to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Valdeorras

Valdeorras: a hint of Burgundy

In the western foothills of the Cantabrian Mountains, under the influence of the cool air of the Atlantic, wholesome white wines with seemingly Burgundian finesse have been produced for several years. The basis for this white wine wonder in the small but beautiful Valdeorras wine-growing region is the Godello variety. Thanks to new plantings and the restoration of old parcels, the quality of wines here has only increased in recent years. The top crus are increasingly aged on the fine lees.

White wines from Valdeorras

In Stock
Parker 94 Points
As Sortes 2017

As Sortes 2017

DO Valdeorras, Rafael Palacios, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 95 Points
As Sortes 2018

As Sortes 2018

DO Valdeorras, Rafael Palacios, 750 ml
In Stock

Louro do Bolo 2020

DO Valdeorras, Rafael Palacios, 750 ml
In Stock
Sorte Antiga 2019
Only 3 Bottles
Vegan

Sorte Antiga 2019

DO Valdeorras, Rafael Palacios, 750 ml

Two legendary winemakers from Rioja had a hand in the spectacular ascent of the mostly white wine-producing region of Valdeorras: Telmo Rodríguez, who produced select wines throughout Spain, and Rafael Palacios, the brother of the Priorat vintner Alvaro Palacious. They both began to restore old terraces around the turn of the millennium, some of which date back to Roman times. They also established new vineyards, and turned towards the long-established quality variety Godello. On sparse granitic soils in particular, Godello yields refreshing and fruity wines with great radiance.

New selections from old vines

The dominant wine type is Godello, which is trimmed to primary fruit, reductively aged in steel tanks and sold relatively early. But top producers such as Rafael Palacios are increasingly astonishing the wine world with selections from terraces with vines over 80 years old that are then matured for a long time on the fine lees, often in barriques or wooden barrels made from French oak.

A typical “cool climate”

While the majority of the vineyards in Valdeorras lie only 200 to 350 metres above sea level, some prime locations are at elevations from 600 to 800 metres. With the influence of the cool Atlantic, the grapes here ripen in a typical “cool climate” area, with relatively high levels of rainfall, up to 1,000 millimetres per year per square metre. The soils are diverse. While sand and gravel often dominate in lower elevations, the steep slopes are marked by slate and granite layers. With a total cultivation area of 1,400 hectares, Valdeorras is among Spain’s smaller wine regions.

Vintners turn to native varieties

Besides the main Godello variety, other white varieties such as Loureiro, Treixadura, Dona Branca, Albariño and Torrontes are cultivated here. After phylloxera destroyed a large part of the vines in Valdeorras over 100 years ago, the non-native Palomino variety was preferred during replanting, as it guaranteed yields. Today, vintners have clearly turned towards native varieties. The red Mencia variety is also experiencing a renaissance; unlike in neighbouring Bierzo, here it yields rather light wines with subtle aromas of red berries and herbs.

Subregion

Adelaide Hills
South Australia

Adelaide Hills

Adelaide Hills: Idyllic wine hill country

Read more
Alto Adige

Alto Adige

Alto Adige: Alpenweine mit südlichem Charme

Read more
Priorato
Catalunya

Priorato

Priorat: Vergessen, wiederentdeckt, gefeiert…

Read more

Valdeorras

Valdeorras: Ein Hauch von Burgund

In den westlichen Ausläufern des kantabrischen Gebirges, im Einzugsgebiet der kühlen Atlantikluft, werden seit einigen Jahren bekömmliche Weissweine mit burgundisch anmutender Finesse produziert. Die Basis für dieses Weissweinwunder im kleinen aber feinen Anbaugebiet Valdeorras ist die Sorte Godello. Dank Neuanpflanzungen und der Restaurierung alter Parzellen ist das Qualitätsniveau der Weine in den letzten Jahren permanent gestiegen. Die Topcrus werden zunehmend auf der Feinhefe ausgebaut.

Weissweine aus Valdeorras

In Stock
Parker 95 Punkte
As Sortes 2018

As Sortes 2018

DO Valdeorras, Rafael Palacios, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 96 Punkte
As Sortes 2019

As Sortes 2019

DO Valdeorras, Rafael Palacios, 750 ml
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 95 Punkte
Sorte Antiga 2019
Nur noch 1 Flasche

Sorte Antiga 2019

DO Valdeorras, Rafael Palacios, 750 ml

Beim spektakulären Aufschwung der mehrheitlich Weisswein produzierenden Region Valdeorras haben zwei legendäre Weinmacher aus der Rioja die Hände mit ihm Spiel. Telmo Rodríguez, der in ganz Spanien ausgewählte Weine erzeugt und Rafael Palacios, der Bruder des Priorat-Winzers Alvaro Palacios, begannen beide um die Jahrtausendwende damit, alte Terrassenanlagen, von denen einige auf die römische Zeit zurück gehen sollen, zu restaurieren. Zudem legten sie neue Rebberge an und setzten dabei auf die alteingesessene Qualitätssorte Godello. Diese erbringt vor allem auf den kargen Granitböden erfrischende und fruchtbetonte Weine mit grosser Strahlkraft.

Neue Selektionen von alten Reben

Der dominierende Weintyp ist dabei ein auf Primärfrucht getrimmter Godello, der reduktiv im Stahltank ausgebaut wird und schon früh in den Verkauf kommt. Spitzenproduzenten wie Rafael Palacios verblüffen aber die Weinwelt zunehmend mit Selektionen aus Terrassen-Anlagen mit sehr alten, oft über 80jährigen Reben, die dann lange auf der Feinhefe ausgebaut werden, nicht selten in Barriques oder grösseren Holzfässern aus französischer Eiche.

Ein typisches «Cool Climate»

Während der Grossteil der Rebberge in Valdeorras nur gerade 200 bis 350 Meter über Meer liegen, befinden sich einige Spitzenlagen in Höhen von 600 bis 800 Metern. Im Einfluss des kühlen Atlantiks reifen die Trauben hier in einem typischen «Cool Climate»-Gebiet, die Niederschlagsmengen sind mit bis zu 1‘000 Millimeter pro Jahr und Quadratmeter vergleichsweise hoch. Die Böden sind vielfältig. Während in tieferen Lagen oft Sand und Kies dominiert, werden die Steillagen von Schiefer- und Granit-Schichten geprägt. Mit einer Gesamtrebfläche von 1‘400 Hektar gehört Valdeorras zu den kleineren Weinregionen in Spanien.

Winzer setzen auf heimische Sorten

Neben der Hauptsorte Godello werden weitere weisse Gewächse wie Loureiro, Treixadura, Dona Branca, Albariño oder Torrontes angebaut. Nachdem die Reblaus vor mehr als 100 Jahren auch in Valdeorras einen Grossteil der Reben zerstört hatte, wurde bei der Wiederbepflanzung die ortsfremde Sorte Palomino bevorzugt, weil sie grosse Erträge garantiert. Heute setzen die Winzer wieder klar auf heimische Sorten. Dabei erlebt inzwischen auch die rote Sorte Mencia, die hier (im Gegensatz zum benachbarten Bierzo) eher leichte Weine mit subtilen Aromen von roten Beeren und Kräutern ergibt, eine Renaissance.

Unterregion

Coteaux du Languedoc
Languedoc-Roussillon

Coteaux du Languedoc

Coteaux du Languedoc: Die Klassiker des Südens

Weiterlesen
Moulis
Bordeaux

Moulis

Moulis: Klein aber fein

Weiterlesen
Heathcote
Victoria

Heathcote

Heathcote: Ein Terroir für Shiraz und mehr

Weiterlesen