to homepage to main navigation to main content to contact form to search form
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

California

California: Lots of fruit and ripe tannins

Around 90 percent of the wine produced in the USA comes from California. The Napa Valley, situated roughly 100 kilometers north of San Francisco, is the most prominent wine region in the western hemisphere. California vintners first caused an international sensation with Chardonnay and Cabernet Sauvignon. Today, however, superior wines are also produced from Pinot Noir, Syrah and other varieties. California’s wine country shows more variety today than ever before.

White wines from California

In Stock
Wine Spectator 94 Points
Chardonnay Belle Côte
Only 3 Bottles
In Stock
Wine Spectator 91 Points
Chardonnay Carneros
In Stock
Wine Spectator 91 Points
Chardonnay La Carrière
Only 23 Bottles
In Stock
Wine Spectator 88 Points
Chardonnay La Carrière
Only 6 Bottles

Red wines from California

In Stock
Wine Spectator 93 Points
Cabernet Sauvignon Au Paradis
In Stock
Wine Spectator 93 Points
Cabernet Sauvignon Au Paradis
Only 11 Bottles
In Stock
Parker 91 Points
Cabernet Sauvignon Napa Valley
In Stock

The first vintners in California were Franciscan clergymen. They built missionary stations on “El Camino Real” – their route along the coast to the north – and from 1770 also set up vineyards to produce sacramental wine. The Hungarian-born wine pioneer Agoston Haraszthy had a decisive influence. He allowed the most diverse grape varieties to be brought to California. One of these was Zinfandel, which today is considered a particular specialty. Prohibition and the Great Depression brought a halt to the wine boom, and for a while after the Second World War vintners in California turned out mainly cheap, mass-prouced wines.

Legendary reference sample

Robert Mondavi, who began to produce premium wines in 1966 according to French example, is viewed as the pioneer of today’s quality winegrowing. The Californian vintner achieved legendary success at the co-called “Judgment of Paris”, a blind test at which renowned French judges rated the Californian Chardonnays and Cabernets higher than their own top crus from Burgundy and Bordeaux. Since then, California has been considered a source of premium wines.

Cool Pacific

California’s viticultural areas line the coast like a jeweled necklace, where they are generally protected from the cold influence of the Pacific by coastal mountains. Wherever river valleys running east-west break through this range of hills and bring cool Pacific air to the cultivation zones, a cool climate prevails, allowing crisp sparkling wines, fresh Chardonnays and elegant Pinots to ripen. Conversely, concentrated wines mature in the warm areas that are well-protected from the influence of the Pacific. Above all, Cabernet Sauvignon, often complemented by other Bordeaux varieties, yields outstanding results.

Varying soils

The soil conditions are also complex. Napa Valley alone has more than 150 different soil types. In the hill ranges, volcanic rock often predominates, while mostly alluvial deposits are found in the valley floors, but gravel and red clay also appear frequently. Over the past 20 years, vintners have studied this terroir puzzle in ever greater depth, and now ideal verities are cultivated at every site. With an area of 210,000 hectares, California is the fourth-largest wine region in the world.

Regions

Andalucía
Spain

Andalucía

Andalusia: Sherry and more

Read more
Sicilia
Italy

Sicilia

Sicily: more than a wine island

Read more
Mendoza
Argentina

Mendoza

Mendoza: Malbec and more

Read more

zur Startseite zur Hauptnavigation zum Hauptinhalt zum Kontaktformular zum Suchformular
Um den vollen Funktionsumfang dieser Webseite zu erfahren, benötigen Sie JavaScript. Hier finden Sie die Anleitung wie Sie JavaScript in Ihrem Browser einschalten.
Baur au Lac Vins
Adlikerstrasse 272
8105 Regensdorf, CH
+41 44 777 05 05,
information@balv.ch

California

Kalifornien: Viel Frucht und reife Tannine

Rund 90 Prozent der in den USA produzierten Weine reifen in Kalifornien. Vor allem das Napa Valley, rund 100 Kilometer nördlich von San Francisco gelegen, gilt als das prominenteste Weinbaugebiet der Neuen Welt schlechthin. International für Furore gesorgt haben die kalifornischen Winzer zuerst mit Chardonnay und Cabernet Sauvignon. Heute werden aber auch aus Pinot Noir, Syrah und anderen Sorten hochstehende Weine produziert. Das Weinland Kalifornien zeigt heute so viele Facetten wie noch nie zuvor.

Weissweine aus California

In Stock
Wine Spectator 94 Punkte
Chardonnay Belle Côte
Nur noch 8 Flaschen
In Stock
In Stock
Wine Spectator 88 Punkte
Chardonnay La Carrière
Nur noch 9 Flaschen
In Stock
Wine Spectator 93 Punkte
Chardonnay Ma Belle-Fille
Nur noch 12 Flaschen

Rotweine aus California

In Stock
Parker 88-90 Punkte
Cabernet Sauvignon
Nur noch 1 Flasche
In Stock
Wine Spectator 90 Punkte
Cabernet Sauvignon Au Paradis
Nur noch 3 Flaschen
In Stock
Wine Spectator 93 Punkte
Cabernet Sauvignon Au Paradis
Nur noch 13 Flaschen

Die ersten Winzer in Kalifornien waren franziskanische Geistliche. Auf ihrem «Camino Real», ihrem missionarischen Weg entlang der Küste nach Norden errichteten sie Missionsstationen und legten ab 1770 auch Rebberge an, um Messwein keltern zu können. Einen entscheidenden Einfluss hatte der aus Ungarn stammende Weinpionier Agoston Haraszthy. Er liess verschiedenste Rebsorten nach Kalifornien bringen, untere anderem auch den Zinfandel, der heute als besondere Spezialität gilt. Die Prohibition und die Wirtschaftskrise stoppten den Weinbauboom, und nach dem 2. Weltkrieg produzierten die kalifornischen Winzer vorerst mehrheitlich billigen Massenwein.

Legendäre Vergleichsprobe

Als Vorreiter des heutigen Qualitäts-Weinbau gilt Robert Mondavi, der 1966 damit begann, Spitzenweine nach französischem Vorbild zu erzeugen. Einen legendären Erfolg erzielten die kalifornischen Winzer dann 1976 beim sogenannten «Judgment of Paris», einer Blindprobe, bei der renommierte französische Juroren die kalifornischen Chardonnays und Cabernets höher bewerteten als die eigenen Topcrus aus dem Burgund und Bordeaux. Seither gilt Kalifornien als Reservoir für absolute Topweine.

Kühler Pazifik

Die Weingebiete Kaliforniens reihen sich wie eine Perlenkette entlang der Küste, wobei sie in der Regel vom Küstengebirge vom kalten Pazifikeinfluss geschützt werden. Überall dort, wo Flusstäler in Ost-West-Ausrichtung diesen Hügelzug durchbrechen und kühle Pazifikluft in die Rebzonen bringen, herrscht ein «Cool Climate», wo knackige Schaumweine, frische Chardonnays oder elegante Pinot reifen können. In den warmen Gebieten, die gut vom Pazifikeinfluss geschützt sind, reifen dagegen konzentrierte Weine. Vor allem der Cabernet Sauvignon, oft ergänzt mit anderen Bordeaux-Sorten bringt ausgezeichnete Resultate.

Unterschiedliche Böden

Auch die Bodenverhältnisse sind komplex. Allein im Napa Valley sind an die 150 verschiedene Bodentypen bekannt. In den Hügelzügen dominiert oft vulkanisches Gestein, während in den Talebenen mehrheitlich Schwemmland zu finden ist, aber auch Kies und roter Ton kommen häufig vor. In den letzten 20 Jahren haben die Winzer dieses Terroir-Puzzle immer besser erforscht, so dass heute in jeder Lage ideale Sorten angebaut werden. Mit einer Fläche von 210‘000 Hektar gilt Kalifornien als viertgrösste Weinregion der Welt.

Regionen

Wallis
Schweiz

Wallis

Wallis: Alpenweine mit Klasse

Weiterlesen
Neuenburg
Schweiz

Neuenburg

Neuenburg: Das Burgund der Schweiz

Weiterlesen
Sardegna
Italien

Sardegna

Sardinien: Der Wein-Schmelztiegel

Weiterlesen