to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Rusden Wines / Christine & Dennis Canute

RUSDEN WINES - At home in the New World, stylistically entirely in the Old World 

In 1979 Christine and Dennis Canute bought 40 hectares of run-down vineyards on white sand and clay soil in the heart of the Barossa Valley. The original plan was to run the winery as a hobby alongside family and work.

Dennis continued to work as a teacher to provide Christine with the means to gradually rejuvenate the old vineyard. At that time, the Canute family sold the grapes to local wineries. However, due to the low demand for red wine grapes, prices were very low. In 1992 Dennis decided to vinify a barrel of Cabernet Sauvignon himself, together with his friend Russell. The name "Rusden" (a creation from the two first names Russell and Dennis) was born. In 1994, they drank their first own wine with pleasure and decided to deepen this "hobby". In 1997 they bought five used barriques and began experimenting with Shiraz, Grenache and Cabernet Sauvignon. Christine and Dennis' son Christian, who was working at ‘Rockford Wines’ at the time, then took on a key role in the company.

Red wines from Rusden Wines / Christine & Dennis Canute

In Stock
Boundaries 2012
Only 7 Bottles

Boundaries 2012

Barossa Valley, Rusden, 750 ml
In Stock

Boundaries 2015

Barossa Valley, Rusden, 750 ml
In Stock

Black Guts 2015

Barossa Valley, Rusden, 750 ml

from Rusden Wines / Christine & Dennis Canute

In Stock

Boundaries 2015

Barossa Valley, Rusden, 750 ml
In Stock
Boundaries 2012
Only 7 Bottles

Boundaries 2012

Barossa Valley, Rusden, 750 ml

In 1998, after their first experiences at the winery, all of them had regained enough motivation to reinvest themselves in the vineyards. At the time, everything was still being processed in a fully mechanised manner. The laborious but incredibly rewarding process of abandoning the mechanized routines applied to the vines began with the Shiraz vines planted in 1969. The old vines were slowly trimmed, block by block. Gradually, the quantity of bottles produced by Rusden increased, but more importantly, the meticulous care taken in the vineyard resulted in a marked improvement in the quality of the wine itself. In 1998, the volume of grapes processed was 7.5 tons. In 1999, it was already 10 tons, including Shiraz, Chenin Blanc, Zinfandel (from the oldest Zinfandel vines in Australia) and Mataro (synonymous with Monastrell or Mourvèdre). Today, between 80 and 100 tonnes of grapes are harvested each year for Rusden wines - all hand-picked from our own vineyards.

As with all family businesses, the time to hand over to the next generation also came at Rusden. After a gradual transfer, Christian and Amy took over the management of the estate in 2017. 

The Barossa Valley lies about 70 kilometres north-east of Adelaide in South Australia. It is the continent's most famous wine region, with a total vineyard area of approximately 10,000 hectares.

Rusden Wines' vineyards are located in the eastern part of the Barossa Valley, in the Vine Vale region, where the soils consist of deep white sand on red clay. These terroirs give the wines their unique character. Although the Rusden wines come from the New World, their style is more in line with that of the Old World: the wines are fruity, elegant, typical and well-balanced.

Producer

Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

Álvaro Palacios was only 25 years old when he moved to the lonely Priorat in 1989. He left his parents’ vineyard in Rioja (Palacios Remondo) behind, which had grown too small for him. He joined forces with a group of friends to reawaken the sleeping beauty of the Priorat, which the prior inhabitants had mostly abandoned in search of a better and easier life in the cities.

Read more
Weingut Rings

Weingut Rings

Weingut Rings, part of the Palatinate’s vineyard premier league, lies embedded in the sun-drenched Palatinate, right in the middle of the Freinsheim winegrowing district. For more than a decade, the new generation of the Rings family has been passionately concentrating on the ecological production of high quality dry wines. The hallmarks of Weingut Rings are well-balanced, dense wines with pronounced character and great cellar potential.

Read more
Quinta das Bandeiras / Fam. Bergqvist

Quinta das Bandeiras / Fam. Bergqvist

Read more

vers la page d'accueil vers la navigation principale vers le contenu principal vers le formulaire de contact vers le formulaire de recherche

Rusden Wines / Christine & Dennis Canute

RUSDEN WINES - Chez soi dans le Nouveau Monde, stylistiquement complètement dans l'Ancien

En 1979, Christine et Dennis Canute ont acheté 40 hectares de vignobles délabrés sur des sols de sable blanc et d’argile, au cœur de la Barossa Valley. Leur projet initial: s’occuper de cette exploitation viticole à titre de loisir, outre la famille et le travail.

Dennis continua à travailler comme enseignant afin de donner à Christine les moyens de rajeunir progressivement le vieux vignoble. À cette époque, la famille Canute vendait son raisin à des caves locales or, en raison de la faible demande de raisins rouges, les prix étaient très bas. En 1992, Dennis décide de vinifier lui-même un tonneau de Cabernet Sauvignon avec son ami Russell – l’appellation «Rusden» (créée à partir des deux prénoms Russell et Dennis) était né. Et en 1994, on dégusta et but avec plaisir le premier vin de facture entièrement personnelle, les poussant à poursuivre et à approfondir ce «passe-temps». En 1997, ils achetèrent cinq barriques déjà utilisées et commencèrent des expériences avec le Shiraz, la Grenache et le Cabernet Sauvignon. Christian, le fils de Christine et Dennis qui travaillait chez ‘Rockford Wines’ à l’époque, assumera alors un rôle essentiel dans l’entreprise. 

Vins rouges de Rusden Wines / Christine & Dennis Canute

In Stock
In Stock
Black Guts 2015
Plus que 20 Bouteilles

de Rusden Wines / Christine & Dennis Canute

In Stock
In Stock
Black Guts 2015
Plus que 20 Bouteilles

En 1998, après leurs premières expériences à la cave, tous avaient retrouvé la motivation pour se réinvestir dans les vignes. À l’époque, tout était encore traité de manière totalement mécanisée. Le processus certes laborieux, mais incroyablement gratifiant consistant à abandonner les routines mécanisées appliquées aux vignes démarra sur les ceps de Shiraz plantés en 1969. Les vieilles vignes furent progressivement retaillées, bloc par bloc. Peu à peu, la quantité de bouteilles produites par Rusden augmenta, mais surtout, les soins minutieux apportés au vignoble se sont traduits par une nette amélioration qualitative du vin lui-même. En 1998, le volume de raisins transformés s’élevait à 7,5 tonnes. En 1999, il était déjà de 10 tonnes dont du Shiraz, du Chenin Blanc, du Zinfandel (provenant des plus vieilles vignes de Zinfandel d’Australie) et du Mataro (synonyme du Monastrell ou du Mourvèdre). Aujourd’hui, on récolte entre 80 à 100 tonnes de raisin chaque année destinées aux vins Rusden - tous cueillis à la main et provenant de nos propres vignobles.

Comme dans toutes les entreprises familiales, le temps de passer la main à la génération suivante arriva aussi chez Rusden. Après un transfert progressif, Christian et Amy ont repris la direction du domaine, en 2017.

La Barossa Valley se trouve à environ 70 kilomètres au nord-est d’Adélaïde, dans l’Australie-Méridionale. C’est la région viticole la plus célèbre du continent, la superficie totale des vignes couvrant environ 10 000 hectares.

Les vignobles de Rusden Wines sont situés dans la partie orientale de la Barossa Valley, dans la région de Vine Vale, où les sols sont constitués de sable blanc profond sur de l’argile rouge. Ces terroirs donnent aux vins leur caractère unique. Bien que les vins Rusden proviennent du Nouveau Monde, leur facture correspond plutôt à celle de l’Ancien Monde : les vins sont fruités, élégants, typiques et équilibrés.

Producteur

Pievalta

Pievalta

Le domaine de Pievalta est situé dans la municipalité de Maiolati Spontini, dans les Marches, au cœur des Castelli di Jesi. Cette région est réputée pour ses petits bourgs médiévaux fortifiés de même que pour la production de vins issus du cépage Verdicchio.

en savoir plus
Gut Oggau

Gut Oggau

Quel est le secret des vins du domaine Gut Oggau en Autriche ?

 

Les vins du domaine Gut Oggau comptent parmi les meilleurs vins naturels d'Autriche et sont produits par Eduard Tscheppe et son épouse Stephanie Tscheppe Eselböck, au bord du lac de Neusiedl dans le Burgenland.

en savoir plus
Luddite Wines / Fam. Verburg & Meyer

Luddite Wines / Fam. Verburg & Meyer

Niels Verburg est une de ces personnalités avec lesquelles on se lie facilement d’amitié. Grâce à son allure avenante et à son sourire généreux, il est incontournable et attire la sympathie comme par magie.

en savoir plus