects of local Chasselas are attributed. In Aigle, the vines take root in calcareous alluvial deposits, and in Ollon and Bex gypsum soils dominate. Chasselas expresses these different terroirs with more subtlety than any other variety. Thus, the crus from Vellenueve are known for being delicate, those from Yvorne for breed, while the Chasselas from Aigle are known for their elegance. And the growths from Ollon and Bex are characterized by a mineral, flint note. Its high class and storable Pinot Noir selections, fresh fruity Gamay and numerous specialties make the Chablais region extremely interesting as a highly-varied wine region.

Subregion

Côte de Nuits
Bourgogne

Côte de Nuits

Côte de Nuits: Pinots of world renown

Read more
Pauillac
Bordeaux

Pauillac

Pauillac: Aristocratic crus

Read more
Südsteiermark
Steiermark

Südsteiermark

Südsteiermark: Weisse Klasse in vielen Nuancen

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Chablais

Chablais: Zwischen Rhônetal und See

Das östlichste Weinbaugebiet der Waadt umfasst rund 590 der insgesamt 3‘800 Hektar im Kanton. Obwohl also vergleichsweise klein, ist die Vielfalt an Sorten und Wein-Stilistiken überaus gross. Nebst der Hauptsorte Chasselas, die hier ihren ganzen Charme zeigt, vermögen vor allem auch die Rotweine zu überzeugen. Pinot-Noir-Selektionen zeigen dabei eine durchaus burgundische Dimension. Seit einigen Jahren werden aber auch aus Sorten wie Merlot oder Syrah vorzügliche Spezialitäten gekeltert.

Weissweine aus Chablais

In Stock
Yvorne l'Ovaille Grand Cru
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert
In Stock
Yvorne, Réserve BAUR AU LAC VINS
Vegan
In Stock
Yvorne, Réserve BAUR AU LAC VINS
Vegan
In Stock
Yvorne, Réserve BAUR AU LAC VINS
Vegan

Selbst Schweizer Weinliebhaber verwechseln manchmal das Chablais mit dem Chablis im Burgund. Mit diesem hat es aber nichts gemeinsam. Zwar werden auch im Chablais einige vorzügliche Chardonnays gekeltert (die Monopol-Sorte im Chablis), aber die wichtigsten Sorten sind eindeutig der Chasselas und der Pinot Noir. Vor allem die Chasselas-Weine aus Villeneuve und vor allem Yvorne stehen sowohl bei Konsumenten als auch Fachleuten hoch im Kurs. Die vielen Auszeichnungen bei prestigeträchtigen Verkostungen und Wettbewerben sind ein eindrücklicher Beweis dafür. Das Chablais umfasst mit Aigle, Yvorne, Villeneuve, Ollon und Bex fünf Subregionen mit eigenem AOC-Status.

Föhnwinde aus dem Wallis

Die Rebberge des Chablais beginnen in Villeneuve am östlichen Ende des Genfersees und ziehen sich bis ins Weinbaudorf Bex, dass schon 20 Kilometer tief im Rhônetal an der Grenze zum Wallis liegt. Allein schon die Lage macht klar, dass dieses Weinbaugebiet klimatisch näher dem Wallis steht als den Anbaugebieten im Einflussbereich des Sees. Einen wichtigen Einfluss hat beispielsweise gegen Ende des Reifezyklus der Einfluss des Föhns. Dies macht es möglich, dass in Bex oder Ollon auch Sorten wie Syrah oder Merlot voll ausreifen.

Kalk, Geröll, Magnesium, Gips…

Was den Chablais-Crus aber ihren speziellen Charakter verleiht, sind aber vor allem die unterschiedlichen Böden. In Yvorne prägt Kalksteingeröll das Terroir, herrührend von einem gewaltigen Bergsturz im Jahre 1584. In Villeneuve herrschen magnesiumshaltige Böden vor, deswegen wird dem dortigen Chasselas eine harntreibende Wirkung zugschrieben. In Aigle wurzeln die Reben in kalkhaltigem Schwemmland, und in Ollon und Bex schliesslich, dominieren Gipsböden. Der Chasslas drückt diese verschiedenen Terroirs so subtil aus wie keine andere Sorten. So stehen die Crus aus Villeneuve für Filigranität, jene aus Yvorne für Rasse, während die Chasselas aus Aigle für ihre Eleganz bekannt sind. Und die Gewächse aus Ollon und Bex werden von einer mineralischen Feuersteinnote geprägt. Hochklassige und auch lagerfähige Pinot Noir-Selektionen, frischfruchtige Gamays und zahlreiche Spezialitäten machen das Chabelais zu einer hochinteressanten, weil sehr abwechslungsreichen Weinregion.

Unterregionen

Mâconnais
Bourgogne

Mâconnais

Mâconnais: Das Chardonnay-Land

Weiterlesen
Listrac
Bordeaux

Listrac

Listrac-Médoc: Spezielles Klima, spezielle Böden

Weiterlesen
Adelaide Hills
South Australia

Adelaide Hills

Adelaide Hills: Idyllisches Wein-Hügelland

Weiterlesen