to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Bonvin

High above Sion, on the Clos du Château, is the heart of the oldest wine trading house in Valais – today's winery Charles Bonvin SA. The view sweeps over the wide Rhone valley, meets the two castle hills of Tourbillon and Valère and grazes on the magnificent Valais vine landscape with its countless terraces.

In the mid-19th century, Valais was a poor area. The valley was largely marshland. The people, mostly farmers, mainly subsisted from agriculture and the dairy industry. The wineries were set up where nothing else could be grown. The vineyard was smaller than the one in Zurich and the yield was mostly for self-consumption. The Valais wine couldn't leave its borders, although it had been cultivated since Roman times.

White wines from Bonvin

In Stock
Heida
Vegan

Heida

AOC Wallis, Charles Bonvin SA, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 23.50
In Stock
Petite Arvine
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Petite Arvine

AOC Wallis, Charles Bonvin SA, 2018, 375 ml
CHF 14.–
In Stock
Cuvée 1858 Blanc
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Amigne de Vétroz
Only 5 Bottles
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Rosé wines from Bonvin

In Stock
Oeil de Perdrix Sortilège
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Red wines from Bonvin

In Stock
Clos du Château
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Clos du Château

AOC Wallis, Bonvin, 2018, 375 ml
CHF 9.80
In Stock
Pinot noir Terra Cotta
Only 5 Bottles
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Pinot noir Terra Cotta
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Pinot noir Terra Cotta

AOC Wallis, Bonvin, 2018, 750 ml
CHF 18.–
In Stock
Clos du Château
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Sweet wines from Bonvin

In Stock
Cuvée 1858 Or Barrique Bonvin
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Cuvée 1858 Or Barrique Bonvin
Only 9 Bottles
Vegan
Certified integrated production

An old Valais inheritance law also meant that ever-smaller parcels were created through division and wineries were torn apart thoughtlessly, for example when daughters inherited the vineyards but sons inherited the house and cellar.

 

Charles-Marie Bonvin (1833-1883) was obviously a unique kind of man: alert, industrious and cosmopolitan – qualities that were in the family genes. His grandfather had looked abroad for the best practices in terms of viticulture and grape varieties. His father was a grocer who had already tried to sell his wines "abroad", in the canton of Vaud and in Berne. The family owned enough land and vineyards: since time immemorial, it had set itself apart by not following the usual inheritance laws, and the family land has never been divided.

 

As a result, Charles-Marie Bonvin founded the company Charles Bonvin Fils, Vins du Valais, in Sion in 1858. Thanks to his tireless and courageous work, success was inevitable. To promote his wines, he presented them abroad in wine competitions, where he won numerous medals: in London (1862), in Paris (1867) and finally at home in Sion in 1871.

 

Charles-Marie's son and grandchildren steadily enlarged the company’s land ownership and wine trade. The result is a winery which today comprises 23 hectares, making it one of the biggest in the Valais, where 22,000 owners share approximately 5,000 hectares of vineyards.

 

Bonvin’s vineyards are spread across the estates of Brûlefer and Clos du Château in Sion, Plan Loggier in St-Léonard and Château Conthey in the municipality of the same name, around the ruins of the castle, as well as in Botza and Bassin in Vétroz. Only Bonvin grapes are pressed to make Bonvin wines. Recently, the historical Domaine de Diolly was added, although the vines are currently being replenished. In the next few years, the first wines from there are sure to stir up some curiosity.

 

The vines were always cultivated in a natural way, and Bonvin was known in the 1980s as one of the pioneers of integrated production in the Valais. Later, Bonvin went a step further by becoming a member of Vitiswiss, the Swiss association for sustainable production in viticulture. Vitiswiss pursues a holistic approach that is environmentally, socially and economically friendly. Vitiswiss’ guidelines extend from the wine itself to also cover cellar work and the entire operation. Vitiswiss has awarded the wines from Bonvin 1858 Les Domaines their Vinatura label. The company is certified Valais excellence, a certification based on the ISO standards for quality and environmental management, as well as social considerations. Bonvin has also campaigned to obtain the Swiss Climate label.

 

The Valaisian climate is ideal for vineyards. The winters are very cold, the summers hot and the autumns long and mild. The temperature fluctuations between day and night are quite pronounced. With around 2,000 hours of sunshine but only about 600 millimetres of rain a year, it is very dry, which can require at least partial irrigation of the vines. Previously, the suones – irrigation channels also known as bisses – served this purpose. Today, the precious water is distributed by modern drop irrigation systems. In addition, the vineyards in steep areas often have very little humus, with barren soil and limited water storage capacity. Due to the uplift in the Alps, the geological diversity between the Lower and the Upper Valais is enormous. The area around Sion is dominated by calcareous terroir and slate soils.

 

From the Clos du Château, a small path leads down to Sion in half an hour. It crosses the Domaine de Brûlefer, where the Guérite de Brûlefer is located. Here you can treat yourself to hearty Valaisian specialties and enjoy the stunning views with a sparkling Fendant and a palatable Clos du Château. Even with temperatures of 30 degrees in the shade, the mild and spicy raclette from Racleur Marcel are particularly tasty. The raclette cheese "affiné au Cornalin" is simply heavenly!

 

In 2014, the oldest wine trading house in the Valais received the nomination for the Swiss Winery of the Year at the Grand Prix du Vin Suisse in recognition of its tireless commitment to bringing this impressive wine region with its unique wines closer to wine lovers.

Producers

San Patrignano

San Patrignano

Between Rimini and San Marino, not far from the loud and lively beaches of the Adriatic Sea, lies San Patrignano. This rather unconventional village with between 1600 and 2000 inhabitants was founded in 1978 by Vincenzo Muccioli and like-minded people with the aim of offering young people in need a new future through work and vocational training.

Read more
Pierre-Luc Leyvraz

Pierre-Luc Leyvraz

Pierre-Luc Leyvraz is often called the "King of Chasselas". That this definition is anything but exaggerated strikes you at the latest once you have tasted his Saint-Saphorin "Les Blassinges", marked by the terroir and very typical

Read more
Nicolas Feuillatte

Nicolas Feuillatte

Nicolas Feuillatte, a visionary and gifted entrepreneur, presented his Champagne for the first time in 1976. It quickly became the trendy brand in jet-setter circles in the USA, Australia and England, circles which Nicolas Feuillatte regularly frequented. In just 30 years, Nicolas Feuillatte rose to become the No. 1 Champagne brand in France, and in 2016, exactly 40 years after its founding, it became the third largest export brand worldwide.

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Bonvin

Au-dessus de Sion, au Clos du Château, se trouve le cœur de la plus ancienne maison de négoce de vins du Valais, l'actuelle cave Charles Bonvin SA. La vue s'étend sur l'immense vallée du Rhône, rencontre les deux collines du château de Tourbillon et de Valère et s'étend dans le magnifique paysage viticole valaisan avec ses innombrables terrasses.

Au milieu du XIXe siècle, le Valais était une région pauvre. La vallée était en grande partie recouverte de marécages. Les gens, majoritairement des paysans de montagne, vivaient en général de l’agriculture et de l’industrie laitière. Les vignes se trouvaient là où rien d’autre ne pouvait être cultivé. La surface viticole était plus petite que celle de Zurich et le vin issu de ces coteaux servait principalement à la consommation personnelle. Le vin valaisan ne sortait pas des frontières cantonales, bien que la vigne fût déjà présente depuis le temps des Romains.

Vins blancs de Bonvin

In Stock
Petite Arvine
Plus que 21 Bouteilles
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Petite Arvine
Plus que 2 Bouteilles
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
Out Of Stock
In Stock
Fendant Domaine Brûlefer
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée

Vins rosés de Bonvin

In Stock
Oeil de Perdrix Sortilège
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée

Vins rouges de Bonvin

In Stock
Humagne rouge
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Humagne rouge
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Cuvée 1858 Rouge
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée
In Stock
Clos du Château
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée

Vins doux de Bonvin

In Stock
Cuvée 1858 Or Barrique Bonvin
Végan
Production intégrée certifiée

En outre, le vieux droit de succession valaisan menait à une division et à un morcellement des vignobles en parcelles de plus en plus petites, voire à la disparition complète des domaines viticoles lorsque, par exemple, la fille héritait des vignes et le fils de la maison et de la cave.

 

Charles-Marie Bonvin (1833-1883) était assurément un homme d’un caractère bien trempé: vif, entreprenant, ouvert sur le monde – des qualités qui se trouvaient dans les gènes de la famille. Déjà le grand-père était allé regarder les techniques de viticulture et les cépages en vogue dans les autres pays. Le père, épicier, avait quant à lui essayé de vendre ses vins «à l’étranger», c’est-à-dire en pays vaudois et dans le canton de Berne. La famille possédait assez de terre et de propres vignes, car elle avait toujours ignoré le droit de succession usuel et n’avait jamais divisé les vignes. Ce qui est aujourd’hui encore le cas.

 

En 1858 s’ensuivit la fondation par Charles-Marie Bonvin à Sion de l’entreprise Charles Bonvin Fils, Vins du Valais. Grâce à son activité infatigable et courageuse, le succès lui était assuré. Pour mieux faire connaître ses vins, il les présentait aussi à l’étranger à des concours de vins où, en effet, il gagnait de nombreuses médailles: en 1862 à Londres, en 1867 à Paris et finalement en 1871, aussi à la maison, à Sion.

 

Le fils de Charles-Marie puis ses petits-enfants ont agrandi continuellement la propriété viticole et le commerce du vin. Aujourd’hui, le résultat est un domaine viticole de 23 hectares au total, comme il en existe peu de cette taille en Valais. Tout au contraire: environ 22 000 propriétaires s’y partagent quelque 5000 hectares de vignes.

 

Les vignes de Bonvin se répartissent sur les domaines Brûlefer et Clos du Château à Sion, Plan Loggier à Saint-Léonard et Château Conthey sur la commune du même nom, autour des ruines du château, ainsi que Botza et Bassin à Vétroz. Les vins de la maison Bonvin proviennent exclusivement des propres raisins produits sur ses domaines. Récemment, la propriété s’est élargie avec le célèbre domaine historique de Diolly, dont les vignes sont actuellement en renouvellement. On est en droit de s’impatienter de déguster dans quelques années les vins de ce grand terroir!

 

Les vignes ont toujours été cultivées de façon naturelle, si bien que l’entreprise Bonvin était considérée dans les années 1980 comme l’une des pionnières lors de l’introduction de la production intégrée en Valais. Plus tard, Bonvin a surenchéri à cet égard et est devenu membre de Vitiswiss, la fédération suisse pour la production écologique en viticulture. Vitiswiss poursuit une approche globale articulée autour de trois aspects: l’environnement, le social et l’économie. Ses lignes générales sont valables non seulement pour la viticulture, mais encore pour le travail de cave et toute l’entreprise. Les vins de Bonvin 1858 Les Domaines portent le label Vinatura de Vitiswiss. L’entreprise est aussi certifiée par Valais Excellence, une certification sur le modèle des normes ISO concernant la gestion de la qualité et de l’environnement ainsi que les questions sociales. Elle s’est également employée à recevoir le label Swiss Climate.

 

Le climat valaisan offre les conditions idéales pour la culture de la vigne. L’hiver est très froid et l’été chaud, avec un automne long et doux. Les amplitudes thermiques entre le jour et la nuit sont grandes. Avec un total de 2000 heures d’ensoleillement mais à peine 600 millimètres de pluie par an, le climat peut être qualifié de sec et le recours à l’irrigation est parfois nécessaire, du moins partiellement. Ce rôle était autrefois assuré par un système ingénieux de canaux appelés «bisses», aujourd’hui remplacé par des méthodes modernes de goutte-à-goutte plus efficaces. A cela s’ajoute que sur les parcelles à forte déclivité, la couche d’humus est très réduite et les sols pauvres n’offrent qu’une capacité limitée de rétention d’eau. La diversité géologique entre le Haut et Bas-Valais est énorme, issue de la formation des Alpes et des périodes glaciaires. Au centre, les environs de Sion offrent principalement des terroirs calcaires et marqués par le schiste.

 

 

Du Clos du Château, un petit sentier descend vers Sion en une demi-heure. Il traverse le domaine de Brûlefer, où se trouve la guérite de Brûlefer. Même par 30 degrés à l’ombre, tout en admirant la vue magnifique et en appréciant un verre de Fendant ou de Clos du Château, on peut y déguster la raclette du racleur Marcel, à la fois douce et corsée. Affiné au Cornalin, ce fromage est un régal!

 

En 2014, la plus ancienne maison de négoce de vin du Valais a été nominée au Grand Prix du Vin Suisse en tant que domaine suisse de l'année, en reconnaissance de son engagement inlassable pour rapprocher cette région viticole impressionnante et ses vins uniques des amateurs.

Producteurs

San Patrignano

San Patrignano

Entre Rimini et San Marino, non loin des plages de l'Adriatique chaudes et animées en été, se trouve San Patrignano. C'est un village peu banal de 1600 à 2000 habitants, qui fut crée en 1978 par Vincenzo Muccioli et ses pairs, avec pour objectif d'offrir à des jeunes et à des nécessiteux de nouvelles perspectives d'avenir, avec du travail et des formations.

en savoir plus
Dr. Bürklin-Wolf / Fam. Bürklin

Dr. Bürklin-Wolf / Fam. Bürklin

Die Pfalz wird gerne die „deutsche Toskana“ genannt und das nicht zu Unrecht. Schon die Römer fühlten sich hier sehr wohl und an die Heimat erinnert. Im Schutz des Pfälzerwaldes herrscht ein mildes Klima, welches Mandel- und Feigenbäume, Pinien und Zypressen wachsen lässt und der Landschaft ein südländisches Flair verleiht.

en savoir plus
André Clouet / Jean François Clouet

André Clouet / Jean François Clouet

Nous n'avons pas trouvé immédiatement la petite maison du XVII. siècle bien que le village de Bouzy ne soit pas très grand. Des bâtiments simples sont regroupés autour d'une cours. Des vignes se trouvent déjà à l'arrière qui ressemblent à un clos.

en savoir plus