to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Il Molino di Grace

Frank Grace acquired this estate in 1995 after holidaying in Tuscany with his wife and having fallen for the charm of this idyllic region.

No surprise given his origins in the state of Ohio, with nothing special and dominated by steel production. After major renovation and a partial replanting of the vines in 1999, the winery reopened its doors under the direction of Gerhard Hirmer, with Franco Bernabei, a well known figure in Italy, as winemaker. Marketing is left to Tim, Frank's son, and success has not been long in coming: in 2004 the Gambero Rosso guide raised expectations and in 2005 Decanter designated the estate one of the 25 best in Italy.

Il Molino di Grace, a historic old windmill, marks the entrance to the estate ('tenuta') a few kilometres south of Panzano amongst the hills of Chianti Classico. Sangiovese naturally plays the main role on the 14 hectare site at an altitude of 280 to 450 metres. Pockets of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Syrah and Canaiolo round out the complement of varietals. The oldest vines planted 55 years ago are reserved for the Gratius, the flagship wine made exclusively from Sangiovese grown on a soil called Gastestro, the best in Chianti, composed of clay-limestone marl and pebbles.

The viticulture adopts natural methods where possible, avoiding chemical fertilisers, herbicides and pesticides. The winemaking extends this approach with respect for indigenous yeasts and as little intervention as possible, and ageing is done in wood that integrates well with the structure of each wine. Most of the wines are not filtered, which can mean some sediment on ageing, leaving a rugged wine of full intensity and guaranteeing greater longevity. Here we present the Chianti Classico, a wine free of chic and fad but as it should be: honest, reliable and open. And that's why it finds friends even among the most sceptical of wine lovers.

Red wines from Il Molino di Grace

In Stock
San Francesco delle Vigne
Vegan
In Stock
Vinum 16.5 Points
Chianti classico Gran Selezione Il Margone
In Stock
Il Volano
Vegan

Il Volano

IGT Toscana, Il Molino di Grace, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 13.–
In Stock
Il Volano
Only 7 Bottles
Vegan

Il Volano

IGT Toscana, Il Molino di Grace, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 12.50

Delicatessen from Il Molino di Grace

In Stock

Aceto Balsamico di Modena No 9

Il Molino di Grace, 250 ml
CHF 35.50
In Stock

Aceto Balsamico di Modena No 2

Il Molino di Grace, 250 ml
CHF 10.30

Producers

Fattoria Nicodemi / Fam. Nicodemi

Fattoria Nicodemi / Fam. Nicodemi

Read more
Weingut Rings

Weingut Rings

Weingut Rings, part of the Palatinate’s vineyard premier league, lies embedded in the sun-drenched Palatinate, right in the middle of the Freinsheim winegrowing district. For more than a decade, the new generation of the Rings family has been passionately concentrating on the ecological production of high quality dry wines. The hallmarks of Weingut Rings are well-balanced, dense wines with pronounced character and great cellar potential.

Read more
Karthäuserhof

Karthäuserhof

The Karthäuserhof - The cradle of world-famous Rieslings, ever since 1335.
 

The Karthäuserhof is a magical spot. Not just because of its idyllic location but also because it is the eighth oldest winegrowing estate in the world and for centuries the cradle of world-famous Rieslings. It was founded in 1335 by Carthusian monks who received the estate as a gift from Prince-Elector Balduin of Luxembourg and operated it as a winery until secularisation. Since 1811 the Karthäuserhof has been owned by our family, now in the seventh generation.

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Il Molino di Grace

Frank Grace erwarb dieses Weingut 1995, nachdem er und seine Frau sich auf einer Italienreise in die Gegend des Chianti verliebt hatten.

Kein Wunder, stammen sie doch aus einer eher trostlosen Provinz in Ohio, USA, die von Stahlindustrie geprägt ist. Mit Gerhard Hirmer als Direktor an seiner Seite eröffnete er 1999 die Azienda nach deren Renovation und teilweiser Neubepflanzung. Franco Bernabei, der in Italien kein Unbekannter seines Fachs ist, wurde als verantwortlicher Önologe engagiert. Franks Sohn Tim ist für den Marketingbereich zuständig. Der Erfolg liess nicht lange auf sich warten und 2004 wurde das Weingut als Aufsteiger des Jahres im Gambero Rosso geehrt, gefolgt vom Decanter, der 2005 Il Molino di Grace zu den 25 besten Produzenten Italiens zählte.

Rotweine von Il Molino di Grace

Out Of Stock
In Stock
Il Volano
Vegan

Il Volano

IGT Toscana, Il Molino di Grace, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 12.50
In Stock
Wine Spectator 91 Punkte
Chianti classico Riserva
Vegan
In Stock
Wine Spectator 93 Punkte
Gratius
Vegan

Gratius

IGT Chianti, Il Molino di Grace, 2011, 750 ml
CHF 44.–

Delikatessen von Il Molino di Grace

In Stock
In Stock
Aceto Balsamico di Modena No 15
Nur noch 1 Flasche
In Stock

Il Molino di Grace - eine hohe historische Windmühle markiert den Eingang zur Tenuta - liegt wenige Kilometer südlich von Panzano, mitten im hügeligen Chianti classico. Sangiovese ist die Haupttraubensorte auf rund 40 Hektaren, die auf 280 bis 450 Metern über Meer liegen. Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Syrah und Canaiolo sind in den Rebgärten mit kleinen Anteilen vertreten. Die älteste Pflanzung, die mittlerweile über 55-jährig ist, ist dem Topwein Gratius vorbehalten, der aus 100 % Sangiovese gekeltert wird. Die Böden nennt man hier Galestro, sie gelten als die besten des Chianti classico. Sie bestehen aus krümeligem, kalkhaltigem Mergel.

Im Weinbau wird auf synthetische Düngemittel, Herbizide und Schädlingsbekämpfungsmittel verzichtet und nach biologischen Richtlinien gearbeitet. Ebenso wird bei der Vinifikation möglichst schonend und naturbelassen vorgegangen. Der Holzausbau wird moderat eingesetzt. Praktisch alle Weine werden nicht filtriert, so dass sie ein Depot aufweisen können. Ihre Geschmacksintensität ist dafür umso grösser. Auch werden sie bewusst einer längeren Flaschenreife in den Kellern des Weinguts unterzogen, damit Sie diese trinkbereit kaufen und sofort geniessen können.

Winzer

Weingut Rings

Weingut Rings

Das Weingut Rings, Teil der Pfälzer Spitzen-Weingüterliga, liegt eingebettet in die sonnenverwöhnte Pfalz, mitten in der Weinbaugemeinde Freinsheim. Seit nun über eine Dekade konzentriert sich die neue Generation der Familie Rings leidenschaftlich auf die ökologische Produktion von hochwertigen, trockenen Weinen. Das Aushängeschild des Weingutes Rings sind ausgewogene, dichte Weine mit ausgeprägtem Charakter und grossem Lagerpotenzial.

Weiterlesen
Bodegas y Viñedos Artazu

Bodegas y Viñedos Artazu

Die Bodegas y Viñedos Artadi-Gruppe ist ein spanisches Weingutensemble, dessen Weinberge sich in Alicante (Valencia), in der nordöstlich gelegenen Region Navarra, im Baskenland in Álava und in Gipuzkoa befinden. 1985 gründete eine Gruppe von Winzern dieses private Kooperationsprojekt, das bis auf eine kleine Ausnahme nur reinsortige Weine produziert.

Weiterlesen
Luddite Wines / Fam. Verburg & Meyer

Luddite Wines / Fam. Verburg & Meyer

Niels Verburg ist einer jener Menschen, die sofort Freundschaften schliessen. Mit seiner Statur und seinem stets breiten Lachen ist er unübersehbar und zieht die Leute magisch an.

Weiterlesen