to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Catalunya

Catalonia: the great range

Spain’s second largest wine region has an impressive variety to offer. As a result, there are eleven different designations of origin in Catalonia. As the home of cava, Catalonia is one of the leading producers of sparkling wines produced according to classical methods. There is a wide selection of both elegant white wines and well-structured reds. Areas such as Priorat or Montsant have experienced an enormous upswing in recent years. The traditional sweet wine Moscatel de Sitges is also produced here.

Sparkling wines from Catalunya

In Stock
Cava brut de brut
Vegan

Cava brut de brut

DO, Maria Casanovas, 750 ml
CHF 18.50
In Stock
Cava brut Nature Gran Reserva
Vegan
In Stock
Cava brut Nature Gran Reserva
Vegan

White wines from Catalunya

In Stock

Red wines from Catalunya

In Stock
Cims de Porrera Clàssic
Vegan
In Stock
Cims de Porrera Garnatxa
Vegan
In Stock
In Stock
Cims de Porrera Clàssic
Only 3 Bottles
Vegan

In the 70s and 80s, Catalonia was a pioneer in the internationalisation of Spanish wine. Bordering France, and traditionally closely connected to the French part of Catalonia, large areas have long been planted with Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot or Chardonnay. Even in Priorat, which today is Catalonia’s most well-known red wine area, vintners initially bet on Cabernet, Merlot and Syrah. Since the 90s, their attention has increasingly turned to the long-established Garnacha (Grenache) and Cariñen (Carignan) varieties. By now, the trend towards these autochthonous plants is noticeable in all of Catalonia.

Worldwide Cava boom

Catalonian viticulture's greatest success story was written by Josep Raventós, who after a trip to Champagne in 1872 produced sparkling wines according to the principle of secondary fermentation in the bottle for the first time in his native Alt Penedès. This has developed into a booming market, with almost 250 million bottles of cava produced annually.

Large climatic differences

The current cultivation area of 60,000 hectares is divided into eleven subregions, each with its own designation of origin. The largest in terms of area is the Penedès region, at 27,000 hectares. Along the coast, the climate is shaped by the Mediterranean, while cold north winds regularly provide cooling in the catchment area of the Pyrenees. The annual precipitation of 900 millimeters per year per square metre is relatively high. In the interior of the region (e.g., Conca de Barbera or Costers del Segre), it is drier (approximately 450 millimeters) and the climate is more continentally influenced, with large temperature differences between summer and winter. The soils are mostly marked by limestone or granite, though slate also predominates in limited cases (Priorat).

Ever more premium red wines

Among the most important local white varieties are Macabeo, Xarel-lo and Parellada, with Garnacha and Cariñena for the reds. Above all, the Catalan wines impress with fruity richness and structure. In the wake of the flagship Priorat region, interest is also gaining in crus from Montsant, Terra Alta, Costers del Segre, Tarragona and Conca de Barbera.

Regions

Andalucía
Spain

Andalucía

Andalusia: Sherry and more

Read more
Pfalz
Germany

Pfalz

Pfalz: Riesling meets Burgundy

Read more
Campbeltown
Scotland

Campbeltown

Campbeltown: Salzige Eleganz

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Catalunya

Katalonien: Die grosse Vielfalt

Die zweitgrösste Weinregion Spaniens hat eine beeindruckende Vielfalt an Weinen zu bieten. So existieren in Katalonien elf verschiedene Ursprungsbezeichnungen. Als Heimat des Cava gehört Katalonien zu den führenden Herstellern von Schaumweinen nach der klassischen Methode. Auch das Angebot an elegante Weissweinen und gut strukturierten Rotweinen ist gross. Gebiete wie das Priorat oder Montsant erlebten in den letzten Jahren einen gewaltigen Aufschwung. Und mit dem Moscatel de Sitges reift hier ein traditioneller Süsswein.

Schaumweine aus Catalunya

In Stock
Cava brut de brut
Vegan

Cava brut de brut

DO, Maria Casanovas, 750 ml
In Stock
Cava brut Nature Gran Reserva
Vegan

Cava brut Nature Gran Reserva

DO, Maria Casanovas, 2016, 750 ml

Weissweine aus Catalunya

In Stock

Rotweine aus Catalunya

In Stock
Cims de Porrera Clàssic
Vegan
In Stock
Cims de Porrera Garnatxa
Nur noch 21 Flaschen
Vegan
In Stock

Vi de Vila Porrera

DOC Priorat, Cims de Porrera, 2015, 750 ml
In Stock
Cims de Porrera Clàssic Caranyana
Nur noch 16 Flaschen
Vegan

In den 70er und 80er Jahren galt Katalonien als Vorreiter einer Internationalisierung im spanischen Weinbau. An Frankreich angrenzend und mit dem französischen Teil Kataloniens sowieso traditionell eng verbunden, wurden hier schon früh grössere Flächen mit Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot oder Chardonnay bepflanzt. Selbst im heute wohl bekanntesten Rotweingebiet Katalonien, dem Priorat, setzten die Winzer anfangs auf Cabernet, Merlot und Syrah. Seit den 90er Jahren gilt ihre Aufmerksamkeit vermehrt den alteingesessenen Sorten Garnacha (Grenache) und Cariñena (Carignan). Inzwischen ist der Trend zu diesen autochthonen Gewächsen in ganz Katalonien festzustellen.

Weltweiter Cava-Boom

Die grösste Erfolgsgeschichte im katalonischen Weinbau schrieb Josep Raventós, der nach einer Reise in die Champagne im Jahr 1872 in seiner Heimat, dem Alt Penedès erstmals Schaumweine nach dem Prinzip der zweiten Gärung in der Flasche. Daraus entwickelte sich ein boomender Markt, werden doch heute jährlich fast 250 Millionen Flasche Cava abgefüllt.

Grosse Klima-Unterschiede

Die heutige Anbaufläche von 60‘000 Hektar verteilt sich auf elf Subregionen mit eigener Ursprungsbezeichnung, die flächenmässig grösste ist das Penedès mit 27‘000 Hektar. Das Klima ist entlang der Küste mediterran geprägt, allerdings sorgen im Einzugsbereich der Pyrenäen kalte Nordwinde regelmässig für Abkühlung. Auch ist hier die Niederschlagsmenge mit 900 Millimeter pro Jahr und Quadratmeter vergleichsweise hoch. Im Landesinnern (z.B. Conca de Barbera oder Costers del Segre) ist es trockener (ca. 450 Millimeter Region) und das Klima mehr kontinental geprägt, mit grossen Temperaturunterschieden zwischen Sommer und Winter. Die Böden sind meist von Kalk oder Granit geprägt, in Ausnahmefällen herrscht auch Schiefer (Priorat) vor. 

Immer mehr Top-Rotweine

Zu den wichtigsten heimischen Sorten gehören Macabeo, Xarel-lo und Parellada für Weissweine, sowie Garnacha und Cariñena für die Roten. Vor allem die katalonischen Rotweine überzeugen mit Fruchtfülle und Struktur. Im Sog der Vorzeigregion Priorat steigt heute auch das Interesse an  Crus aus Montsant, Terra Alta, Costers del Segre, Tarragona oder Conca de Barberà.

Regionen

Hawkes Bay
Neuseeland

Hawkes Bay

Die Weinbauregion Hawke’s Bay liegt in einer Bucht im Osten der Nordinsel Neuseelands und ist die älteste und zweitgrösste Weinbauregion (ca. 4640 Hektaren), deren Anfänge bis ins Jahr 1851 zurückreichen.

Weiterlesen
Piemont
Italien

Piemont

Piemont: Trüffel, Nebbiolo und mehr

Weiterlesen
Armagnac
Frankreich

Armagnac

Armagnac: Hochprozentig, hochstehend, authentisch

Weiterlesen