to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Fronsac und Canon-Fronsac

Fronsac and Canon Fronsac: in the best company

Somewhat off the beaten track of the prestigious premier crus and new super crus, winemakers in Fronsac and Canon Fronsac produce classic, well-structured and storable Bordeaux wines with an excellent quality to price ratio. Thanks to the well-proportioned hilly terrain and the medieval estates, this is rural Bordeaux at its most beautiful.

Red wines from Fronsac und Canon-Fronsac

In Stock
Parker (89-91) Points
Ch. Moulin Haut-Laroque 2014

Ch. Moulin Haut-Laroque 2014

AC Fronsac, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker (89-91) Points
Ch. Moulin Haut-Laroque 2014

Ch. Moulin Haut-Laroque 2014

AC Fronsac, 1500 ml
In Stock
Baur au Lac Vins 89-91 Points
Ch. Moulin Haut-Laroque 2015
Only 3 Bottles

Ch. Moulin Haut-Laroque 2015

AC Fronsac, 6000 ml
In Stock
Baur au Lac Vins 89-91 Points
Ch. Moulin Haut-Laroque 2015

Ch. Moulin Haut-Laroque 2015

AC Fronsac, 750 ml

Bordeaux is a class society. The supposedly “smaller” appellations here have something highly interesting to offer. Fronsac and Canon Fronsac, for example, have always produced wines with fine fruit, distinctiveness and individual expression. And, thanks to modernization of the estates, the quality has risen sharply over the last 20 years.

Merlot dominates

Fronsac is located on the right bank of the Dordogne, separated from the more famous Pomerol only by the basin of the side river, Isle. As in Pomerol, Merlot clearly sets the tone in assemblages here, with a proportion of up to 85 percent. Cabernet Franc – the area’s second most important variety – Cabernet Sauvignon, and Malbec are used to supplement. In contrast to the more velvety Pomerol crus, which as a result of global warming have become almost opulent, growths from Fronsac are still robust, balanced and fresh.

A locale steeped in history

Fronsac has a distinctly hilly terrain, although the hills only reach up to 80 metres above sea level. The meadows and woods that surround the vineyards contribute to a complete ecosystem. The soils consist primarily of loam, sand and gravel. The Canon Fronsac AOC is located entirely within the Fronsac AOC and includes the sites on the river, where a massive limestone base determines the terroir. Nonetheless, it is difficult to distinguish a stylistic difference between the wines of the two appellations, even for connoisseurs.

In the middle ages, Fronsac played a far more significant role than neighbouring Pomerol. In the time of Charlemagne (747-814), a mighty fortress was situated here. Even though the fort has long disappeared, Fronsac still has many churches and castles that are valuable to architectural history. The wines from Fronsac also enjoyed more prestige than those from Pomerol well into the 19th century.

Subregion

Südsteiermark
Steiermark

Südsteiermark

Südsteiermark: Weisse Klasse in vielen Nuancen

Read more
Heathcote
Victoria

Heathcote

Heathcote: Ein Terroir für Shiraz und mehr

Read more
Leyda
Aconcagua

Leyda

Leyda: small, cool, but fine

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Fronsac und Canon-Fronsac

Fronsac und Canon Fronsac: In bester Gesellschaft

Etwas abseits vom Rummel um die prestigeträchtigen Premier- und neuen Super-Crus bringen die Winzer von Fronsac und Canon Fronsac klassische, gut strukturierte und auch lagerfähige Bordeaux-Weine mit einem ausgezeichneten Verhältnis zwischen Qualität und Preis in die Flaschen. Dank seiner wohl proportionierten Hügellandschaft und den mittelalterlichen Anwesen finden wir hier das ländliche Bordeaux in seiner schönsten Ausprägung.

Rotweine aus Fronsac und Canon-Fronsac

In Stock
Parker (89-91) Punkte
Ch. Moulin Haut-Laroque
Nur noch 6 Flaschen

Ch. Moulin Haut-Laroque

AC Fronsac, 2014, 3000 ml
CHF 154.–
In Stock
Parker 91 Punkte
Château Moulin Haut-Laroque

Château Moulin Haut-Laroque

AC Fronsac, 2012, 1500 ml
CHF 65.–
In Stock

Château Moulin Haut-Laroque

AC Fronsac, 2013, 750 ml
CHF 25.–
In Stock
Parker (89-91) Punkte
Château Moulin Haut-Laroque
Nur noch 3 Flaschen

Bordeaux ist eine Klassengesellschaft. Dabei haben gerade die vermeintlich «kleineren» Appellationen höchst Interessantes zu bieten. Fronsac und Canon Fronsac beispielsweise, brachten schon immer Weine mit feiner Frucht, Rasse und individuellem Ausdruck hervor. Und Dank der Modernisierung der Güter hat hier die Qualität in den letzten 20 Jahren nochmals markant zugelegt.

Der Merlot dominiert

Fronsac befindet sich am rechten Ufer der Dordogne, nur durch das Flussbecken des Seitenflusses Isle vom berühmteren Pomerol getrennt. Wie in Pomerol, gibt auch hier in den Assemblagen der Merlot mit einem Anteil von bis zu 85 Prozent ganz klar den Ton an. Cabernet Franc, die zweitwichtigste Sorte im Gebiet, Cabernet Sauvignon und Malbec werden ergänzend eingesetzt. Im Gegensatz zu den samtigeren, im Zuge der Klimaerwärmung fast schon opulent gewordenen Pomerol-Crus, zeigen sich die Gewächse aus Fronsac noch immer kernig, ausgewogen und frisch.

Ein geschichtsträchtiger Ort

Das Fronsac ist eine ausgesprochen hügelige Landschaft, obwohl die Anhöhen nur bis 80 Meter über Meer reichen. Die Wiesen und Wäldchen, welche die Weinberge umgeben, tragen zu einem intakten Ökosystem bei. Die Böden bestehen vorwiegend aus Lehm, Sand und Kies. Die AOC Canon Fronsac befindet sich gänzlich innerhalb der AOC Fronsac und umfasst die Lagen am Fluss, wo ein massiver Kalksteinsockel das Terroir bestimmt. Allerdings fällt es selbst Kennern schwer, einen stilistischen Unterschied zwischen den Weinen der beiden Appellationen festzustellen.

Fronsac spielte im Mittelalter eine weitaus bedeutendere Rolle als das benachbarte Pomerol. Zur Zeit von Karl des Grossen (747 bis 814) befand sich hier eine mächtige Festung. Auch wenn die Burg längst verschwunden ist, verfügt das Fronsac über viele bauhistorisch wertvolle Kirchen und Schlösser. Auch die Weine aus Fronsac genossen bis weit ins 19. Jahrhundert hinein mehr Prestige als jene aus Pomerol.

Unterregionen

Côte Chalonnaise
Bourgogne

Côte Chalonnaise

Côte Chalonnaise: Ehrliche Crus mit Charakter

Weiterlesen
Valdeorras
Galicia

Valdeorras

Valdeorras: Ein Hauch von Burgund

Weiterlesen
Maule
Valle Central

Maule

Maule: Das Herz des chilenischen Weinbaus

Weiterlesen