to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Domaine de la Commaraine

The beauty behind the walls of Château Commaraine

 

The Burgundian municipality of Pommard has a classic, historic ambience with most of the buildings and walled vineyards (clos) intact, exuding a peaceful and tranquil atmosphere. The small, romantic village square conveys a slightly exotic feeling to its visitors – an unusual sensation in rural Burgundy indeed!

Clos de la Commaraine, a Monopole Premier Cru just outside the village centre of Pommard is an incredible vineyard waiting to be rediscovered. It is an outstanding estate in every respect, with a beautiful château in the southern part of the vineyard, on the outskirts of the village. The vineyard is owned by Harvard professor Denise Dupré and Mark Nunnelly, a former managing director at the Boston-based investment fund Bain Capital. Also on board is Jean-Luc Vitoux – a French investor and current director of La Commaraine. Now, under the passionate care of the new owners and a brilliant team, it is also well on its way to setting a new benchmark in Pommard. No expense is being spared to tease out the best wine from the terroir of the clos, from the cultivation of the vines to the selection and vinification.

The debut wine 2018 Clos de la Commaraine Monopole from Domaine de la Commaraine is simply stunning. Luxurious, detailed and refined, this is undoubtedly a very special wine. The 2018 harvest marked the next chapter in the life of Burgundy’s landmark Clos de la Commaraine. Situated in the highly regarded Côte-d’Or, the estate comprises 3.75 hectares of Pommard 1er Cru vines grown in a monopole and now cultivated for the production of biodynamic wines. The last wine produced under the label of the single vineyard Commaraine dates back to 2002 – since then the grapes have been sold to Maison Louis Jadot and produced under the Jadot label.

Red wines from Domaine de la Commaraine

In Stock
Parker 91-93 Points
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol 2018
In Stock
Parker 91-93 Points
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol 2018
Only 5 Bottles
In Stock
Parker 91-93 Points
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol 2019

from Domaine de la Commaraine

In Stock
Parker 91-93 Points
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol 2018
Only 5 Bottles
In Stock
Parker 91-93 Points
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol 2018
In Stock
Parker 91-93 Points
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol 2019

The estate is also the site of a 12th century château with historical threads leading back to the Dukes of Burgundy. It had been vacant since 2013, but is being lavishly renovated and converted into a five-star hotel, an underground spa in the 14th-century cellars and a restaurant – a vision of the two Americans Denise Dupré and Mark Nunelly, who also own the luxury hotel Royal Champagne and the organic champagne house Leclerc-Briant. With the acquisition of Clos de la Commaraine, the couple also took over the Domaine Belleville in Rully and the Manoir Murisaltien in Meursault. The boutique hotel with its 23 rooms is somewhat off the beaten track. “We want to offer our guests something beyond just ‘staying at a great hotel’”, says director Jean-Luc Vitoux.

 

“We also want to share our passion with the guests by involving them in the agricultural and winemaking work to familiarise them with the terroir of the clos”, says Vitoux. This work is to be carried out according to organic (or ‘bio’ as the French call it) and biodynamic principles while the new team converts the vineyards. “Sustainability is a key part of our value with biodynamic farming for the whole estate”, says Vitoux. Even before the conversion, the estate was farmed ecologically, with just a single chemical used during the flowering period. This spring, sheep grazed the vines under the supervision of two vineyard experts who have been tending the vines for over 20 years. “Wine is at the heart of the project”, says trade and marketing director Hugues Romagnan.

 

The 2018 harvest was carried out plot by plot and vinified separately, with decisions on blending to be made in June. “We have to understand the terroir by playing with ten plots”, says Vitoux. An interesting approach was chosen to understand the terroir: an electromagnetic conductivity study of soil variability, carried out by the Chilean company AgroPrecision. “At the end of spring we will conduct an analysis of the vines and leaves to see if they are in good shape and ‘well-nourished’, or if some nutrient or component is missing”, says Vitoux.

Producer

Pierre-Luc Leyvraz

Pierre-Luc Leyvraz

Pierre-Luc Leyvraz is often called the "King of Chasselas". That this definition is anything but exaggerated strikes you at the latest once you have tasted his Saint-Saphorin "Les Blassinges", marked by the terroir and very typical

Read more
4G Wines

4G Wines

G. is set to become the Premier Cru or First Growth of the Cape – THE iconic wine of South Africa. Not because it builds on centuries of tradition and history – but the exact opposite, in fact.

Read more
Viñedos Lacalle y Laorden

Viñedos Lacalle y Laorden

In 2015 the two families of Zapiain and Lopez de Lacalle launched the Izar-Leku Mahastiak project (today Grupo Artadi) in Zarautz/Basque Country, with the aim of producing a table wine as well as a sparkling wine with Txakoli as the base wine.  Today this sparkling wine is part of the "Viñedos Lacalle y Laorden" company - just like the premium single-vineyard wine "Viña El Pisón", though this wine comes from the Álava/Rioja region.

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Domaine de la Commaraine

La beauté derrière les murs du Château de la Commaraine

 

Le village de Pommard en Bourgogne respire une ambiance classique et historique. Avec la plupart de ses maisons et ses 'clos' (des vignes entourées de murailles) toujours intacts, il dégage un air serein et paisible. Et pourtant, la petite place romantique du village donne à ses visiteurs une impression presqu'exotique au cœur de la Bourgogne rurale.

Le Clos de la Commaraine, Monopole en Pommard Premier Cru situé tout près du centre du village, est un lieu étonnant qui demande à être redécouvert. Le domaine est magnifique à tous égards, avec son château situé dans la partie sud du vignoble, adjacent au village. Les propriétaires du domaine, Denise Dupré, professeur à Harvard, et Mark Nunnelly, ancien directeur général du fonds d'investissement Bain Capital, basé à Boston, sont accompagnés de l'investisseur français Jean-Luc Vitoux, à présent directeur de La Commaraine. Sous les auspices de ses nouveaux propriétaires passionnés avec leur équipe dynamique, le domaine est en passe de devenir une nouvelle référence à Pommard. Rien n'est épargné pour obtenir le meilleur vin du terroir du Clos, de la culture de la vigne à la sélection des parcelles et à la vinification.

Le premier vin du Domaine de la Commaraine, le Clos de la Commaraine Monopole 2018, est juste éblouissant. Luxueux, finement ciselé et d'une grande finesse, ce vin est incontestablement exceptionnel. Les vendanges 2018 marquèrent une nouvelle étape pour ce site emblématique dans la prestigieuse Côte d'Or : le Clos en Monopole de 3,75 hectares de vignes classées Pommard Premier Cru est désormais cultivé en biodynamie. Le dernier vin produit sous le nom de Commaraine, remonte à 2002. Ensuite, les raisins furent vendus à la Maison Louis Jadot.

Vins rouges de Domaine de la Commaraine

In Stock
Parker 91-93 Points
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol 2018
Plus que 3 Bouteilles
In Stock
In Stock

de Domaine de la Commaraine

In Stock
Parker 91-93 Points
Pommard 1er Cru Clos de la Commaraine Monopol 2018
Plus que 3 Bouteilles
In Stock
In Stock

Le site comprend le Château de la Commaraine, avec une histoire remontant au XIIe siècle et aux temps des ducs de Bourgogne. Inoccupé depuis 2013, il bénéficia d’importantes rénovations, le transformant en un hôtel cinq étoiles, avec un spa souterrain dans les caves du XIVe siècle, et un restaurant gastronomique. Le concept fut développé par Denise Dupré et Mark Nunelly, également propriétaires de l’hôtel de luxe Royal Champagne et de la Maison de Champagne Bio Leclerc Briant. Outre l’acquisition du Clos de la Commaraine, le couple américain reprit le Domaine Belleville à Rully et le Manoir Murisaltien à Meursault. L’hôtel-boutique avec 23 chambres est situé en retrait. « Nous souhaitons offrir plus qu’une ‘nuitée dans un hôtel de luxe’ à nos visiteurs » explique le directeur Jean-Luc Vitoux.

« Nous tenons à partager notre passion avec nos hôtes en les impliquant dans les travaux agricoles et viticoles, afin de les rapprocher du terroir du Clos » précise-t-il. Pendant la conversion du vignoble par la nouvelle équipe viticole, les vignes sont cultivées selon des méthodes biologiques et biodynamiques. « La durabilité est un élément crucial de l'approche biodynamique ainsi que pour l'ensemble de la propriété » souligne M. Vitoux. Auparavant, la propriété fut cultivée de manière biologique, avec un seul produit chimique utilisé pendant la floraison. Ce printemps, des moutons pâturèrent les vignobles, surveillés de deux experts viticoles responsables des vignes depuis plus de 20 ans. « Le vin est toujours au cœur de notre projet » affirme Hugues Romagnan, directeur commercial et marketing.

La récolte 2018 se déroula parcelle par parcelle, les raisins furent vinifiés séparément, les décisions d'assemblage seront prises en juin. « Il faut comprendre le terroir en jouant avec nos dix parcelles » dit M. Vitoux. Pour se faire, une approche particulière a été choisie : une étude de la conductivité électromagnétique de la variabilité du sol, réalisée par la société chilienne AgroPrecisión. « Vers la fin du printemps, nous effectuerons une analyse des vignes et des feuilles de vignes afin de vérifier si elles sont en bon état, 'bien nourries', ou s'il leur manque un nutriment ou un composant » explique Vitoux.

Producteur

Castello del Terriccio

Castello del Terriccio

Le Castello del Terriccio est l’un des plus grands domaines agricoles de Toscane (situé dans la province de Pise) avec un propre microclimat: ses quelque 1700 hectares s’étendent de l’extrémité nord de la Maremme jusqu’à la mer Tyrrhénienne. Les vignobles bénéficient d’une exposition au sud-sud-ouest, les effets réchauffant et lumineux de la mer en prime. Le maquis méditerranéen et les eucalyptus qui poussent tout autour protègent les raisins du vent, leur conférant aussi les parfums et les arômes qui caractérisent les vins du Terriccio.

En savoir plus
Quinta de la Rosa

Quinta de la Rosa

Depuis le 14ème siècle, l’Angleterre et le Portugal font tous deux commerce de leur vin. Au fil du temps, les Britanniques se sont installés au Portugal pour y faire construire des propriétés agricoles, planter de la vigne et créer d’importantes sociétés commerciales à Porto. La famille Bergqvist est également importante aux yeux des générations suivantes, lesquelles mettent leurs idées innovantes et leur fort engagement au service de la production et du commerce.

En savoir plus
Domaine Cornulus

Domaine Cornulus

Créée à petite échelle il y a 20 ans, cette cave est devenue un modèle dans le Valais, elle représente le travail en harmonie avec la nature ainsi que des vins de haute qualité, qui reflètent le terroir unique.

En savoir plus