to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Peter Michael Winery

In the 1970s, Sir Peter Michael came to California as a young engineer and discovered the emerging wine world of California, with some excellent names already drawing international attention.

This awakened his desire to try something new. The search for a suitable piece of land ended in the secluded Knights Valley on the western slope of Mount St. Helena, in the east of Sonoma County, north of Napa Valley. The first vines were planted in 1983. His son Paul was helping out at the time and was full of enthusiasm, although the rows of vines were extremely difficult to set up on the very steep (inclines of up to 40%), stony layers of primarily volcanic rock. Later, Sir Peter was able to buy more plots of land on the coast and in Oakville, in Napa: Fort Ross-Seaview, with perfect growing conditions for Pinot Noir, and Au Paradis, planted with Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc.

White wines from Peter Michael Winery

In Stock
Parker 97 Points
Chardonnay Mon Plaisir 2018
Only 17 Bottles

Chardonnay Mon Plaisir 2018

AVA, Peter Michael Winery, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Sauvignon Blanc l'Après-Midi 2016
Only 22 Bottles
In Stock
Parker 97-98 Points
Chardonnay Ma Belle-Fille 2019
Only 6 Bottles
In Stock
Parker 96+ Points
Chardonnay La Carrière 2017
Only 18 Bottles

Chardonnay La Carrière 2017

AVA, Peter Michael Winery, 750 ml

Red wines from Peter Michael Winery

In Stock
Parker 95 Points
Les Pavots 2014
In Stock
Parker 95 Points
Pinot Noir Ma Danseuse 2017
Only 18 Bottles
In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Pinot Noir Le Moulin Rouge 2016
Only 5 Bottles
In Stock
Parker 94 Points
Cabernet Sauvignon Au Paradis 2014
Only 9 Bottles

from Peter Michael Winery

In Stock
Parker 95 Points
Les Pavots 2014
In Stock
Parker 97-98 Points
Chardonnay Ma Belle-Fille 2019
Only 6 Bottles
In Stock
Parker 95 Points
Pinot Noir Ma Danseuse 2017
Only 18 Bottles
In Stock
Parker 97+ Points
Chardonnay La Carrière 2018

Chardonnay La Carrière 2018

AVA, Peter Michael Winery, 750 ml

The winery is not easy to find. If you're not careful, you can easily drive past it and continue up the hill, where you will be rewarded with a fantastic view over the vineyards and two lakes. It seldom rains, which is why the artificial lakes were built for irrigation. The dry climate promotes sustainable and natural resource management.

In the Les Pavots area, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Petit Verdot ripen to produce the eponymous cult wine. In the vineyards of Belle Côte and La Carrière they grow Chardonnay and in L’Après-Midi Sauvignon Blanc. The Ma Belle-Fille and Ma Danseuse vineyards are planted with Chardonnay and Pinot Noir and have been named in honour of Sir Peter’s daughter-in-law and of Lady Michael, who as a young woman was an enthusiastic dancer.

In 2020 Robert Fiore took over the legacy begun by Helen Turley and developed by Mark Aubert and Luc and Nicolas Morlet as Winemaker. Javier Aviña is in charge as Vineyard Manager since 1991.

With a cool glass of wine, resting on the terrace of the winery in a deck chair, you will feel like a king in California. You could almost forget that you are in the United States, because the wines are reminiscent of their counterparts in France. Sir Peter has achieved his goal: to produce wines which combine the best of California and France.

Producer

Weingut Salzl

Weingut Salzl

The Austrian winery Salzl Seewinkelhof is located in Illmitz, surrounded by the picturesque lakes and plains of the Neusiedlersee-Seewinkel National Park in Burgenland. A good hour’s drive from Vienna lies this family winery that also provides comfortable 4-star accommodation in an attached guesthouse with a pool.

Read more
Domaine de la Commaraine

Domaine de la Commaraine

The beauty behind the walls of Château Commaraine

 

The Burgundian municipality of Pommard has a classic, historic ambience with most of the buildings and walled vineyards (clos) intact, exuding a peaceful and tranquil atmosphere. The small, romantic village square conveys a slightly exotic feeling to its visitors – an unusual sensation in rural Burgundy indeed!

Read more
San Patrignano

San Patrignano

Between Rimini and San Marino, not far from the loud and lively beaches of the Adriatic Sea, lies San Patrignano. This rather unconventional village with between 1600 and 2000 inhabitants was founded in 1978 by Vincenzo Muccioli and like-minded people with the aim of offering young people in need a new future through work and vocational training.

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Peter Michael Winery

Dans les années 1970, Sir Peter Michael débarquait en Californie en tant que jeune ingénieur et découvrait l’univers du vin californien, qui était alors en plein essor et que quelques noms de premier plan avaient porté sur la scène internationale.

Le désir de s’essayer à son tour à cette activité était né. A la recherche d’un coin de terre idoine, notre aspirant vigneron trouva son bonheur dans la Knights Valley, une contrée isolée sur le flanc occidental du mont Saint Helena, dans l’est du comté de Sonoma, au nord de la Napa Valley. Les premières vignes furent plantées en 1983. Paul, le fils, apportait alors déjà son concours et fut saisi d’enthousiasme, malgré la difficulté de la tâche: en effet, les rangs de vignes devaient être aménagés à grand-peine sur des coteaux pierreux et, pour certains, extrêmement pentus (jusqu’à 40% de déclivité), sur des sols principalement volcaniques. Plus tard, sir Peter Michael put acquérir d’autres parcelles sur la côte et à Oakville, dans le comté de Napa: Fort Ross-Seaview, où le Pinot Noir trouve des conditions de croissance parfaites, et Au Paradis, planté de Cabernet Sauvignon et de Cabernet Franc.

La propriété n’est pas facile à trouver. En voiture, il est aisé de la dépasser sans la voir et de se perdre dans la montagne. En échange, on bénéficiera d’un panorama de rêve sur les vignobles environnants et les deux lacs de retenue destinés à l’irrigation et rendus nécessaires par la rareté des précipitations. Le climat sec favorise à son tour une viticulture durable et proche de la nature.

Le vignoble Les Pavots voit mûrir Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot et Petit Verdot. Il donne naissance au vin du même nom, qui jouit d’une aura mythique. Les crus Belle Côte et La Carrière sont voués au Chardonnay, alors que L’Après-Midi est le fief du Sauvignon blanc. Quant aux vignobles Ma Belle-Fille et Ma Danseuse, ils ont été nommés en l’honneur de la bru et de l’épouse du maître des lieux, lady Michael, passionnée de danse dans ses jeunes années. Ils sont plantés respectivement de Chardonnay et de Pinot noir.

En 2020, Robert Fiore a repris l'héritage commencé par Helen Turley et développé par Mark Aubert et Luc et Nicolas Morlet en tant que Winemaker. Javier Aviña est en charge de la gestion du vignoble depuis 1991.

En dégustant tranquillement un verre bien frais sur la terrasse du domaine, on en oublierait que l’on est aux Etats-Unis tellement les vins ont des similitudes avec leurs homologues français. Le but défini par sir Peter Michael est donc atteint: élaborer des vins qui allient le meilleur de la Californie et de la France.

Producteur

Pievalta

Pievalta

Le domaine de Pievalta est situé dans la municipalité de Maiolati Spontini, dans les Marches, au cœur des Castelli di Jesi. Cette région est réputée pour ses petits bourgs médiévaux fortifiés de même que pour la production de vins issus du cépage Verdicchio.

en savoir plus
Weingut Polz

Weingut Polz

Le vignoble familial d'Erich Polz est situé dans un terrain idyllique au milieu des collines de la Styrie méridionale, à env. une heure de voiture au sud de Graz. La création de l'exploitation remonte à l'année 1912. À la fin des années 1980, les frères ont repris le domaine viticole de leurs parents. Christoph Polz, le fils d'Erich, est la 4ème génération à avoir repris en 2011 la fonction de maître de chai.

en savoir plus
Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

En 2010, pour couronner le rêve de l'œnologue expérimenté Guido Rivella, né à Montestefano / Barbaresco, l'Azienda Agricola Silvia Rivella, du nom de sa fille, a été fondée.

en savoir plus