to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Luddite Wines / Fam. Verburg & Meyer

Niels Verburg is one of those people who you immediately want to befriend. With his imposing stature and beaming smile, he stands out and magically draws people in.

At an early age, while he was working in Australia, he realised that Shiraz was "his" grape. In Chile, he later found the inspiration for the way he wanted to make his wine.

Together with his wife Penny, he planted his first vines in 1996. The first vintage was pressed in 2000. The small winery with just 6 hectares of vines is located just outside the village of Bot River. Walker Bay is only 30 kilometres away. The mild Mediterranean climate from the nearby ocean gives the vines on the south-western slopes of the Houw Hoek mountains a slow and long growing period. This results in spicy Shiraz with elegant fruit sweetness.

The name of the vineyard refers to the Luddites, 19th century English textile workers who fought against the Industrial Revolution. Consequently, Niels is rather reluctant to use "technology", as he says in a humorous way, both when caring for the vineyards and working in the cellar. Vinification involves as little intervention as possible, if any.

Niels and Penny have fulfilled their dream. In addition to the vines, there are also some olive trees and a few lucky pigs are reared: a rural idyll in South Africa. They epitomize the great change occurring in South Africa since the 1990s: moving away from mass production and towards independent quality wines that do not fear comparison with top international wines.

White wines from Luddite Wines / Fam. Verburg & Meyer

In Stock
Saboteur White 2018
Only 19 Bottles

Saboteur White 2018

WO Luddite, Luddite Wines, 750 ml
In Stock

Saboteur White 2020

WO Luddite, Luddite Wines, 750 ml

Red wines from Luddite Wines / Fam. Verburg & Meyer

In Stock

Saboteur Red 2018

WO Luddite, Luddite Wines, 750 ml
In Stock

Luddite Shiraz 2017

WO Luddite, Luddite Wines, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 90 Points
Saboteur Red 2017

Saboteur Red 2017

WO Luddite, Luddite Wines, 750 ml

from Luddite Wines / Fam. Verburg & Meyer

In Stock
Saboteur White 2018
Only 19 Bottles

Saboteur White 2018

WO Luddite, Luddite Wines, 750 ml
In Stock

Saboteur Red 2018

WO Luddite, Luddite Wines, 750 ml
In Stock

Saboteur White 2020

WO Luddite, Luddite Wines, 750 ml
In Stock

Luddite Shiraz 2017

WO Luddite, Luddite Wines, 750 ml

Producer

Quinta dos Roques

Read more
Supernatural Wine Co.

Supernatural Wine Co.

For the curious, the cosmopolitan, the devotees of organic and bio-dynamic principles, and most certainly for wine-fanatics: Our novelty from Hawke’s Bay in New Zealand is exceptional, exciting, and always leads to exhilarating discourse.

Read more
Bodega Palacios Remondo

Bodega Palacios Remondo

He was born 'at home', right above his father's bodega – Álvaro Palacios, Spains star vintner. The scent of wine and barrels must have been lying in the air and thus dictated his further life. He studied oenology in Bordeaux and gathered professional experience at the Château Pétrus, and in London, Dublin, and California. Today, he owns vines in the Priorat county, in Bierzo, and at home in the Rioja, and proves his extraordinary talent with premium wines year after year.

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Luddite Wines / Fam. Verburg & Meyer

Niels Verburg est une de ces personnalités avec lesquelles on se lie facilement d’amitié. Grâce à son allure avenante et à son sourire généreux, il est incontournable et attire la sympathie comme par magie.

De son séjour en Australie, dans sa jeunesse, il réalise que le Syrah est bel et bien «son» cépage de prédilection. C’est au Chili, où il a l’occasion de travailler par la suite, qu’il trouve l’inspiration pour définir son style et sa manière d’exprimer la Syrah.

Avec son épouse Penny, il plante ses premières vignes en 1996. Le premier millésime sort des cuves en 2000. Le petit domaine de 6 hectares se situe juste en dehors du village de Bot River. Walker Bay n’est qu’à 30 kilomètres. En conséquence, le doux climat méditerranéen, influencé par la proximité de la mer, permet aux vignes des pans sud-est des Houw Hoek Mountains d’avoir une croissance particulièrement lente. Il en résulte des Shiraz épicés avec d’élégantes notes de fruits.

Le nom du domaine se réfère aux luddites, ces ouvriers anglais du textile, qui au 19ème siècle s’opposèrent à la révolution industrielle. Logiquement, Niels s’affiche plutôt «réfractaire à la technologie», comme il le dit en souriant, tant pour ce qui est de l’entretien des vignes que des travaux en cave. Au cours de la vinification, il intervient le moins possible, voire pas du tout.

Niels et Penny ont réalisé leur rêve. Autour des vignes, on retrouve des oliviers et on y élève également quelques cochons bienheureux: une véritable idylle bucolique d’Afrique du Sud. Tous les deux représentent aussi le grand changement que traverse l’Afrique du Sud depuis les années 1990: on s’éloigne de la production de masse et on s’oriente vers une viticulture de qualité autonome, qui peut se mesurer sans crainte avec ce qui se fait de mieux à l’international.

Vins blancs de Luddite Wines / Fam. Verburg & Meyer

In Stock
Chenin blanc
Plus que 2 Bouteilles
In Stock

Vins rouges de Luddite Wines / Fam. Verburg & Meyer

In Stock
In Stock

Producteurs

Il Molino di Grace

Il Molino di Grace

Frank Grace fit l’acquisition de cette propriété en 1995 après que lui et son épouse furent tombés sous le charme de la région visitée lors d’un voyage en Italie.

en savoir plus

Gutiérrez Colosía

en savoir plus

Roberto Cipresso Wines

en savoir plus