to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form

Waadt

Vaud: stronghold of the Chasselas

Vintners of Vaud have almost stubbornly maintained their loyalty to their preferred variety, Chasselas. This is now paying off, as white wines with moderate alcohol content are experiencing a renaissance. And vintners today interpret the lightness of Chasselas in their own individual ways. Over 100 chateaux produce wine here. By contrast, the wine villages fascinate with rural charm. It is these contrasts that make this winegrowing canton an exciting destination for wine tourism.

White wines from Waadt

In Stock

Dézaley d'Honneur Baur au Lac 175 ans 2018

AOC Waadt, 1400 ml
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
Dézaley d'Honneur Baur au Lac (plus 175 ans) 2019
Only 24 Bottles
Vegan

Red wines from Waadt

In Stock
In Stock
In Stock
In Stock

The canton of Vaud has a rich tradition. Thus in the wine-growing villages, the verrée – a shared aperitif before lunch – is not only still practiced diligently, but is officially listed as part of the valuable cultural heritage of the canton. The signal for this late-morning Chasselas was often given by the daily arrival or departure of the ferry. The Chasselas from Vaud is truly a perfect aperitif wine. Not only that: it harmonizes splendidly with modern cuisine that focuses on lightness and many vegetarian ingredients.

One variety – many styles

With a share of over 60 percent of the 3,800 total hectares under cultivation, Chasselas still very much sets the tone. The stylistic diversity of the wines is impressive. There are the lively Chasselas with a hint of carbonation, the terroir wines with minerality and aging potential, the straightforward food pairers (vinified without malolactic fermentation) and the complex crus, carefully aged in wood. Pinot Noir has yielded ever more top wines in recent years. And along the heat-retaining dry walls, even Syrah, Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon ripen perfectly.

Monks as pioneers

Viticulture in Vaud dates back to Roman times. The Burgundian Cistercian monks also played a central role, terracing the steep slopes by the lake before opening them to viticulture in the 12th century.

Three subregions

Around 80 percent of the vines in Vaud thrive with the mild influence of Lake Geneva. The annual rainfall is relatively high, at about 1100 millimetres per square metre. The winegrowing area is divided into three sub-regions: Chablais in the east (Yvorne, Aigle, Ollon) is shaped by rocky soils and a warm climate with a lot of foehn wind. Lavaux (Saint-Saphorin, Epesses, Lutry) and La Côte (Morges, Rolle, Nyon) have a mild maritime climate, with medium-heavy moraine soils. Away from the lake, almost on the border with Neuchâtel, there are Côtes-de-l'Orbe, Bonvillars and Vully. Here, the vines grow in a cooler climate in clay soils.

Region

Castilla y León
Spain

Castilla y León

Castile and León: Increasing diversity

Read more
Mendoza
Argentina

Mendoza

Mendoza: Malbec and more

Read more
Douro
Portugal

Douro

Douro: from port wine to cult wine

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular

Waadt

Waadt: Hochburg des Chasselas

Fast schon „störrisch“ haben die Waadtländer Winzer ihrer bevorzugten Sorte, dem Chasselas, die Treue gehalten. Dies zahlt sich jetzt aus. Denn Weissweine mit moderatem Alkoholgehalt erleben eine Renaissance. Und jeder Winzer interpretiert heute die Leichtigkeit des Chasselas auf seine individuelle Weise. Auch über 100 stolze Schlösser produzieren hier Wein. Demgegenüber faszinieren die Winzerdörfer mit bäuerlichem Charme. Es sind diese Kontraste, die diesen Weinbaukanton zu einem spannenden Ziel für Weinreisende machen.

Weissweine aus Waadt

In Stock
In Stock
Dézaley Chemin de Fer Grand Cru 2019
Nur noch 6 Flaschen
Vegan
In Stock
In Stock
Dézaley Chemin de Fer Grand Cru 2018
Nur noch 1 Flasche
Vegan

Rotweine aus Waadt

In Stock
Dézaley rouge Chemin de Terre 2016
Nur noch 1 Flasche
Vegan
In Stock
Baur au Lac Vins 90 Punkte
Dézaley rouge Chemin de Terre 2018
Nur noch 5 Flaschen
Vegan
In Stock
Saint-Saphorin rouge Baillival 2017
Nur noch 5 Flaschen
Vegan

Das Waadtland steht für Tradition. So wird in den Winzerdörfern die sogenannte „Verrée“, der gemeinsame Apéro vor dem Mittagessen, nicht nur noch immer eifrig praktiziert, sondern ist als wertvolles kantonales Kulturerbe offiziell eingetragen. Das Signal zu diesem spätmorgendlichen Chasselas-Umtrunk gab übrigens früher oft das Kurzschiff mit seinem täglichen Hornsignal bei der An- oder Abfahrt der Dörfer. Tatsächlich ist der Waadtländer Chasselas ein perfekter Apérowein. Aber nicht nur das: Er harmoniert hervorragend mit der modernen Küche, die auf Leichtigkeit und viele vegetarische Zutaten setzt.

Eine Sorte – viele Stilistiken

Mit einem Anteil von über 60 Prozent an der Gesamtrebfläche von 3800 Hektar, gibt der Chasselas hier noch immer klar den Ton an. Beeindruckend ist die stilistische Vielfalt der Weine. Es gibt den spritzigen Chasselas mit einem Hauch von Kohlensäure, den Terroirweine mit Mineralität und Alterungspotential, den geradlinigen Essensbegleiter (ohne Säureabbau vinifiziert), und auch den komplexen, vorschichtig im Holz ausgebauten Cru. Aber auch die Sorte Pinot Noir hat in den letzten Jahren immer mehr Topweine hervorgebracht. Und entlang der wärmespeichernden Trockenmauern reifen selbst Syrah, Merlot oder Cabernet Sauvignon perfekt aus.

Mönche als Pioniere

Der Weinbau im Waadtland geht auf die Römer zurück. Eine zentrale Rolle spielten aber burgundische Zisterzienser-Mönche, die im 12. Jahrhundert  begannen, die Steillagen am See zu terrassieren und für den Weinbau zu erschliessen.

Drei Sub-Regionen

Rund 80 Prozent der Waadtländer Reben gedeihen im milden Einfluss des Genfersees. Die jährlichen Niederschläge sind mit rund 1100 Millimeter pro Quadratmeter vergleichsweise hoch. Das Weinbaugebiet unterteilt sich in drei Subregionen. Das im Osten gelegene Chablais (Yvorne, Aigle, Ollon) wird von steinigen Böden und einem warmen Klima mit viel Föhn geprägt. Im Lavaux (Saint-Saphorin, Epesses, Lutry), aber auch in der La Côte (Morges, Rolle, Nyon) finden wir ein mildes Seeklima und mittelschwere Moränenböden. Abseits vom See, schon fast an der Grenze zu Neuenburg, liegen die Côtes-de-l’Orbe, Bonvillars und Vully. Hier wachsen die Reben in einem kühleren Klima in tonhaltigen Böden.

Region

Friaul Julisch Venezien
Italien

Friaul Julisch Venezien

Weiterlesen
Alsace
Frankreich

Alsace

Elsass: Weisse Vielfalt

Weiterlesen
Galicia
Spanien

Galicia

Galicien: Vom kühlen Atlantik geprägt

Weiterlesen