to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

South Australia

South Australia: Shiraz as a driving force

South Australia, with the Barossa Valley as the most well-known cultivation area and the city of Adelaide as a wine metropolis, is without a doubt the centre of the Australian wine economy. The wines produced here have brought the Shiraz from “down under” worldwide recognition. They are fully concentrated wines with dark-berried cassis fruit and masterfully supportive oak wood spices. But Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Riesling play more than just a supporting role.

White wines from South Australia

In Stock
Chardonnay Kangarilla Road 2018
Only 5 Bottles
Vegan
In Stock
In Stock

The Surly Muse 2018

Barossa Valley, Massena, 750 ml

Red wines from South Australia

In Stock
Boundaries 2012
Only 14 Bottles

Boundaries 2012

Barossa Valley, Rusden, 750 ml
In Stock

Cabernet Sauvignon McLaren Vale 2014

Kangarilla Road, 750 ml
In Stock
Baur au Lac Vins 97 Points
The Standish Shiraz 2014

The Standish Shiraz 2014

Barossa Valley, Standish, 750 ml
In Stock
Shiraz The Schubert Theorem 2015
Only 1 Bottle

The vintners of South Australia are not entirely wrong in asserting that the Syrah variety, which they call Shiraz, is just as at home here as in southern France. While phylloxera destroyed all the vineyards in the Rhône valley in the late 19th century, and Syrah today is grown on American rootstocks, phylloxera never reached this part of Australia. That is why Shiraz vines up to 150 years old are still maintained and grow ungrafted, with their original roots. These vine Methuselahs, lovingly named “grandfather”, yield highly concentrated, world-class wines.

Not just Shiraz

To equate South Australia with Shiraz ignores the multifaceted nature of this cultivation area. Around Coonawarra – an approximately 15-kilometre-long and two-kilometre-wide strip, situated about 400 kilometres southeast of Adelaide – exquisite Cabernet blends are produced in a cool climate, in the legendary “Terra Rossa” soils, with plenty of lime and oxidized iron. And in the cool Eden Valley with its stony, loamy soil, crystal clear Rieslings with mineral notes are grown that are reminiscent of Alsace.

It was English settlers who began growing wine in South Australia in 1836. The most prominent viticultural pioneer was a doctor, Christopher Rawson Penfolds, who began by planting of grape seedlings from France in 1844. Later, German Lutherans from Silesia arrived in the region, establishing religious communities that also grew wine.

English settlers led the way

South Australia sits in a generally mild and dry climate. Precipitation, around 500 millimetres, is accordingly low. But, due to its proximity to the cool Pacific and the altitude of certain subregions (vines grow up to 500 metres above sea level in Eden Valley and Adelaide Hills), there are also “cool climates” here that allow the cultivation of crisp, wholesome wines. South Australia accounts for almost 40 percent of the country’s wine production. There are roughly 75,000 hectares planted with vines. The state includes 18 different cultivation areas.

Region

Campbeltown
Scotland

Campbeltown

Campbeltown: Salzige Eleganz

Read more
Genf
Switzerland

Genf

Geneva: diversity at a high level

Read more
Alsace
France

Alsace

Alsace: diverse whites

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular

South Australia

South Australia: Shiraz als Zugpferd

Südaustralien mit dem Barossa Valley als bekanntestem Anbaugebiet und der Stadt Adelaide als Wein-Metropoloe ist ganz klar das Zentrum der australischen Weinwirtschaft. Hier reifen jene Weine, die den Shiraz von «down under» weltweit bekannt gemacht haben. Es sind voll konzentrierte Gewächse mit dunkelbeeriger Cassisfrucht und gekonnt stützender Eichenholzwürze -  Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot oder Rheinriesling spielen allerdings mehr als nur eine Nebenrolle.

Weissweine aus South Australia

In Stock
In Stock

Rotweine aus South Australia

In Stock
Boundaries 2012
Nur noch 15 Flaschen

Boundaries 2012

Barossa Valley, Rusden, 750 ml
CHF 49.80
In Stock
In Stock
Parker 98 Punkte
Shiraz The Schubert Theorem 2016
Nur noch 13 Flaschen
In Stock
Baur au Lac Vins 97 Punkte
The Standish Shiraz 2014

Die Winzer in Südaustralien liegen nicht ganz falsch mit der Behauptung, dass die Paradesorte Syrah, sie sie Shiraz nennen, hier ebenso beheimatet ist wie im südlichen Frankreich. Denn während im Rhônetal gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts die Reblaus alle Weinberge zerstörte und der Syrah heute auf amerikanischen Unterlagsreben angebaut wird, hat die Reblaus diesen Teil von Australien nie erreicht. Darum werden hier noch uralte, bis zu 150 Jahre alte Shiraz-Stöcke gepflegt, die ungepfropft, also mit ihren Originalwurzeln wachsen. Diese liebevoll «Grandfather» genannten Reb-Methusaleme ergeben hochkonzentrierte Weine von Weltklasse.

Nicht nur Shiraz

Wer allerdings Südaustralien mit Shiraz gleichsetzt, verkennt die Vielseitigkeit dieses Anbaugebietes. In Coonawarra etwa, ein etwa 15 Kilometer langer und zwei Kilometer breiter Streifen, rund 400 Kilometer südöstlich von Adelaide gelegen, reifen auf dem legendären «Terra Rossa»-Böden mit viel Kalk und oxidiertem Eisen in einem kühlen Klima vorzügliche Cabernet-Blends. Und im kühlen Eden Valley mit seinen steinigen Lehmböden werden glasklare Rieslinge mit mineralischen Noten angebaut, die an das Elsass erinnern.

Es waren englische Siedler, die in Südaustralien ab 1836 damit begannen, Wein anzubauen. Der prominenteste Rebpionier war der Arzt Christopher Rawson Penfolds, der ab 1844 mit dem Anpflanzen von Rebsetzlingen aus Frankreich begann. Später kamen deutsche Lutheraner aus Schlesien in die Region und gründeten Religionsgemeinschaften, die ebenfalls Wein anbauten.

Englische Siedler machten den Anfang

In Südaustralien herrscht generell ein mildes und trockenes Klima, die Niederschläge sind mit rund 500 Millimeter entsprechend gering. Aber durch die Nähe zum kühlen Pazifik und die Höhenlage gewisser Subregionen (in Eden Valley und Adelaide Hills wachsen die Reben bis 500 Meter über Meer), gibt es hier auch «Cool Climates», die den Anbau frischer, bekömmlicher Weine ermöglichen. Südaustralien trägt fast 40 Prozent zur Weinproduktion des Landes bei. Es sind rund 75‘000 Hektaren mit Reben bestockt. Das Gebiet umfasst 18 verschiedene Anbaugebiete.

Region

Islay
Schottland

Islay

Islay: Eine Brise Meer im Glas

Weiterlesen
Wallis
Schweiz

Wallis

Wallis: Alpenweine mit Klasse

Weiterlesen
Tessin
Schweiz

Tessin

Tessin: Das Merlot-«Mekka» der Schweiz

Weiterlesen