to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
To enjoy the full functionality of this website, JavaScript is needed. You'll find here the instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your browser.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Pomerol

Pomerol: the charm of Merlot

Nowhere in Bordeaux does the Merlot variety present as much opulent charm as in Pomerol. It is no wonder, then, that up to 75 percent of the top wines from this appellation are shaped by this variety, which plays a far more dominant role in Pomerol than in neighbouring Saint-Émilion. The relatively small Bordeaux appellation of Pomerol, with only 800 hectares, is Bordeaux’s most spectacular success story of recent decades. The legendary Château Pétrus was a pioneer in this development.

Red wines from Pomerol

In Stock
Parker (86-88) Points
Ch. Beauregard
Only 14 Bottles
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Ch. Beauregard

AC Pomerol, 2014, 750 ml
CHF 39.80
In Stock
Ch. Bourgneuf Vayron
Only 2 Bottles

Ch. Bourgneuf Vayron

AC Pomerol, 1961, 750 ml
CHF 239.–
In Stock
Parker 95 Points
Ch. Clinet

Ch. Clinet

AC Pomerol, 2011, 750 ml
CHF 85.–
In Stock
Parker 96+ Points
Ch. Clinet

Ch. Clinet

AC Pomerol, 2010, 750 ml
CHF 157.–

Nowhere in Bordeaux seems as inconspicuous and provincial as in Pomerol. Leaving the town of Libourne and its 24,000 inhabitants, you’ll find a confusingly settled, relatively flat wine region, without even a town centre to help orient yourself. Although the estates here also bear the Château designation, the buildings appear surprisingly modest. While the estates in the Médoc spiced up their manor houses in the 19th century in the eclectic style of the Chateau, Pomerol vintners still hold true to the original simplicity of their dwellings. But there are exceptions. The Guggenheim family was so impressed by the well-proportioned Château Beauregard that they had it reconstructed in Long Island.

A touch of the new world

The Isle, a river in Pomerol, eroded the limestone bedrock, depositing various gravel layers on the resulting plateau. Soil conditions are highly complex. In the west and south of the appellation, sand and gravel dominate. In the east, on the border with Saint-Émilion, the soils are distinctly loamy. Most of the top chateaus are located here.

It was the Romans who first cultivated wine here. During the Hundred Years’ War (1337-1453), viticulture was abandoned. Vineyards were only established again in the 16th century. Pomerol was long considered an offshoot of the more famous Saint-Émilion, but the appellation only gained its current notoriety in the last 50 years. Château Pétrus was a pioneer in this upswing. Today, though, there are around 20 chateaux that operate at the highest level. Despite the boom, Pomerol has retained its rural structure. The estates are relatively small. In addition, Pomerol still has no official classification, but wine critics like Robert Parker have filled this gap. Long-established trading companies such as the Jean-Pierre Moueix house play an important role.

Due to their high Merlot proportions, Pomerol wines are not only round, gentle and opulent, but also ready to drink relatively early. Thus, top crus from this region have brought a touch of the new world to Bordeaux. The wines nonetheless have an excellent aging potential.

Subregions

Heathcote
Victoria

Heathcote

Heathcote: Ein Terroir für Shiraz und mehr

Read more
Lavaux
Waadt

Lavaux

The Lavaux: In the stronghold of Chasselas

Read more
Toro
Castilla y León

Toro

Toro: Distinctive wines with great tradition

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Pomerol

Pomerol: Der Charme des Merlot

Nirgendwo in Bordeaux zeigt die Sorte Merlot so viel opulenten Charme wie in Pomerol. Kein Wunder werden die Topweine der Appellationen meist zu über 75 Prozent von dieser Sorte geprägt, die damit in Pomerol ein viel dominantere Rolle spielt als etwa im benachbarten Saint-Émilion. Die mit ihren lediglich 800 Hektar vergleichsweise kleine Bordeaux-Appellation Pomerol hat in den letzten Jahrzehnten die spektakulärste Erfolgsgeschichte in Bordeaux geschrieben. Das legendäre Château Pétrus war der Vorreiter dieser Entwicklung.

Rotweine aus Pomerol

In Stock
Parker 95 Punkte
Château Clinet

Château Clinet

AC Pomerol, 2011, 750 ml
CHF 85.–
In Stock
Parker 97 Punkte
Château Clinet

Château Clinet

AC Pomerol, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 120.–
In Stock
Château Clinet
Nur noch 6 Flaschen

Château Clinet

AC Pomerol, 2016, 1500 ml
CHF 258.–
In Stock

Château Clinet

AC Pomerol, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 126.–

Nirgendwo erscheint Bordeaux so unscheinbar und provinziell wie in Pomerol. Wer das Städtchen Libourne mit ihren 24‘000 Einwohnern verlässt, findet sich in einem unübersichtlich besiedelten, relativ flachen Weinland wieder, in dem es kaum Ortskerne gibt, welche bei der Orientierung helfen würden. Obwohl die Güter auch hier die Château-Bezeichnung tragen, muten die Häuser erstaunlich bescheiden an. Während beispielsweise im Médoc die Güter im 19. Jahrhundert ihre Gutshäuser im eklektizistischen Stil zu Chateaux aufgepeppt haben, bekennen sich die Pomerol-Winzer noch immer zu ihrer ursprünglichen Schlichtheit ihrer Behausungen. Es gibt aber Ausnahmen. So war etwa die Familie Guggenheim vom wohlproportionierten Château Beauregard dermassen begeistert, dass sie das Schloss in Long Island nachbauen liess…

Ein Hauch von Neuer Welt

Auch in Pomerol hat ein Fluss, nämlich die Isle, den Kalksteinsockel abgetragen und auf dem so entstandenen Plateau verschiedene Kiesschichten abgelagert. Die Bodenverhältnisse sind höchst komplex. Im Westen und im Süden der Appellation dominiert neben dem Kies der Sand, im Osten dagegen, an der Grenze zu Saint-Émilion, sind die Böden ausgesprochen lehmhaltig. Hier befinden sich die meisten Top-Chateaux.

Es waren die Römer, die hier als erste Wein angebaut haben. Doch während dem Hundertjährigen Krieg (1337 bis 1453) wurde der Weinbau aufgegeben. Erst im 16. Jahrhundert wurden wieder Rebberge angelegt. Langezeit galt Pomerol als Anhängsel des berühmteren Saint-Émilion. Doch seine heutige Bekanntheit erlangte die Appellation erst in den letzten 50 Jahren. Vorreiter des Aufschwungs war Château Pétrus, doch gibt es heute hier rund 20 Châteaux, die auf höchstem Niveau arbeiten. Trotz dem Boom hat Pomerol seine bäuerliche Struktur behalten. Die Güter sind vergleichsweise klein. Zudem kennt Pomerol bis heute keine offizielle Klassifikation, allerdings haben Weinkritiker wie Robert Parker diese Lücke gefüllt. Alteingesessene Handelsbetriebe wie das Haus Jean-Pierre Moueix spielen eine wichtige Rolle

Wegen ihrem hohen Merlot-Anteil sind Pomerol-Weine nicht nur rund, sanft und opulent, sondern auch vergleichsweise früh trinkreif. So haben die Topcrus aus dieser Region dem Bordelais einen Hauch von Neuer Welt beschert. Allerdings verfügen die Weine trotzdem über ein vorzügliches Alterungspotential.

Unterregionen

Wachau
Niederösterreich

Wachau

Wachau: Weisse Crus von Weltruf

Weiterlesen
McLaren Vale
South Australia

McLaren Vale

McLaren Vale: Viel Frucht gepaart mit Eleganz

Weiterlesen
Burgenland

Neusiedlersee

Neusiedlersee: Dunkelrot und edelsüss

Weiterlesen