to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Burgenland

Burgenland: Reds, sweets and other wonders

Burgenland is often referred to in Austria as the new wine world. In fact, wines – with exceptions like the nobly sweet Ruster Ausbruch – were almost entirely unknown here 20 years ago. Today, the most substantial red wines in Austria mature here. And the sweet wine scene is also stronger than ever before. Even the whites – for instance, in the Leitha Mountains – are on the upswing. The basis for this wine wonder are the various terroirs that overlay the land in a complex patchwork.

White wines from Burgenland

In Stock
In Stock
Emmeram (weiss)
Only 8 Bottles
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Emmeram (weiss)

QWt Burgenland, Gut Oggau, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 44.–
In Stock
Gut Oggau Weiss
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Gut Oggau Weiss

QWt Burgenland, Gut Oggau, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 53.–
In Stock
Mechthild (weiss)
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Mechthild (weiss)

QWt Burgenland, Gut Oggau, 2013, 750 ml
CHF 86.–

Rosé wines from Burgenland

In Stock
Gut Oggau Rosé
Only 9 Bottles
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Gut Oggau Rosé

QWt Burgenland, Gut Oggau, 2016, 750 ml
CHF 52.–

Red wines from Burgenland

In Stock

Arachon

QWt Mittelburgenland, T.FX.T., 2015, 750 ml
CHF 39.–
In Stock
Atanasius (rot)
Vegan
Certified integrated production

Atanasius (rot)

QWt Burgenland, Gut Oggau, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 21.–
In Stock
Atanasius (rot)
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Atanasius (rot)

QWt Burgenland, Gut Oggau, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 28.90
In Stock
Bertholdi (rot)
Only 14 Bottles
Vegan
Certified organic or biodynamic wine

Bertholdi (rot)

QWt Burgenland, Gut Oggau, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 99.50

Sweet wines from Burgenland

In Stock

Nowhere in Austria are increased quality and newfound self-confidence of vintners as visible as in Burgenland. Spectacular cellar structures, visible from afar and enthroned in vineyards, demonstrate that the wine here is no longer merely an agricultural product, but a cultural asset. With 13,900 hectares, Burgenland is the second largest wine-growing region in Austria, after Lower Austria. The area is divided into the areas of Neusiedlersee, Neusiedlersee-Hügelland, Mittelburgenland and Südburgenland.

A red wine country

The development of Blaufränkisch is most interesting. While it grows in rather heavy slate and limestone soils in Central Burgenland, with increasing clay proportions in the southern part, it is found in more brown earth and slate soils with very high iron content in Southern Burgenland. Thanks to these different terroirs, there is now a rich diversity of Blaufränkisch crus, reminiscent of the Pinot diversity in Burgundy. In the eastern part of Lake Neusiedl, meanwhile, Zweigelt wines are produced that are among the most opulent red wines in Austria. Saint Laurent and Pinot Noir round out the red spectrum. Many premium red wines are assemblages.

Continental climate

A strongly continental, Pannonian climate dominates in Burgenland, with hot summers and cold winters. The mean annual temperature is higher than in other states, at 11.4 degrees Celsius. Precipitation, however, is much lower, with an average of 700 millimeters per year per square meter. Nevertheless, good conditions for producing noble rot wines prevail in the area, influenced by Lake Neusiedl – primarily in Rust, but also in Illmitz and Apetlon. While the white wines sit somewhat in the shadow of the reds, this could soon change with the high-quality Chardonnays, white Burgundies and Grüner Veltliners that are now pressed around the Leitha mountains. Today in Burgenland, there are four designations of origin for area-typical quality wines (DAC): Lake Neusiedl, Leithaberg, Middle Burgenland and Eisenberg.

Regions

Bordeaux
France

Bordeaux

Bordeaux: high prestige, high quality

Read more
Mallorca
Spain

Mallorca

Mallorca: new premium wines from old varieties

Read more
Navarra
Spain

Navarra

Navarre: a land of many terroirs

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

Burgenland

Burgenland: Rote, süsse und andere Wunder

Das Burgenland wird in Österreich gerne als die Neue Weinwelt bezeichnet. Tatsächlich waren die Weine von hier – Ausnahmen wie der edelsüsse Ruster Ausbruch bestätigen die Regel – noch vor 20 Jahren fast unbekannt. Heute reifen hier die gehaltvollsten Rotweine Österreichs. Und auch die Süssweinszene agiert auf so hohem Niveau wie nie zuvor. Selbst die Weissen sind – etwa am Leithagebirge – im Aufschwung. Die Basis für dieses Weinwunder sind die verschiedenen Terroirs, die das Land einem komplexen Puzzle gleich, überziehen.

Weissweine aus Burgenland

In Stock
In Stock
Emmeram (weiss)
Nur noch 9 Flaschen
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert
In Stock
Gut Oggau Weiss
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert
In Stock
Mechthild (weiss)
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert

Roséweine aus Burgenland

In Stock
Gut Oggau Rosé
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert

Rotweine aus Burgenland

In Stock

Arachon

QWt Mittelburgenland, T.FX.T., 2015, 750 ml
CHF 39.–
In Stock
Atanasius (rot)
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert

Atanasius (rot)

QWt Burgenland, Gut Oggau, 2017, 750 ml
CHF 28.90
In Stock
Atanasius (rot)
Vegan
Integrierte Produktion zertifiziert
In Stock
Bertholdi (rot)
Nur noch 14 Flaschen
Vegan
Bio/biodynamisch zertifiziert

Bertholdi (rot)

QWt Burgenland, Gut Oggau, 2015, 750 ml
CHF 99.50

Nirgendwo in Österreich ist der qualitative Aufschwung und das neue Selbstvertrauen der Winzer so sichtbar wie im Burgenland. Spektakuläre Kellerbauten, die von weitem sichtbar in den Rebbergen thronen, beweisen, dass sich der Wein hier nicht mehr als landwirtschaftliches Produkt definiert, sondern als Kulturgut. Mit 13‘900 Hektar ist das Burgenland nach Niederösterreich das zweitgrösste Weinbaugebiet in Österreich. Das Gebiet unterteilt sich in die Bereiche Neusiedlersee, Neusiedlersee-Hügelland, Mittelburgenland und Südburgenland.

Ein Rotwein-Land

Hochinteressant ist die Entwicklung beim Blaufränkisch. Während er im Mittelburgendland auf eher schweren Schiefer- und Kalkböden wächst, bei wachsendem Tonanteil im südlichen Teil, finden wir im Südburgenland eher Braunerde- und Schieferböden mit einem ausgesprochen hohen Eisenanteil. Dank diesen verschiedenen Terroirs gibt es hier heute einen Facettenreichtum an Blaufränkisch-Crus, die an die Pinot-Vielfalt im Burgund erinnert. Im östlichen Teil des Neusiedlersees entstehen derweil Zweigelt-Weine, die zu den opulentesten Rotweinen in Österreich gehören. Sankt Laurent und Pinot Noir runden das rote Spektrum ab. Viele rote Spitzenweine sind Assemblagen.

Kontinentales Klima

Im Burgenland dominiert ein stark kontinental geprägtes, pannonisches Klima mit heissen Sommern und kalten Wintern. Die Jahresdurchschnittstemperatur liegt mit 11,4 Grad Celsius höher als in anderen Bundesländern, die Niederschlagsmengen sind dagegen mit durchschnittlich 700 Millimeter pro Jahr und Quadratmeter deutlich geringer. Trotzdem herrschen im Einflussgebiet des Neusiedlersees, vor allem bei Rust, aber auch in Illmitz und Apetlon gute Bedingungen, um edelsüsse Botrytisweine zu produzieren. Die Weissweine stehen zwar etwas im Schatten der Roten, doch mit den qualitativ hochstehenden Chardonnays, Weissburgundern und Grünen Veltlinern, wie sie heute etwa am Leithaberg gekeltert werden, könnte sich das bald ändern. Im Burgenland existieren inzwischen mit Neusiedlersee, Leithaberg, Mittelburgenland und Eisenberg vier Ursprungsbzeichnungen für gebietstypische Qualitätsweine (DAC).

Regionen

Armagnac
Frankreich

Armagnac

Armagnac: Hochprozentig, hochstehend, authentisch

Weiterlesen
Dão
Portugal

Dão

Dão: Edle Crus aus dem Hochland

Weiterlesen
Highlands
Schottland

Highlands

Highlands: Clans, Schafe, Whiskys

Weiterlesen