to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

Standing on La Gerla's terrace, one's view sweeps over Montalcino's peaceful landscape with its hills, vineyards, slim cypresses, and estates scattered all around. Nestled in the Colli Senesi to the south of Siena, the area comprises approx. 2000 hectares (up from just sixty hectares 50 years ago!).

The area is subject to a drier climate than the Chianti region and sees larger differences in temperature between days and nights. The Monte Amiata shields the area from storms approaching from the coast. The sangiovese grosso or brunello, as it is locally known, enjoys optimum maturing conditions. This fosters the development of full-bodied and rather heavy wines full of extract.

La Gerla owns 11.5 hectares, of which 6.5 lie in the northeast, close to Canalicchio, north of the small town of Montalcino. The remaining vineyards lie in the southeast close to Castelnuovo. La Gerla's wines profit from these varied sites. Similarly to the Chianti region, the northern grounds are composed of calciferous marl and are likewise called galestro. Those in the south entail a higher proportion of clay and are partially comprised of volcanic tuff. Thus, the wines created from these differ and complement each other optimally in the finished cuvée.

La Gerla belongs to the lost of renowned and internationally acclaimed estates. Apart from the Brunello di Montalcino we recommend also the Rosso di Montalcino, which is slightly lighter and spends less time developing in the barrel, and the Birba, which ripens in the barrel for about 12 months. Both wines offer earlier drinking enjoyment in comparison to the Brunello. The single vineyard Brunello Gli Angeli is sourced from the eldest vines only in exceptional vintages and destined for long aging. Last but not least, La Gerla's olive oil and their grappa are an excellent complement to the assortment.

Red wines from Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

In Stock
Parker 93+ Points
Brunello di Montalcino La Pieve 2017

Brunello di Montalcino La Pieve 2017

DOCG, La Gerla, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 95 Points
Brunello Montalcino Riserva gli Angeli 2012
Only 1 Bottle
In Stock

Birba 2019

IGT Toscana, La Gerla, 750 ml
In Stock

Rosso di Montalcino 2019

DOC, La Gerla, 750 ml

Spirits from Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

In Stock

Grappa di Brunello

La Gerla, 500 ml

Delicatessen from Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

In Stock

from Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

In Stock
Parker 93+ Points
Brunello di Montalcino La Pieve 2017

Brunello di Montalcino La Pieve 2017

DOCG, La Gerla, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 95 Points
Brunello Montalcino Riserva gli Angeli 2012
Only 1 Bottle
In Stock

Rosso di Montalcino 2019

DOC, La Gerla, 750 ml
In Stock
Parker 95 Points
Brunello di Montalcino 2015

Brunello di Montalcino 2015

DOCG, La Gerla, 1500 ml

Producer

Maria Casanovas

Maria Casanovas

The Bodega or Cava Maria Casanovas is located in the heart of the Penedès, in Sant Sadurní d'Anoia, the centre of Cava production. It is owned by the Casanovas family and managed by three children of Maria Casanovas. Jordi and Jacint are responsible for the vineyards and the cellar, Rosa for administration and marketing.

Read more
Château Mongiron

Château Mongiron

Set in the heart of the sea of vines between the Garonne and Dordogne rivers – in the so-called Entre-deux-Mers – lies Château Mongiron in the small town of Nérigean.

Read more
Didier Joris

Didier Joris

Didier Joris is a legendary figure in the Valais, where the history of wine would be unthinkable without him. He grew up in a farming family that initially concentrated on raising cattle. To this very day, Didier still raves about «his Queens», the Hérens fighting cows. It was only during the 1960s and 1970s that the Joris family began to terrace slopes to plant vines and cultivate vineyards.

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular

Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

Steht man auf der Terrasse von La Gerla so schweift der Blick über die friedliche Landschaft des Montalcino mit ihren Hügeln, Rebgärten, den schlanken Zypressen und den überall verstreuten Weingütern. Eingebettet in den Colli Senesi südlich von Siena umfasst das Gebiet ca. 2000 Hektaren (vor 50 Jahren waren es lediglich 60!).

Es herrschen hier ein etwas trockeneres Klima als im Chianti-Gebiet und grössere Temperaturunterschiede zwischen Tag und Nacht. Der Monte Amiata schirmt die von der Küste her kommenden Unwetter ab. Der Sangiovese grosso oder Brunello, wie er hier genannt wird, findet optimale Reifebedingungen. Es entstehen körperreiche, eher schwere und extraktvolle Weine.

Rotweine von Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

In Stock
Parker 95 Punkte
Brunello di Montalcino 2015
Nur noch 2 Flaschen
Vegan

Brunello di Montalcino 2015

DOCG, La Gerla, 375 ml
In Stock
Parker 95 Punkte
Brunello Montalcino Riserva gli Angeli 2013
In Stock
Parker 95 Punkte
Brunello Montalcino Riserva gli Angeli 2015
In Stock
Parker 95 Punkte
Brunello Montalcino Riserva gli Angeli 2013
Nur noch 21 Flaschen

Spirituosen von Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

In Stock

Grappa di Brunello

La Gerla, 500 ml

Delikatessen von Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

In Stock

von Fattoria La Gerla / Sergio Rossi

In Stock
Parker 95 Punkte
Brunello di Montalcino 2015
Nur noch 2 Flaschen
Vegan

Brunello di Montalcino 2015

DOCG, La Gerla, 375 ml
In Stock
Parker 95 Punkte
Brunello Montalcino Riserva gli Angeli 2013
Nur noch 21 Flaschen
In Stock

Birba 2019

IGT Toscana, La Gerla, 750 ml
In Stock

Rosso di Montalcino 2019

DOC, La Gerla, 750 ml

La Gerla besitzt 11,5 Hektaren, davon befinden sich 6,5 im Nordosten bei Canalicchio nördlich des Städtchens Montalcino. Die übrigen Weingärten liegen im Südosten bei Castelnuovo. Die Weine von La Gerla profitieren von diesen unterschiedlichen Lagen. Die Böden im Norden bestehen ähnlich wie im Chianti classico aus kalkhaltigem Mergel und werden ebenfalls Galestro genannt. Diejenigen im Süden haben einen höheren Tonanteil und bestehen teilweise auch aus vulkanischem Tuffstein. Die daraus entstehenden Weine sind folglich verschieden und ergänzen sich optimal in der fertigen Cuvée.

La Gerla reiht sich ein in die Liste renommierter und international beachteter Weingüter. Nebst dem Brunello di Montalcino legen wir Ihnen auch den Rosso di Montalcino ans Herz, der etwas leichter ist und weniger lang im Holz ausgebaut wird, und den Birba, der ca. 12 Monate im Barrique verbrachte. Beides sind Weine, die im Gegensatz zum Brunello früheren Trinkgenuss bieten. Der Brunello Riserva Gli Angeli stammt aus der ältesten Parzelle, wird nur in den besten Jahren abgefüllt und besitzt ein ausserordentliches Lagerpotential. Last but not least, runden das hervorragende Olivenöl und der Grappa von La Gerla das Angebot ab.

Winzer

Dirk van der Niepoort

Dirk van der Niepoort

Dirk van der Niepoort –  grosser Botschafter der fantastischen Weine aus dem Douro-Tal, ist auch in anderen portugiesischen Weingebieten umtriebig und kreativ. Sein Traum war es schon lange in den Mikroklimas des Alentejos und Dãos Weine zu erzeugen. Der talentierte selfmade Winemaker, der gerne einen Hut trägt, wurde fündig und seine verrückte Idee in diesen verrückten Zeiten nahm Gestalt in Form der Crazy Hatter Weine an. 

Weiterlesen

Susana Balbo Wines

Der mächtige Aconcagua wacht über die Ebene von Mendoza, 1000 Kilometer von Argentiniens Hauptstadt Buenos Aires entfernt. Ein karges, semiarides Land, in welchem Jesuiten und Franziskaner nach der Eroberung durch die Spanier im 16. Jahrhundert günstige natürliche Voraussetzungen für den Weinbau erkannten.

Weiterlesen
Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

Az. Agr. Rivella Silvia

2010 entstand als Krönung eines Traums des erfahrenen Önologen Guido Rivella, der in Montestefano / Barbaresco geboren wurde, die Azienda Agricola Silvia Rivella, benannt nach seiner Tochter.

Weiterlesen