to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Wachau

Wachau: white crus of world renown

The Wachau is literally a spectacle for all the senses. The river landscape is extraordinarily beautiful, and its terraced vineyards were added to the inventory of UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 2000. The wines, too, are spectacularly good. Grüner Veltliner and Riesling are in friendly competition for being the most high-quality white wines in Austria. In their own way, each variety yields unique crus that combine power and finesse in playful lightness.

White wines from Wachau

In Stock
Grüner Veltliner Dürnsteiner Smaragd
Vegan
In Stock
Grüner Veltliner Dürnsteiner Smaragd
Vegan
In Stock
Wine Spectator 92 Points
Grüner Veltliner Liebenberg
Only 24 Bottles
Vegan
In Stock
Grüner Veltliner Loibenberg
Vegan

If there were an award for the most poetic of wine designations, it would certainly go to the Vinea Wachau, the association in which around 85 percent of all wineries in the area are represented. The dancing light wines with an alcohol content of no more than 11.5 percent by volume are marketed under the name “Steinfeder”, after the feather grass of the same name that grows on the steep slopes. The classic wines of at most 12.5 percent by volume are called “Federspiel” – a falconry term that once referred to a falcon's return. And the powerful top wines here are “Smaragd” (emerald), coming from the name of the green lizard that is most at home on the hot, dry walls of the vineyard terraces. No wine sold with this designation may be “chaptalized” with sugar, while the wines are vinified in small oak barrels dry, and without aging.

A white wine country

With an area of 1,350 hectares, Vaud is among the smaller wine-growing areas in Lower Austria. For this reason, it is the region with the greatest prestige, mainly due to its white Grüner Veltliner and Riesling varieties. The first written mention of grape cultivation comes from the time of the Carolingians in 830. Nonetheless, the Romans also produced wine here, and the wines were already known beyond the borders of modern Austria by the middle ages. The vineyards follow the course of the river for a distance of approximately 30 kilometres between the Benedictine monasteries of Melk and Göttweig.

Micro-terroirs make the difference

The unique character of the wines is down to the richness in variations in the soil. In the higher terraced vineyards, the vines are rooted in primary rock soils of gneiss, while in the lower layers more loess mixed with sand and gravel prevail. The climatic conditions are similarly complex, with alternating influences of cold air from the west and warm air from the Pannonian Plain in the east. Cold downdrafts, the mellowing influence of the river, and the huge dry stone walls that store heat also influence the respective microclimates. Differences in elevation also play a role – vines here are rooted between 250 and 450 metres above sea level.

Subregions

Heathcote
Victoria

Heathcote

Heathcote: Ein Terroir für Shiraz und mehr

Read more
St-Estèphe
Bordeaux

St-Estèphe

Saint-Estèphe: classic, full of vim and vigor

Read more
Alto Adige

Alto Adige

Alto Adige: Alpenweine mit südlichem Charme

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Wachau

Wachau: Weisse Crus von Weltruf

Die Wachau ist sprichwörtlich ein Spektakel für alle Sinne. Spektakulär schön ist die Flusslandschaft mit ihren Rebterrassen, die im Jahr 2000 in das Inventar des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe aufgenommen worden ist, spektakulär gut sind die Weine. Grüner Veltliner und Riesling stehen hier im friedlichen Wettbewerb um die hochstehendsten Weissweine Österreichs. Beide Sorten ergeben auf individuelle Weisse einzigartige Crus, die Kraft und Finesse mit spielerischer Leichtigkeit in sich vereinen.

Weissweine aus Wachau

In Stock
Grüner Veltliner Dürnsteiner Smaragd
Vegan
In Stock
Grüner Veltliner Liebenberg
Nur noch 7 Flaschen
Vegan
In Stock
Grüner Veltliner Liebenberg
Vegan
In Stock
Wine Spectator 91 Punkte
Grüner Veltliner Loibenberg
Vegan

Gäbe es einen Preis für die poetischsten Weinbezeichnungen, dann müsste dieser zweifellos an die Vinea Wachau gehen, jene Vereinigung, in der rund 85 Prozent aller Winzer dieses Gebietes vertreten sind. Die tänzerischen Leichtweine mit einem Alkoholgehalt von maximal 11,5 Volumenprozent kommen unter der Bezeichnung «Steinfeder» auf den Markt, benannt nach dem gleichnamigen Federgras, das in den Steillagen wächst. Die klassischen Weine mit höchstens 12,5 Volumenprozent heissen «Federspiel», der Name bezeichnete früher das Zurückholen des Beizvogels bei der Falkenjagd. Und die kraftvollen Spitzenweine werden hier «Smaragd», der Name stammt von der Smaragdeidechse, die in den heissen Trockenmauern der Rebbergsterrassen zuhause ist. Sämtliche Weine, die mit diesen Bezeichnungen auf den Markt kommen dürfen nicht mit Zucker «chaptalisiert» werden, zudem werden die Weine trocken und ohne Reifung im kleinen Eichenfass vinifiziert.

Ein Weisswein-Land

Mit einer Fläche von 1‘350 Hektar gehört die Wachau zu den kleineren Anbaugebieten in Niederösterreich, dafür ist es mit Sicherheit die Region mit dem grössten Prestige, welches hauptsächlich auf den weissen Sorten Grüner Veltliner und Riesling beruht. Die erste schriftliche Erwähnung des Rebbaus stammt aus der Zeit der Karolinger im Jahr 830, doch schon die Römer haben hier Wein produziert und schon im Mittelalter waren die Weine über die Grenzen des heutigen Österreichs hinaus bekannt. Die Rebberge säumen heute dem Flussverlauf über eine Distanz von rund 30 Kilometern zwischen den Benediktinerstiften von Melk und Göttweig.

Mikro-Terroirs machen den Unterschied

Der einmalige Charakter der Weine beruht auf dem Variationsreichtum der Böden, wobei in den höheren Terrassenlagen die Reben in Urgesteinsböden aus Gneis wurzeln, während in den unteren Lagen eher Löss, durchmischt mit Sand und Schotter vorherrschen. Ähnlich komplex sind die klimatischen Verhältnisse mit wechselnden Einflüssen von kühler Luft aus dem Westen und warmer Luft aus der pannonischen Tiefebene im Osten. Kühle Fallwinde, der mildernde Einfluss des Flusses sowie die gewaltigen Trockenmauern, welche Wärme speichern, beeinflussen das jeweilige Mikroklima zusätzlich. Zudem spielen die Höhenunterschiede eine Rolle, die Reben wurzeln hier zwischen 250 bis 450 Meter über Meer.

Unterregionen

Bierzo
Galicia

Bierzo

Bierzo: Mit der Sorte Mencia zur Spitze

Weiterlesen
Barossa Valley
South Australia

Barossa Valley

Barossa Valley: Wohl proportionierte Fülle

Weiterlesen
Côtes de Bordeaux-St-Macaire
Bordeaux

Côtes de Bordeaux-St-Macaire

Weiterlesen