to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Wallis

Valais: Alpine wines with class

More than 20 varieties of grapes can yield wines in Valais that are full of character. A large number of them grow on spectacular, steep slopes. Sealed off by mighty chains of mountains, old plantings like Petite Arvine, Amigne and Cornalin have survived in Valais, and today they are highly sought-after by wine enthusiasts. The highest vineyards in Europe are also found in Valais: the Savignin vines (known here as “Heida”), rooted in the mountain community of Visperterminen.

White wines from Wallis

In Stock
Amigne de Vétroz
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Arvine Gringe (Petite Arvine)
Vegan
In Stock
Arvine Gringe (Petite Arvine)
Vegan
In Stock
Chardonnay
Only 3 Bottles
Vegan

Rosé wines from Wallis

In Stock
Oeil de Perdrix Sortilège
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Oeil de Perdrix Sortilège
Only 2 Bottles
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Rosé Divico Gamaret x Bronner
Vegan

Red wines from Wallis

In Stock
Cabernet Franc
Vegan

Cabernet Franc

AOC Valais, Didier Joris, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 55.–
In Stock
Cabernet Franc
Only 10 Bottles
Vegan

Cabernet Franc

AOC Valais, Didier Joris, 2014, 750 ml
CHF 54.–
In Stock
Clos du Château
Vegan
Certified integrated production
In Stock
Clos du Château
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Farmers in Valais have always had to be inventive to cultivate fruits and wine. By the late middle ages, they had already established a highly complex network of “suonen”, irrigation channels that bring the water from mountain streams across several kilometres to the agricultural land in the valley. Without the mountain water, the valley, with its low levels of rainfall, could never have developed into Switzerland’s most important wine-growing region. Even today, with a vineyard area of 5,100 hectares, Valais is the undisputed largest wine-growing canton in Switzerland.

Specialties on the rise

As in other wine regions, an existential crisis was the catalyst for the quality boom. In 1983, a large harvest led to a dramatic drop in prices. From then on, the focus was set on quality. Thirty years ago, Chasselas, Gamay and Pinot Noir still dominated the range of grape varieties, with a share of well over 90 percent. Today, it is the specialties that shape the image of Valais. Syrah also plays a special role, through which Valais defines itself as a part of the Rhône wine culture to which well-known regions in France, such as Hermitage or Côte Rôtie also belong.

Shaped by glaciers

The formation of the Alps and the Rhône glacier have produced a highly complex wine-growing terroir in Valais. Moraine and slate soils predominate, with more active lime found in the upper part of the valley, with mainly granite in lower Valais. In the tributaries of the Rhône, gravel prevails. The climate is considered relatively warm and low in precipitation. (600 to 800 millimetres of rain per year per square metre). In the steep slopes, terraces are held in place by dry stone walls, with a total length of over 3,000 kilometres; some of these walls are up to 30 metres high.

Every village has its specialty

Various Valais winegrowing communities are considered strongholds for very specific varieties. Thus, Salgesh can be distinguished by its Pinot Noir, while Vétroz is seen as the home of the Amigne; splendid Petite Arvine wines result from Fully; and Chamoson plays out the class of the Sylvaner (known here as “Johannisberg”). But French varieties, too, like Marsanne, Merlot or Cabernet Sauvingon yield impressive wines in prime locations.

Regions

Bourgogne
France

Bourgogne

Burgundy: home of the crus

Read more
Dão
Portugal

Dão

Dão: noble crus from the highlands

Read more
Navarra
Spain

Navarra

Navarre: a land of many terroirs

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Wallis

Wallis: Alpenweine mit Klasse

Weit über 20 Rebsorten haben im Wallis das Potential, um charaktervolle Weine hervor zu bringen. Sie wachsen zu einem beträchtlichen Teil in spektakulären Steillagen. Abgeschottet von mächtigen Gerbirgsketten haben im Wallis auch alte Gewächse wie Petite Arvine, Amigne oder Cornalin überlebt, die heute bei Weinliebhabern überaus begehrt sind. Zudem befinden sich im Wallis die mithin höchstgelegenen Rebberge in Europa. Gemeint sind die Heida-Rebstöcke, die in der Berggemeinde Visperterminen wurzeln.

Die Bauern mussten im Wallis schon immer erfinderisch sein, um Obst und Wein anbauen zu können. Schon im Spätmittelalter legten sie ein höchst komplexes Netz von sogenannten Suonen an. Das sind Bewässerungskanäle, die das Wasser von den Wildbächen in den Bergen über viele Kilometer zu den landwirtschaftlich genutzten Flächen in den Talflanken bringen. Ohne das Bergwasser hätte sich das regenarme Tal kaum zum wichtigsten Weinbaugebiet der Schweiz entwickeln können. Noch heute ist das Wallis mit einer Rebfläche von 5100 Hektar unangefochten der grösste Weinbaukanton der Schweiz.

Spezialitäten auf dem Vormarsch

Wie in anderen Weinregionen auch, war eine existenzielle Krise der Auslöser für den Qualitätsboom. 1983 führte eine Grossernte zu einem dramatischen Preiseinbruch. Von da an wurden die Weichen auf Qualität gestellt. Dominierten vor 30 Jahren noch Chasselas, Gamay und Pinot Noir den Rebesortenspiegel mit einem Anteil von weit über 90 Prozent, so sind es heute die Spezialitäten, die das Image des Wallis prägen. Eine Sonderstellung spielt dabei der Syrah, mit dem sich das Wallis als Teil jener Rhône-Weinkultur definiert, zu der in Frankreich auch bekannte Regionen wie Hermitage oder Côte Rôtie gehören.

Vom Gletscher geprägt

Die Alpenfaltung und der Rhônegletscher haben im Wallis ein sehr komplexes Weinbau-Terroir geformt. Moränen- und Schieferböden herrschen vor, allerdings findet man im oberen Teil des Tales mehr aktiven Kalk, während im unteren Wallis der Granit vorherrscht. Bei den Zuflüssen zur Rhône herrscht Kies vor. Das Klima gilt als vergleichsweise warm und niederschlagsarm. (600 bis 800 Millimeter Regen pro Jahr und Quadratmeter). In den Steillagen werden die Rebterrassen von Trockenmauern mit einer Gesamtlänge von über 3000 Kilometern gehalten, manche dieser Mauern sind bis zu 30 Meter hoch.

Jedes Dorf hat seine Spezialität

Verschiedene Walliser Weinbaugemeinden gelten als qualitative Hochburgen für eine ganz bestimmte Sorte. So konnte sich Salgesch mit dem Pinot Noir profilieren, Vétroz gilt als die Heimat der Amigne, in Fully reifen hervorragende Petite Arvine-Weine und Chamoson spielt der Sylvaner (Johannisberg) seine Klasse aus. Aber auch französische Sorten wie Marsanne, Merlot oder Cabernet Sauvignon bringen heute in bevorzugten Lagen beeindruckende Weine hervor.

Weissweine aus Wallis

Amigne de Vétroz
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert
Arvine Gringe (Petite Arvine)
Vegan
Arvine Gringe (Petite Arvine)
Nur noch 1 Flasche
Vegan
Arvine Gringe (Petite Arvine)
Nur noch 12 Flaschen
Vegan

Roséweine aus Wallis

Oeil de Perdrix Sortilège
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Rotweine aus Wallis

Cabernet Franc
Vegan

Cabernet Franc

AOC Valais, Didier Joris, 2014, 750 ml
CHF 54.–
Cabernet Franc
Nur noch 7 Flaschen
Vegan

Cabernet Franc

AOC Valais, Didier Joris, 2013, 750 ml
CHF 52.–
Clos du Château
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert
Cornalin
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Cornalin

AOC Wallis, Charles Bonvin SA, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 27.70

aus Wallis

Cuvée 1858 Or Barrique Bonvin
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert
Cuvée Or Grain Noble ConfidenCiel
Nur noch 1 Flasche
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert

Regionen

Murcia
Spanien

Murcia

Murcia: Heimspiel für die Sorte Monastrell

Weiterlesen
Calvados
Frankreich

Calvados

Calvados: Apfelpower aus der Normandie

Weiterlesen
Burgenland
Österreich

Burgenland

Burgenland: Rote, süsse und andere Wunder

Weiterlesen