to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Rusden Wines / Christine & Dennis Canute

RUSDEN WINES - At home in the New World, stylistically entirely in the Old World 

In 1979 Christine and Dennis Canute bought 40 hectares of run-down vineyards on white sand and clay soil in the heart of the Barossa Valley. The original plan was to run the winery as a hobby alongside family and work.

Dennis continued to work as a teacher to provide Christine with the means to gradually rejuvenate the old vineyard. At that time, the Canute family sold the grapes to local wineries. However, due to the low demand for red wine grapes, prices were very low. In 1992 Dennis decided to vinify a barrel of Cabernet Sauvignon himself, together with his friend Russell. The name "Rusden" (a creation from the two first names Russell and Dennis) was born. In 1994, they drank their first own wine with pleasure and decided to deepen this "hobby". In 1997 they bought five used barriques and began experimenting with Shiraz, Grenache and Cabernet Sauvignon. Christine and Dennis' son Christian, who was working at ‘Rockford Wines’ at the time, then took on a key role in the company.

Red wines from Rusden Wines / Christine & Dennis Canute

In Stock
Boundaries 2012
Only 7 Bottles

Boundaries 2012

Barossa Valley, Rusden, 750 ml
In Stock

Boundaries 2015

Barossa Valley, Rusden, 750 ml
In Stock

Black Guts 2015

Barossa Valley, Rusden, 750 ml

from Rusden Wines / Christine & Dennis Canute

In Stock

Boundaries 2015

Barossa Valley, Rusden, 750 ml
In Stock
Boundaries 2012
Only 7 Bottles

Boundaries 2012

Barossa Valley, Rusden, 750 ml

In 1998, after their first experiences at the winery, all of them had regained enough motivation to reinvest themselves in the vineyards. At the time, everything was still being processed in a fully mechanised manner. The laborious but incredibly rewarding process of abandoning the mechanized routines applied to the vines began with the Shiraz vines planted in 1969. The old vines were slowly trimmed, block by block. Gradually, the quantity of bottles produced by Rusden increased, but more importantly, the meticulous care taken in the vineyard resulted in a marked improvement in the quality of the wine itself. In 1998, the volume of grapes processed was 7.5 tons. In 1999, it was already 10 tons, including Shiraz, Chenin Blanc, Zinfandel (from the oldest Zinfandel vines in Australia) and Mataro (synonymous with Monastrell or Mourvèdre). Today, between 80 and 100 tonnes of grapes are harvested each year for Rusden wines - all hand-picked from our own vineyards.

As with all family businesses, the time to hand over to the next generation also came at Rusden. After a gradual transfer, Christian and Amy took over the management of the estate in 2017. 

The Barossa Valley lies about 70 kilometres north-east of Adelaide in South Australia. It is the continent's most famous wine region, with a total vineyard area of approximately 10,000 hectares.

Rusden Wines' vineyards are located in the eastern part of the Barossa Valley, in the Vine Vale region, where the soils consist of deep white sand on red clay. These terroirs give the wines their unique character. Although the Rusden wines come from the New World, their style is more in line with that of the Old World: the wines are fruity, elegant, typical and well-balanced.

Producer

Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

Alvaro Palacios, S.L.

Álvaro Palacios was only 25 years old when he moved to the lonely Priorat in 1989. He left his parents’ vineyard in Rioja (Palacios Remondo) behind, which had grown too small for him. He joined forces with a group of friends to reawaken the sleeping beauty of the Priorat, which the prior inhabitants had mostly abandoned in search of a better and easier life in the cities.

Read more
Weingut Rings

Weingut Rings

Weingut Rings, part of the Palatinate’s vineyard premier league, lies embedded in the sun-drenched Palatinate, right in the middle of the Freinsheim winegrowing district. For more than a decade, the new generation of the Rings family has been passionately concentrating on the ecological production of high quality dry wines. The hallmarks of Weingut Rings are well-balanced, dense wines with pronounced character and great cellar potential.

Read more
Quinta das Bandeiras / Fam. Bergqvist

Quinta das Bandeiras / Fam. Bergqvist

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular

Rusden Wines / Christine & Dennis Canute

RUSDEN WINES - Zuhause in der Neuen Welt, stilistisch ganz in der Alten Welt
1979 kauften Christine und Dennis Canute 40 Hektaren heruntergekommene Weinberge auf weissem Sand- und Lehmgelände im Herzen des Barossa Valley. Ursprünglich war der Plan, das Weingut lediglich als Hobby neben Familie und Beruf zu führen.

Dennis arbeitete weiter als Lehrer, um Christine die Mittel für die sukzessive Verjüngung des alten Weinbergs zur Verfügung zu stellen. Die Canute-Familie verkaufte zu dieser Zeit die Trauben an lokale Weinkellereien. Aufgrund der geringen Nachfrage nach Rotweintrauben waren die Preise aber sehr tief. 1992 beschloss Dennis, mit seinem Freund Russell zusammen ein Fass Cabernet Sauvignon selbst zu vinifizieren. Es entstand der Name «Rusden» (eine Wortschöpfung aus Russell und Dennis). 1994 wurde der erste eigene Wein dann genüsslich getrunken, und man entschied sich, dieses «Hobby» zu vertiefen. 1997 kauften sie fünf gebrauchte Barriques und experimentierten mit den Sorten Shiraz, Grenache und Cabernet Sauvignon. Christine und Dennis’ Sohn Christian, der zu jener Zeit bei Rockford Wines arbeitete, wurde in diesem Jahr zu einem wesentlichen Teil des Unternehmens. 

Rotweine von Rusden Wines / Christine & Dennis Canute

In Stock

Boundaries 2015

Barossa Valley, Rusden, 750 ml
In Stock
Black Guts 2015
Nur noch 18 Flaschen

Black Guts 2015

Barossa Valley, Rusden, 750 ml

von Rusden Wines / Christine & Dennis Canute

In Stock

Boundaries 2015

Barossa Valley, Rusden, 750 ml
In Stock
Black Guts 2015
Nur noch 18 Flaschen

Black Guts 2015

Barossa Valley, Rusden, 750 ml

Nach den ersten Erfahrungen im Keller kam 1998 die Motivation zurück, sich in den Weinbergen zu verwirklichen. Damals wurde alles noch voll mechanisiert bearbeitet. Der mühsame, aber unglaublich lohnende Prozess, die Reben aus ihrem «Maschinentrott» rauszuholen, begann mit den 1969 gepflanzten Shiraz-Reben. Die alten Reben wurden langsam Block für Block zurückgeschnitten. Nach und nach nahm die Menge des produzierten Rusden-Weins zu, aber noch wichtiger war, dass die sorgfältige Pflege des Weinbergs zur Verbesserung der Qualität des Weins selbst führte. 1998 belief sich die Menge der verarbeiteten Trauben auf 7,5 Tonnen. 1999 betrug diese bereits 10 Tonnen, darunter neben Shiraz und Chenin Blanc auch Zinfandel (von den ältesten Zinfandel-Reben Australiens) und Mataro (Synonym für Monastrell oder Mourvèdre). Heute werden jährlich 80 bis 100 Tonnen Trauben für die Rusden-Weine geerntet – alle davon handgelesen und aus den eigenen Weinbergen.

Wie bei allen Familienunternehmen kam auch bei Rusden die Zeit für einen Generationenwechsel. Nach einer schrittweisen Übergabe übernahmen Christian und Amy 2017 die Geschäftsführung.

Das Barossa Valley liegt rund 70 Kilometer nordöstlich von Adelaide, im australischen Bundesstaat South Australia. Es ist das bekannteste Weinbaugebiet Australiens. Die Gesamtrebfläche beträgt ca. 10’000 Hektaren.

Die Weinberge von Rusden Wines liegen im Osten des Barossa Valley, im Gebiet Vine Vale, wo die Böden aus tiefem weissem Sand, der auf rotem Lehm liegt, bestehen. Diese Böden geben den Weinen ihren einzigartigen Charakter. Rusden-Weine sind zwar aus der Neuen Welt, in ihrem Stil hingegen sind sie eher der Alten Welt zuzuordnen. Die Weine sind fruchtbetont, elegant, sortenspezifisch und ausgeglichen.

Winzer

Paolo Conterno / Fam. Conterno

Paolo Conterno / Fam. Conterno

Giorgio Conterno gehört mit seinen Baroli aus dem Piemont zu den langjährigen Partnern von Baur au Lac Vins. Über seine neue toskanische Passion berichtet er mit strahlenden Augen:

Weiterlesen
Bodegas Olivares / Paco Selva

Bodegas Olivares / Paco Selva

Im Übergangsgebiet zwischen Mittelmeerküste und dem Hochland der Meseta Central liegt westlich von Alicante die Denominación de Orígen Jumilla. Hier regiert die Traubensorte Monastrell, verwöhnt durch 3000 Sonnenstunden im Jahr und gleichzeitig der sengenden Hitze trotzend. Sanfte Winde vom Meer her und die erfrischende Kühle der Nächte verschaffen ihr Erleichterung.

Weiterlesen
Ramiro Wine Cellar

Ramiro Wine Cellar

Das Projekt Ramiro Wine Cellar begann 2001, als Jesús Ramiro, renommierter, mit einem Michelin-Stern ausgezeichneter spanischer Koch, und Eduardo García, Sohn des berühmten Önologen Mariano García und selber ausgewiesener Winemaker, die Idee hatten, einen eigenen Wein nach ihren Vorstellungen zu produzieren. Gesagt - getan!

Weiterlesen