to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Merryvale Vineyards

At a young age, Jack Schlatter travelled from Switzerland to Dallas in the 1950s to work in the cotton trade. He later moved to Mexico and São Paulo (as a coffee tester) and back to Zurich to develop the cotton business in the Eastern bloc. But he always had one foot in Dallas and entered the real estate business there. The wine business also appealed to him early on. But it was a while before he met Bill Harlan, the owner of Merryvale.

The winery was founded in 1933 by a group of partners shortly after the Prohibition era ended, and it attracted over the decades several famous personalities as partners, consultants or owners: Peter and Robert Mondavi from the beginning and then Bill Harlan in the 1980s. Jack Schlatter became a fifty-fifty partner in 1991 and brought the winery into the European and Asian markets. He purchased the winery outright in 1994. Today, his son René stands firmly at the helm.

The historic building is located in the south of the small town of St. Helena at the heart of Napa Valley. The winery-owned Estate Vineyards lie to the east of St. Helena at about 280 metres above sea level. Around 10 hectares of Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot were planted here in 1997. At that time, Michel Rolland was the expert consultant for Merryvale.

White wines from Merryvale Vineyards

In Stock
In Stock
Parker 93 Points
Chardonnay Silhouette 2018
In Stock
In Stock

Red wines from Merryvale Vineyards

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
Profile 2015
Only 3 Bottles

from Merryvale Vineyards

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

The soils offer a great variety, some with clay and sandstone deposits, others of volcanic origin. Their orientation and slope inclinations of 20 to 50% also vary greatly, resulting in very distinct micro-climates. To reap the greatest benefit from this diversity, the vineyards are divided into individual smaller blocks or plots and their grapes are vinified separately.

Another 20 hectares are located on Stanley Ranch in the east of the Carneros appellation. Chardonnay and Pinot Noir thrive in the cooler climate, which is characterised by the nearby San Francisco Bay and the constant breeze from the southwest. A few Syrah and Viognier vines have also found their way here. Starmont Winery, which is also owned by the Schlatter family, is very close by.

Viticulturalist Michael Costley from Missouri with experience working in Sonoma, Oregon, Australia and New Zealand tends to the vines here. The sustainable cultivation of the vineyards in harmony with nature has been certified by Napa Green Land since 2007/2008. The winemaker, Simon Faury from France, also exerts a major influence on the work in the vineyard. His career path brought him to Merryvale via Bordeaux (Domaine de Chevalier, Château Pichon-Longueville), Piedmont, Mondavi, Harlan Estate and Michel Rolland in Mendoza. Costley and Faury also maintain a close working relationship with grape growers who own excellent vineyards and with whom they maintain long-standing partnerships.

The Merryvale wines are among the top wines of Napa Valley. They are unique in their European touch, their complexity, their depth and the intensity of their aromas. Merryvale is happy to welcome visitors. The unique and magnificent Cask Room is one of the most spectacular locations in Napa and is well worth a visit in itself. 

Producer

Domaine Bruno Colin

Domaine Bruno Colin

Read more
Champagne Augustin

Champagne Augustin

When the paths of Emmanuelle and Marc crossed, two champagne houses that had existed for four and five generations respectively came together. It was a union that gave birth to a shared passion: Champagne Augustin.

Read more
De Toren

De Toren

De Toren is one of the first wineries in South Africa to producing classic Bordeaux-style wines. Since its foundation, the De Toren vision has been and remains the reinterpretation of the Bordeaux concept and to create unique South African wines from the five grape varieties Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Malbec and Petit Verdot. De Toren is one of the first wineries in South Africa to producing classic Bordeaux-style wines. Since its foundation, the De Toren vision has been and remains the reinterpretation of the Bordeaux concept and to create unique South African wines from the five grape varieties Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Malbec and Petit Verdot.

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Merryvale Vineyards

Der junge Schweizer Jack Schlatter reiste in den 1950er Jahren nach Dallas, um dort eine Stelle im Baumwollhandel anzutreten. Später verschlug es ihn nach Mexiko und São Paulo (dorthin als Kaffeetester) und wieder zurück nach Zürich, um das Baumwollgeschäft im Ostblock aufzubauen. Dabei blieb er immer mit einem Fuss in Dallas und stieg dort ins Immobiliengeschäft ein. Schon früh reizte ihn auch das Weinbusiness. Doch er musste einige Zeit warten, bis er Bill Harlan kennenlernte, den damaligen Besitzer von Merryvale.

Das Weingut wurde 1933 von einer Partnergruppe kurz nach der Prohibition gegründet und sah im Verlauf der Jahrzehnte einige berühmte Persönlichkeiten als Partner, Berater oder Besitzer: anfangs Peter und Robert Mondavi und in den 1980er Jahren eben Bill Harlan. Jack Schlatter wurde 1991 Fifty-fifty-Partner und erschloss dem Weingut die europäischen und die asiatischen Märkte. 1994 erwarb er das Weingut. Mittlerweile hält sein Sohn René das Ruder fest in der Hand.
 
Das historische Gebäude liegt im Süden der Kleinstadt St. Helena, die sozusagen das Herz des Napa Valley ist. Die sogenannten Estate Vineyards (die Weinberge in eigenem Besitz) befinden sich östlich von St. Helena auf ca. 280 Metern über Meer. Rund 10 Hektaren Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc und Petit Verdot wurden hier 1997 angepflanzt. Damals stand Merryvale unter der Beratung von Michel Rolland.

Weissweine von Merryvale Vineyards

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
Chardonnay Carneros
Nur noch 1 Flasche
In Stock

Rotweine von Merryvale Vineyards

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 92 Punkte
Profile
Nur noch 9 Flaschen

Die Böden sind von grosser Varietät, mit Lehm- und Sandsteinanteilen oder vulkanischen Ursprungs. Ausrichtung und Hangneigungen von 20 bis zu 50 % variieren ebenfalls sehr stark und führen zu ganz unterschiedlichen Mikroklimata. Aus diesen Gründen sind die Lagen in einzelne kleinere Blöcke oder Parzellen unterteilt und deren Traubengut wird separat vinifiziert.
 
Weitere eigene 20 Hektaren befinden sich auf der Stanly Ranch im Osten der Appellation Carneros. Im kühleren Klima, das von der nahen San Francisco Bay und der ständigen Brise aus Südwesten geprägt ist, gedeihen Chardonnay und Pinot Noir aufs Beste. Auch ein paar Syrah- und Viognier-Stöcke haben dort einen Platz gefunden. Ganz in der Nähe steht die Starmont Winery, die ebenfalls der Familie Schlatter gehört.
 
Zuständig für die Rebpflege ist Michael Costley aus Missouri mit Berufserfahrung in Sonoma, Oregon, Australien und Neuseeland. Die nachhaltige, naturnahe Bewirtschaftung der Weinberge ist durch Napa Green Land seit 2007/2008 zertifiziert. Der Winemaker, Simon Faury aus Frankreich, nimmt ebenfalls grossen Einfluss auf die Arbeiten im Rebberg. Sein Weg führte ihn via Bordeaux (Domaine de Chevalier, Château Pichon-Longueville), Piemont, Stationen bei Mondavi und Harlan Estate sowie bei Michel Rolland in Mendoza nach Merryvale. Costley und Faury arbeiten ausserdem eng mit Traubenanbauern zusammen, die im Besitz von hervorragenden Weinbergen sind und zu denen langjährige Partnerschaften bestehen.
 
Die Merryvale-Weine gehören zu den Topprodukten des Napa Valley. Mit ihrem europäischen Touch, ihrer Vielschichtigkeit, Tiefe und Intensität der Aromen sind sie einzigartig. Merryvale heisst Besucher gerne willkommen. Der einmalige und imposante Cask Room ist eine der spektakulärsten Locations in Napa und für sich allein schon einen Besuch wert.
www.merryvale.com

Winzer

Weingut Amayna / Fam. Garcés Silva

Weingut Amayna / Fam. Garcés Silva

Nur einige Kilometer von der wilden Pazifikküste und rund 100 Kilometer westlich von der Hauptstadt Santiago entfernt liegt das von José Antonio Garcés 1997 gegründete Weingut Viña Garcés Silva. Er gehört zu den Weinbaupionieren dieser Gegend und hat es geschafft, seinen Weinen mit dem wohlklingenden Namen Amayna zu internationalem Ansehen zu verhelfen.

Weiterlesen
Guido Brivio

Guido Brivio

Für die meisten Weinliebhaber und Weinliebhaberinnen in der Schweiz ist er kein Unbekannter: Guido Brivio. Im Ausland hingegen ist er erst nach langen Jahren unter Weinkennern und Weinprofis in New York oder London sozusagen zum Geheimtipp aus einer winzig kleinen, unbekannten Ecke der grossen internationalen Weinwelt geworden.

Weiterlesen
Nyetimber

Nyetimber

In der Welt der Weine nimmt England seit rund 25 Jahren eine ganz besondere Stellung ein – ein Exot im feuchtkühlen Norden Europas.

Weiterlesen