to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Domaine de la Commaraine

The beauty behind the walls of Château Commaraine

 

The Burgundian municipality of Pommard has a classic, historic ambience with most of the buildings and walled vineyards (clos) intact, exuding a peaceful and tranquil atmosphere. The small, romantic village square conveys a slightly exotic feeling to its visitors – an unusual sensation in rural Burgundy indeed!

Clos de la Commaraine, a Monopole Premier Cru just outside the village centre of Pommard is an incredible vineyard waiting to be rediscovered. It is an outstanding estate in every respect, with a beautiful château in the southern part of the vineyard, on the outskirts of the village. The vineyard is owned by Harvard professor Denise Dupré and Mark Nunnelly, a former managing director at the Boston-based investment fund Bain Capital. Also on board is Jean-Luc Vitoux – a French investor and current director of La Commaraine. Now, under the passionate care of the new owners and a brilliant team, it is also well on its way to setting a new benchmark in Pommard. No expense is being spared to tease out the best wine from the terroir of the clos, from the cultivation of the vines to the selection and vinification.

The debut wine 2018 Clos de la Commaraine Monopole from Domaine de la Commaraine is simply stunning. Luxurious, detailed and refined, this is undoubtedly a very special wine. The 2018 harvest marked the next chapter in the life of Burgundy’s landmark Clos de la Commaraine. Situated in the highly regarded Côte-d’Or, the estate comprises 3.75 hectares of Pommard 1er Cru vines grown in a monopole and now cultivated for the production of biodynamic wines. The last wine produced under the label of the single vineyard Commaraine dates back to 2002 – since then the grapes have been sold to Maison Louis Jadot and produced under the Jadot label.

Red wines from Domaine de la Commaraine

In Stock
Parker 91-93 Points
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol 2018
In Stock
Parker 91-93 Points
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol 2018
Only 5 Bottles
In Stock
Parker 91-93 Points
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol 2019

from Domaine de la Commaraine

In Stock
Parker 91-93 Points
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol 2018
Only 5 Bottles
In Stock
Parker 91-93 Points
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol 2018
In Stock
Parker 91-93 Points
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol 2019

The estate is also the site of a 12th century château with historical threads leading back to the Dukes of Burgundy. It had been vacant since 2013, but is being lavishly renovated and converted into a five-star hotel, an underground spa in the 14th-century cellars and a restaurant – a vision of the two Americans Denise Dupré and Mark Nunelly, who also own the luxury hotel Royal Champagne and the organic champagne house Leclerc-Briant. With the acquisition of Clos de la Commaraine, the couple also took over the Domaine Belleville in Rully and the Manoir Murisaltien in Meursault. The boutique hotel with its 23 rooms is somewhat off the beaten track. “We want to offer our guests something beyond just ‘staying at a great hotel’”, says director Jean-Luc Vitoux.

 

“We also want to share our passion with the guests by involving them in the agricultural and winemaking work to familiarise them with the terroir of the clos”, says Vitoux. This work is to be carried out according to organic (or ‘bio’ as the French call it) and biodynamic principles while the new team converts the vineyards. “Sustainability is a key part of our value with biodynamic farming for the whole estate”, says Vitoux. Even before the conversion, the estate was farmed ecologically, with just a single chemical used during the flowering period. This spring, sheep grazed the vines under the supervision of two vineyard experts who have been tending the vines for over 20 years. “Wine is at the heart of the project”, says trade and marketing director Hugues Romagnan.

 

The 2018 harvest was carried out plot by plot and vinified separately, with decisions on blending to be made in June. “We have to understand the terroir by playing with ten plots”, says Vitoux. An interesting approach was chosen to understand the terroir: an electromagnetic conductivity study of soil variability, carried out by the Chilean company AgroPrecision. “At the end of spring we will conduct an analysis of the vines and leaves to see if they are in good shape and ‘well-nourished’, or if some nutrient or component is missing”, says Vitoux.

Producer

Pierre-Luc Leyvraz

Pierre-Luc Leyvraz

Pierre-Luc Leyvraz is often called the "King of Chasselas". That this definition is anything but exaggerated strikes you at the latest once you have tasted his Saint-Saphorin "Les Blassinges", marked by the terroir and very typical

Read more
4G Wines

4G Wines

G. is set to become the Premier Cru or First Growth of the Cape – THE iconic wine of South Africa. Not because it builds on centuries of tradition and history – but the exact opposite, in fact.

Read more
Viñedos Lacalle y Laorden

Viñedos Lacalle y Laorden

In 2015 the two families of Zapiain and Lopez de Lacalle launched the Izar-Leku Mahastiak project (today Grupo Artadi) in Zarautz/Basque Country, with the aim of producing a table wine as well as a sparkling wine with Txakoli as the base wine.  Today this sparkling wine is part of the "Viñedos Lacalle y Laorden" company - just like the premium single-vineyard wine "Viña El Pisón", though this wine comes from the Álava/Rioja region.

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Domaine de la Commaraine

Die Schönheit hinter den Mauern von Château Commaraine

 

Die burgundische Gemeinde Pommard hat ein klassisches, historisches Ambiente mit den meisten Häusern und ummauerten Weinbergen (Clos) intakt, die ein friedliches und ruhiges Flair verströmen. Der kleine, romantische Dorfplatz vermittelt seinen Besuchern ein leicht exotisches Gefühl; und das im ländlichen Burgund.

Der Clos de la Commaraine, ein Monopole Premier Cru etwas ausserhalb des Dorfzentrums von Pommard ist ein unglaublicher Weinberg, der darauf wartet, wiederentdeckt zu werden. Es ist in jeglicher Hinsicht ein herausragendes Weingut, mit einem schönen Château im südlichen Teil des Weinbergs, angrenzend an das Dorf. Das Weingut ist im Besitz der Harvard-Professorin Denise Dupré und Mark Nunnelly, Ex-Geschäftsführer des Investmentfonds Bain Capital aus Boston. Mit dabei haben sie Jean-Luc Vitoux - ein französischer Investor und derzeit Directeur von La Commaraine. Jetzt, unter der leidenschaftlichen Pflege der neuen Besitzer und einem brillanten Team, ist es auch auf dem besten Weg, einen neuen Massstab in Pommard zu definieren. Es wird an nichts gespart, um den besten Wein aus dem Terroir des Clos zu gewinnen, vom Weinanbau über die Selektion bis hin zur Weinbereitung.

Rotweine von Domaine de la Commaraine

In Stock
Parker 91-93 Punkte
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol
In Stock
Parker 91-93 Punkte
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol
Nur noch 12 Flaschen

von Domaine de la Commaraine

In Stock
Parker 91-93 Punkte
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol
In Stock
Parker 91-93 Punkte
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol
Nur noch 12 Flaschen

Der Debütwein 2018 Clos de la Commaraine Monopole von Domaine de la Commaraine ist einfach umwerfend. Luxuriös, detailliert und raffiniert, dies ist zweifellos ein ganz besonderer Wein. Die Ernte 2018 markierte die nächste Lebensphase für das burgundische Wahrzeichen Clos de la Commaraine. In der geschätzten Côte-d'Or gelegen, umfasst das Anwesen 3.75 Hektaren Pommard 1er Cru Reben, die in einer Monopollage wachsen und nun zur Produktion von biodynamischer Weinen bewirtschaftet werden. Der letzte Wein, der unter dem Namen des Einzelguts Commaraine hergestellt wurde, stammt aus dem Jahr 2002 - seitdem wurden die Trauben an das Maison Louis Jadot verkauft und unter dem Jadot-Label produziert.

 

Das Anwesen ist auch der Standort eines Châteaus aus dem 12. Jahrhundert, dessen historische Fäden zu den Herzögen von Burgund führen. Es stand seit 2013 leer, wird aber aufwendig renoviert und in ein Fünf-Sterne-Hotel, ein unterirdisches Spa in den Kellern aus dem 14. Jahrhundert und ein Restaurant umgewandelt - eine Vision der beiden Amerikaner Denise Dupré und Mark Nunelly, die auch das Luxushotel Royal Champagne sowie das Bio-Champagnerhaus Leclerc-Briant besitzen. Mit dem Erwerb von Clos de la Commaraine hat das Paar auch die Domaine Belleville in Rully und das Manoir Murisaltien in Meursault übernommen. Das Boutiquehotel liegt mit seinen 23 Zimmern etwas abgelegen. "Wir wollen unseren Gästen etwas mehr bieten als nur 'Schlafen in einem tollen Hotel', sagt Direktor Jean-Luc Vitoux.

 

"Ausserdem wollen wir unsere Leidenschaft mit den Gästen teilen, indem wir sie in die landwirtschaftlichen und weinbaulichen Arbeiten einbeziehen, um ihnen das Terroir des Clos näher zu bringen", so Vitoux. Diese Arbeiten sollen organisch (die Franzosen nennen es bio) und biodynamisch durchgeführt werden, während das neue Team die Weinberge umstellt. "Nachhaltigkeit ist ein Teil unseres Wertes mit Biodynamie für das gesamte Anwesen", sagt Vitoux. Zuvor wurde das Anwesen ökologisch bewirtschaftet, mit nur einer Chemikalie, die während der Blütezeit eingesetzt wurde. In diesem Frühjahr weideten Schafe die Weinberge unter der Aufsicht von zwei Weinbergexperten, die die Reben seit über 20 Jahren pflegen. "Der Wein ist das Herzstück des Projekts", sagt der Handels- und Marketingdirektor Hugues Romagnan.

 

Die Ernte 2018 wurde Parzelle für Parzelle durchgeführt und separat vinifiziert und im Juni werden Entscheidungen über den Verschnitt getroffen. "Wir müssen das Terroir verstehen, indem wir mit zehn Parzellen spielen", sagt Vitoux. Um das Terroir zu verstehen, wurde ein interessanter Ansatz gewählt: eine elektromagnetische Leitfähigkeitsstudie über die Variabilität des Bodens, durchgeführt von der chilenischen Firma AgroPrecision. "Am Ende des Frühjahrs werden wir eine Analyse der Reben und Blätter durchführen, um zu sehen, ob sie in einem guten Zustand sind, 'gut genährt', oder ob etwas als Nährstoff oder Komponente fehlt", sagt Vitoux.

Winzer

Bodega Palacios Remondo

Bodega Palacios Remondo

Er wurde „zu Hause“ geboren, über der Bodega des Vaters – Álvaro Palacios, der Starwinzer Spaniens. Der Duft von Wein und Fässern lag wohl in der Luft und bestimmte sein weiteres Leben. Er studierte Önologie in Bordeaux und holte sich Berufserfahrung bei Château Pétrus, in London, Dublin und Kalifornien. Heute besitzt er Reben im Priorat, in Bierzo und zu Hause in der Rioja und beweist Jahr für Jahr mit Spitzenweinen sein ausserordentliches Talent.

Weiterlesen
Ramiro Wine Cellar

Ramiro Wine Cellar

Das Projekt Ramiro Wine Cellar begann 2001, als Jesús Ramiro, renommierter, mit einem Michelin-Stern ausgezeichneter spanischer Koch, und Eduardo García, Sohn des berühmten Önologen Mariano García und selber ausgewiesener Winemaker, die Idee hatten, einen eigenen Wein nach ihren Vorstellungen zu produzieren. Gesagt - getan!

Weiterlesen
Domaine Cornulus

Domaine Cornulus

Was vor über 20 Jahren klein angefangen hat, ist heute eine der Walliser Vorzeigekellereien und steht für Arbeit in Einklang mit der Natur sowie Spitzenweine, die das einzelne Terroir betonen.

Weiterlesen